$256 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 22, 2015 Check-out: Sep 25, 2015

Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

5 stars
View map of 5601 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
66 reviews
A wonderful place to go

Beautiful hotel, super convenient water taxi, very nice staffs in front counter and very friendly... See full review

  • Wen L.C.
  • May 19, 2015
Second Visit

This was my second visit to the Portofino Bay Resort at Universal Orlando. I fell in love with it... See full review

  • Sis25
  • Apr 9, 2015
Celebrate la dolce vita - the sweet life - at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando®. Nestled along a picturesque bay at Universal Orlando® Resort, this luxurious hotel re-creates the charm and romance of the famed seaside village of Portofino, Italy, right down to the cobblestone streets and outdoor cafes. This AAA Four Diamond Award® winning hotel features 750 guest rooms, including 45 spacious suites. Each room offers the epitome of European luxury and elegance with custom designed furnishings and marble accents. And of course, each guest room is also equipped with all the latest amenities to combine the best of Old World hospitality with modern convenience. Hotel guests enjoy impeccable and attentive service, an opulent spa, three themed swimming pools and exceptional dining, plus an exclusive package of theme park benefits, including: SKIP THE REGULAR LINES* with FREE Universal ExpressSM Unlimited ride access in both theme parks - a value of up to $89^ per person, per day (valid theme park admission required), and Early Park Admission† to The Wizarding World of Harry Potter™ one hour before the theme park opens (valid theme park admission required).

