$242 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2015 Check-out: Apr 24, 2015

Universal's Loews Royal Pacific Resort

4 stars
View map of 6300 Hollywood Way, Orlando, FL 32819

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Universal's Loews Royal Pacific Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
261 out of 261
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Universal's Loews Royal Pacific Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sue solo traveller
Business
Southeastern PA
Sep 28, 2014

HHN opening weekend getaway

I booked the Royal Pacific Resort through a discount promo code I found. I wanted to be completely immersed in Universal theming for my first HHN experience. Overall, the hotel was nice. They assigned me a room on the main (3rd) floor close to everything. The walls were thin and I could hear my neighbors' running water. The water pressure was good and the room was clean enough. I has some trouble with the door lock and had to get my card key replaced twice. The check-in clerk placed a $ 200.00 hold on my credit card, but didn't give me a key to the mini-bar until I went back to the desk and asked for one. The walk from the resort to the parks was relaxing and the water taxis were wonderful at the end of a long day. I would consider staying at RPR again if I could find a better deal than what I paid this time. The free Express Pass provided to deluxe resort guests was the best part of my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Take advantage of the water taxis. The ride is short and the boat captain completes your bag check. This is the most efficient way to travel to and from the parks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Universal's Loews Royal Pacific Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ShawnD724
Business
Cranberry Twp, Pennsylvania
Sep 29, 2014

Enjoyable stay

We had an enjoyable stay at the Royal Pacific. The staff was very friendly and the grounds were well kept. We walked to the parks most of the time but the boat shuttle was nice to have after a long day. Comparing this to our stay at the Hard Rock last year, it was much more enjoyable. Although the Hard Rock was closer, we did not experience any of the loud and noisy guests that the Hard Rock seems to attract and that was worth the extra steps. The rooms are outdated but we didn't spend much in them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Universal's Loews Royal Pacific Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happytraveller
Business
Omaha, NE
Oct 4, 2014

Great week!

We really enjoyed being so close to the parks and to Citywalk. The early hour at Universal and the express pass were great perks. The resort is clean and nice, with a great pool area. We found it to be a relaxing place without our kids, but it would be a great place to bring the family too. There are 3 on site restaurants which was nice on rainy days. I really can't think of any down sides to Royal Pacific. We would love to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Universal's Loews Royal Pacific Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lucy29
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Oct 16, 2014

Great location, average hotel

You will stay here if you are going to the Universal parks, want to be close and not waste any time once you wake up, want to get the free Express passes and want to stay in a decent hotel. This is what you are paying for. So from this perspective, great value. But beyond that, this is a below average hotel. The room was dated (especially the bathroom), cramped, no balcony and not especially clean. All ice makers were broken at the time of my visit and remained broken for the duration of my stay. The hotel's convenience store sells drinks at the same price as the park...really? I have stayed at many hotels, ranging from 1 to 5 stars, in the US and overseas. Based on the room and amenities, this is a 2.5 star at best. But based on the purpose of staying there, it is the best value out of all the Universal hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Universal's Loews Royal Pacific Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pixar fan
Business
Springfield, IL
Nov 16, 2014

Must stay for Universal vacation

We had a great, albeit brief stay at this hotel. Hotel was very upscale but felt kid and family friendly. Pool area was very nice with huge pool, 2 hot tubs, splash area, and movies poolside at night. Walk to the park was about 10 minutes and faster than boat. The free express passes probably saved us a few hours of waiting over our two days in the parks. Would definitely stay here again if going to Universal. Only two minor gripes: The pillows were very lumpy and it cost $20 a day to park there. For $250 a night, parking should be included. Other than that, great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Universal's Loews Royal Pacific Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HappyDad111
Business
spokane, wa
Dec 2, 2014

Great if you want to visit the newest Harry Potter ride

Staff was wonderful and very accommodating. We had a few special requests which they quickly and politely handled. We stayed in the Jurassic Park suite which our son loved. The room was a little dated and didn't have a refrigerator. Given the price paid, that was surprising. Otherwise, great place to stay especially since you get into the Harry Potter Gringots ride an hour before those not staying at one of the on-site hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Universal's Loews Royal Pacific Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Connor L.
Business
N/A
Dec 20, 2014

Excellent Location and Staff

Wanted to visit the new Harry Potter exhibit at Universal Studios. Stayed at on site hotel for the convenience to Universal Studios and Island of Adventure, early park admission and express pass to top attractions. While room is relatively small and not new for a "four/five star" resort, the courteous staff (they actually seemed happy to have your business) and beautiful hotel setting made it worth the money. Also, great experience at Tchoup-Chop restaurant, excellent food and service. We stayed at the Universal Portofino two years ago. While the rooms seem to be newer, the atmosphere was not as welcoming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Even though we went during the "low season" (October), early park admission and express pass are really worth it. Also, "Single Rider" line seems to be the best kept secret. For the new Harry Potter ride, while others waited for over an hour in the regular line, we went on the single rider line with hardly any wait at all. Your party will only be separated during the three - four minute ride. Will not work for family with little kids who cannot ride by themselves as you will be separated into different cars/sides.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Universal's Loews Royal Pacific Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tianning X.
Business
N/A
Dec 30, 2014

Worth the money with Express Pass

Room is not available at 4 PM, no apologies. extra $20 for parking per day. Express Pass comes with the room and is very useful, saves time and money (2 parents + 2kids 4 passes). Close to the parks with water taxi service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Get the Express Pass, go to parks early, avoid 12/26-1/5 if you can.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Universal's Loews Royal Pacific Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stephanie M.
Business
Plattsburgh
Jan 5, 2015

family trip

The hotel is nice and convenient, however our family found a few things to be disappointing. A refrigerator in the room would be an extra cost ($10-15 per day, I think) the refrigerators are actually already in the room -- just behind a locked cabinet it appears. Secondly, the use of the fitness facilities was an extra charge per use as well. For the amount that we paid to stay, these additional costs were very surprising it seemed the hotel was trying to make a buck in anyway they could instead of making the stay a pleasant family vacation. You stay there for the convenience and the early park admission -- and have to accept the nickel and diming. The nice Disney resort hotels include these amenities, so we sort of expected them here, too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Very short and pleasant walk to the park entrances.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Universal's Loews Royal Pacific Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alisha P
Business
Yorba Linda
Jan 5, 2015

Express Passes!

This hotel is just a 5-10 minute walk to the parks or you can take the complimentary water taxi. The hotel was beautiful. The best part was the express passes and early admission into the universal parks. It made the 2 days we spent at the parks stress free!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top