$34 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 30, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

3 stars
8444 Austrian Ct, Orlando, FL 32819
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
636 reviews
all good

everything was perfect, except that we were hoping to have a microwave as stated on the website but... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 4, 2013
pretty good for that price

frendly stuff, room was clean, but the bathroom not so good See full review

  • ValTush
  • Dec 22, 2013
Located on Orlando's most dynamic destination "International Drive" with hundreds of shops, entertainment and restaurants at your doorstep. We offer complimentary scheduled shuttle service to Universal Studios, Sea World and Walt Disney World. Enjoy a relaxing stay in our spacious accommodations. All guestrooms include cable TV, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, and clock radios. WiFi is available a nominal fee. The Hotel amenities include an outdoor pool, spa tub,tennis court, self-service laundry, dry cleaning. Our property has extensive recreation facilities including direct access to Orlando's YMCA Family Fitness Center located on the property.

The Orlando Metropolitan Resort Rooms

Traditional Room w/ Full Buffet Breakfast for 2
Features 2 Queen size beds, Refrigerator, coffeemaker, iron, ironing board, hairdryer, remote-control color television. Two telephones with voice messaging system, Wifi for a nominal fee and individual climate control.Additional vanity area with second sink.***** $5.00 DAILY RESORT FEE APPLIES AND WILL BE PAID DIRECTLY TO THE PROPERTY UPON CHECKIN.*****
Traditional Room
Features 2 Queen size beds, Refrigerator, coffeemaker, iron, ironing board, hairdryer, remote-control color television. Two telephones with voice messaging system, Wifi for a nominal fee and individual climate Additional vanity area with second sink.***** $5.00 DAILY RESORT FEE APPLIES AND WILL BE PAID DIRECTLY TO THE PROPERTY UPON CHECKIN.*****

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Orlando Metropolitan Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

28.4432 -81.4722
Area served
Orlando, FL
Nearby airports
13 miles (15 minutes) from the Orlando International Airport
Area description
Hotel is located on the World famous International Drive, within minutes of Universal Orlando, Sea World, and the Orange County Convention Center.

Nearby points of interest

  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 0.3 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 0.5 mi
  • Trainland: 0.6 mi
  • Wonderworks: 0.7 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Skyventure: 1.5 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 1.9 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Gold Club: 2.1 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 2.1 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 2.2 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 2.3 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 2.3 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 2.5 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 0.3 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 0.5 mi
  • Trainland: 0.6 mi
  • Wonderworks: 0.7 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Skyventure: 1.5 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 1.9 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Gold Club: 2.1 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 2.1 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 2.2 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 2.3 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 2.3 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 2.5 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 2.7 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 3.8 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.7 mi
  • Gatorland: 7.3 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 7.8 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 8.7 mi
  • Amway Arena: 9 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 9 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 9 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 9.1 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 10.4 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 10.7 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 11 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 11.1 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 14.4 mi
  • CFE Arena: 20.2 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 20.5 mi

Dining

Ripple's Pool Bar
Great Food and Drinks pool side!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (636)

Ratings and reviews for The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
636 out of 636
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
2.9
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3

38% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Shelton, CT
Mar 3, 2009

Not Kid Friendly

It is an older hotel and it needs serious up keep, the pool was DIRTY, O man, terrible, the first room I was given still had trash in it from the last guests and the remote for the TV didn't work, the second room, was better, but the wallpaper was pealing off in the bathroom, some of the pillows were yellowed, its not somewhere were I would bring kids at all, if your looking for cheap, its cheap trust me. Go with a actual Disney resort if your bringing kids and note international drives not the safest place at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the I-Trolley to move up and down International Drive, it works great! Its only $2

Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bourgeoisie
Tallahassee, FL
Mar 7, 2010

Not that great...

