$42 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 10, 2014 Check-out: Dec 11, 2014

The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

3 stars
8444 Austrian Ct, Orlando, FL 32819
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.2
out of 5
462 reviews
Florida visit

Overall it was a good value for the price we paid. Situated in a prime location, being right off... See full review

  • Cyclingfan
  • Jul 16, 2014
Great place to stay

It's a great place to stay it's in the right place to go to the attractions See full review

  • weazysleggs
  • Jul 13, 2014
Located on Orlando's most dynamic destination "International Drive" with hundreds of shops, entertainment and restaurants at your doorstep. We offer complimentary scheduled shuttle service to Universal Studios, Sea World and Walt Disney World. Enjoy a relaxing stay in our spacious accommodations. All guestrooms include cable TV, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, and clock radios. WiFi is available a nominal fee. The Hotel amenities include an outdoor pool, spa tub,tennis court, self-service laundry, dry cleaning. Our property has extensive recreation facilities including direct access to Orlando's YMCA Family Fitness Center located on the property.

Hotel Map

28.4432 -81.4722
Area served
Orlando, FL
Nearby airports
13 miles (15 minutes) from the Orlando International Airport
Area description
Hotel is located on the World famous International Drive, within minutes of Universal Orlando, Sea World, and the Orange County Convention Center.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Orlando Metropolitan Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

The Orlando Metropolitan Resort Rooms

Traditional Room w/ Full Buffet Breakfast for 2
Features 2 Double size beds, iron & ironing board, hairdryer, remote-control color television, shower, bathtub, individual climate control, working desk and alarm clock. .***** $5.00 DAILY RESORT FEE APPLIES AND WILL BE PAID DIRECTLY TO HOTEL UPON CHECKIN.*****
Traditional Room
Features 2 Double size beds, iron & ironing board, hairdryer, remote-control color television, shower, bathtub, individual climate control, working desk and alarm clock. .***** $5.00 DAILY RESORT FEE APPLIES AND WILL BE PAID DIRECTLY TO HOTEL UPON CHECKIN.*****

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 0.3 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 0.5 mi
  • Trainland: 0.6 mi
  • Wonderworks: 0.7 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 1.9 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 2.1 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 2.1 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 2.2 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 2.3 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 2.3 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 2.5 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 2.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 0.3 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 0.5 mi
  • Trainland: 0.6 mi
  • Wonderworks: 0.7 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 1.9 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 2.1 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 2.1 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 2.2 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 2.3 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 2.3 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 2.5 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 2.7 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 3.8 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.7 mi
  • Gatorland: 7.3 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 7.8 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 8.7 mi
  • Amway Arena: 9 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 9 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 9 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 9.1 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 10.4 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 10.7 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 11 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 11.1 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 14.4 mi
  • CFE Arena: 20.2 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 20.5 mi

Dining

Ripple's Pool Bar
Great Food and Drinks pool side!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (462)

Ratings and reviews for The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Overall score

2.2 / 5
5.01.0
462 out of 462
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
2.8
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
2.9

37% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Eri2020
Business
Lansing, MI
Jan 5, 2012

Misleading...TOTAL Disappointment

When I reserved the hotel, it said that free breakfast was included. We found out that was not true. From the moment we arrived at the hotel until we checked out, it was a disaster! One of the staff at the front desk was very arrogant and extremely rude! He refused to check us in unless we pay $35 extra for a shuttle to the parks, EVEN though we told him that we did not need a shuttle since we had rented a car. He insisted that it didn't matter because everyone must pay it. It is a shame that they call this place a "resort"...that is extremely misleading and several other guests felt the same way. This place looks like army barracks. It is so ugly and dirty outside and inside. Motel 6 looks much better. There was no coffee in the lobby, no coffee maker in the room, and no restaurant or eatery in the facility. It was a hellish experience! Nobody should go through what we went through on our vacation. Our anniversary vacation was completely ruined. At least three times we found our room not cleaned and the bed not changed. Each time we called the front desk and house keeping we were told somebody will be up there soon but we had to wait about 3 hours before somebody knocked at the door (between 10 and 11pm). We told them we were already in bed. The towels were very old and skinny. The bed was extremely uncomfortable. I would NEVER recommend this place to anybody.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nemo323
Business
New Jersey, USA
Feb 21, 2012

