$256 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 22, 2014 Check-out: Sep 25, 2014

Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

5 stars
5601 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
60 reviews
Great weekend get away

This hotel is in a great location and offers a complete package. You even get fast pass for the... See full review

  • Clabby
  • Sep 15, 2014
Luxury plus

From the moment we pulled into the valet parking we received the special treatment. We were... See full review

  • Juliecal
  • Sep 8, 2014
Stay On-site at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel and Experience la dolce vita – the sweet life at this AAA Four Diamond Award winning hotel located within easy walking distance of both Universal Studios and Universals Islands of Adventure theme parks. On-site hotel guests SKIP THE REGULAR LINES in both Universal Orlando theme parks - A FREE BENEFIT WORTH UP TO 89 DOLLARS PER PERSON, PER DAY Plus enjoy EARLY PARK ADMISSION to the Wizarding World of Harry Potter, one hour before the park opens. Valid theme park admission required. Restrictions Apply. Guests will also enjoy Complimentary resort-wide transportation, including water taxis connecting the hotels and theme parks, priority seating at select restaurants throughout the resort, complimentary package delivery to guest rooms and resort-wide charging privileges with your hotel room key card. Hotel rooms can accommodate up to five people per room - roll away required for the 5th person (fees apply). Pet Friendly rooms are available (fees apply).

Hotel Map

28.4805 -81.4597
Nearby airports
Orlando Intl Airport, (MCO), 12.00, MI, W; Orlando/Sanford Airport, (SFB), 35.00, MI, NW;
Area description
Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel Rooms

Deluxe
DELUXE ROOM category- rollaway required for 5th guest (fee applies) (Kings Available)
Luxury
KIDS SUITE category - rollaway required for 5th guest (fee applies) Despicable Me Kids Suites Experience the fun starting August 1st! Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando invites you to experience the world of Despicable Me in its newly-renova
Standard
GARDEN VIEW category - rollaway required for 5th guest (fee applies)(Kings Available)

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Executive level
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Game room
Jogging track
Play ground
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Video checkout
Gift shop
Copy service
Currency exchange
News stand
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Universal Studios Escape: 0.4 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 0.6 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 0.8 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 0.9 mi
  • Skyventure: 1.2 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 1.7 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 2.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 2.4 mi
  • Trainland: 3.3 mi
  • Wonderworks: 3.3 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 3.4 mi
  • Shingle Creek Gold Club: 3.8 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 3.8 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.5 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.6 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 0.4 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 0.6 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 0.8 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 0.9 mi
  • Skyventure: 1.2 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 1.7 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 2.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 2.4 mi
  • Trainland: 3.3 mi
  • Wonderworks: 3.3 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 3.4 mi
  • Shingle Creek Gold Club: 3.8 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 3.8 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.5 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.6 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 4.8 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 5 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 5.2 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 5.3 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 6.3 mi
  • Amway Arena: 6.5 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 6.5 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 6.5 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 6.8 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 7.9 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 8.2 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 8.4 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 8.6 mi
  • Gatorland: 9.2 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 14.6 mi
  • CFE Arena: 18.2 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 18.5 mi

Dining

Trattoria Del Porto
The colorful festivals celebrated in the Italian countryside are the background for Trattoria del Porto®. Enjoy diverse regional cuisine, delicious antipasti and tempting desserts, plus a delightful breakfast buffet to start off your morning. Seating is a
Mama Della s Ristorante
At Mama Della’s Ristorante everyone is family! Mama has turned her house into a delightful restaurant, with every room a different dining area where you'll enjoy abundant portions of authentic Old World favorites from the Tuscany, Naples and Piemonte regi
Bice Ristorante
Take part in an Italian tradition in fine dining, since 1926. Bice’s reputation throughout the world for exquisite food and service precedes itself. An exquisite culinary voyage right to the heart of Italy awaits you amid a decor which combines Old World
Sal s Market Deli
Sal’s Market Deli is an authentic Italian delicatessen and retail cafe overlooking the harborside piazza. Sal's offers brick oven pizzas; an assortment of imported Italian meats and cheeses; fresh fruit; antipasti; salads; and a broad assortment of biscot
Splendido Pizzeria
What would Loews Portofino Bay Hotel be without an authentic pizzeria -Located poolside, Splendido Pizzeria serves delicious pizza pies cooked in a wood burning brick oven. You can also enjoy burgers, salads, and all your favorite beverages. It’s the perf
Bar American
The epitome of elegance. At Bar American, a swank lobby lounge, you can sample a wide variety of specialty drinks from classic-style martinis and European cocktails to fine cognacs, espresso and Italy’s treasured Grappas. Enjoy exquisite caviar, smoked sa
Thirsty Fish Bar
The Thirsty Fish is a friendly Italian wine bar serving savory cicchetti - small plates of food. Its harborside location on the piazza is perfect for viewing the sunset while you sip Peroni or a glass of wine, smoke a cigar, or enjoy a cordial with family
Gelateria Cafe Espresso
There’s nothing quite like an Italian bakery featuring tempting biscotti, cool and creamy homemade gelato in a rainbow of flavors, plus specialty coffee, espresso and more. Enjoy Italy’s finest deserts at Gelateria—caffe espresso.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (60)

Ratings and reviews for Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
60 out of 60
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mom and Dad saved the world
Chicago, IL
Jan 21, 2010

I guess because its near Disney.....

