$256 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 20, 2015 Check-out: Sep 23, 2015

Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

5 stars
View map of 5601 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
68 reviews
Excellent Family Hotel

Stayed 4 nights at the Portofino. Excellent hotel. Perks for the early entry and boat ride to parks... See full review

  • Karen W.
  • Aug 31, 2015
Great Time

The hotel was beautiful and the staff were really nice. It's a bit too far to walk to the parks... See full review

  • Voodoo fan
  • Aug 30, 2015
Celebrate la dolce vita - the sweet life - at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando®. Nestled along a picturesque bay at Universal Orlando® Resort, this luxurious hotel re-creates the charm and romance of the famed seaside village of Portofino, Italy, right down to the cobblestone streets and outdoor cafes. This AAA Four Diamond Award® winning hotel features 750 guest rooms, including 45 spacious suites. Each room offers the epitome of European luxury and elegance with custom designed furnishings and marble accents. And of course, each guest room is also equipped with all the latest amenities to combine the best of Old World hospitality with modern convenience. Hotel guests enjoy impeccable and attentive service, an opulent spa, three themed swimming pools and exceptional dining, plus an exclusive package of theme park benefits, including: SKIP THE REGULAR LINES* with FREE Universal ExpressSM Unlimited ride access in both theme parks - a value of up to $89^ per person, per day (valid theme park admission required), and Early Park Admission† to The Wizarding World of Harry Potter™ one hour before the theme park opens (valid theme park admission required).

From the classically-inspired fountains and charming courtyards to the authentic music filling the piazza, Loews Portofino Bay Hotel enables guests to escape to the sunny shores of the Italian Riviera.
Rooms
The Italian accent of Loews Portofino Bay Hotel is perhaps nowhere more pronounced than in its 750 stylish guest rooms, including 45 spacious suites. Custom designed furnishings and marble accents declare a European sensibility, while features like custom duvet covers and elegant window treatments featuring lace curtains offer you a luxurious welcome home from the theme parks. 
Highlights
  • Free Universal Express Unlimited ride access* to  SKIP THE REGULAR LINES in both theme parks all day - a benefit worth up to $89^ per person, per day (valid theme park admission required)
  • Early Park Admission† to The Wizarding World of Harry Potter™ one hour before the theme park opens (valid theme park admission required)
  • Free shuttle buses; walking paths to Universal Orlando®
  • 3 themed swimming pools 
  • Mandara Spa
  • Dive in movie
Nearby attractions
  • Universal Studios Florida® (0.9 mi/1.44 km)
  • Universal's Islands of Adventure® (0.4 mi/0.64 km)
  • Universal CityWalk® (0.6 mi/0.96 km)
  • Wet 'n Wild Orlando® (0.6 mi/0.96 km)
Policies
HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related indicia are trademarks of and © Warner Bros. Entertainment Inc. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © JKR. (s15)
†Paid theme park admission required. Early Park Admission begins one (1) hour prior to regularly scheduled park opening to one (1) Universal Orlando theme park as determined by Universal Orlando. Valid at select attractions at each park. Additional restrictions may apply.*Paid theme park admission required. Benefit not valid for guests staying at Universal’s Cabana Bay Beach Resort; available for purchase only. Not valid at Harry Potter and the Forbidden Journey™ , Harry Potter and the Escape from Gringotts™, and other select attractions.  Not valid at Hogwarts™ Express.  Only valid for the number of guests staying in the room for the length of hotel stay as indicated on the Universal Express Unlimited pass. Available during normal theme park operating hours only. Not valid for separately ticketed special events. Additional restrictions may apply and benefits are subject to change without notice. ^Based on seasonal peak pricing for the Universal ExpressSM Unlimited pass. © 2015 MARVEL. Fear Factor TM & © 2015 Endemol Netherlands B.V. Men In Black & Alien Attack: TM & © 2015 Columbia Pictures Industries, Inc. All rights reserved. Curious George ®, created by Margret and H.A. Rey, is copyrighted and trademarked by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing Company and used under license. Licensed by Universal Studios Licensing, Inc. All rights reserved. Woody Woodpecker’s Nuthouse Coaster ® Walter Lantz. The Barney name and character, related characters and the overlapping dino spots and Barney and star logos are trademarks of Lyons Partnership, L.P. Reg. U.S. Pat. & Tm. Off. and other countries. THE SIMPSONS RIDE TM Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation. The Simpsons TM & © 2015 Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation. All rights reserved. T2, TERMINATOR ® StudioCanal S.A. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Shrek 4-D © 2015 DreamWorks Animation L.L.C. TRANSFORMERS and its logo and all related characters are trademarks of Hasbro and are used with permission. © 2015 Hasbro. All Rights Reserved. © 2015 DreamWorks L.L.C. and Paramount Pictures Corporation. All Rights Reserved. Dr. Seuss properties TM & © 2015 Dr. Seuss Enterprises, L.P. All rights reserved. Rocky and Bullwinkle and Friends TM & © Ward Prods. All Popeye characters TM & © 2015 KFS, Inc. TM Hearst Holdings, Inc. Jurassic Park River Adventure ,Camp Jurassic ® Universal Studios/Amblin. Hollywood Drive-In Golf and associated logos are trademarks of Adventure Golf Design & Development, Inc. Bubba Gump Shrimp Co. TM & © 2015 Par. Pic. Jimmy Buffett’s ® Margaritaville ® Jimmy Buffett. The Cowfish and all related logos TM The Cowfish Sushi Burger Bar, LLC. All rights reserved. Pat O’Brien’s, Hurricane Glass logo, Have Fun! and Iron Grill Design ® Pat O’Brien’s Bar, Inc. © 2015 Pat O’Brien’s Bar, Inc. All rights reserved. Emeril’s ® Emeril Lagasse. Hot Dog Hall of Fame is a registered trademark of Creative Attractions, LLC. ©2015 AMC. IMAX® is a registered trademark of IMAX Corporation. © 2015 BMP. Hard Rock Hotel, Hard Rock Café, Hard Rock Live ® Hard Rock Cafe International (USA), Inc. Cabana Bay Beach Resort © 2015 UCF Hotel Venture II. All rights reserved. Loews Portofino Bay Hotel and Loews Royal Pacific Resort logo © 2015 UCF Hotel Venture. All rights reserved. © 2015 UCF Hotel Venture III. All rights reserved. © 2015 Wet 'n Wild. All rights reserved. Universal elements and all related indicia TM & © 2015 Universal Studios. All rights reserved.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$210
4.2 / 5 245 reviews
★★★★
$233
4.4 / 5 82 reviews
★★★★
$99
4.0 / 5 261 reviews
★★★
$107
4.3 / 5 129 reviews
★★★
$55
3.0 / 5 Not yet reviewed
★★★
$98
4.2 / 5 87 reviews

Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel Rooms

Deluxe
DELUXE ROOM category- rollaway required for 5th guest (fee applies) (Kings Available)
Luxury
KIDS SUITE category - rollaway required for 5th guest (fee applies) Despicable Me Kids Suites Experience the fun starting August 1st! Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando invites you to experience the world of Despicable Me in its newly-renova
Standard
GARDEN VIEW category - rollaway required for 5th guest (fee applies)(Kings Available)

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Executive level
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Game room
Jogging track
Play ground
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Video checkout
Gift shop
Copy service
Currency exchange
News stand
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Universal Studios Escape: 0.4 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 0.6 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 0.8 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 0.9 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 1.7 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 2.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 2.4 mi
  • Trainland: 3.3 mi
  • Wonderworks: 3.3 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 3.4 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 3.8 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 3.8 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.5 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.6 mi
  • Seaworld ® Orlando: 4.8 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 0.4 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 0.6 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 0.8 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 0.9 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 1.7 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 2.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 2.4 mi
  • Trainland: 3.3 mi
  • Wonderworks: 3.3 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 3.4 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 3.8 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 3.8 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.5 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.6 mi
  • Seaworld ® Orlando: 4.8 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 5 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 5.2 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 5.3 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 6.3 mi
  • Amway Arena: 6.5 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 6.5 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 6.5 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 6.8 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 7.9 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 8.2 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 8.4 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 8.6 mi
  • Gatorland: 9.2 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 14.6 mi
  • CFE Arena: 18.2 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 18.5 mi

