$394 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 7, 2015 Check-out: Jul 10, 2015

Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

5 stars
View map of 5601 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
89 reviews
Quick getaway

We stayed at Portofino Bay to go to Universal Studios. Great location, excellent theming, excellent... See full review

  • Jimbo F.
  • Jun 4, 2015
Awesome family trip

Aside from some room cleanliness issues that were not resolved (and to be fair, we stopped letting... See full review

  • Y.G.
  • Jun 1, 2015
Stay On-site at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel and Experience la dolce vita – the sweet life at this AAA Four Diamond Award winning hotel located within easy walking distance of both Universal Studios and Universals Islands of Adventure theme parks. On-site hotel guests SKIP THE REGULAR LINES in both Universal Orlando theme parks - A FREE BENEFIT WORTH UP TO 89 DOLLARS PER PERSON, PER DAY Plus enjoy EARLY PARK ADMISSION to the Wizarding World of Harry Potter, one hour before the park opens. Valid theme park admission required. Restrictions Apply. Guests will also enjoy Complimentary resort-wide transportation, including water taxis connecting the hotels and theme parks, priority seating at select restaurants throughout the resort, complimentary package delivery to guest rooms and resort-wide charging privileges with your hotel room key card. Hotel rooms can accommodate up to five people per room - roll away required for the 5th person (fees apply). Pet Friendly rooms are available (fees apply).

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel Rooms

Deluxe
DELUXE ROOM category- rollaway required for 5th guest (fee applies) (Kings Available)
Luxury
KIDS SUITE category - rollaway required for 5th guest (fee applies) Despicable Me Kids Suites Experience the fun starting August 1st! Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando invites you to experience the world of Despicable Me in its newly-renova
Standard
GARDEN VIEW category - rollaway required for 5th guest (fee applies)(Kings Available)

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Executive level
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Game room
Jogging track
Play ground
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Video checkout
Gift shop
Copy service
Currency exchange
News stand
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Universal Studios Escape: 0.4 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 0.6 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 0.8 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 0.9 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 1.7 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 2.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 2.4 mi
  • Trainland: 3.3 mi
  • Wonderworks: 3.3 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 3.4 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 3.8 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 3.8 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.5 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.6 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 4.8 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 0.4 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 0.6 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 0.8 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 0.9 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 1.7 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 2.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 2.4 mi
  • Trainland: 3.3 mi
  • Wonderworks: 3.3 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 3.4 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 3.8 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 3.8 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.5 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.6 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 4.8 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 5 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 5.2 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 5.3 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 6.3 mi
  • Amway Arena: 6.5 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 6.5 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 6.5 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 6.8 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 7.9 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 8.2 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 8.4 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 8.6 mi
  • Gatorland: 9.2 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 14.6 mi
  • CFE Arena: 18.2 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 18.5 mi

