$42 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

3 stars
8444 Austrian Ct, Orlando, FL 32819
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.2
out of 5
466 reviews
Florida visit

Overall it was a good value for the price we paid. Situated in a prime location, being right off... See full review

  • Cyclingfan
  • Jul 16, 2014
Great place to stay

It's a great place to stay it's in the right place to go to the attractions See full review

  • weazysleggs
  • Jul 13, 2014
Located on Orlando's most dynamic destination "International Drive" with hundreds of shops, entertainment and restaurants at your doorstep. We offer complimentary scheduled shuttle service to Universal Studios, Sea World and Walt Disney World. Enjoy a relaxing stay in our spacious accommodations. All guestrooms include cable TV, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, and clock radios. WiFi is available a nominal fee. The Hotel amenities include an outdoor pool, spa tub,tennis court, self-service laundry, dry cleaning. Our property has extensive recreation facilities including direct access to Orlando's YMCA Family Fitness Center located on the property.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Orlando Metropolitan Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

The Orlando Metropolitan Resort Rooms

Traditional Room w/ Full Buffet Breakfast for 2
Features 2 Double size beds, iron & ironing board, hairdryer, remote-control color television, shower, bathtub, individual climate control, working desk and alarm clock. .***** $5.00 DAILY RESORT FEE APPLIES AND WILL BE PAID DIRECTLY TO HOTEL UPON CHECKIN.*****
Traditional Room
Features 2 Double size beds, iron & ironing board, hairdryer, remote-control color television, shower, bathtub, individual climate control, working desk and alarm clock. .***** $5.00 DAILY RESORT FEE APPLIES AND WILL BE PAID DIRECTLY TO HOTEL UPON CHECKIN.*****

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 0.3 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 0.5 mi
  • Trainland: 0.6 mi
  • Wonderworks: 0.7 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 1.9 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 2.1 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 2.1 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 2.2 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 2.3 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 2.3 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 2.5 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 2.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 0.3 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 0.5 mi
  • Trainland: 0.6 mi
  • Wonderworks: 0.7 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 1.9 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 2.1 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 2.1 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 2.2 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 2.3 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 2.3 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 2.5 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 2.7 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 3.8 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.7 mi
  • Gatorland: 7.3 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 7.8 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 8.7 mi
  • Amway Arena: 9 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 9 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 9 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 9.1 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 10.4 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 10.7 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 11 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 11.1 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 14.4 mi
  • CFE Arena: 20.2 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 20.5 mi

Dining

Ripple's Pool Bar
Great Food and Drinks pool side!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (466)

Ratings and reviews for The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Overall score

2.2 / 5
5.01.0
466 out of 466
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
2.8
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
2.9

36% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Money saving mom.
Business
Chicago
Jan 4, 2013

Ok hotel. You get what you pay for.

It's a cheap hotel. If you don't mind an old facility and slight lack house keeping, then this is a good enough hotel to sleep at. Beds and sheets are clean with no bugs. Bathrooms are ok. My daughter detected an oder but I could only smell it when I bent down closer to the rug. Peeling paint and old furniture. This hotel is ok as long as you know what you are getting. Kids and I had a great time at theme parks. We recommend this to hotel to dump your stuff and go out to have fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

In the middle of theme park fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
1940s Fan
Business
Chicago
Jan 16, 2013

Avoid this hotel!

Althougfh this hotel is surrounded by first rate hotels, this hotel is run down, dirty, and bug infested. The sheets were thin, worn, and the maid did not even change them when she made the bed (though making the bed is overstating the result). The maid service did not include bringing fresh towels or vacuuming the rooms, or cleaning the toilet or bathtub. I found a live roach in the shower on my second day there. There were no blankets provided and when I asked for some along with some towels, I was given them begrudgingly. The tiles in the bath are coming off the walls, the grout was dirty, and sealer around the tub is missing, the refrigerator didn't work. And, it appears this hotel is a hang out for undesirables. I noticed many "shady" looking characters coming and going from around various open-doored rooms. All in all, you should never recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Brill
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jan 19, 2013

Get what you pay for

There was just a sheet on the bed. No Blankets! Bugs in the sink. Remote on TV did not work. This place need a serious remodeling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Arthur Dent
Business
boston
Jan 17, 2013

Spend a few extra bucks. Avoid this one.