From the classically-inspired fountains and charming courtyards to the authentic music filling the piazza, Loews Portofino Bay Hotel enables guests to escape to the sunny shores of the Italian Riviera.
Rooms
The Italian accent of Loews Portofino Bay Hotel is perhaps nowhere more pronounced than in its 750 stylish guest rooms, including 45 spacious suites. Custom designed furnishings and marble accents declare a European sensibility, while features like custom duvet covers and elegant window treatments featuring lace curtains offer you a luxurious welcome home from the theme parks. 
Highlights
  • Free Universal Express Unlimited ride access* to  SKIP THE REGULAR LINES in both theme parks all day - a benefit worth up to $89^ per person, per day (valid theme park admission required)
  • Early Park Admission† to The Wizarding World of Harry Potter™ one hour before the theme park opens (valid theme park admission required)
  • Free shuttle buses; walking paths to Universal Orlando®
  • 3 themed swimming pools 
  • Mandara Spa
  • Dive in movie
Nearby attractions
  • Universal Studios Florida® (0.9 mi/1.44 km)
  • Universal's Islands of Adventure® (0.4 mi/0.64 km)
  • Universal CityWalk® (0.6 mi/0.96 km)
  • Wet 'n Wild Orlando® (0.6 mi/0.96 km)
Policies
HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related indicia are trademarks of and © Warner Bros. Entertainment Inc. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © JKR. (s15)
†Paid theme park admission required. Early Park Admission begins one (1) hour prior to regularly scheduled park opening to one (1) Universal Orlando theme park as determined by Universal Orlando. Valid at select attractions at each park. Additional restrictions may apply.*Paid theme park admission required. Benefit not valid for guests staying at Universal’s Cabana Bay Beach Resort; available for purchase only. Not valid at Harry Potter and the Forbidden Journey™ , Harry Potter and the Escape from Gringotts™, and other select attractions.  Not valid at Hogwarts™ Express.  Only valid for the number of guests staying in the room for the length of hotel stay as indicated on the Universal Express Unlimited pass. Available during normal theme park operating hours only. Not valid for separately ticketed special events. Additional restrictions may apply and benefits are subject to change without notice. ^Based on seasonal peak pricing for the Universal ExpressSM Unlimited pass. © 2015 MARVEL. Fear Factor TM & © 2015 Endemol Netherlands B.V. Men In Black & Alien Attack: TM & © 2015 Columbia Pictures Industries, Inc. All rights reserved. Curious George ®, created by Margret and H.A. Rey, is copyrighted and trademarked by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing Company and used under license. Licensed by Universal Studios Licensing, Inc. All rights reserved. Woody Woodpecker’s Nuthouse Coaster ® Walter Lantz. The Barney name and character, related characters and the overlapping dino spots and Barney and star logos are trademarks of Lyons Partnership, L.P. Reg. U.S. Pat. & Tm. Off. and other countries. THE SIMPSONS RIDE TM Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation. The Simpsons TM & © 2015 Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation. All rights reserved. T2, TERMINATOR ® StudioCanal S.A. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Shrek 4-D © 2015 DreamWorks Animation L.L.C. TRANSFORMERS and its logo and all related characters are trademarks of Hasbro and are used with permission. © 2015 Hasbro. All Rights Reserved. © 2015 DreamWorks L.L.C. and Paramount Pictures Corporation. All Rights Reserved. Dr. Seuss properties TM & © 2015 Dr. Seuss Enterprises, L.P. All rights reserved. Rocky and Bullwinkle and Friends TM & © Ward Prods. All Popeye characters TM & © 2015 KFS, Inc. TM Hearst Holdings, Inc. Jurassic Park River Adventure ,Camp Jurassic ® Universal Studios/Amblin. Hollywood Drive-In Golf and associated logos are trademarks of Adventure Golf Design & Development, Inc. Bubba Gump Shrimp Co. TM & © 2015 Par. Pic. Jimmy Buffett’s ® Margaritaville ® Jimmy Buffett. The Cowfish and all related logos TM The Cowfish Sushi Burger Bar, LLC. All rights reserved. Pat O’Brien’s, Hurricane Glass logo, Have Fun! and Iron Grill Design ® Pat O’Brien’s Bar, Inc. © 2015 Pat O’Brien’s Bar, Inc. All rights reserved. Emeril’s ® Emeril Lagasse. Hot Dog Hall of Fame is a registered trademark of Creative Attractions, LLC. ©2015 AMC. IMAX® is a registered trademark of IMAX Corporation. © 2015 BMP. Hard Rock Hotel, Hard Rock Café, Hard Rock Live ® Hard Rock Cafe International (USA), Inc. Cabana Bay Beach Resort © 2015 UCF Hotel Venture II. All rights reserved. Loews Portofino Bay Hotel and Loews Royal Pacific Resort logo © 2015 UCF Hotel Venture. All rights reserved. © 2015 UCF Hotel Venture III. All rights reserved. © 2015 Wet 'n Wild. All rights reserved. Universal elements and all related indicia TM & © 2015 Universal Studios. All rights reserved.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$210
4.2 / 5 245 reviews
★★★★
$233
4.4 / 5 82 reviews
★★★★
$99
4.0 / 5 261 reviews
★★★
$107
4.3 / 5 129 reviews
★★★
$55
3.0 / 5 Not yet reviewed
★★★
$98
4.2 / 5 87 reviews

Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel Rooms

Deluxe
DELUXE ROOM category- rollaway required for 5th guest (fee applies) (Kings Available)
Luxury
KIDS SUITE category - rollaway required for 5th guest (fee applies) Despicable Me Kids Suites Experience the fun starting August 1st! Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando invites you to experience the world of Despicable Me in its newly-renova
Standard
GARDEN VIEW category - rollaway required for 5th guest (fee applies)(Kings Available)

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Executive level
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Game room
Jogging track
Play ground
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Video checkout
Gift shop
Copy service
Currency exchange
News stand
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Universal Studios Escape: 0.4 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 0.6 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 0.8 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 0.9 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 1.7 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 2.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 2.4 mi
  • Trainland: 3.3 mi
  • Wonderworks: 3.3 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 3.4 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 3.8 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 3.8 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.5 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.6 mi
  • Seaworld ® Orlando: 4.8 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 0.4 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 0.6 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 0.8 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 0.9 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 1.7 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 2.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 2.4 mi
  • Trainland: 3.3 mi
  • Wonderworks: 3.3 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 3.4 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 3.8 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 3.8 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.5 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.6 mi
  • Seaworld ® Orlando: 4.8 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 5 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 5.2 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 5.3 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 6.3 mi
  • Amway Arena: 6.5 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 6.5 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 6.5 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 6.8 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 7.9 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 8.2 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 8.4 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 8.6 mi
  • Gatorland: 9.2 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 14.6 mi
  • CFE Arena: 18.2 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 18.5 mi

