$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 17, 2015 Check-out: May 18, 2015

Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

4 stars
View map of 10,000 Turkey Lake Road, Orlando, FL 32819

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
448 out of 448
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hauwa
New York
May 19, 2013

Lovely family reunion

I love the hotel,at first I thought it wasn't that spectacular until I went in,I was impressed with the welcome package and the pool is something that will stay in our memory for a long time especially the wam jacuzzi. I love the coziness of the room because it feels just like home.the only thing I didn't like was the pool restroom was dirty otherwise everything seems perfect.will love to come back again and will definitely recommend it to people traveling with their families

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Everywhere is easy to reach from the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Orlando Yearly Travelers
Business
Kansas City, MO
Mar 29, 2011

Orlando trip to Disney/Sea World

We stayed at the Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa for our trip in March to go to Disney and Sea World. I thought that since the hotel was in the middle of the parks we would have a great time. While we did have the time of our lives at the parks, the hotel was terrible!! First the Shuttle service to the park they advertise is a load! They have ONE bus that crams everyone in AND you need to call and make a "reservation" which is a piece of paper that someone wrote real quick on. The bus left at 8 and 11 AM and picked everyone up an hour before the park closes so you can't get the full use of your tickets. Then the shuttles that they sometimes have to Orlando studios has no clue where they are going or what shuttle is suppose to take who where. The hotel itself is the same way. There is one restaurant that is great and fairly priced for breakfast but then is terrible for dinner!($15+ per plate for terrible food) And good luck if you try to get any help from the front desk because the entire lobby closes at 7PM then there is one or two employees doing everything. And one thing that really made me mad was the computer. They make you pay $0.25 a minute and $0.75 a page to print, if I wanted to print my boarding passes or park passes, it would have cost me $6-10 just to use to computer! Every hotel I have stayed in has given you free access to computers. I would understand paying for paper but computer time?!?The people working were rude, and unhelpful. I urge anyone trying to book this place because of the price to pay an extra $10-20 a night and get a real hotel! You'll be thankful you did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't stay here and you'll save yourself about $200 on cabs and computer time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richton, MS
Jun 18, 2009

"The Horrible Stay"

We had the worst stay ever. first let me say some people probably will still stay even after reading this but realize this is a time share not a regular resort. They do offer wi fi but you have to pay an out rageous price. We were left only 1 wash cloth for 4 people and it took 3 hours to get more even after I sent my husband for some we were told they have to bring them to us we can not pick up any. Power was out on one wall of our room which happen to be the tv wall, it took them roughly 3 1/2 hours to turn power on that was after I called several times. We had ants in our first room and had to be moved. We lost glasses in the first roomed that was never recovered. No one helped with the luggage at the resort. Also you are required to attend some kind of meeting upon check out and if you miss you will get a real ugly call from someone on their staff. Overall I will be finding a different place to stay at when I return in November. I also recommend that anyone else find somewhere else to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake Ozarks, MO
Mar 25, 2011

WORSTgate Lakes

We had a bad feeling about this resort from the moment we entered the check-in area that felt, in every way, like a bus station. The robotic agents moved us along swiftly enough, but REFUSED to give us the keys to our room, insisting that we first talk to an agent who's got the welcome kit, etc. We told them we didn't want the welcome kit, etc - but there was no way of getting our keys without sitting down with a jovial, pushy, fast-talking, let-me-tell-you-how-great-this-resort-really-is-if-only-you-sign-up-for-the-property-tour guy. We asked for our keys. He countered with "we've got golf!" We asked for our keys again. He threw at us another slogan, "we've got bicycles!" We gave him $30 deposit for the 'tour' just to shut him up and get the keys to our room. It went downhill from there. The room had furniture that can only be described as 'severely outdated' - pink, plush, uncomfortable. The couch was dirty and so soft we sunk almost to the floor. We sat on chairs. The noise from the other buildings traveled over to our room, magnified, bounced off the paper-thin walls, woke us up in the morning, kept us up late at night (2 or 3 am was not unusual for the insane noise from the pool and the street and other units to continue). And when we finally did sleep, bright and early someone from the resort would call us up to tell us just how great their property really was and why we should go on THE TOUR. Since we had paid $30, we had the privilege (if you can call it that) of using the on-property attractions. We play golf - once. We tried to bicycle, but there are so many people walking or resort staff riding on golf carts that we gave up on bicycles. Mostly, we tried to spend as little time on that property as possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Capone's had a great show and fairly good dinner, served buffet-style. I would suggest getting there early (we arrived at 7:30 and had very little time for dinner).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hotel OrlandoFL Sean Gainsville FL me CA
May 30, 2009