Dining

Trattoria Del Porto
The colorful festivals celebrated in the Italian countryside are the background for Trattoria del Porto®. Enjoy diverse regional cuisine, delicious antipasti and tempting desserts, plus a delightful breakfast buffet to start off your morning. Seating is a
Mama Della s Ristorante
At Mama Della’s Ristorante everyone is family! Mama has turned her house into a delightful restaurant, with every room a different dining area where you'll enjoy abundant portions of authentic Old World favorites from the Tuscany, Naples and Piemonte regi
Bice Ristorante
Take part in an Italian tradition in fine dining, since 1926. Bice’s reputation throughout the world for exquisite food and service precedes itself. An exquisite culinary voyage right to the heart of Italy awaits you amid a decor which combines Old World
Sal s Market Deli
Sal’s Market Deli is an authentic Italian delicatessen and retail cafe overlooking the harborside piazza. Sal's offers brick oven pizzas; an assortment of imported Italian meats and cheeses; fresh fruit; antipasti; salads; and a broad assortment of biscot
Splendido Pizzeria
What would Loews Portofino Bay Hotel be without an authentic pizzeria -Located poolside, Splendido Pizzeria serves delicious pizza pies cooked in a wood burning brick oven. You can also enjoy burgers, salads, and all your favorite beverages. It’s the perf
Bar American
The epitome of elegance. At Bar American, a swank lobby lounge, you can sample a wide variety of specialty drinks from classic-style martinis and European cocktails to fine cognacs, espresso and Italy’s treasured Grappas. Enjoy exquisite caviar, smoked sa
Thirsty Fish Bar
The Thirsty Fish is a friendly Italian wine bar serving savory cicchetti - small plates of food. Its harborside location on the piazza is perfect for viewing the sunset while you sip Peroni or a glass of wine, smoke a cigar, or enjoy a cordial with family
Gelateria Cafe Espresso
There’s nothing quite like an Italian bakery featuring tempting biscotti, cool and creamy homemade gelato in a rainbow of flavors, plus specialty coffee, espresso and more. Enjoy Italy’s finest deserts at Gelateria—caffe espresso.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
68 out of 68
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mjtspirit
Couples
Chicago, IL
Jul 13, 2012

Orlando 2012

Very disappointing for the money and unpublished extras like the charge for wi-fi in the room and $10 daily charge for use of the fitness center (never run across this before) make this a really poor value. We chose Portofino over their sister property, Hard Rock because we were told it was quieter, which it was, but that's primarily because there is virtually nothing going on there. This hotel is badly in need of an entertainment director. We actually spent most of our hotel time with friends atthe Hard Rock pool bar and used their free fitness center on our Portofino reservation. While the room was clean and comfortable, the issues described above combined with the relative indifference of the front desk staff and arrogance of the spa staff make this a definite no for future travel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Jersey Shore
Apr 5, 2010

uncooperating staff and rooms not ready.

I was arriving with a 39' very expensive speed boat that we had just used in a race in Cape Coral the day before. I tried numerous times to call and make arrangemnts ahead of time, but only got voicemail. Major issue when we arrivede as they had no secure place to put it. Ended p leaving it by the entrance where it said no parking.To add insult to injury, they were very behend in preparing the rooms. I was to see my daughter compete in a cheer competetion at Universal at 6;45 pm. We did not get our room number until 6:40!! No time to get cleaned up and regroup. Paid $400 for a room that spent 3 hours in as I left 4:30 am the next morning. They didn't even meet their guaranteed check-in time of 4pm. Keep in mind that it was pouring all day, so a stroll around the pool or was impossible to kill time while waiting. The bright spot was [...], the bar-tender who had a sense of humor.Very unhappy with the staff, facility, and overall experience. Would not return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Party of eight
Family
Bergen County, NJ
Aug 15, 2010