This is a motel not resort

Scratchy blankets, mildew in the bathroooms, and sent me to a room which was already occupied

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Drinks, food, games

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Clairann
Business
New Jersey, USA
Feb 29, 2012

Filthiest and Scariest Place to stay away from

The rugs were smeared with sticky substance. Bathroom floor was unswept, mat in tub was frazzled/tattered, toilet bowl was dirty to look at. Air-condition made noise entire first night then broke down second night. Maintenance worker from adjacent hotel came to fix it only to learn it was broken and needed to be replaced. My 9yr old daughter and I were offered a room on 5th flr to sleep for the night, only to realize there were 5 empty, unlocked and dark scary rooms on same flr. Did I mention the bath towels were smelly, dingy and tattered. The lobby was filled with disgruntled families requesting cancellation without penalities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Sea World was short ride from hotel only cost $1.25 with trolley if you miss the complimentary free bus from hotel. Also you can buy tickets to any attraction in the lobby for a discount price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jayzone
Business
Carolina, Puerto Rico
Mar 14, 2012

Fantastic Location

My experience was bad because the first day my room door was open and the floor mat was wet, the second day at 1:00am when I came to the hotel tired!!! A big blower to dry the mat it was on the floor and the shower faucet was broken by someone I think of the hotel. They changed our room and I was to sleep at 2:30am. Lucky I stayed 2 nights and thats it. I hope that they can be better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
unhappycustomer
Business
NY
Mar 26, 2012

Terrible, would never recommend

I stayed at the Hotel during the NBA event in Feb. It's the worst Hotel I ever stayed in. They are NOT what they represent themselves to be.There were bugs crawling around the sink, door handle coming off the bathroom door, toilet was tucked under the sink so had to reach under the sink to flush, wall paper was coming off the wall, rust around the outlets. So much more was wrong. When I complained I was told it was my problem! They were even rude to my travel agent when she tried to help. .So would you stay here?And unfortunatly could not change Hotels because everything was booked due to NBA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

none

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
yuky
Business
Lutz, FL, USA
Mar 31, 2012

Far from being a resort!

This is the worst Hotel I have ever stayed. They call this a resort? The first room was Filthy, dirty. The bathroom walls looked like someone had grease on their hands and touched the walls and then tried to wash the walls which were painted with flat paint. We Went back to the office and asked for another room. We upgraded to a deluxe room across from the pool. It wasn't much better LOL!!!!!!! the bathroom was cleaner. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. What a dump! the elevator smelled like someone pped in it. and the grounds are not taken care of. Very Dirty!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Joenjill800
Business
New Haven, CT, USA
Mar 27, 2012

If you are wise you will go elsewhere!

By far the worst hotel we have ever stayed at. We left 3 days early, and checked in to a new hotel. It may have cost a little more for a new hotel(wyndham resort right down the street), but it turned our vacation around and we had an amazing time. I you're trying to save a buck don't do it here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
The unhappy traveler
Business
West Chester
May 12, 2012

Not a good experience!

The TV didn't work. There is no complimentary coffee. They add fees for the heck of it. The staff was arrogant. The hotel was run down. Not a pleasant experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
yuuup
Business
virginia
May 23, 2012

Cheap Motel

ROOMS NOT THE CLEANEST. MICROWAVE COULD NOT BE FOUND. FRIDGE NOT THE COLDEST, COOL BUT NOT COLD. BUT THE BED WAS AWSOME, REALLY COMFORTABLE MATRESS

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Senor Frogs Great Food and Great Night Life

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Redhead CC
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
May 30, 2012

You get what you pay for...I guess

Apparently checkout was 4 pm because at 3:15 the front desk made us sit there for 45 minutes and wait until 4 pm. Then when given our room keys, we found upon entering that someone clearly had not checked out of the room we were given. Carrying all our bags back tom the front desk, the woman at the front desk didn't apologize or really have anything to say, just waited 5+ minutes for new room keys. There were ants in the bathroom, strands of hair on the pillows, and the pool bar that was advertised on the website had been shut down. The comforters were comfy and the air conditioner worked, also pretty decent walking distance to shops and restaurants. Still--- I wouldn't stay in this place again for half the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Senor Frogs was a blast!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top