Had Several Problems

The hotel was in a nice location however some of the staff only spoke Spanish which was very frustrating when trying to call the front desk. The automatic front desk button lead you to customer service and then they had to transfer you. It because a real pain when I needed to have something done, Like the plumbing. When my boyfriend and I arrived at our hotel, it was real cold inside and I wanted to take a shower. The water was real cold. I was unable to take my shower and went to the bathtub to see if the water there was better. Now i am all wet trying to take a hot shower. So I told my boyfriend that the water was real cold and he said he would call the front desk to tell them we needed a plumber. We called and it took them at least 30 min if not more. I was starting to get upset that it was taking so long because my boyfriend had things planned that he wanted to take me to. so finally two men come to our hotel room they both are speaking Spanish and I have no idea what they are saying. Then one guy gets a phone call and is on the phone the whole time having this convocation in my bathroom that I want to take a shower in. Then the other guy is trying to talk to they man on the phone but he is giving him the one minute finger and all this is happening while my boyfriend and I are waiting. So finally the guy on the phone leaves, still on the phone and the guy not of the phone says were going to send a plumber to fix the boiler. He said it would be about 20 minutes before the plumber got there and was able to fix the boiler. He then said in broken English that after the plumber fixed the boiler it would be about another 20 minutes. My point is I called the front desk and said my water is not hot. They could have just sent the plumber to check on the boiler and not had to bother my boyfriend and I and it would have saved an hour of my time. After I took my hot shower and went out to eat with my boyfriend, we were ready to go to bed. So we took the bed cover off and there was only a thin sheet to sleep under. There was NO blanket to sleep under there was only to top cover which was not even thick and then a sheet. Well we were trying to turn the ac down but kept having trouble. So we had to get a blanket from the closet. We took two blankets out. The next night I called the front desk which again sent me to customer service. The man said hold on let me transfer you. I then got transferred to the front desk where no one answered. I then had to hang up and recall the front desk. So I pushed front desk and once again got customer service and said yes I need front desk. He said ok they didn't answer one moment. This was kind of funny but it should not of happened. I got transferred to another guy who was waiting to talk to the front desk as well. He was a guest at the hotel trying to get a hold of front desk. I said hello when i noticed there was someone there and he said hello as well and started talking about his room and a problem he was having. and then I said excuse me sir but I'm in room 713 trying to get a hold of the front desk. He said me to and we both laughed and hung up. So then I had to call back AGAIN even though it was kind of funny it shouldn't have happened it was real uncomfortable. So when I got the same guy for the third time, I asked him how do you guys make the beds. He told me and my bed was not made like he was saying. I told him that my bed was not made like he was saying. He paused and said well I can have someone bring you a blanket, Well we already had two blankets and we had just gotten back from Sea World and it was past midnight. I was tired and so was my boyfriend and we were not going to sit up for 30 minutes while we get another blanket. So I said don't worry about it we will pass. But I was kind of upset at that point because it took over 20 minutes just to try and get my answer about the bed situation. Right before I go to bed I go to the bathroom, Well after my 20+ minute phone call it was ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Veteran Hoteler
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Jun 14, 2010

Good Location, not much else

Crowded parking lots. Buildings right on top of each other resulting in narrow "roads" while navigating resort. Watch out for the many blind spots at the intersections while driving through!! Internet service for a fee but was NOT working anyway and apparently not working for quite some time. Gym usage was also an additional fee! Room smelled heavily of old wet carpet. Dirty pillow cases and linens. Old old outdated furniture. At least when I complained about the room I was switched to a different room. I was staying in a studio with a kitchenette. Seems the worst rooms are in building 1400. Better rooms in building 1600. There are brand new buildings in the resort off to the distance across the lake but good luck being assigned a room there as its a small minority of the buildings. I cannot recommend this resort. Maybe you'll be put into one of the top of the line rooms. (I noticed a lot of 4 and 5 star reviews and that must be the reason, rightfully so.) But who wants to go through the risk and hassle while on vacation?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bloo
Business
Nashville,TN
Apr 22, 2009

Pictures were misleading!

We stayed at the Westgate for two nights. I was extremely dissapointed in the room in that it smelt like an ashtray even though smoking was prohibited in the rooms! It was almost impossible to enjoy the patio as opening and closing the patio door was a task in itself. The furniture was old and worn especially the pull out couch my kids had to sleep on. It was extremely difficult to find a parking spot by the building we were staying in and felt we had walk a mile just to get back to our building after parking - this was particularly frustrating the day we checked as it was the early hours of the morning and we were all tired! My kids did enjoy the pool the saturday that we were there and thankfully we spent most of the day there rather than our room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Waterloo, IA
Nov 24, 2010

Beware

We went to Orlando to celebrate our wedding anniversary. When we arrived at Westgate we were exposed to a high pressure game to get us to buy a time share. They were rude and relentless, I will never stay at a Westgate resort again and would highly discourage anyone else from going there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
michdarb
Business
Manhattan, NY
Nov 2, 2010

this hotel is a scam

The hotel is clean but should be listed as a motel. It's basic framework is that of a motel at hotel prices. It's absolutely discusting. In addition, they are really trying to sell you a timeshare. Whatever you do don't agree to breakfast! They will harass you and try to pressure you into a one time only at this moment deal. One can only assume with employees this agressive to sell you 2 weeks worth of hotel stays for over $10,000 that you can use only every other year that they r desperate for backers. Or are on the verge of going out of business.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newjersy, NJ
Dec 11, 2010

Horrible. Never stay there

It took nearly 2 hours to check in. We have been taken to 6 different people, all of them try to convice to purchase timeshare there. Walls are super thin. we can hear too much noise from the room. Front Desk staff and other employees are horrible. Shower and bath sucks. we ended up bringing bed bugs home. no place for parking. They claim the public service bus that comes only one time in the early morning as their shuttle. Staff are very rude. rooms are not clean. Never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
firas
Business
Ohio
Dec 4, 2010

Not four stars, Two at best

It is a shame that this "hotel" (It is actually a timeshare apartment buildings) was rated "four stars" at [...]. Room seems from the eighties, patch repairs everywhere as any run down motels. If you expect a four stars quality you will be very disappointed, you will be ok if can do "two stars". Avoid the "free breakfast offer", it is a high pressure and nasty hour selling you time shares in this run down facility. The staff are not pleasant, a typical underpaid staff behavior.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top