$42 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 11, 2015 Check-out: Jan 12, 2015

The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

3 stars
8444 Austrian Ct, Orlando, FL 32819
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.2
out of 5
466 reviews
Florida visit

Overall it was a good value for the price we paid. Situated in a prime location, being right off... See full review

  • Cyclingfan
  • Jul 16, 2014
Great place to stay

It's a great place to stay it's in the right place to go to the attractions See full review

  • weazysleggs
  • Jul 13, 2014
Located on Orlando's most dynamic destination "International Drive" with hundreds of shops, entertainment and restaurants at your doorstep. We offer complimentary scheduled shuttle service to Universal Studios, Sea World and Walt Disney World. Enjoy a relaxing stay in our spacious accommodations. All guestrooms include cable TV, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, and clock radios. WiFi is available a nominal fee. The Hotel amenities include an outdoor pool, spa tub,tennis court, self-service laundry, dry cleaning. Our property has extensive recreation facilities including direct access to Orlando's YMCA Family Fitness Center located on the property.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Orlando Metropolitan Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

The Orlando Metropolitan Resort Rooms

Traditional Room w/ Full Buffet Breakfast for 2
Features 2 Double size beds, iron & ironing board, hairdryer, remote-control color television, shower, bathtub, individual climate control, working desk and alarm clock. .***** $5.00 DAILY RESORT FEE APPLIES AND WILL BE PAID DIRECTLY TO HOTEL UPON CHECKIN.*****
Traditional Room
Features 2 Double size beds, iron & ironing board, hairdryer, remote-control color television, shower, bathtub, individual climate control, working desk and alarm clock. .***** $5.00 DAILY RESORT FEE APPLIES AND WILL BE PAID DIRECTLY TO HOTEL UPON CHECKIN.*****

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 0.3 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 0.5 mi
  • Trainland: 0.6 mi
  • Wonderworks: 0.7 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 1.9 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 2.1 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 2.1 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 2.2 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 2.3 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 2.3 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 2.5 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 2.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 0.3 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 0.5 mi
  • Trainland: 0.6 mi
  • Wonderworks: 0.7 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 1.9 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 2.1 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 2.1 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 2.2 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 2.3 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 2.3 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 2.5 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 2.7 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 3.8 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.7 mi
  • Gatorland: 7.3 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 7.8 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 8.7 mi
  • Amway Arena: 9 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 9 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 9 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 9.1 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 10.4 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 10.7 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 11 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 11.1 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 14.4 mi
  • CFE Arena: 20.2 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 20.5 mi

Dining

Ripple's Pool Bar
Great Food and Drinks pool side!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (466)

Ratings and reviews for The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Overall score

2.2 / 5
5.01.0
466 out of 466
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
2.8
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
2.9

36% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cindy n harvey
Miami, fl
Sep 17, 2012

Awsome

Our exprience over all was wonderfull. This is just perfect. The pool was beautifull. It was very.close to the water parks, shopping and all the excitment you wanted to go esp universal and seaworld. I enjoy my stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
M Sibaja
Business
San Jose , CR
Aug 18, 2014

Looks like it was a good hotel back in the day

The attendants at the front desk got into a fight right in front of us, didnt look like a lobby, it was like a living room instead. The building hasn't got any maintenance for years. The housekkeeping ladies knocked every 30 minutes and even open the door without your permission. Its located in a great area, a boulevard with lots of hotels and restaurants for tourists, a trolley car that can get you to the premium outlet mall for only $2

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Valdi14
Business
Jacksonville FL
Aug 8, 2014

Dirty, bad customer service, good location

I had to wait in line to check in. The hotel surroundings were dirty. The room was very dirty, trash under the beds, mold on the shower curtain, mold on the doors and the bathtub was dirty. The breakfast was ok. The guy in the front desk didn't know what he was doing and seemed very anxious about everything. The pool and the hot tub were nice. The only way I would stay there again is if they offered me a free night, I would not pay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk to Cici's Pizza and Ponderosa steak restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
first time Orlandoer
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Aug 7, 2014

the WORST hotel; a tale of FILTH, no clean linnens, leaking ceilings, AND MOLD. DO NOT STAY HERE.