Overall, poor. - The lobby is poorly lit and shysty. Made me think of the first scene in many horror movies when I walked in. The single man on duty was arguing with a customer about whether the OMR had paper plates or not, and why not. He was clearly overwhelmed by the messed-up credit card machine. Oh, and there's still a paper filing system. How's that working out for y'all? - Weird charges. The $5 resort fee was strange. The hotel charges for internet usage, which ended up not costing me money because I never connected to the network, as I couldn't pick it up in my room. -Decor. Management, if you're reading this, please spend some money, raise the nightly rates, and put new bath mats in, better towels, comforters, mattresses that don't feel like chickenwire spreads, and oh-by-the-way, making sure all the fixtures have lightbulbs would be nice. Please paint the stuff that needs painting. - Only a few very small bugs noted. - The safe was open, and apparently the key was lost. - The TV is straight 80s.. .both in composition and channel selection. - I did appreciate the abandon with which the bars of handsoap were given out. -The location is fine. It's right between two other hotels, one a Radisson (I think), and the other looks much better kept, so when you drive up and change your mind, there are other affordable options less than 30s away. In short, if I wanted to have an illicit drug-related rendezvous and/or dispose of a body, this would be a great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
meatyone
Business
chicago
Jan 21, 2013

Nothing works

If it was not for the location i would give it ZERO stars. When i got the room there was no beds in it WOW. They threw the beds out don't ask me why. The elevator did not work my ( my new room was on the fourth floor), no ice, The TV was broken, shower was broken dirty. Luckily i was out most of the time and drunk when i went to bed. I would of had a better room at the super 8. Never AGAIN.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

universal walk way

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bad Putter
Business
Palm Desert, California
Jan 27, 2013

Never stay here

Awful hotel. A joke in the community I found out. The towels are used to exfoliate your skin, so rough. Towels are the size of hand towels, it takes 3 to dry off. Nothing good to say, I'm embarassed I didn't move out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Wanderer 1971
Business
Beaverton, OR
Feb 2, 2013

Barely passable for the budget traveler

The hotel has sporting amenities that they charge for, but that are not pleasant to use. The pool area was dirty and in need of maintenance, the "snack bar" was closed and the hot tub was dirty. The beds were clean and the room was bug free except for the mysterious white flaky substance on one of the bed coverlets and the two spiders I had to kill. The t.v. remote barely worked and the phone did not work at all. The carpet had mysterious stains on it and the shower/tub enclosure had black mold in the ceiling, walls and shower curtain. The handles on one bathroom sink were half missing and completely missing on the other. The hot and cold indicators on one sink and the shower were mislabeled. The first couple of days, housekeeping took the towels, but did not return any fresh ones. Additionally, as I had thrown the coverlet with the mysterious white flaky substance on it into the same pile with the used towels, one would think it would have been taken, but it got left behind. The walls behind the bed were very nicely painted, but they forgot to spackle in the large holes left from something that had previously been attached. The opposite wall by the door was also nicely painted in a random patchwork of different test shades of taupe. The desk staff and other staff I encountered were fairly friendly, however, one morning, as I waited in the lobby for a shuttle to Universal, all of us there got treated to a very unprofessional and loud dissertation between two of the desk staff, laced with profanity in front of our children, about some sort of personnel issue. Due to the state of the room, I did not choose to find out what might be on offer at the in house restaurant. Also, it was not immediately visible or labeled. The location on International Drive has some advantages as the many, many kitschy tourist traps along there can be very fun. However, until this hotel finishes whatever upgrades were hopefully in progress at the time I was there, I would not recommend it unless you are desperate. I had the option to make an equivalent reservation at a Disney hotel and through something off Disney would be a better value. I was gravely mistaken. I will stick with brand name hotels that have a reputation to protect from now on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bob the Business traveler
Business
USA
Feb 3, 2013

Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Based on the photos and the location, I booked this room for four nights. It might be the hotel experience I have ever experienced in the USA. PLEASE FOR THE SAKE OF ALL OF YOUR CUSTOMERS DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL!!! Upon check-in, the reception demanded an extra $5/night as a resort tax (explained to be for parking/use of the YMCA and the grounds - since it was nearly midnight and I was tired from a long flight , I did not have the energy to argue and paid the resort fee/tax). My room was on the third floor so i took the elevator - it smelled and looked like an elevator you might see in a frat house. Upon entering my room I had to plug in the lights before turning them on. The bed sheets had stains so I slept in my clothes on top of the bed spread. The toilet hadn't been cleaned thoroughly and the shampoo provided did not lather up. Is that enough to scare you away? I hope so.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Crissy11
Business
Jamaica, NY
Feb 25, 2013

Supposed to be a fun vacation

My experience at this hotel was very bad. The night we got in there was no room for us and the attendant wanted me to go hitch a ride with a total stranger because the guy was supposed to be going to the same hotel overnight. Then in the morning when I called to be transported back to the hotel I had my reservation with, the manager was rude to me on the phone telling me that he does not provide taxi service and that I should provide my own transportation back to the hotel if I wanted to stay there. Also the carpet in the room was very dingy and behind the beds have all kind of garbage and dust as if the room was not cleaned in ages. I couldn't wait to get out of that nasty hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disgusted Traveler Dad
Business
Wauchula, Florida
Mar 6, 2013

Most disgusting hotel ever

Immediately after checking in, my 10 year old son found a used condom under the edge of the bed as he was looking for the tv remote. The room stunk and was old and disgusting. Went and complained at the front desk and the clerk acted like he didnt care. I got a refund and went to a different hotel. If you stay at this hotel and are satisfied then you are a nasty unclean person. Would not recommend to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top