$285 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 29, 2015

Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

5 stars
View map of 5601 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
84 out of 84
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Juliecal
Business
Perth, Western Australia
Sep 8, 2014

Luxury plus

From the moment we pulled into the valet parking we received the special treatment. We were sleasantly surprised to receive a complementary upgrade from a garden view room to a bay view room. The Italian music playing all around the complex, just added to the experience. We loved sitting outside of Star Bucks, looking over the bay, sipping our coffees.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FrankGP
Business
Miami
Sep 1, 2014

Pricey for quality of room but overall good experience

We stayed at this hotel for Labor Day weekend 2014. The exterior of the building is very nice and closely resembles the small Italian town it was designed after. Main benefits of staying here are: 1) not having to pay for parking at park 2) getting early access to park 3) getting fast pass, which is really a must if you're going on a busy weekend, unless you plan on waiting average of 60min per ride. 4) quick ferry ride to park My only complaint and main reason for not giving it five stars was I felt that for the money we paid, the interior of the rooms should looks a little nicer or be updated. There was nothing particularly wrong, but it just appeared dated and not your typical Loews or Hilton quality. The mattress was very comfortable and the rooms were very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Def must check out Emerils restaurant. It was delicious.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jacob1234
Business
Mason, Ohio
Aug 22, 2014

Universal resort

Very comfortable rooms and great location for our trip to Universal. However, a $10 charge to print a couple pages was a bit much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Mama Della's is fantastic. Definitely check it out.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Theresa b
Business
Charleroi pa
Aug 2, 2014

Beautiful Hotel

From the time we checked in everyone was very nice. The hotel was immaculate and beautiful. would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The hotel offered a quick pass to universal as part of your stay which was a great extra especially since the lines were so long!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AJ no FLA in SUMMER
Business
Massachusetts
Jul 31, 2014

Great Hotel & trip to Universal Studios

Really NICE hotel. COMFORTABLE and Quiet! Expensive

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you arrive and check in hotel later (4:00 check in) hang out at pool for a bit if check in early-you don't need to spend full price on a park pass for that day to ride- for 10.00 each person, they will let you ride from 6 pm to close(10pm) so that is usually good for about 2 rides but worth it bc lines are shorter and you save time! Also, staying in park gets you to Harry Potter (or all rides at park) one hr earlier than park opens. If you are going to see the New Harry Potter attraction-Gringots, you better be in line by 7 am or you will be waiting 3-4 hrs EASY to ride. WARNING- Three of the four days we were at the park the Gringots ride had "technical difficulties" and riding was delayed for hrs before the line actually moved. Hopefully these kinks will be worked out before you are in line!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Michelly
Business
New Jersey
Jul 17, 2014

Lovely atmosphere

The setting was quite beautiful for a theme park resort ! One would never know that universal studios was so close !!! Great shops and restaurants in the plaza , lovely to just relax and pretend we were in Portifino Italy !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jeanine T
Business
Tewksbury
Jun 29, 2014

Wonderful Hotel

My family of three stayed comfortably at the Portifino . The staff was so nice and accommodating. We enjoyed eating at Sals and Mamas on site and the live music at the bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SENR
Business
Ireland
Jun 18, 2014

Great Family getaway

Great overall experience Great water taxi ride from hotel to parks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Free Water taxi is every 15-20 mins to park -- it's only a 10 min walk if there's no taxi

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
9999999999
Business
Queens, New York
Mar 6, 2014

Excellent family getaway

We had a great time. The location to the Universal theme parks was fantastic and the boat service to the parks was outstanding. Our room key allowed us to get early access to the parks. In addition, the express passes we obtained at the hotel, gave us access to every attraction (except the Harry Potter castle) without having to wait on the long lines. It saved us hours of waiting. We had dinner on evening at "Mama" on the hotel grounds and loved the food. Our entire experience with the hotel and hotel staff was a "10".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the shuttle boat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jotemen
Business
Brazil
Dec 28, 2013

Relaxing getaway

Awesome experience and enjoyable stay. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top