$290 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 30, 2015 Check-out: Jun 2, 2015

Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

5 stars
View map of 5601 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 85
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Single Rider 1
Business
Las Vegas
Dec 23, 2013

Great for Universal Parks

This was the most comfortable stay we have had in a long time. Great friendly staff that is very accommodating. Good food. Great entertainment. Awesome club level benefits. The only thing we were not told was that we could use our room key for cover charges at City Walk. We would definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Use the early admission every day. It helps with Harry Potter especially. Also, use the express pass for being a hotel guest. BIG plus!!

Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Five Kids
Business
Orlando
Jun 4, 2013

Bring the beds home

My children wanted to pack up the beds, since they were so comfortable. We loved the location of our room. It is the 2nd time we stayed and we were in just the right wing of the hotel for all the "Park" walking we did each day. Our hotel food was fantastic and better then the famed Emeril's. Our waiter Michael Graham could have sold us a car instead of the best food we ate during our visit. He was that engaging! We loved it! Eat at any place in this hotel and NOT in the Parks!! Two of the "Sal's" employees were rude and uncaring. They acted as if they could care less if we ordered or not and seemed bothered by any questions. I felt sorry for two families treated poorly due to children being indecisive #kids act this way#. I had no small children but did not like their attitude, after the families left! We arrived late #12:30 A.M.# and Delores was so helpful. We will be back! It was great! Again! The boat Captains we good too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Go no where else for food! It does not get any better then in this hotel!

Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shufflebowler
Business
New Jersey
May 8, 2013

First class hotel

Above average room decor with fabulous bedding and pillows. No problem sleeping whatsoever. Clean and stylish facades added to the idea of actually being in Italy. Top notch bar and eateries. Several different kinds of pools for different tastes. Go again in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get a map of the hotel layout. Somewhat confusing to travel from lobby, to room, to pool etc.

Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nurse Henan
Business
St.louis,Missouri
Apr 15, 2013

Amazing experience!

This hotel deserves every one of its diamonds and stars! The staff was helpful, location was great, view was amazing! Beds were super comfy, I'd defiantly return! We spent most our time in universal studios, but also hit the outlet malls. Had an amazing time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

City walk is just a short water taxi ride away. There are so many different, family friendly resteraunts to chose from.

Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tenpinmom
Business
long island
Apr 9, 2013

NICE HOTEL, GREAT LOCATION, COSTLY

Nice hotel and great location. I have stayed here several times. I have noticed a decrease in quality, especially the restaurants. Best bed!!!!! Air-conditioning is sensor controlled. OMG, what a pain in the neck. Temperature lowers while you are sleeping. All night long we had to wave our hands to get it to go back on. lol. Seriously. On-site Universal accommodations are the only way to go. It is exhausting enough visiting theme parks without staying on-site. Priority line at the rides, not Harry Potter. The pools are lovely. A vacation in itself. Be prepared to spend $$$$. Not sure if I would stay there again. It would really come down to if I got a GREAT deal or not. We felt cheated this trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Mama Dellas is not fine dining. Expensive and run of the mill tourist trap.

Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sassy's Mother
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 12, 2013

Friendly, ideal location

My mom and I stayed here for a mid-winter weekend getaway and were very happy with the hotel. The room was clean and spacious, and the bathtub was a treat. We loved the convenience of the boat transport to the parks as well as the opportunity to get into Universal Studios an hour early to beat the Harry Potter crowd. Would splurge to stay again if visiting the parks in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LSanders
Business
Outer Banks, NC
Feb 11, 2013

Just like Portofino Bay, Italy!

At least if I ever got there i would expect it to be just like this but not as easy. The hotel is immense but it doesn't feel overwhelming. Pools are great; only one issue; why does the pool bar close at only five pm? Also, dinner at the "fancy" restaurant on site was awful and had to be sent back which they took off the bill without any trouble. Everything else was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't eat at Bice. Staff was awsome, ambiance was awsome; food was mediocre and really expensive.

Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Too Much for Little
Business
Dallas, Texas
Oct 22, 2012

Too Much for Too Little

I am really not hard to please when it comes to staying at a Hotel, but this one takes the cake. Everything is too expensive, and everything will cost you. There is no shuttle from Airport to Hotel and the transportation that is provided is extremely expensive. No vending machines in the Hotel, so you will have to purchase your snacks from the very expensive restaurants. Ten dollars per person to use the workout equipment is just one example of how this Hotel gouges you at every turn. Parking your rental car will cost you a small fortune, be prepared to spend at least $100 per day on incidentals, and if you have kids good luck!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Too Expensive!!!!!

Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Florida Fanatics
Business
Glasgow, Scotland
Aug 12, 2012

Out of this wizarding world

First class service. Got upgraded which was even better. Room spacious, Comfortable bed. Couldn't be better for going into Universal's theme parks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Book your City Walk restaurant at the hotel concierge in the morning then you don't have to queue at night.

Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ma Jam
Business
Decatur AL
Jul 29, 2012

Family Trip

The staff was wonderful. But the room needs a little updating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the water taxi's to the parks!! And take advantage of the early open to the parks!!

Back to menu Return to top