$36 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 1, 2014 Check-out: Dec 2, 2014

The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

3 stars
8444 Austrian Ct, Orlando, FL 32819
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.2
out of 5
459 reviews
Florida visit

Overall it was a good value for the price we paid. Situated in a prime location, being right off... See full review

  • Cyclingfan
  • Jul 16, 2014
Great place to stay

It's a great place to stay it's in the right place to go to the attractions See full review

  • weazysleggs
  • Jul 13, 2014
Located on Orlando's most dynamic destination "International Drive" with hundreds of shops, entertainment and restaurants at your doorstep. We offer complimentary scheduled shuttle service to Universal Studios, Sea World and Walt Disney World. Enjoy a relaxing stay in our spacious accommodations. All guestrooms include cable TV, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, and clock radios. WiFi is available a nominal fee. The Hotel amenities include an outdoor pool, spa tub,tennis court, self-service laundry, dry cleaning. Our property has extensive recreation facilities including direct access to Orlando's YMCA Family Fitness Center located on the property.

Hotel Map

28.4432 -81.4722
Area served
Orlando, FL
Nearby airports
13 miles (15 minutes) from the Orlando International Airport
Area description
Hotel is located on the World famous International Drive, within minutes of Universal Orlando, Sea World, and the Orange County Convention Center.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Orlando Metropolitan Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

The Orlando Metropolitan Resort Rooms

Traditional Room w/ Full Buffet Breakfast for 2
Features 2 Double size beds, iron & ironing board, hairdryer, remote-control color television, shower, bathtub, individual climate control, working desk and alarm clock. .***** $5.00 DAILY RESORT FEE APPLIES AND WILL BE PAID DIRECTLY TO HOTEL UPON CHECKIN.*****
Traditional Room
Features 2 Double size beds, iron & ironing board, hairdryer, remote-control color television, shower, bathtub, individual climate control, working desk and alarm clock. .***** $5.00 DAILY RESORT FEE APPLIES AND WILL BE PAID DIRECTLY TO HOTEL UPON CHECKIN.*****

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 0.3 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 0.5 mi
  • Trainland: 0.6 mi
  • Wonderworks: 0.7 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 1.9 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 2.1 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 2.1 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 2.2 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 2.3 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 2.3 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 2.5 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 2.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 0.3 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 0.5 mi
  • Trainland: 0.6 mi
  • Wonderworks: 0.7 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 1.9 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 2.1 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 2.1 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 2.2 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 2.3 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 2.3 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 2.5 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 2.7 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 3.8 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.7 mi
  • Gatorland: 7.3 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 7.8 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 8.7 mi
  • Amway Arena: 9 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 9 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 9 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 9.1 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 10.4 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 10.7 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 11 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 11.1 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 14.4 mi
  • CFE Arena: 20.2 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 20.5 mi

Dining

Ripple's Pool Bar
Great Food and Drinks pool side!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (459)

Ratings and reviews for The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Overall score

2.2 / 5
5.01.0
459 out of 459
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
2.8
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
2.9

37% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Punta Gorda, Fl
Jun 28, 2010

Not So Great

The first day was ok. Then Saturday they had a pool party and they let people who was not even staying in the hotel there. It was insane. Girls dirty dancing and half dressed lots and lots of beer and other stuff, the music was soooo loud. I have a 9 year old son that could not even go to the pool cause there was over 100 people there. When asked they said it was a Rave party. I am sorry but this was a FAMILY vacation. When I called the office they said there was no manager for me to talk to but try on monday or so. I was not at all happy. There were alot of people in the parking lot drinking and putting there trash all over the parking lot. Not really happy....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Jun 27, 2010

Very disappointed

The water would not stay on temperature, it would go from extremely hot, to ice cold, and then back again. The pool is a shared pool and open to the public - the public decided to have a Rave (Party) while we were there with "women" who appeared to have a lot in common with hookers. We could not take the kids to the pool after a long day at SeaWorld. Out of 8 ice machines, only 1 worked. Out of 2 elevators to the 4th floor, only 1 worked. I was so disappointed in this hotel that I have actually never written anything bad about a hotel, but I will be forwarding a letter to their Corporate Office. Oh, and I forgot about the broken clock!!! I had to finally unplug it for fear it would catch on fire or something. I have never heard a digital clock "tick-tock" and sizzle! The time stayed L7:IC....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dr. Pi
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Jun 27, 2010

