$34 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 30, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

3 stars
8444 Austrian Ct, Orlando, FL 32819
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
635 reviews
all good

everything was perfect, except that we were hoping to have a microwave as stated on the website but... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 4, 2013
pretty good for that price

frendly stuff, room was clean, but the bathroom not so good See full review

  • ValTush
  • Dec 22, 2013
Located on Orlando's most dynamic destination "International Drive" with hundreds of shops, entertainment and restaurants at your doorstep. We offer complimentary scheduled shuttle service to Universal Studios, Sea World and Walt Disney World. Enjoy a relaxing stay in our spacious accommodations. All guestrooms include cable TV, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, and clock radios. WiFi is available a nominal fee. The Hotel amenities include an outdoor pool, spa tub,tennis court, self-service laundry, dry cleaning. Our property has extensive recreation facilities including direct access to Orlando's YMCA Family Fitness Center located on the property.

The Orlando Metropolitan Resort Rooms

Traditional Room w/ Full Buffet Breakfast for 2
Features 2 Queen size beds, Refrigerator, coffeemaker, iron, ironing board, hairdryer, remote-control color television. Two telephones with voice messaging system, Wifi for a nominal fee and individual climate control.Additional vanity area with second sink.***** $5.00 DAILY RESORT FEE APPLIES AND WILL BE PAID DIRECTLY TO THE PROPERTY UPON CHECKIN.*****
Traditional Room
Features 2 Queen size beds, Refrigerator, coffeemaker, iron, ironing board, hairdryer, remote-control color television. Two telephones with voice messaging system, Wifi for a nominal fee and individual climate Additional vanity area with second sink.***** $5.00 DAILY RESORT FEE APPLIES AND WILL BE PAID DIRECTLY TO THE PROPERTY UPON CHECKIN.*****

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Orlando Metropolitan Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

28.4432 -81.4722
Area served
Orlando, FL
Nearby airports
13 miles (15 minutes) from the Orlando International Airport
Area description
Hotel is located on the World famous International Drive, within minutes of Universal Orlando, Sea World, and the Orange County Convention Center.

Nearby points of interest

  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 0.3 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 0.5 mi
  • Trainland: 0.6 mi
  • Wonderworks: 0.7 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Skyventure: 1.5 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 1.9 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Gold Club: 2.1 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 2.1 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 2.2 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 2.3 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 2.3 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 2.5 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 0.3 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 0.5 mi
  • Trainland: 0.6 mi
  • Wonderworks: 0.7 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Skyventure: 1.5 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 1.9 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Gold Club: 2.1 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 2.1 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 2.2 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 2.3 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 2.3 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 2.5 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 2.7 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 3.8 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.7 mi
  • Gatorland: 7.3 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 7.8 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 8.7 mi
  • Amway Arena: 9 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 9 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 9 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 9.1 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 10.4 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 10.7 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 11 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 11.1 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 14.4 mi
  • CFE Arena: 20.2 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 20.5 mi

Dining

Ripple's Pool Bar
Great Food and Drinks pool side!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (635)

Ratings and reviews for The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
635 out of 635
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
2.9
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3

38% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tampa, FL
Mar 3, 2009

Lost Its Glory

Very slow to check in. Air conditioner was broken, when I called to advise the front dest they just said 'Thank you.' Looks like it once was a really nice hotel but not anymore. Don't let the pictures fool you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Palm bay fl
Aug 9, 2010

not really satisfied

the hotel was only for 2 days but when we arrived the receptionist was so rude not only to us but to other customers she also took about 35 minutes to take care of us and give us our room key after we recieved the key we tried to move on and enjoy our room. the room was not clean towels were dirty 1 of the beds were undone. A hotel i am sure i will not use again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ontario,California
Mar 25, 2011

Very Disappointed

The front desk was very unfriendly, the room carpet was very dirty, the bed is unstable, the power surge wasn't working, the toilet is dirty with yellow stained and the there were NO Free Wi-Fi. Ice Machine is not working, Door is broken.Very disappointed with the stay,would not recommend this to anyone until they do some changes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Titusville, FL
Mar 27, 2011

Nicknamed- LAST RESORT

Booked online and after it was processed, I was irritated to find out that there was an additional $5 "Resort Fee" that was mandatory upon check-in. Talk about BS! I didnt use any of the amenities on property therefore it should not be demanded by all guests to pay. No free wi-fi, the refrigerator barely kept anything cool at all, one of the beds was broken and the deafening screeching noise of the elevator moving was enough to drive anyone mad! My only good points about this place were that the room appeared clean, no odors or smells and there were plenty of towels. This room was booked in a pinch for Megacon 2011 so a thumbs up for availability on short notice, just know that their appearance is disheveled and should not advertise their facility as a "RESORT".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is roughly only 1 mile from the Orlando Convention Center so it is close to all the attractions on International Drive.

Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Florida
Jun 27, 2010

Very disappointed

The water would not stay on temperature, it would go from extremely hot, to ice cold, and then back again. The pool is a shared pool and open to the public - the public decided to have a Rave (Party) while we were there with "women" who appeared to have a lot in common with hookers. We could not take the kids to the pool after a long day at SeaWorld. Out of 8 ice machines, only 1 worked. Out of 2 elevators to the 4th floor, only 1 worked. I was so disappointed in this hotel that I have actually never written anything bad about a hotel, but I will be forwarding a letter to their Corporate Office. Oh, and I forgot about the broken clock!!! I had to finally unplug it for fear it would catch on fire or something. I have never heard a digital clock "tick-tock" and sizzle! The time stayed L7:IC....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
realgt
Naples, FL
Sep 12, 2009

Bait & Switch!

This is a bait & switch with the Radisson Hotel next door. if you think you're booking a room at the Radisson you're in for a bad stay! They will not "upgrade" you to a Radisson room nor refund you if you book online. Among the many horrors of a night where I didn't get a room until 90 minutes after trying to checkin: Incompetent staff and broken elevators, broken doors, smelly rooms, and a "pool club" with karaoke in the courtyard past midnight that wouldn't let a dead man sleep in peace. STAY AWAY FROM THIS DUMP!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 16, 2007

Ants in the room

The only thing nice about this hotel was the pool. We did not even stay for the 2nd night.Ants in the room, dirty carpets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Bells out store & shops along the strip.

Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
latinbombom
tampa
Jul 8, 2013

NEVER AGAIN, JAMAS!!!!

I went there to stay 2 nights by myself, I only stayed one night!! ok? I opened the door and I notice all over the ceiling around the corners net spiders, spiders, and I was like, ok?? Then I go to the bathroom and there was like some holes on the wall, and I was like, ok..this is gonna be "the haunted room".. there will be roaches tonite, spiders, etc. let me tell you, I finished taking a shower and want to know what I founded?, A tick"!!!! yes, una pulga!!!! alive... I was like helllll nooooo....so if you want to be on a haunted house environment, then stay at this hotel. I drove from tampa, it was late already, stormy, and I had no choice but to sleep with one eye open and one closed.. never again I would choose this hotel, its sad because location is great but wow never seing something like that before!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
bella tu
vero beach, fl
Feb 22, 2009

Make another choice

First, I had a question about hotel. When I called no one was in reservation until later in the morning. Second, I called for directions, I was given wrong direction. When I called again I was given the same wrong directions. She made no attempt to get correct directions. They even gave wrong direction to Universal. No wash cloths in room. I called and asked, but when we returned, still no wash cloths. Skip the free breakfast. Restaurant did not seem clean. Glasses were dirty. Spend a few extra dollars for something better. The rates are low for a reason.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Drift Wood
Strafford, NH
Mar 27, 2011

At least the service was friendly

On the bright side, every interaction with the staff was friendly and helpful. However, being nice was not enough to make the stay at this hotel a good experience. One of the two elevators was broken and the one that did work made horrible screeching noises that had guests complaining well into the wee hours of the night. The mattresses on our beds were broken and sagging. I ended up taking the twin mattress from the sleep sofa and putting it on my bed to make it tolerable. The sink fixtures were broken and the toilet didn't flush well. We have a habit of not needing housekeeping unless there is a problem yet no matter how many times we hung our Do Not Disturb sign or called the front desk, housekeeping continued to enter our room and tidy up every day. I know that may sound trivial (poor babies had clean rooms everyday) but when I ask you not to enter a room I have paid for and store my personal belongings in (the safe had no key) then please don't go in my room. The overall appearance was run-down and shabby and there were no amenities besides the use of the pool, free shampoo and basic 12 channels of cable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top