Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

4 stars
View map of 10,000 Turkey Lake Road, Orlando, FL 32819

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
374 out of 374
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Minako-chan
Business
Harrisburg, PA
Jun 4, 2011

Surpassed our expectations!

The staff was incredibly friendly, helpful and polite the entire time we were there. We were NOT timeshare holders, either. :) We got around the timeshare spiel when we checked in by saying we don't eat breakfast (where they will try to schmooze you up) and that we had our entire week planned out (We spent our time combing over Universal Studios), so would be unable to attend any of their meetings. After that, we were on our way! The studio room we rented was very spacious and the best surprise was the gorgeous view we had of the lake from our screened in, private porch. Nice and quiet. Our room also had a jacuzzi tub, but if you wanted to go out and be social, all the pools had a spa tub as well. Swimming areas were scattered across the campus, so you never had to walk far to splash around. Weekends were crowded at the pool, but overall it was pleasant. Westgate provided free shuttles to all the local parks, which was one of the main selling points for me b/c I didn't want to rent a car and then spend more money to drive just a few miles and park. You had to register or call the front desk to say when you wanted to catch the shuttle, and they offered two times in the a.m. and two times in the p.m. to return, but were flexible if you wanted to return on a different time than you signed up for. Universal Studios and Islands of Adventure were SO much fun and both the husband and I thought it was great for kids of all ages. The Smokehouse BBQ joint was VERY tasty and for the able bodied, not a bad walk (we were staying on the opposite end of the campus). Prices were very reasonable, especially considering the amount of food you got! We made two more meals out of the leftovers. Westgate also has a Pizza Hut express, but the menu is very limited and the wait time was 45 minutes (off peak mealtime). It was well worth the wait, though. Westgate encourages people not to order from outside delivery pizza places, and I did not have a good time with the other pizza place we tried ordering from. The studio included 4 sets of plates/bowls, silverware and glasses, microwave, minifridge w/ freezer, standard sized coffee maker and a toaster, AND they give you dish soap and sponges to wash up with. :) My only complaint was the one hour photo place on site. I showed up at 1 pm on Friday, and no one was manning the desk. I returned at 2:30 (after my very excellent spa experience) and was told that I could get my pictures developed tomorrow. When I said I'd take my business elsewhere then, I was talked into leaving my film there and that he would open the shop early the next morning (my shuttle to the airport was picking us up at 8:30 am, and the photo place opens normally at 9) so that I could pick up my stuff. When I dropped by, all he had done was develop the film (not printed any pics or put the images on disc like I had ordered) and told me that at least I didn't have to worry about xrays damaging my film now. I appreciated him opening up early for me, but was pretty irritated that he made it seem like only doing a fraction of the work was actually doing me a favor. Overall, the service was excellent and we are definitely planning on staying here again the next time we're in Orlando.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The minimarket on site is VERY reasonably priced and has a good selection of stuff for food and first aid necessities. If you don't bring your own food or snacks ahead of time, this is a good place to shop for a quick meal and save a LOT of money. Avoid the Walmart near by if possible.

Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boca Raton, FL
Jun 1, 2011

Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa

We did some shopping Disney and Bush Gardens. Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa is an ideal location for Disney and shopping. Don't be fooled it is a timeshare and they will try to sell you a time share. The place lacks overall, parking is not enough, the rooms are like a three star or less, nothing special really basic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ana 2 the East
Business
New Jersey
May 26, 2011

Disappointed... beyond belief

We went a couple of days in orlando to visit sea world. Over searching and comparing prices... we choose to stay here. check in was a breeze but parking was a pain . rooms need an update badly. room just didnt feel clean and bathrooms were dirty . dirty towels and dirty tubs . super disappointed in the money spent to stay here .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland
Apr 30, 2011

Beautiful rooms, onsite activities a plu

Weekend to relax took advantage of the Serenity Spa and onsite restaurants, if not for the planned trip to Disney I would have stayed within the resort the entire weekend. Made the mistake of signing up for the "90"minute tour where they try to sell you the property. It turned into 120min and they basically held me hostage refusing to take no for an answer

