$394 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 7, 2015 Check-out: Jul 10, 2015

Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

5 stars
View map of 5601 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
89 out of 89
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wdwms
Business
New Hampshire
Oct 7, 2014

Enjoyable time

Don't expect a upscale Hilton, don't expect a Ritz - this is a standard hotel with decent amenities and a great pool. We did not dine onsite, sadly the casual restaurant was closed on Sunday during the slower season. Great boat service to the parks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KJustice
Business
Charlotte, NC
Oct 3, 2014

Nice stay

While this property is beautiful, it is expansive and our room, which was on the 4th floor in the East wing, was about as far away from the hotel's amenities as one could get. I would recommend to anyone assigned a room in the East wing to stay on either the 1st or 2nd floor if you're not near the elevators. The staff was courteous, but no more so than any other property I've stayed at. We did have one staff member that was kind enough to give us direction when he saw that we were a bit lost after check-in on the way to our room. Housekeeping was very good and serviced our room each day of our stay. Being a YouFirst member didn't seem to make up for the fact that I had only booked a garden view room; I felt invisible to the staff and while the property is beautiful, the rooms very comfortable and the location ideal, I will most likely not return because the money spent there was just not worth it for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
universal fun trip
Business
orlando
Sep 30, 2014

getting away

location is why you stay here, and the benefits of the fast pass. this hotel is the quietest of the 3, so it is the best one for adults.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tony the Traveller
Business
Ocala, FL
Sep 22, 2014

Beautiful Hotel & Room

The Portofino is a beautiful resort. The room was absolutely gorgeous and the beds were fantastically comfortable. The only issue was the air conditioning did not seem to put out as much as we were hoping. Overall we would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Clabby
Business
Parkland, FL
Sep 15, 2014

Great weekend get away

This hotel is in a great location and offers a complete package. You even get fast pass for the parks as a guest. Rooms were comfortable. Only complaint was air conditioning which did not seem to work in the room. Seemed to be operated centrally no matter what temp you put it at. Overall great weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Juliecal
Business
Perth, Western Australia
Sep 8, 2014

Luxury plus

From the moment we pulled into the valet parking we received the special treatment. We were sleasantly surprised to receive a complementary upgrade from a garden view room to a bay view room. The Italian music playing all around the complex, just added to the experience. We loved sitting outside of Star Bucks, looking over the bay, sipping our coffees.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FrankGP
Business
Miami
Sep 1, 2014

Pricey for quality of room but overall good experience

We stayed at this hotel for Labor Day weekend 2014. The exterior of the building is very nice and closely resembles the small Italian town it was designed after. Main benefits of staying here are: 1) not having to pay for parking at park 2) getting early access to park 3) getting fast pass, which is really a must if you're going on a busy weekend, unless you plan on waiting average of 60min per ride. 4) quick ferry ride to park My only complaint and main reason for not giving it five stars was I felt that for the money we paid, the interior of the rooms should looks a little nicer or be updated. There was nothing particularly wrong, but it just appeared dated and not your typical Loews or Hilton quality. The mattress was very comfortable and the rooms were very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Def must check out Emerils restaurant. It was delicious.

Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jacob1234
Business
Mason, Ohio
Aug 22, 2014

Universal resort

Very comfortable rooms and great location for our trip to Universal. However, a $10 charge to print a couple pages was a bit much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Mama Della's is fantastic. Definitely check it out.

Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Theresa b
Business
Charleroi pa
Aug 2, 2014

Beautiful Hotel

From the time we checked in everyone was very nice. The hotel was immaculate and beautiful. would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The hotel offered a quick pass to universal as part of your stay which was a great extra especially since the lines were so long!

Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AJ no FLA in SUMMER
Business
Massachusetts
Jul 31, 2014

Great Hotel & trip to Universal Studios

Really NICE hotel. COMFORTABLE and Quiet! Expensive

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you arrive and check in hotel later (4:00 check in) hang out at pool for a bit if check in early-you don't need to spend full price on a park pass for that day to ride- for 10.00 each person, they will let you ride from 6 pm to close(10pm) so that is usually good for about 2 rides but worth it bc lines are shorter and you save time! Also, staying in park gets you to Harry Potter (or all rides at park) one hr earlier than park opens. If you are going to see the New Harry Potter attraction-Gringots, you better be in line by 7 am or you will be waiting 3-4 hrs EASY to ride. WARNING- Three of the four days we were at the park the Gringots ride had "technical difficulties" and riding was delayed for hrs before the line actually moved. Hopefully these kinks will be worked out before you are in line!

Back to menu Return to top