$49 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 1, 2015 Check-out: Apr 2, 2015

The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

3 stars
View map of 8444 Austrian Ct, Orlando, FL 32819

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.2
out of 5
477 reviews
Florida visit

Overall it was a good value for the price we paid. Situated in a prime location, being right off... See full review

  • Cyclingfan
  • Jul 16, 2014
Great place to stay

It's a great place to stay it's in the right place to go to the attractions See full review

  • weazysleggs
  • Jul 13, 2014
Located on Orlando's most dynamic destination "International Drive" with hundreds of shops, entertainment and restaurants at your doorstep. We offer complimentary scheduled shuttle service to Universal Studios, Sea World and Walt Disney World. Enjoy a relaxing stay in our spacious accommodations. All guestrooms include cable TV, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, and clock radios. WiFi is available a nominal fee. The Hotel amenities include an outdoor pool, spa tub,tennis court, self-service laundry, dry cleaning. Our property has extensive recreation facilities including direct access to Orlando's YMCA Family Fitness Center located on the property.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Orlando Metropolitan Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

The Orlando Metropolitan Resort Rooms

Traditional Room w/ Full Buffet Breakfast for 2
Features 2 Double size beds, iron & ironing board, hairdryer, remote-control color television, shower, bathtub, individual climate control, working desk and alarm clock. .***** $5.00 DAILY RESORT FEE APPLIES AND WILL BE PAID DIRECTLY TO HOTEL UPON CHECKIN.*****
Traditional Room
Features 2 Double size beds, iron & ironing board, hairdryer, remote-control color television, shower, bathtub, individual climate control, working desk and alarm clock. .***** $5.00 DAILY RESORT FEE APPLIES AND WILL BE PAID DIRECTLY TO HOTEL UPON CHECKIN.*****

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 0.3 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 0.5 mi
  • Trainland: 0.6 mi
  • Wonderworks: 0.7 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 1.9 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 2.1 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 2.1 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 2.2 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 2.3 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 2.3 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 2.5 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 2.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 0.3 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 0.5 mi
  • Trainland: 0.6 mi
  • Wonderworks: 0.7 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 1.9 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 2.1 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 2.1 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 2.2 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 2.3 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 2.3 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 2.5 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 2.7 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 3.8 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.7 mi
  • Gatorland: 7.3 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 7.8 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 8.7 mi
  • Amway Arena: 9 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 9 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 9 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 9.1 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 10.4 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 10.7 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 11 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 11.1 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 14.4 mi
  • CFE Arena: 20.2 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 20.5 mi

Dining

Ripple's Pool Bar
Great Food and Drinks pool side!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (477)

Ratings and reviews for The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Overall score

2.2 / 5
5.01.0
477 out of 477
Amenities:
2.3
Cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
2.7
Comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
2.9

36% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
anitaedwind
north augusta SC
Sep 10, 2012

fantastic my huaband and i really enjoy

My english is not that good. But I can say this is my favorite hotel it feel just like home I love it, and the price is just perfect thanks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange Park, Florida
Aug 2, 2010

Weekend of July 30th and 31st, 2010

The outside of the hotel needs some serious upkeep such as cleaning the walkways,the elevator and the landscaping but the room was decent for the price. We enjoyed the pool and spent one evening at the lounge on Friday which is in the Radisson Hotel. The Metropolitan is part of their property.I was told by a guest they paid full price for a room and got and a very nice room which included a 42 inch flat screen t.v. We paid like $62 approx for each night and had a room on the 4th floor with a 25 in t.v. which was fine. We mainly stayed there for the location on International Dr because everything was in walking distance.So if your just there to sleep and shower then it was worth the money...Oh yeah and no coffee pot in the room which I read a previous review and brought mine with..The staff was pleasant also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Many good restaurants, shopping and food right across the street too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Juan, PR
Aug 1, 2010

Not too good

The rooms are spacious but very outdated. No microware or coffemaker although there was a small fridge. The air conditioning system is very noisy. They did not refill the shampoo, conditioner, and body lotion during stay. Cable TV is very basic channels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Olive Garden, TGI Fridays

