$256 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2014 Check-out: Sep 7, 2014

Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

5 stars
5601 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
57 reviews
Universal resort

Very comfortable rooms and great location for our trip to Universal. However, a $10 charge to print... See full review

  • Jacob1234
  • Aug 22, 2014
Lovely atmosphere

The setting was quite beautiful for a theme park resort ! One would never know that universal... See full review

  • Michelly
  • Jul 17, 2014
Stay On-site at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel and Experience la dolce vita – the sweet life at this AAA Four Diamond Award winning hotel located within easy walking distance of both Universal Studios and Universals Islands of Adventure theme parks. On-site hotel guests SKIP THE REGULAR LINES in both Universal Orlando theme parks - A FREE BENEFIT WORTH UP TO 89 DOLLARS PER PERSON, PER DAY Plus enjoy EARLY PARK ADMISSION to the Wizarding World of Harry Potter, one hour before the park opens. Valid theme park admission required. Restrictions Apply. Guests will also enjoy Complimentary resort-wide transportation, including water taxis connecting the hotels and theme parks, priority seating at select restaurants throughout the resort, complimentary package delivery to guest rooms and resort-wide charging privileges with your hotel room key card. Hotel rooms can accommodate up to five people per room - roll away required for the 5th person (fees apply). Pet Friendly rooms are available (fees apply).

Hotel Map

28.4805 -81.4597
Nearby airports
Orlando Intl Airport, (MCO), 12.00, MI, W; Orlando/Sanford Airport, (SFB), 35.00, MI, NW;
Area description
Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel Rooms

Deluxe
DELUXE ROOM category- rollaway required for 5th guest (fee applies) (Kings Available)
Luxury
KIDS SUITE category - rollaway required for 5th guest (fee applies) Despicable Me Kids Suites Experience the fun starting August 1st! Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando invites you to experience the world of Despicable Me in its newly-renova
Standard
GARDEN VIEW category - rollaway required for 5th guest (fee applies)(Kings Available)

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Executive level
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Game room
Jogging track
Play ground
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Video checkout
Gift shop
Copy service
Currency exchange
News stand
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Universal Studios Escape: 0.4 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 0.6 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 0.8 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 0.9 mi
  • Skyventure: 1.2 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 1.7 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 2.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 2.4 mi
  • Trainland: 3.3 mi
  • Wonderworks: 3.3 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 3.4 mi
  • Shingle Creek Gold Club: 3.8 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 3.8 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.5 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.6 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 0.4 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 0.6 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 0.8 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 0.9 mi
  • Skyventure: 1.2 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 1.7 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 2.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 2.4 mi
  • Trainland: 3.3 mi
  • Wonderworks: 3.3 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 3.4 mi
  • Shingle Creek Gold Club: 3.8 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 3.8 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.5 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.6 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 4.8 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 5 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 5.2 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 5.3 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 6.3 mi
  • Amway Arena: 6.5 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 6.5 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 6.5 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 6.8 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 7.9 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 8.2 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 8.4 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 8.6 mi
  • Gatorland: 9.2 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 14.6 mi
  • CFE Arena: 18.2 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 18.5 mi

Dining

Trattoria Del Porto
The colorful festivals celebrated in the Italian countryside are the background for Trattoria del Porto®. Enjoy diverse regional cuisine, delicious antipasti and tempting desserts, plus a delightful breakfast buffet to start off your morning. Seating is a
Mama Della s Ristorante
At Mama Della’s Ristorante everyone is family! Mama has turned her house into a delightful restaurant, with every room a different dining area where you'll enjoy abundant portions of authentic Old World favorites from the Tuscany, Naples and Piemonte regi
Bice Ristorante
Take part in an Italian tradition in fine dining, since 1926. Bice’s reputation throughout the world for exquisite food and service precedes itself. An exquisite culinary voyage right to the heart of Italy awaits you amid a decor which combines Old World
Sal s Market Deli
Sal’s Market Deli is an authentic Italian delicatessen and retail cafe overlooking the harborside piazza. Sal's offers brick oven pizzas; an assortment of imported Italian meats and cheeses; fresh fruit; antipasti; salads; and a broad assortment of biscot
Splendido Pizzeria
What would Loews Portofino Bay Hotel be without an authentic pizzeria -Located poolside, Splendido Pizzeria serves delicious pizza pies cooked in a wood burning brick oven. You can also enjoy burgers, salads, and all your favorite beverages. It’s the perf
Bar American
The epitome of elegance. At Bar American, a swank lobby lounge, you can sample a wide variety of specialty drinks from classic-style martinis and European cocktails to fine cognacs, espresso and Italy’s treasured Grappas. Enjoy exquisite caviar, smoked sa
Thirsty Fish Bar
The Thirsty Fish is a friendly Italian wine bar serving savory cicchetti - small plates of food. Its harborside location on the piazza is perfect for viewing the sunset while you sip Peroni or a glass of wine, smoke a cigar, or enjoy a cordial with family
Gelateria Cafe Espresso
There’s nothing quite like an Italian bakery featuring tempting biscotti, cool and creamy homemade gelato in a rainbow of flavors, plus specialty coffee, espresso and more. Enjoy Italy’s finest deserts at Gelateria—caffe espresso.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (57)

Ratings and reviews for Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 57
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nymom
irvington, ny
Feb 16, 2011