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Unhappy with high-pressure sales people
Business
Orlando, FL
Apr 24, 2011

Hi pressure sales scam

The hotel room was nice. But nowhere did it say that it was a time share. We were pressured to take a tour which was a high-pressure sales tour. Our intention was to spend the night at a hotel in Orlando, NOT to go see a time share for possible purchase. There was no getting them to understand that we were not interested in purchasing anything, and that we had not bought the night for that purpose. I have never been in such an uncomfortable position. I do not recommend it for that reason. I feel that the add in [...]was deceptive because it did not explain the type of place were were going to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montgomery,PA
Apr 23, 2011

The worst experience with Westgate

The worst customer service in Westgate resort.I was expecting larger room when booked my room, i paid close to $500 for 4 nights stay. I even asked for an upgrade and the manager say the there isn't room until next day and he can't do anything for me. He also ask me if want my refund, but my wife said no. There is no explanation of what we should do and go in the hotel except taking our deposit and want us to setup an point to selll us their timeshare.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
A little disappointed Shani
Business
Baltimore,Maryland
Apr 22, 2011

It was just ok!

The hotel itself is nice and the staff is friendly but by it being a time share you will at checkin be ask to go to one! I suggest that you tell them right off the back NO!!!!!!We wasted a half of day for nothing and they will harass you until they think you are going to say yes! Our room was smaller than expected! Some things were wrong with the room when we got there. The knob on the sink was broke and we called down to the desk and they said it would be fix and never was! The sink in the bathroom and tub was alittle dirty and in the room it had some kind of stain on the top of the counter by the tv! Overall I would give it a 3.5 experience and don't think I would be returning every again! The last night of stay there was no parking at all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

We stayed within 15 mins from Disney World,Sea World,and Epcot!

Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super Que
Business
Columbia, SC
Apr 21, 2011

Great location for bargain price

The hotel room had a great view of the lake. My girlfriend and I took paddle boat out on lake which was very peaceful. The jacuzzi tub in the room was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Universal City Walk was a short 5 to 7 minute drive from the hotel.

Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pennsy Super saver
Business
Northeast Pennsylvania
Apr 13, 2011

Good amenities

The location was very accessible to all the theme parks. You will need a rental car. There is a Walmart supercenter right and a hospital next door for convenience. Very close to many restaurants and the restaurant on site gave us very good meals without the wait.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The walmart supercenter is located next door to the property and with a full kitchen came in handy.

Review of Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Orlando Yearly Travelers
Business
Kansas City, MO
Mar 29, 2011

Orlando trip to Disney/Sea World

We stayed at the Westgate Lakes Resort and Spa for our trip in March to go to Disney and Sea World. I thought that since the hotel was in the middle of the parks we would have a great time. While we did have the time of our lives at the parks, the hotel was terrible!! First the Shuttle service to the park they advertise is a load! They have ONE bus that crams everyone in AND you need to call and make a "reservation" which is a piece of paper that someone wrote real quick on. The bus left at 8 and 11 AM and picked everyone up an hour before the park closes so you can't get the full use of your tickets. Then the shuttles that they sometimes have to Orlando studios has no clue where they are going or what shuttle is suppose to take who where. The hotel itself is the same way. There is one restaurant that is great and fairly priced for breakfast but then is terrible for dinner!($15+ per plate for terrible food) And good luck if you try to get any help from the front desk because the entire lobby closes at 7PM then there is one or two employees doing everything. And one thing that really made me mad was the computer. They make you pay $0.25 a minute and $0.75 a page to print, if I wanted to print my boarding passes or park passes, it would have cost me $6-10 just to use to computer! Every hotel I have stayed in has given you free access to computers. I would understand paying for paper but computer time?!?The people working were rude, and unhelpful. I urge anyone trying to book this place because of the price to pay an extra $10-20 a night and get a real hotel! You'll be thankful you did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't stay here and you'll save yourself about $200 on cabs and computer time.

Back to menu Return to top