Dining

Trattoria Del Porto
The colorful festivals celebrated in the Italian countryside are the background for Trattoria del Porto®. Enjoy diverse regional cuisine, delicious antipasti and tempting desserts, plus a delightful breakfast buffet to start off your morning. Seating is a
Mama Della s Ristorante
At Mama Della’s Ristorante everyone is family! Mama has turned her house into a delightful restaurant, with every room a different dining area where you'll enjoy abundant portions of authentic Old World favorites from the Tuscany, Naples and Piemonte regi
Bice Ristorante
Take part in an Italian tradition in fine dining, since 1926. Bice’s reputation throughout the world for exquisite food and service precedes itself. An exquisite culinary voyage right to the heart of Italy awaits you amid a decor which combines Old World
Sal s Market Deli
Sal’s Market Deli is an authentic Italian delicatessen and retail cafe overlooking the harborside piazza. Sal's offers brick oven pizzas; an assortment of imported Italian meats and cheeses; fresh fruit; antipasti; salads; and a broad assortment of biscot
Splendido Pizzeria
What would Loews Portofino Bay Hotel be without an authentic pizzeria -Located poolside, Splendido Pizzeria serves delicious pizza pies cooked in a wood burning brick oven. You can also enjoy burgers, salads, and all your favorite beverages. It’s the perf
Bar American
The epitome of elegance. At Bar American, a swank lobby lounge, you can sample a wide variety of specialty drinks from classic-style martinis and European cocktails to fine cognacs, espresso and Italy’s treasured Grappas. Enjoy exquisite caviar, smoked sa
Thirsty Fish Bar
The Thirsty Fish is a friendly Italian wine bar serving savory cicchetti - small plates of food. Its harborside location on the piazza is perfect for viewing the sunset while you sip Peroni or a glass of wine, smoke a cigar, or enjoy a cordial with family
Gelateria Cafe Espresso
There’s nothing quite like an Italian bakery featuring tempting biscotti, cool and creamy homemade gelato in a rainbow of flavors, plus specialty coffee, espresso and more. Enjoy Italy’s finest deserts at Gelateria—caffe espresso.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
5 out of 89
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KristenCMC
Business
Austin
Jan 28, 2015

Great hotel for couples!

This hotel was a nice little oasis at Universal. Totally worth the price considering you get a fast pass to the parks included for staying on property. Great for couples and adults.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Susan Carr
Business
Massachusetts
Nov 17, 2014

weekend getaway

Great experience. Club level so worth it - daily continental breakfast, mid day snack, evening wine, cheese and appetizers and dessert plus express passes to Universal. Can't be beat. Stayed at the Portofino 4 years ago and it is only better this time. Accomodating, gracious staff members. Looking forward to going back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

take the club level

Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jersey Shore
Apr 5, 2010

uncooperating staff and rooms not ready.

I was arriving with a 39' very expensive speed boat that we had just used in a race in Cape Coral the day before. I tried numerous times to call and make arrangemnts ahead of time, but only got voicemail. Major issue when we arrivede as they had no secure place to put it. Ended p leaving it by the entrance where it said no parking.To add insult to injury, they were very behend in preparing the rooms. I was to see my daughter compete in a cheer competetion at Universal at 6;45 pm. We did not get our room number until 6:40!! No time to get cleaned up and regroup. Paid $400 for a room that spent 3 hours in as I left 4:30 am the next morning. They didn't even meet their guaranteed check-in time of 4pm. Keep in mind that it was pouring all day, so a stroll around the pool or was impossible to kill time while waiting. The bright spot was [...], the bar-tender who had a sense of humor.Very unhappy with the staff, facility, and overall experience. Would not return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Woodbridge, VA
Jul 27, 2009

Wonderful! From start to Finish!

Everyone at the hotel was helpful. Even after we checked out and got stuck in a rainstorm at Universal Studios, we went back and they gave us towels and plastic bags for us to pack our wet clothes in. All the staff was really nice and everyone we passed said goodmorning or goodevening even the cleaning staff. Loved the rooms and the bathrooms were great, I wished I had brought some bubblebath for the deep tub.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

We ate at two of the hotels restaurants and each were fabulous, and reasonably priced for what you got. Sal's pizza was delicious, and Mamma Della's was so charming and the food portions were huge! They even had live singers that seranaded you while you ate.

Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Woodbridge, VA
Jul 27, 2009

Wonderful! From start to Finish!

Everyone at the hotel was helpful. Even after we checked out and got stuck in a rainstorm at Universal Studios, we went back and they gave us towels and plastic bags for us to pack our wet clothes in. All the staff was really nice and everyone we passed said goodmorning or goodevening even the cleaning staff. Loved the rooms and the bathrooms were great, I wished I had brought some bubblebath for the deep tub.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

We ate at two of the hotels restaurants and each were fabulous, and reasonably priced for what you got. Sal's pizza was delicious, and Mamma Della's was so charming and the food portions were huge! They even had live singers that seranaded you while you ate.

Back to menu Return to top