$93 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 27, 2014 Check-out: Nov 30, 2014

The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

3 stars
8444 Austrian Ct, Orlando, FL 32819
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.2
out of 5
461 reviews
Florida visit

Overall it was a good value for the price we paid. Situated in a prime location, being right off... See full review

  • Cyclingfan
  • Jul 16, 2014
Great place to stay

It's a great place to stay it's in the right place to go to the attractions See full review

  • weazysleggs
  • Jul 13, 2014
Located on Orlando's most dynamic destination "International Drive" with hundreds of shops, entertainment and restaurants at your doorstep. We offer complimentary scheduled shuttle service to Universal Studios, Sea World and Walt Disney World. Enjoy a relaxing stay in our spacious accommodations. All guestrooms include cable TV, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, and clock radios. WiFi is available a nominal fee. The Hotel amenities include an outdoor pool, spa tub,tennis court, self-service laundry, dry cleaning. Our property has extensive recreation facilities including direct access to Orlando's YMCA Family Fitness Center located on the property.

Hotel Map

28.4432 -81.4722
Area served
Orlando, FL
Nearby airports
13 miles (15 minutes) from the Orlando International Airport
Area description
Hotel is located on the World famous International Drive, within minutes of Universal Orlando, Sea World, and the Orange County Convention Center.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Orlando Metropolitan Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

The Orlando Metropolitan Resort Rooms

Traditional Room w/ Full Buffet Breakfast for 2
Features 2 Double size beds, iron & ironing board, hairdryer, remote-control color television, shower, bathtub, individual climate control, working desk and alarm clock. .***** $5.00 DAILY RESORT FEE APPLIES AND WILL BE PAID DIRECTLY TO HOTEL UPON CHECKIN.*****
Traditional Room
Features 2 Double size beds, iron & ironing board, hairdryer, remote-control color television, shower, bathtub, individual climate control, working desk and alarm clock. .***** $5.00 DAILY RESORT FEE APPLIES AND WILL BE PAID DIRECTLY TO HOTEL UPON CHECKIN.*****

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 0.3 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 0.5 mi
  • Trainland: 0.6 mi
  • Wonderworks: 0.7 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 1.9 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 2.1 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 2.1 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 2.2 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 2.3 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 2.3 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 2.5 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 2.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 0.3 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 0.5 mi
  • Trainland: 0.6 mi
  • Wonderworks: 0.7 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 1.9 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 2.1 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 2.1 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 2.2 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 2.3 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 2.3 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 2.5 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 2.7 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 3.8 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.7 mi
  • Gatorland: 7.3 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 7.8 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 8.7 mi
  • Amway Arena: 9 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 9 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 9 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 9.1 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 10.4 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 10.7 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 11 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 11.1 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 14.4 mi
  • CFE Arena: 20.2 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 20.5 mi

Dining

Ripple's Pool Bar
Great Food and Drinks pool side!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (461)

Ratings and reviews for The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Overall score

2.2 / 5
5.01.0
461 out of 461
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
2.8
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
2.9

36% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Drift Wood
Business
Strafford, NH
Mar 27, 2011

At least the service was friendly

On the bright side, every interaction with the staff was friendly and helpful. However, being nice was not enough to make the stay at this hotel a good experience. One of the two elevators was broken and the one that did work made horrible screeching noises that had guests complaining well into the wee hours of the night. The mattresses on our beds were broken and sagging. I ended up taking the twin mattress from the sleep sofa and putting it on my bed to make it tolerable. The sink fixtures were broken and the toilet didn't flush well. We have a habit of not needing housekeeping unless there is a problem yet no matter how many times we hung our Do Not Disturb sign or called the front desk, housekeeping continued to enter our room and tidy up every day. I know that may sound trivial (poor babies had clean rooms everyday) but when I ask you not to enter a room I have paid for and store my personal belongings in (the safe had no key) then please don't go in my room. The overall appearance was run-down and shabby and there were no amenities besides the use of the pool, free shampoo and basic 12 channels of cable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
lady silvia d
Business
Miami, FL, USA
Oct 1, 2011

naked women and bed bugs- yuck!!

they gave me room with people already in it- making love! then during the night, in a different room obviously, i awoke to bedbugs!! never staying here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
lady silvia d
Business
Miami, FL, USA
Sep 27, 2011

bedbugs and naked ladies!!!