Disappointed

I called a week before to check on my reservation because I was in Orlando at another hotel,only to find out my family was staying in 2 separate buildings at this hotel. I asked for adjoining rooms and did not get them --we were next door, which meant my husband I I had to split up to be with our children which was a real hassle since room keys did not work--I brought them to desk twice to correct.The check in was very slow, long lines and my keys not only had the wrong names on them , but they did not open all open the doors they were supposed to. I brought them to desk again but the problem continued. I had to be with the correct child who had a working key to get in my own room. One thing I like on vacation is being able to charge my room for purchases but only 1of the 8 card keys worked to make purchases so it was an annoyance. I will never purchase park tickets again from [...] both Disney and Universal unable to help me with vouchers at hotels--had to stand on long lines in 100 degree temps to get corrected at parks. The staff at Universal's hotels would not even attempt to look up my tickets at "special ticket office " at hotel just for park tickets. I nearly missed early morning admission because I had to wait on line at park-- which I tried to avoid by purchasing tickets in advance. I was gone from 7:30a.m.until 5:30p.m. and I had to find the housekeeper and have him clean my room which he did for 30 minutes and then left his card in door and did not let me know he was gone so I waited an hour with my whole faimily crammed in 1 of my rooms until I just went in my other room anyway to find the room done with housekeepers card still in door. The staff is certainly not what it used to be. I have stayed at this hotel at least 3 times in the past--not sure I will again. If it wasn't for the convenience of Express Pass in the park--I would not spend the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Express pass in park makes the cost of hotel bearable

Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
FreedomRide
Family
Mobile, AL
Aug 9, 2011

Overpriced

We stayed at the hotel to attend the Universal theme parks. The hotel was priced like a 4-star but the quality was 2-star. Our first room had defective TV and air conditioning. We moved to another room that had marginal air conditioning. Down the hall, an ice machine soaked the corridor carpet with water all 3 days we were there. Not a well-managed operation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Stay away from the hotel restaurants; the prices are unreasonable. Get in your car and eat off the property instead.

Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Too Much for Little
Couples
Dallas, Texas
Oct 22, 2012

Too Much for Too Little

I am really not hard to please when it comes to staying at a Hotel, but this one takes the cake. Everything is too expensive, and everything will cost you. There is no shuttle from Airport to Hotel and the transportation that is provided is extremely expensive. No vending machines in the Hotel, so you will have to purchase your snacks from the very expensive restaurants. Ten dollars per person to use the workout equipment is just one example of how this Hotel gouges you at every turn. Parking your rental car will cost you a small fortune, be prepared to spend at least $100 per day on incidentals, and if you have kids good luck!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Too Expensive!!!!!

Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Very thirsty mom & kids
Family
NYC
Feb 4, 2010

Nice hotel, but no ammenities opened

My husband was on business, but my too young daughters and I were here to hang in Florida and go to Universal and Seaworld. The fact that the hotel offers free shuttle service via bus or boat, to Universal, citywalk and Islands of Adventure is terrific, but don't expect to have a drink when returning for the day because all restaurants and markets in the hotel close way before times indicated in the brocure and website. It is the slow season understandably, but remember, this is a 5 star hotel, 4 diamond AAA award receiver, so you would think that at 8 pm we wouldn't feel like it was a ghost town!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

ZERO in the hotel. Buy your own water, juice, snacks and necessities in bulk! Or be prepared to raid the minibar repeatedly!

Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KJustice
Couples
Charlotte, NC
Oct 3, 2014

Nice stay

While this property is beautiful, it is expansive and our room, which was on the 4th floor in the East wing, was about as far away from the hotel's amenities as one could get. I would recommend to anyone assigned a room in the East wing to stay on either the 1st or 2nd floor if you're not near the elevators. The staff was courteous, but no more so than any other property I've stayed at. We did have one staff member that was kind enough to give us direction when he saw that we were a bit lost after check-in on the way to our room. Housekeeping was very good and serviced our room each day of our stay. Being a YouFirst member didn't seem to make up for the fact that I had only booked a garden view room; I felt invisible to the staff and while the property is beautiful, the rooms very comfortable and the location ideal, I will most likely not return because the money spent there was just not worth it for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Robnoc
Couples
Connecticut, USA
Oct 17, 2011

Convenient

Great hotel in excellent location for access to the Universal parks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Fabulous Four
Family
Livonia, MI
Jun 25, 2012

Great location and staff

The staff were excellent! It was great to get a club room so that you had breakfast, snacks, and beverages available throughout the day. An express line pass for Universal and Islands of Adventure comes as part of the room package and that was great to have. Nice pools and hotel amenities. Ride the ferry to City Walk or the parks. I Highly recommend this hotel. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Staying on the Universal Property gets you an Express Pass which cuts down on the time you spend in lines at the rides and attractions.

Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ma Jam
Family
Decatur AL
Jul 29, 2012

Family Trip

The staff was wonderful. But the room needs a little updating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the water taxi's to the parks!! And take advantage of the early open to the parks!!

Back to menu Return to top