Dining

Trattoria Del Porto
The colorful festivals celebrated in the Italian countryside are the background for Trattoria del Porto®. Enjoy diverse regional cuisine, delicious antipasti and tempting desserts, plus a delightful breakfast buffet to start off your morning. Seating is a
Mama Della s Ristorante
At Mama Della’s Ristorante everyone is family! Mama has turned her house into a delightful restaurant, with every room a different dining area where you'll enjoy abundant portions of authentic Old World favorites from the Tuscany, Naples and Piemonte regi
Bice Ristorante
Take part in an Italian tradition in fine dining, since 1926. Bice’s reputation throughout the world for exquisite food and service precedes itself. An exquisite culinary voyage right to the heart of Italy awaits you amid a decor which combines Old World
Sal s Market Deli
Sal’s Market Deli is an authentic Italian delicatessen and retail cafe overlooking the harborside piazza. Sal's offers brick oven pizzas; an assortment of imported Italian meats and cheeses; fresh fruit; antipasti; salads; and a broad assortment of biscot
Splendido Pizzeria
What would Loews Portofino Bay Hotel be without an authentic pizzeria -Located poolside, Splendido Pizzeria serves delicious pizza pies cooked in a wood burning brick oven. You can also enjoy burgers, salads, and all your favorite beverages. It’s the perf
Bar American
The epitome of elegance. At Bar American, a swank lobby lounge, you can sample a wide variety of specialty drinks from classic-style martinis and European cocktails to fine cognacs, espresso and Italy’s treasured Grappas. Enjoy exquisite caviar, smoked sa
Thirsty Fish Bar
The Thirsty Fish is a friendly Italian wine bar serving savory cicchetti - small plates of food. Its harborside location on the piazza is perfect for viewing the sunset while you sip Peroni or a glass of wine, smoke a cigar, or enjoy a cordial with family
Gelateria Cafe Espresso
There’s nothing quite like an Italian bakery featuring tempting biscotti, cool and creamy homemade gelato in a rainbow of flavors, plus specialty coffee, espresso and more. Enjoy Italy’s finest deserts at Gelateria—caffe espresso.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
66 out of 66
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jacob1234
Couples
Mason, Ohio
Aug 22, 2014

Universal resort

Very comfortable rooms and great location for our trip to Universal. However, a $10 charge to print a couple pages was a bit much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Mama Della's is fantastic. Definitely check it out.

Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wen L.C.
Family
N/A
May 19, 2015

A wonderful place to go

Beautiful hotel, super convenient water taxi, very nice staffs in front counter and very friendly staffs at dinning area but the room service wasn't professional. They replaced the towel for bathroom mat. All others are perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sis25
Family
N/A
Apr 9, 2015

Second Visit

This was my second visit to the Portofino Bay Resort at Universal Orlando. I fell in love with it during my first stay last fall. The rooms and bathrooms are very spacious and comfortable. The kids love the Beach Pool with slide. My first stay was during a low crowds time at the resort and the second stay was during the busy Easter weekend, but both times the resort was quiet and peaceful. This resort has converted me from a loyal Disney fan to a loyal Universal Orlando fan! Unlike Disney, Universal provides a true 5 star experience when charging 5 star prices. The only complaint I have is that more lounge chairs are needed at the Beach Pool for busy times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
P.L.
Couples
Lafayette
Apr 1, 2015

I would love to go back!

