$36 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 27, 2014 Check-out: Oct 30, 2014

The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

3 stars
8444 Austrian Ct, Orlando, FL 32819
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.2
out of 5
457 reviews
Florida visit

Overall it was a good value for the price we paid. Situated in a prime location, being right off... See full review

  • Cyclingfan
  • Jul 16, 2014
Great place to stay

It's a great place to stay it's in the right place to go to the attractions See full review

  • weazysleggs
  • Jul 13, 2014
Located on Orlando's most dynamic destination "International Drive" with hundreds of shops, entertainment and restaurants at your doorstep. We offer complimentary scheduled shuttle service to Universal Studios, Sea World and Walt Disney World. Enjoy a relaxing stay in our spacious accommodations. All guestrooms include cable TV, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, and clock radios. WiFi is available a nominal fee. The Hotel amenities include an outdoor pool, spa tub,tennis court, self-service laundry, dry cleaning. Our property has extensive recreation facilities including direct access to Orlando's YMCA Family Fitness Center located on the property.

Hotel Map

28.4432 -81.4722
Area served
Orlando, FL
Nearby airports
13 miles (15 minutes) from the Orlando International Airport
Area description
Hotel is located on the World famous International Drive, within minutes of Universal Orlando, Sea World, and the Orange County Convention Center.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Orlando Metropolitan Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

The Orlando Metropolitan Resort Rooms

Traditional Room w/ Full Buffet Breakfast for 2
Features 2 Double size beds, iron & ironing board, hairdryer, remote-control color television, shower, bathtub, individual climate control, working desk and alarm clock. .***** $5.00 DAILY RESORT FEE APPLIES AND WILL BE PAID DIRECTLY TO HOTEL UPON CHECKIN.*****
Traditional Room
Features 2 Double size beds, iron & ironing board, hairdryer, remote-control color television, shower, bathtub, individual climate control, working desk and alarm clock. .***** $5.00 DAILY RESORT FEE APPLIES AND WILL BE PAID DIRECTLY TO HOTEL UPON CHECKIN.*****

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 0.3 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 0.5 mi
  • Trainland: 0.6 mi
  • Wonderworks: 0.7 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 1.9 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 2.1 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 2.1 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 2.2 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 2.3 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 2.3 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 2.5 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 2.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 0.3 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 0.5 mi
  • Trainland: 0.6 mi
  • Wonderworks: 0.7 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 1.9 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 2.1 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 2.1 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 2.2 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 2.3 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 2.3 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 2.5 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 2.7 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 3.8 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.7 mi
  • Gatorland: 7.3 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 7.8 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 8.7 mi
  • Amway Arena: 9 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 9 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 9 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 9.1 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 10.4 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 10.7 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 11 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 11.1 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 14.4 mi
  • CFE Arena: 20.2 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 20.5 mi

Dining

Ripple's Pool Bar
Great Food and Drinks pool side!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (457)

Ratings and reviews for The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Overall score

2.2 / 5
5.01.0
457 out of 457
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
2.8
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
2.9

37% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cindy n harvey
Miami, fl
Sep 17, 2012

Awsome

Our exprience over all was wonderfull. This is just perfect. The pool was beautifull. It was very.close to the water parks, shopping and all the excitment you wanted to go esp universal and seaworld. I enjoy my stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bourgeoisie
Business
Tallahassee, FL
Mar 7, 2010

Not that great...

The outside of the hotel looks modern and nice, but the inside of my room was not well kempt (peeling wallpaper, dirty grout between the tile in the shower, etc). The picture of the room on their website did NOT look like my room. What you pay for is truly what you get here; it's no special deal, but it's okay. You have to pay for wireless internet (which I think ought to be freely available). There's no continental breakfast- no extras of any kind, really- which explains why I paid $47 for the room. : )

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Mar 7, 2010

Awful!