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vero Beach,Fl
Jul 31, 2010

Mr. J

We had a long day, just ready to relax. It was 10pm.We stood in a line for an hour just to get booked in!!!The lobby was filled with people from the time we stepped in the door till the time we went to our room. It was weird, I felt like I was in the twilight zone. The Place was a Dump, none of the ice machines worked on any of the floors, the shower head was broken. I would not recommend this place to anyone.On and the Soda Machine with is just one located on the bottom floor were selling can soda for $1.25 go figure!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
bradenton fl
Jul 21, 2010

great price

It was great we were there for a convention and it was close and it was cheap

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sarasota FL
Jul 18, 2010

Got what I paid for

We've been coming to this area for almost a dozen years for swim meets at the YMCA pool behind the hotel. I needed a cheap room without the frills, since this was a very brief, one night stay. At this price, I would have been content for a couple nights stay. I believe this facility was once part of the Radisson next door, and this was my first time booking here since the split. Now that the two hotels have been divided into two distinct properties, I get the feeling that this one would probably be considered the red-headed stepchild of the two. The confusion starts with the parking lot and strange lobby location. Depending on which of the many entrances you use to enter the lot, the makeshift lobby is hard to find since it was around the corner from the (reasonably located) main entrance of the Radisson. Although both hotels try to distinguish their facility by placing several respective banners in front of their own property, the lobby to the Metropolitan Resort, sorely lacks appropriate signage. Although covered by an awning, the check in area is undistinguished, and needs more dedicated parking and SIGNAGE. But now that you're reading this review, problem solved. The front desk agent seemed to have by default, an unpleasant edge. Only after I responded cordially and professionally did she warm up and reciprocate with a better attitude. Housekeeping staff was very pleasant, without fail initiating the appropriate greeting in passing. The facility grounds are a work in progress, with uprooted shrubs lining the paths during our stay. The outdoor stairwells could probably use a pressure washing, since they have the distinct aroma of odor neutralizer, which probably smells better than what they're covering up? The room was clean with plenty of space for two or three; a/c was cold and just loud enough to drown out any outside noise from I Drive; plenty of seating; beds were comfy and pillows and sheets were clean with no allergic reactions to the detergent; tub drained well; two sinks were a bonus; bathroom fan squealed loudly and without fail when turned on, but quieted down after a few seconds. All in all, this hotel is perfectly situated for events at the YMCA aquatic center, and its priced fairly given its basic amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

By car, avoid the I Drive/Sand Lake intersection! Familiarize yourself with alternate (car) routes and avoid I Drive traffic jams, which waste your time and are a real joy kill. Exiting this hotel by crossing I Drive to Universal Blvd gets you to Sand Lk/Kirkman/I4 east real fast, and Sand Lk @ OBT has great eats.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The MoorChaff Vacation
Business
Magnolia, TX
Jul 9, 2010

Great Hotel for the Price

Room was great for the price. The doorlock went out while we were there. The staff went above and beyond to fix the problem, but ended up having to move us to another room. Rooms had 2 beds and a pull out couch (which was a nice surprise). Their pool was large with a nice deck (although some spots on the deck need to be replaced). The hottub was being cleaned and repaired one of the days we were there. Overall a great place to stay for the price. I have paid way more and received a lot less.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

O' Shucks was a great little pub with nightly Karaoke. (Less than 2 miles away). They had great specials on Wednesday night. Not that we took our kids, but they did allow children as long as they were with their parents. The kids stayed in the gameroom connected to the bar where parents could keep their eye on them and still have a good time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
HOLLYWOOD
Jul 7, 2010

THE NOT SO GOOD

NOT TOO FRIENDLY OF A STAFF,HAD TO PAY AN ADDITIONAL $10 A DAY FOR A MICROWAVE,NOT EVEN A COFFEE MACHINE IN THE ROOM BEING TO SIMILAR PRICE HOTEL WITH ALL OF THAT IN THE ROOM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West palm beach FL
Jul 2, 2010

"The good, the bad, and the really ugly"

That was a wrong choise for our family even we just stay between 11pm-8am

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Punta Gorda, Fl
Jun 28, 2010

Not So Great

The first day was ok. Then Saturday they had a pool party and they let people who was not even staying in the hotel there. It was insane. Girls dirty dancing and half dressed lots and lots of beer and other stuff, the music was soooo loud. I have a 9 year old son that could not even go to the pool cause there was over 100 people there. When asked they said it was a Rave party. I am sorry but this was a FAMILY vacation. When I called the office they said there was no manager for me to talk to but try on monday or so. I was not at all happy. There were alot of people in the parking lot drinking and putting there trash all over the parking lot. Not really happy....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Jun 27, 2010

Very disappointed

The water would not stay on temperature, it would go from extremely hot, to ice cold, and then back again. The pool is a shared pool and open to the public - the public decided to have a Rave (Party) while we were there with "women" who appeared to have a lot in common with hookers. We could not take the kids to the pool after a long day at SeaWorld. Out of 8 ice machines, only 1 worked. Out of 2 elevators to the 4th floor, only 1 worked. I was so disappointed in this hotel that I have actually never written anything bad about a hotel, but I will be forwarding a letter to their Corporate Office. Oh, and I forgot about the broken clock!!! I had to finally unplug it for fear it would catch on fire or something. I have never heard a digital clock "tick-tock" and sizzle! The time stayed L7:IC....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top