Would ask for a room closer to the center of the property- spent a lot of time walking to room- If you rent a car, even from the hertz desk at the hotel, there is an additional 21.00 everytime you leave

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sals has everything you need and its not too expensive

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Richmond, TX
Aug 16, 2009

Universal Vacation

Had a great time! Excellent staff, easy access to the parks and city walk, and ENDLESS options to fill your day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

GO TO CITY WALK!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
new jersey
Aug 10, 2009

great family getaway

nice clean hotel. concierge and ticket office very helpful. Great location. resterants a little pricey

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jen's Vacation
Columbia, MD
Jul 28, 2009

Great Trip

We just got back from an excellent stay at Portofino Bay Hotel. Check-in was smooth and our room (a deluxe bayfront) had gorgeous views of the bay. It was also super easy to get to all of the restaurants (none of the long walks others have complained about). Unfortunately, it was also right above the alcove that hosted the evening opera singers. It was a lot of fun listening to the singers from our bedroom the first couple of nights, but started getting on our nerves by night 4. If you want to turn in early, I'd recommend getting a pool-side room. The best part of the hotel was the express pass privileges. We zipped pass everyone waiting in the 60+ minute lines and never had to wait more than 15 minutes (and that was for the front line of the Ice roller coaster). A must-have for the heat and crowds at Universal in July!! I LOVED the villa pool. It was just long enough to swim laps in if you got there early. I woke up several mornings around 0700 to swim laps, and there was never anyone else there that early. If you head over there later (anytime after 1100), be sure to bring lots and lots of sunscreen. There isn't enough shade for everyone (unless you shell out more $$ for a private cabana) and it can get a little uncomfortable in July heat. For food, I'd definitely recommend Sal's Deli. The prices are more than reasonable for a resort, and the Salvatore Pizza was excellent. You can get also get a decent bottle of wine for under $15… much less than you'd pay at any of the other eateries on site. We dined at Bice's one night and thought the food was good, if a little pricey. TIP: If you are celebrating any special event, have the concierge make you a reservation. We told the concierge that it was for my boyfriend's birthday, and got free appetizers. If fine dining is your thing, I also recommend doing the tasting menu with wine pairing at Emrils. Four courses with wine for two came to only around $120 plus tip. Not bad for a special event.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Woodbridge, VA
Jul 27, 2009

Wonderful! From start to Finish!

Everyone at the hotel was helpful. Even after we checked out and got stuck in a rainstorm at Universal Studios, we went back and they gave us towels and plastic bags for us to pack our wet clothes in. All the staff was really nice and everyone we passed said goodmorning or goodevening even the cleaning staff. Loved the rooms and the bathrooms were great, I wished I had brought some bubblebath for the deep tub.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

We ate at two of the hotels restaurants and each were fabulous, and reasonably priced for what you got. Sal's pizza was delicious, and Mamma Della's was so charming and the food portions were huge! They even had live singers that seranaded you while you ate.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mykel67
Ontario, Canada
Jul 15, 2009

Expensive but Convenient and Elegant!

The hotel is very expensive for Orlando, but when you factor in the convenience of the Express Pass privileges you get at Universal as a hotel guest, well that's priceless! It's a lovely property-- beautiful setting, comfortable and elegant rooms, professional staff. There are many good dining options onsite, but be prepared: they are very expensive. Overall, an excellent hotel for a night or two while visiting the Universal parks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Acworth, GA
Jun 29, 2009

Portofino Bay Resort

Portofino Bay is a first class resort. We enjoyed the sunset concerts, the dive in movies and the relaxation in the spa and by the pool. The meals were excellent and the service was first rate. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone visiting Universal, your staying on the property gives you so many advantages.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Take time to enjoy the hotel's entertainment. It is free and is pleasing to all ages. After the sun sets you will find plenty of fun for everyone at City Walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KoolKat
Franklin lakes, NJ
May 11, 2009

This was perfect quick weekend

We stayed at this hotel and it was a great time. I went with my daughter (11 years old) and sister. We enjoyed universal and the convenience of the water taxi taking you right to the park. Also the express pass from staying at the hotel which gave full access to all of the rides , we had no lines to wait on, which was great because the average wait was 30-40minutes for the good rides. The service at the spa was phenomenal, we just had a blast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
brooklyn "boog"
tacoma, wa
May 8, 2009

great weekend get away

while we were there we chose to play in both universal and island or adventure. we also took part in the night life at city walk. city walk had great low key bars but if you really wanted to have a night to gaze into each others eyes, i would say "go to the thirsty fish", located rigt off the harber. you can buy a glass of wine, sit by the waters edge, and enjoy the beautiful setting. they have a great spa and will halp you with any questions you may throw at them. this is one place my husband and i will go any chance we get without the kids. by the way it is kid friendly too. its just our special spot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia
Aug 11, 2008

Friendly luxury

My family and I have stayed at the Portofino Bay Hotel many times since it opened. It is always a pleasure to stay there, even when we are not planning to visit the Universal parks, because the beautiful public spaces, rooms and excellent food make being there a pleasure. Unlike other luxury hotels, Portofino Bay has not cut back on amenities even as the numbers of tourists declines (with the exception of complimentary turn-down service; this must now be requested). We have stayed in other Orlando-area hotels affiliated with other resorts and found that service had declined, in-room amenities has been cut back or completely discontinued. In addition to the above, the most delightful aspect of this hotel is that it is a calm oasis in the middle of so much activity. It is a place we look forward to visiting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search