when we checked in the room that was assigned to us was already occupied by a pregnant naked woman!! when we told the front desk clerk he apologized but continued to try to give us a room of equal value. i demanded an upgrade so he gave a queen double bed room- oooh! then after seeing the room was occupant free we went to sleep. around 630am i was awoken to a bug moving across the sheets....it was a BEDBUG!!! i killed it took a picture of it and asked for a full refund!! we shall see what comes of that- DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

BRICK HOUSE BAR AND LOUNGE

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
bklyn
Business
New York, NY, USA
Oct 24, 2011

good location for what we wanted to do.

first thing when i went into the room you can smell the oldness in the room from the carpet and no fresh air. had to air out the room.then the maid just walk in on me while i was sleeping in the middle of the day.i ask what she was doing and she just walk away.was not comfy there.glad it was a one day stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

any and every restaurant was in walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
guigli
Business
Fl
Oct 26, 2011

Bad room, bad managed

We booked a standard room with 2 beds, but they made a big mistake by giving us a room with only one bed, I argued immediately with the manager and called the cheap ticket, but they do nothing good for us, the rood is bad, the manage is bad, the service is bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Guy Lancing
Business
Florida, USA
Nov 14, 2011

DUMP! Not what was expected.

Sink in hall had missing handle & was corroded. The bathroom was dirty. Needs renovations and updating if they want to pass this DUMP off as a resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SamWilCryDex
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Dec 5, 2011

In Addition to "Location isn't everything"

We checked out at 4 am since our flight was at 630 am. Now a week later they decided to charge me with an extra nights stay when we weren't even there! I have called about 5 times to speak to the manager and not one person has called me back to "discuss" this matter. Although there is nothing to discuss since I only want my refund but not even an apology for charging me for that extra night. Trust me, they couldn't pay me enough to stay at this place again and they shouldn't charge me especially since i checked out way before the checkout time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Westgate does discounted tickets for the parks if you take a 90 minute tour of the property.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SamWilCryDex
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Nov 28, 2011

Location isn't everything!

As soon as we pulled into the parking lot I knew something was off. Check in was easy as can be no problem there- the guy said we would only be charged if something were to break or if we ordered room service ( when we checked out my card was charged- he conveniently left out the $7 room charge per day) Long story short non of the iced machines worked, a bottle of soda was $2.25 in the machine, when we asked for another blanket it looked like someone ran to their car to get it out of the trunk, there was only 1 roll of toilet paper per day in our room, the tv had about 50 channels and only 10 of them worked, wifi was charged by the hour, and the towels were made for someone who was a 00 and 3 feet tall. Overall if I would've known it was going to be like that I would've spent the extra 150 and stayed somewhere else - and to top it off we went for Universal tickets and the guy selling them says "oh they got rid of the roach problem - im just kidding" by the looks of this "resort" it was definitely not a joke!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Make sure you take a trip to the outlets on I-Drive they are fantastic. Also, if you want a great slice of pizza and you want to go for a drive go to Lazy Moon on University by UCF.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Eri2020
Business
Lansing, MI
Jan 5, 2012

Misleading...TOTAL Disappointment

When I reserved the hotel, it said that free breakfast was included. We found out that was not true. From the moment we arrived at the hotel until we checked out, it was a disaster! One of the staff at the front desk was very arrogant and extremely rude! He refused to check us in unless we pay $35 extra for a shuttle to the parks, EVEN though we told him that we did not need a shuttle since we had rented a car. He insisted that it didn't matter because everyone must pay it. It is a shame that they call this place a "resort"...that is extremely misleading and several other guests felt the same way. This place looks like army barracks. It is so ugly and dirty outside and inside. Motel 6 looks much better. There was no coffee in the lobby, no coffee maker in the room, and no restaurant or eatery in the facility. It was a hellish experience! Nobody should go through what we went through on our vacation. Our anniversary vacation was completely ruined. At least three times we found our room not cleaned and the bed not changed. Each time we called the front desk and house keeping we were told somebody will be up there soon but we had to wait about 3 hours before somebody knocked at the door (between 10 and 11pm). We told them we were already in bed. The towels were very old and skinny. The bed was extremely uncomfortable. I would NEVER recommend this place to anybody.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nemo323
Business
New Jersey, USA
Feb 21, 2012

This is a motel not resort

Scratchy blankets, mildew in the bathroooms, and sent me to a room which was already occupied

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Drinks, food, games

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top