Here is the horror story of our vacation at this hotel. We stayed at this hotel for a week and had an ENDLESS string of problems. We discovered on arrival that; A. the WIFI they advertise is NOT FREE. B. the shuttle the advertise only departs/returns once a day. We ended up taking a cab or paying for parking the entire week because we didn't want to get to the park HOURS after it opened and leave HOURS before it closed. The one day that we did ride the shuttle it was HALF AN HOUR LATE. When we checked in they only gave us 3 room keys, despite telling the women MULTIPLE time that there were 4 of us in the room. The elevator is a non air condition death trap, where the doors either fly open and closed, or DON'T open at all. The stairs aren't much better; they smell like a port-a-potty, and half the time they were FLOODED because of the broken ice machines *plural*. When we finally made it to our room we found the carpet visibly dirty *littered with small pieces of garbage from previous guests* all of the surfaces were dusty/grimy, and the duvet covers they use for blankets had nasty crusty stains on them. Not to mention the stains on the curtains AND the burn marks on the floor. While we did have a fridge, the microwave we were suppose to have in our 'deluxe' room was MIA, as were the linens to make up the pull out couch that was part of the 'deluxe' room. We then went BACK to the front desk and asked about the microwave and were put on a list to get one; this was something we paid for as part of our deluxe room and despite asking about/for it MULTIPLE times, at the end of our week stay we saw neither hide nor hair of it. When we asked for extra linens; specifically wash cloths and clean pillow cases, we were told they didn't have any. In the week we were there we only saw 3 washcloths total; 3 washcloths for 4 people over the course of a week. we ASKED for them every time we saw a cleaning lady or stopped at the front desk. speaking of 'cleaning' ladies; they did next to nothing. Aside from taking the precious wash cloths we were trying to save, despite the fact that they were hanging up. oh and not leaving us any toilet paper. they would come in and remake the bed, TOUCHING and MOVING any personal items that were on them, but did not CHANGE the sheets once in the time we were there. Which leaves me to wonder if they changed the sheets after we left, or before we arrived *luckily I changed the sheets when we arrived, but I never did get clean pillow cases* they never did vacuum the floor, despite asking them to, and they also didn't wipe anything down; we ended up going to walmart and BUYING bleach to do this ourselves. Are you beginning to get the picture of how dirty this place is? As if that wasn't enough to deal with; not one, not two, but THREE nights we had to deal with the bathroom ceiling leaking. We were on floor 2 or 5, so the leaking was from the bathroom above us. Every time they would take a shower, yellow water would leak AROUND the light fixture *totally not scary at all* and FLOOD the bathroom floor with 1/2 inch of water. and then we would have to fetch towels to clean it up because, despite telling the front desk about it each time they never sent anyone to clean it up for us. They also would not MOVE us to a new room. So we had to deal with the leaky ceiling until the people about us left. I should mention that 3/4 of us ended up with severe sore throats/coughs/hacking up phlegm; to our horror we discovered MOLD on the lampshades, and likely there was mold in the carpet from the daily leaking ceiling. Staying at this hotel nearly ruined our trip; don't let it ruin yours. the headaches you have to deal with are NOT worth the money you save, not even close.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

look up this place called 'Al Capones' it was FANTASTIC!! it's in kissimi so its about a 20 minute drive, but we'll worth it; pay the extra $10 for VIP online and you will not be disappointed. It's all you can eat AND drink AND you get to watch a pretty awesome show.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
penguinboy
Business
fort myers fl
Aug 4, 2014

good gataway vacation

was good some of the stuff like the elevator and ice machines where in bad conditions but the confort of the room and how clean it was where good and was in perfect location for my vacation plans

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Doula
Business
Lincoln Park, Michigan
Jul 22, 2014

Long dew vacation with spouse & my son who just graduated

The only thing good about the room was the air condition. We had double beds and they felt no comfort at all. One bed, you can feel the spring from the mattress and the other just sunk in the middle. Then on the first day there I called because the small refrigerator didn't work and I called the front desk and they said they will send the maintenance person to check it out. However, until the day we left the maintenance guy never came. Family and friend mentioned I should of complained and I had another family member mentioned when you pay cheap you get cheap. That exactly how I felt at one point. The funny part was I couldn't afford anything better. Even though there were ways to go to different entrances around the resort but we were only able to go in and out one way, due to leaks and safety hazards. Maybe you need to send someone out there. The location of the resort was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There were a lot of places to eat at. Great attractions and places to buy gifts for friends and family.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MKT World Travelers
Business
Denver, CO
Jul 21, 2014

Long business weekend in Orlando

When we checked in, there was a lobby full of guests checking in. The staff was not sure which rooms were clean or vacant. They had people coming and going to check them and customers were having all sorts of key issues, etc. It was unorganized and took us over an hour to get checked in. The rooms were okay, but slightly dirty in some places like the floors and closets. There were no fitted sheets on the beds but rather just ill fitting flat sheets draped over and then tucked in. There was also no cell service in the room and no wifi. We were not told that there was a frig in the room when we checked in but discovered it later in the dresser. We thought the location of the hotel was great and for the money we paid, the hotel was a decent choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of night life walking towards the convention center and lots of stuff to do on International drive. Suggest: Senor Frog, Minus 5 ice bar, The Pub

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cyclingfan
Business
Chicago
Jul 16, 2014

Florida visit

Overall it was a good value for the price we paid. Situated in a prime location, being right off International Drive (very close to shops, restaurants, attractions) The staff were friendly and efficient. Only problem was there was no cell phone signal (at least our carrier) in the room and the room phone was not working. If you needed to talk to someone in the room, you had to call the front desk and ask a staffer to physical go knock on the door to get a message through.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
weazysleggs
Business
Homerville, ga
Jul 13, 2014

Great place to stay

It's a great place to stay it's in the right place to go to the attractions

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

They had breakfast for 5.00 at the ponderosa restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Adrian's Family
Business
Toronto
Jul 12, 2014

Worst hotel ever. 1 star at best... STAY AWAY

Hotel is seriously old, dirty and smelly. More like a hostel, then a hotel. Would never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Stayed
Business
Tampa
Jul 12, 2014

Has potential

Ice machine broke, phone broke, static tv, no wifi in room, misrepresented breakfast, broken jacuzzi, ruff towels. On the otter hand, great pool, comfortable bed and a decent overnight room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top