The outside of the hotel looks modern and nice, but the inside of my room was not well kempt (peeling wallpaper, dirty grout between the tile in the shower, etc). The picture of the room on their website did NOT look like my room. What you pay for is truly what you get here; it's no special deal, but it's okay. You have to pay for wireless internet (which I think ought to be freely available). There's no continental breakfast- no extras of any kind, really- which explains why I paid $47 for the room. : )

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Clearbrook
Land O Lakes, FL
Mar 2, 2009

Not Happy

The parking is horrible! Rooms not very clean! Very dated! There were holes in the blankets, some lights did not work, the water was either extremely hot or ice cold in the shower(no happy medium). I would not recommend this hotel to my enemies!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sunrisefl
Sunrise, Florida
Aug 18, 2012

Terrible, Do Not Recommend

The room needs a total upgrade. The staff is rude and not that helpful. The hotel pool needs cleaning desperately. The elevator in the middle of the building was always broken. The carpet in the room needs a deep cleaning. The staircase was creepy in which I would always go with my wife because of safety reason.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
chilin
San Jose, CA
Jan 2, 2013

ok for staying

a little far to disney world, there are only limited shuttles to disney. it's more convenient to rent and drive by yourself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Melbourne, FL
Mar 17, 2011

A disappointment

check in took 45 minutes. People who had reservations ready had to wait for their keys. People who didn't have reservations were waited on by the the only clerk. They should have had at least two lines going. the sheets were made 1/2 a@s. Cold water only in shower. bad TV reception. One of the elevators didn't work. A lot of unhappy guests. I wouldn't go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TRDtCPR
Puerto Rico
Oct 7, 2013

Not planning to stay here again!

This is my consecutive 6th year vacationing in the International Drive. Pros: 1. Room comfortable for 6 guest (2 queen beds and a sofa bed) 2. Location ... and thats about it! Cons: 1. There was no hot water early in the morning as if they shut down the water heater and would turn it on after 8am. 2. Had to report the A/C was not working properly 2 times before they came to check out what was wrong and when they came to check it out said the lines were frozen and would not start until they unfroze and yet had to reported it again because it still didn't work and they never came back. Asked for room change and they told me the hotel was full and it wasn't an option. 3. Cockroaches in the room, and the carpet looked like it hadn't seen a Vacuum Cleaner in quite a while. 4. Counter service was the worst i have seen, had to wait about 20-25 mins. to do the check in while I was the only one there in line at 2:30 am. 5. Towels were rougher than sand paper. 6. No ice maker. Definitely not recommending this place to stay in Orlando and for sure not planning to stay here again! There are far better budget options in the International Drive area!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Florida
Mar 9, 2011

Okay for the price

Great location. Hotel is obviously old and in need of renovation. Room was clean though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Capital Grille

Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Frustrated over-nighters
Clearwater, FL
Mar 7, 2010

Could have been better

Hotel experience was not very good. Upon arriving they did not have our confirmation for check in, which had been booked days before, and it took over an hour of waiting to get it straightened out and keys to our room. Every time someone else walked into the lobby, or a phone call, or something else came up, we were put on hold and pushed to the side. I found this very annoying considering we were already PAID customers that were patiently waiting, we should have been their first priority. We could not find our room at first because of horrible directions. We finally found the room and the first set of keys did not work, so we had to go back down and get the manager to come up with his master keys, those did not work either. We then had to go back down AGAIN and get another hotel room. We finally got into our hotel and the air conditioning did not work. We also had to be down graded in size for our room since our reservation didn't originally go through. We didn't get a discount, an extra night stay, an upgrade or anything for all the stuff we went through, which I found rather disappointing. We stayed at another Orlando Metropolitan Resort before (I thought I had booked the same one again, [...] is still showing the wrong addresses) and had a lovely stay. The staff was very friendly, hotel was nice, etc. So we were looking forward to this. We even shortened our plans for the evening so we could get to our hotel and relax. This was definitely not the case. We will not be staying at this particular hotel again, though I would recommend the other one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Spudz Man
Business
Lehi, UT
Mar 28, 2011

Much to be desired

One of the elevators didn't work and one squeeked so loud when moving we could hear it in our room. The room was clean. There was however rot on the door frame at the base in the bathroom. The sink had seen better days and the vanity was sagging on one side. It was definitely an older hotel. Being able to use the YMCA was the excellent and the pool was great. Overall it worked but it was not great by any means. It was close to great dining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top