$106 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 29, 2015 Check-out: May 2, 2015

Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

4 stars
View map of 10,000 Turkey Lake Road, Orlando, FL 32819

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
413 out of 413
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ejagham
Business
Manassas, VA, USA
Sep 1, 2011

Hotel Experience

The room was not cleaned daily. You have to complain before a staff is sent to clean the room. The hotel charges an additional $35.00 Resort fee. Additionally,you have to pay a daily fee of $5.00 in order to use the Fitness center. Based on my experience, I will never book the hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bats
Business
Tampa, FL, USA
Aug 21, 2011

orlando stay

overall good,except that the jacuzzi tub and shower were dirty with hair and dirt.Also,there was a coffee pot with no coffee,so i had to leave the room and go to the store.To much street traffic,very unorganized and no courtesy from the workers in the golf carts on the road.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
John & Mary
Business
Brownstown, michigan
Jul 24, 2011

best vacation ever

This was one of the best vacation resorts that we have been at. The resort was very very nice. The rooms are very clan and comfortable, the pools are amazing everything you need is there or only a few minutes form the resort and its very centraly located. We would recomend this to our friend and family and we are making plans to return there very soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
beachbodez
Business
Scottsdale, AZ
Jul 7, 2011

Wonderful rooms

The rooms, I had a suite, are huge, well appointed and very clean. The bed was plush and very comfortable. Close to Universal Studios, $15.00 for a one way cab ride. Overall a fantastic getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The suites have fully equipt kitchens, so go out to a store and buy all the food and drinks you will want on the first day so you don't have to waste time shopping or worry about snacks or what to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Minako-chan
Business
Harrisburg, PA
Jun 4, 2011

Surpassed our expectations!

The staff was incredibly friendly, helpful and polite the entire time we were there. We were NOT timeshare holders, either. :) We got around the timeshare spiel when we checked in by saying we don't eat breakfast (where they will try to schmooze you up) and that we had our entire week planned out (We spent our time combing over Universal Studios), so would be unable to attend any of their meetings. After that, we were on our way! The studio room we rented was very spacious and the best surprise was the gorgeous view we had of the lake from our screened in, private porch. Nice and quiet. Our room also had a jacuzzi tub, but if you wanted to go out and be social, all the pools had a spa tub as well. Swimming areas were scattered across the campus, so you never had to walk far to splash around. Weekends were crowded at the pool, but overall it was pleasant. Westgate provided free shuttles to all the local parks, which was one of the main selling points for me b/c I didn't want to rent a car and then spend more money to drive just a few miles and park. You had to register or call the front desk to say when you wanted to catch the shuttle, and they offered two times in the a.m. and two times in the p.m. to return, but were flexible if you wanted to return on a different time than you signed up for. Universal Studios and Islands of Adventure were SO much fun and both the husband and I thought it was great for kids of all ages. The Smokehouse BBQ joint was VERY tasty and for the able bodied, not a bad walk (we were staying on the opposite end of the campus). Prices were very reasonable, especially considering the amount of food you got! We made two more meals out of the leftovers. Westgate also has a Pizza Hut express, but the menu is very limited and the wait time was 45 minutes (off peak mealtime). It was well worth the wait, though. Westgate encourages people not to order from outside delivery pizza places, and I did not have a good time with the other pizza place we tried ordering from. The studio included 4 sets of plates/bowls, silverware and glasses, microwave, minifridge w/ freezer, standard sized coffee maker and a toaster, AND they give you dish soap and sponges to wash up with. :) My only complaint was the one hour photo place on site. I showed up at 1 pm on Friday, and no one was manning the desk. I returned at 2:30 (after my very excellent spa experience) and was told that I could get my pictures developed tomorrow. When I said I'd take my business elsewhere then, I was talked into leaving my film there and that he would open the shop early the next morning (my shuttle to the airport was picking us up at 8:30 am, and the photo place opens normally at 9) so that I could pick up my stuff. When I dropped by, all he had done was develop the film (not printed any pics or put the images on disc like I had ordered) and told me that at least I didn't have to worry about xrays damaging my film now. I appreciated him opening up early for me, but was pretty irritated that he made it seem like only doing a fraction of the work was actually doing me a favor. Overall, the service was excellent and we are definitely planning on staying here again the next time we're in Orlando.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The minimarket on site is VERY reasonably priced and has a good selection of stuff for food and first aid necessities. If you don't bring your own food or snacks ahead of time, this is a good place to shop for a quick meal and save a LOT of money. Avoid the Walmart near by if possible.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boca Raton, FL
Jun 1, 2011

Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa

We did some shopping Disney and Bush Gardens. Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa is an ideal location for Disney and shopping. Don't be fooled it is a timeshare and they will try to sell you a time share. The place lacks overall, parking is not enough, the rooms are like a three star or less, nothing special really basic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kurisutaberu
Business
Fresh Meadows, NY
May 28, 2011

~the good & the bad~

Family trip, at a very good price. I had the room with the balcony and jetted bathtub. Very pleasant surroundings. My suite even had a fridge and microwave. Free parking, pool and a gift/minimart near the block which I was staying. The only downside to this trip - after you check-in on the first day, you will be "escorted" to another guy who will enthusiastically tell you about the "cheaper" disney/universal tickets which you can get at his "office rate"; in addition to free breakfast for 3 days and some other freebies. But he does not inform you about the mandatory 90 (NINTEY) min sales presentation which you will have to sit through, BEFORE you are entitled to all those stuff (*PS a $20 deposit is required to secure a seat, but is refundable at the end of the presentation). I gave the sales talk a miss, due to time constrains, so obviously, I did not get my free breakfast and other stuff. All in all, the hotel was clean, comfortable. Only a short drive to the attractions. But the sales collaboration part, with another travel agency (I think!), was terrible. Sales guy was so pushy, would not take NO for answer! Hotel is still recommended though, but you have to be firm and say NO if you do not want any of the stuff they are selling!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

swimming pool, fishing, bbq pits, something similar to kayaking...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ana 2 the East
Business
New Jersey
May 26, 2011

Disappointed... beyond belief

We went a couple of days in orlando to visit sea world. Over searching and comparing prices... we choose to stay here. check in was a breeze but parking was a pain . rooms need an update badly. room just didnt feel clean and bathrooms were dirty . dirty towels and dirty tubs . super disappointed in the money spent to stay here .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland
Apr 30, 2011

Beautiful rooms, onsite activities a plu

Weekend to relax took advantage of the Serenity Spa and onsite restaurants, if not for the planned trip to Disney I would have stayed within the resort the entire weekend. Made the mistake of signing up for the "90"minute tour where they try to sell you the property. It turned into 120min and they basically held me hostage refusing to take no for an answer

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Unhappy with high-pressure sales people
Business
Orlando, FL
Apr 24, 2011

Hi pressure sales scam

The hotel room was nice. But nowhere did it say that it was a time share. We were pressured to take a tour which was a high-pressure sales tour. Our intention was to spend the night at a hotel in Orlando, NOT to go see a time share for possible purchase. There was no getting them to understand that we were not interested in purchasing anything, and that we had not bought the night for that purpose. I have never been in such an uncomfortable position. I do not recommend it for that reason. I feel that the add in [...]was deceptive because it did not explain the type of place were were going to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top