This place is awful. The rooms do not look like the pictures. The whole place is old and run down. The carpet is ripping up from the floor and is sticky. One of our beds had hair in it. There were also hairs on the bathroom floor. The beds had no support. The woman at the front desk offered to put us in another room, but admitted that all their rooms are "pretty much the same." Don't waste your time or money. We did not stay and are now in the process of trying to get our money back from [...]...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Universal CityWalk nearby is a great place for shopping, dining, and night life.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Frustrated over-nighters
Business
Clearwater, FL
Mar 7, 2010

Could have been better

Hotel experience was not very good. Upon arriving they did not have our confirmation for check in, which had been booked days before, and it took over an hour of waiting to get it straightened out and keys to our room. Every time someone else walked into the lobby, or a phone call, or something else came up, we were put on hold and pushed to the side. I found this very annoying considering we were already PAID customers that were patiently waiting, we should have been their first priority. We could not find our room at first because of horrible directions. We finally found the room and the first set of keys did not work, so we had to go back down and get the manager to come up with his master keys, those did not work either. We then had to go back down AGAIN and get another hotel room. We finally got into our hotel and the air conditioning did not work. We also had to be down graded in size for our room since our reservation didn't originally go through. We didn't get a discount, an extra night stay, an upgrade or anything for all the stuff we went through, which I found rather disappointing. We stayed at another Orlando Metropolitan Resort before (I thought I had booked the same one again, [...] is still showing the wrong addresses) and had a lovely stay. The staff was very friendly, hotel was nice, etc. So we were looking forward to this. We even shortened our plans for the evening so we could get to our hotel and relax. This was definitely not the case. We will not be staying at this particular hotel again, though I would recommend the other one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
hollateach
Business
fort lauderdale
Mar 6, 2010

ok for the price

ok hotel nothing like the pictures great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sephy
Business
miami
Feb 23, 2010

Great

Cheap and conveniant

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
we rock
Business
fl
Jan 3, 2010

Not so good

My room door kept getting stuck an upon check in i was told it would be fixed but neve was.. the housekeeper had to help me several times..toilet kept running all night..internet was wrking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MI
Dec 7, 2009

Definitely not a "resort".

I wasn't expecting a whole lot for the price but there is a lot of room for improvement. You have a 50/50 chance of the elevators working. Out of the 7 ice machines only 1 works. The pool is not heated as had been advertised but the whirlpool is really hot. On the positive side, the staff were helpful and the rooms were clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a pass for the I-trolley which runs the entire length of International Drive. A 3 day pass is only $6.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Nov 30, 2009

Blah, bland and nondiscript

We Arrived at 2am. Checking in was not a problem. the rooms were clean and comfortable. There was no internet access in our room. The Television got a very limited number of channels. HBO was available but the sound was not. There website lists breakfast included but you must pre-pay some package deal. Then if you did pre-pay you have to walk over to the Radisson Hotel to have breakfast. There is no coffee in the room or the hotel check in room. Notice I said check in room cause the "Lobby" is not much biger than a room with a counter. Pool The out door pool was closed of course being that it was November. the YMCA is right behind it but you have to get passes at the Radisson Hotel. A Jacuzzi is advertised but again it is outdoors and there for was closed. I have to say that if you are looking only to sleep there. It was fine. My biggest complaint is that the hotel is just too plain and basic

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
el_socio
Business
Melbourne, FL
Nov 17, 2009

Cheap and okay

their cards system is new and wasn't working properly. Other than that, everything was good. they have a very helpful concierge and a reception staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Atlanta Chick
Business
GA
Nov 16, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

Was not a bad hotel for the price. Was not nasty but could have been a little cleaner in the tub area. The beds were a memory foam and slept so well. They had us by the Tennis courts and people kept hitting the window and door with the balls which was annoying. I would recommend it for people that want a desent place on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Do not order from Pizza Express. They left a flyer in the door and deliver until 4 am but the food was nasty.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top