I love the place. I booked the hotel for 3 nights, but had a little accident on the way so ended up getting there early morning of my first day, just to find out they upgraded me to the Bay view room (I booked the garden view). I called the hotel beforehand and told them I would be getting there late, but when I checked in, it looked like they already gave my room to someone... luckily they gave me this another room. I would have not been a happy camper if they had me wait for a room at that state....so....I would say I was happy. The room was great, nice view, big bathroom and THE BED! I was in love with the bed. We got a king bed and it was super comfy, especially after long hours at the park. We never made it to early admission...our lost...but the bed was way too comfy for us to part way with it too early.... We spent most of our time in the parks so we didn't really get to use much of the hotel facilities. I couldn't even find the pool, not that I tried very hard. I guess it was far from where I was. We stayed in the West wing (as I requested) which is right by the water taxi. So if you want to have an easy access to that, don't forget to make the request. Our room was also the farthest from the elevator, which is good for a little sound-proofing since the wall IS thin like other reviewers have stated, but if you don't like walking a loooong way to your room, maybe request for a room a little closer. Last but not least, we did one dinner at Mama Della's, a restaurant in the hotel, and it was AWESOME. Great food, EXCEPTIONAL service. Our waiter was sooo good, we felt so special. The food was good as well, despite being so full from all the butterbeer, we still enjoyed the food and we both agreed that Mama Della's is gonna be a place we have to revisit when we go back to Orlando.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KristenCMC
Friends
Austin
Jan 28, 2015

Great hotel for couples!

This hotel was a nice little oasis at Universal. Totally worth the price considering you get a fast pass to the parks included for staying on property. Great for couples and adults.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kings Row
Family
West Chester, PA
Nov 29, 2014

Family fun

The moment we arrived was professional and welcoming. Staff was friendly. The room was ready and clean and inviting. Coming and going to Universal was relaxing on the water taxi. Coming back from park was especially rewarding once we passed under the last bridge to emerge in the beauty of Italy's Portofino. Second time staying at Portofino.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
High standard traveler
Family
Tennessee
Nov 28, 2014

Perfect location!

Great location to the parks! Well worth the extra money to get in the parks early and a the express passes! Food and pool were top notch!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take a trip Publix and buy sandwich stuff and snacks for the park...saves a lot of money...also buy a refillable drink and popcorn tub first thing...ends up being a great deal!

Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scotty Ten
Couples
Denver, CO
Nov 4, 2014

Great hotel at Universal Orlando

This is a great 5-star hotel right next to Universal Orlando. The extra perks, such as a free water taxi to the park and free unlimited express passes help offset the higher price of many hotels in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at Sal's. It is themed as an Italian street corner shop with good food (breakfast and dinner) and is probably the more reasonably priced dining at Universal.

Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Getaway weeknd
Couples
Florida
Oct 23, 2014

Amenities are great

The hotel amenities were great. The room however was noisy, can hear water running/echo in bathroom and hallway noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Halloween People
Couples
McHenry, IL
Oct 9, 2014

Elegant and relaxing getaway

This is a beautifully designed hotel with all the amenities and then some! Stunning rooms, beautiful and fun pools, a great selection of restaurants -we were even serenaded at our dinner at Mama's! What an amazing singer and an outstanding meal!. There is plenty of room to stretch out and enjoy yourself at this hotel. The staff is extraordinarily friendly, welcoming & helpful in every aspect. There is even a few adorable shops for that last minute item you forgot or a fabulous new outfit! Oh Yes, I picked up a great one! The water taxi service was a wonderful benefit and we easily traveled between the Universal theme parks and the hotel numerous times. We never felt the need to get in our car to drive anywhere. We have stayed at other hotels and this was without a doubt my favorite! I only wish we had stayed longer. Thank you for a wonderful time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Universal's Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KJustice
Couples
Charlotte, NC
Oct 3, 2014

Nice stay

While this property is beautiful, it is expansive and our room, which was on the 4th floor in the East wing, was about as far away from the hotel's amenities as one could get. I would recommend to anyone assigned a room in the East wing to stay on either the 1st or 2nd floor if you're not near the elevators. The staff was courteous, but no more so than any other property I've stayed at. We did have one staff member that was kind enough to give us direction when he saw that we were a bit lost after check-in on the way to our room. Housekeeping was very good and serviced our room each day of our stay. Being a YouFirst member didn't seem to make up for the fact that I had only booked a garden view room; I felt invisible to the staff and while the property is beautiful, the rooms very comfortable and the location ideal, I will most likely not return because the money spent there was just not worth it for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top