Friendly staff, but poor accommodations

The staff was very friendly and helpful, but the accommodations were the worst I have ever had: * The room was supposed to be a non-smoking room, but the bathroom reeked of smoke. The hotel sent someone to spray it, but that didn't help. We hosed it with Febreze daily and put in air freshener, but we couldn't get rid of the smell. * The refrigerator barely kept things below room temperature - certainly not cool enough to keep dairy products. I complained about it, but I was told that's just the kind of refrigerators they are. * There is only one ice maker for the entire hotel, and it NEVER had ice in it. * The maid service did not come 2 of the 9 days that we were there. * The maid service DID NOT CHANGE THE SHEETS, vacuum, or resupply coffee. Twice, I had to go to the lobby because we ran out of toilet paper! * The room keys stopped working twice while we were there. I had to go to the lobby to get them reset. * Parking was insufficient for the number of rooms. We had to park in a lot far from our room one night when we came in late.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel provides a free shuttle to Universal Studios, but it leaves late and returns early. Universal is very close, so we drove to the park and were able to come back during the day to rest. We were able to return refreshed and ready for more fun. It was worth paying for parking in order to return to the hotel during the day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Madisonville ky
Jun 21, 2010

Orlando hotel

It was nice; not a lot of room, but it was just enough. The hotel was very clean, but had no coffee pot. I had to go across the street for a cup of coffee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Refuse to Settle
Business
TN
Jun 21, 2010

Don't waste your money here!!!!!

The room reminded me of something that you would pay by the hour for. The elevator work for me once in the 4 days I was there, and the stairwell smelled like something died in it. You can pay $15 bucks more a night for the Radison right next door that shares the only quality part of this place, the pool. I complained to the manager on duty that barely spoke english, and the response I got was little more then "eh, sorry..." No attempt to make anything right, for me or the 4 people that were putting in complaints at the same time. This was not a "stay near the hotel" vacation, I was only there a few nights and was only there to sleep. Had I needed to spend more time at the hotel I would have demanded a refund and gone to dozen or so, much nicer hotels in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

There are many things to do in the area, there are also many other hotels, make sure you get one of them and don't spend your money here!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
Jun 8, 2010

DO NOT BOOK HERE! PHOTOS ARE NOT RIGHT!

It was the worst place yet! T[...] There is no pool as shown. The rooms are of late 70's color themes. Nothing like the photos. Manangement basically told me to go to hell. I had already paid and was screwed.[...] nightclerk tried so hard to keep me calm. She is a jewel. Deserves to be at a better hotel.DO NOT BOOK HERE. YOU WILL NOT BE HAPPY!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Book elsewhere

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jazzy Ree
Business
Tampa, Florida
Jun 8, 2010

Horrible

[...] I don't think they have a landscaper at all. The elevators are deplorable looking. Just a sad experience. I was very disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
atlanta,ga
Jun 7, 2010

unbeatable location for the price

hotelroom need to be up dated, need microwave in the room, elevator did not work,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
m lou
Business
panama city, fl
Jun 4, 2010

*****

it was great the staff was really helpful i had a bad experience with cheap tickets my reservations were not rcvd at the hotel and it took 45 mins to get everything resolved. And traveling with 2 kids this was not pleasant...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
New Mom with in-laws
Business
Jacksonville, Florida
Jun 1, 2010

Cheap but ok

The hotel had very nice staff at the front desk when we checked in. The rooms were not so clean though. We had people arrive next door to us around 1 or 2 in the morning...we had to call the front desk to get them to be quiet. Also, I did not have a coffee maker in the room...big PROBLEM! All in all, we had a room extremely close to everything we wanted to be close to. The beds were ok, room ok but location was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Golden Corral was terrible which is about 2 or 3 blocks away. The Ponderosa...a couple more blocks down, closer to Wet n Wild was a thousand times better and cheaper.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top