Florida trip

Great grounds and clean hotel. Very friendly customer service. Very convenient boat taxi to theme parks Great amenities and very nice pool. heated pools were a great plus if we wanted to swim but it still was too cool for swimming

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

go to sandlake blvd - 10 minute drive for more dining options

Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DJ Rob
St. Augustine, FL.
Jan 31, 2011

Great Hotel

Beautiful hotel, elegant, well stocked & a boat charter ride to Universal Studios & City Walk. The hotel property is very large, so put on comfortable shoes & prepare to do a lot of walking. There's a deli market on the grounds with good eats & the hotel room service was very fast & also good eating. Pricey but worth it! would recommend to visit & will be going back there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Oct 29, 2010

Portofino is.... mmwaaaaaaa

Portofino rules. We had a great time. We arrived early and they set us up with one of their only balcony suites (trust me ask for room 2676 which faces the back adult pool - that is if you can't get the front bay side room with balcony which are next to impossible). It was also the wife's special b-day and I mentioned this at check in and they sent up a piece of cake with a candle, a very nice thought. By staying at this onsite universal hotel you get the express pass automatically for Universal and Island of Adventure. This was huge! Some rides we went right in when there was a huge line of sweaty people not moving. Staff is excellent and very friendly. The club level may only be worth it if you have a family or if you plan to take part in the evening happy hours with wine and beer (5:30-7:30) and get your money's worth (about $50 extra a night depending) but we were kinda at the park most of this time but managed to always grab a couple for the room at the end :) However, the breakfast was pretty good continental mix all you can eat buffet style. Overall, this is probably the best way to see universal if you want to pay a bit extra it is worth it. Only word of caution is that a family woke us up one night at 2am, kids yelling and all through the adjoining doors but we called security and 2 minutes later didn't hear a peep, due to this we requested a late check out which was granted after escalating to manager. I guess you can get this anywhere, but this was the only night this happened. Have a blast and try the panini's at Sal's Deli...mmmm

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Sal's Deli onsite has awesome panini's!!

Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Enfield, CT
Oct 11, 2010

Awesome hotel!!!

This was our second time staying at Portafino...we love it! Spacious rooms...highly recommend getting a club-level room...it's worth the extra money, especially for breakfast. Great beach pool with daily activities for the kids. Wonderful restaurants and continuous transportation to the Universal parks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

When you stay on-site at Universal you get to go in the Express lines...no waiting to get on rides!

Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Party of eight
Bergen County, NJ
Aug 15, 2010

Disappointed

I called a week before to check on my reservation because I was in Orlando at another hotel,only to find out my family was staying in 2 separate buildings at this hotel. I asked for adjoining rooms and did not get them --we were next door, which meant my husband I I had to split up to be with our children which was a real hassle since room keys did not work--I brought them to desk twice to correct.The check in was very slow, long lines and my keys not only had the wrong names on them , but they did not open all open the doors they were supposed to. I brought them to desk again but the problem continued. I had to be with the correct child who had a working key to get in my own room. One thing I like on vacation is being able to charge my room for purchases but only 1of the 8 card keys worked to make purchases so it was an annoyance. I will never purchase park tickets again from [...] both Disney and Universal unable to help me with vouchers at hotels--had to stand on long lines in 100 degree temps to get corrected at parks. The staff at Universal's hotels would not even attempt to look up my tickets at "special ticket office " at hotel just for park tickets. I nearly missed early morning admission because I had to wait on line at park-- which I tried to avoid by purchasing tickets in advance. I was gone from 7:30a.m.until 5:30p.m. and I had to find the housekeeper and have him clean my room which he did for 30 minutes and then left his card in door and did not let me know he was gone so I waited an hour with my whole faimily crammed in 1 of my rooms until I just went in my other room anyway to find the room done with housekeepers card still in door. The staff is certainly not what it used to be. I have stayed at this hotel at least 3 times in the past--not sure I will again. If it wasn't for the convenience of Express Pass in the park--I would not spend the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Express pass in park makes the cost of hotel bearable

Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
meem and man
Boston, MA
Aug 5, 2010

Great experience

This hotel was really very nice with pleasant rooms and great amenities...It was great for family travel, and very convenient to the Universal parks experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mexico City, Mexico
Aug 2, 2010

Wonderful Vacation

Very Nice Hotel. Enjoy the advantage of the Express Pass at the theme parks. Excellent!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Take advantage of the Express Pass!!!!!!

Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Long Island, NY
Jun 27, 2010

First Class Service All The Way

This hotel was first class service all the way. Everything was so beautiful we felt like we were actually in Portofino Italy. The water taxi was so great going back and forth to Universal. The staff was so courteous, prompt and polite. After a tiring, fun day at the parks, you really look forward to a relaxing atmosphere like this hotel to come back to. We all didn't want to go home to reality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The new Harry Potter Theme Park at Universal was just incredible! We had three day park hopper and started everyday at Harry Potter's theme park with the most famous delicious "butter beer". It was magical, from the rides, to the shops, to the staff, everything! The castle was breathtaking!

Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bbcohort
Shreveport, LA
Jun 25, 2010

Wonderful!

Went to the parks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
I'm Awesome!
Washington, DC
Jun 3, 2010

Stay was great!

Awesome service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search