$34 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

3 stars
View map of 8444 Austrian Ct, Orlando, FL 32819

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Overall score

2.2 / 5
5.01.0
452 out of 452
Amenities:
2.3
Cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
2.7
Comfort:
2.5
Location:
3.9
Value:
2.8

35% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Lantana, Florida
Mar 23, 2011

"The good, the bad, and the really ugly"

To keep from losing out on money we made the best of my family trip. After having to move 3 diffent times which was very inconvient for us all, the customer service there were very unprofessional! And if I have an choice to come back I would most certainly not come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Convention Traveler - with employees
Business
Washington DC
Mar 19, 2011

Cheap, but the service shows why...

The price made this worth it... barely. Service was spotty at best, cleanliness in the room was marginal, but the stairways were abysmal ("what's that smell.") During check-in a person couldn't get into their room, even with help by the maintenance staff. So they had to sleep in a different room until they could let her in the next day. Not a good sign. Go figure, one of our keys mysteriously stopped working on the third night. Luckily the other keys still worked. The front desk staff at times seemed overwhelmed, and some seemed to let it affect their mood. The upside was there was a sofa bed so three adults could stay in the same room without sharing beds.... and access to the YMCA is great, but I doubt I'd stay here again, unless I'm really desperate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Don't Go There
Couples
Portland OR
Mar 18, 2011

LOOKS, SOUNDS & SMELLS BETTER ONLINE

Surprizes include: Very loud music from pool speakers until 2 AM. Bar consessions people blame hotel people who blame bar people while the music continues to rattle the windows of half of the hotel. Down pillows and comforters in every room. NO options for people alergic to down except to remove them, which doesn't cleanse the air in those rooms. Overpowering odor of moldy pine cleaner in rooms. Apathetic office employees who seem to enjoy denying requests for help for the above problems. Some of them pretend to not understand English whenever a problem is presented, but do pretty well otherwise. We saved a few dollars a day over the next expensive option. IT WASN'T WORTH IT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Melbourne, FL
Mar 17, 2011

A disappointment

check in took 45 minutes. People who had reservations ready had to wait for their keys. People who didn't have reservations were waited on by the the only clerk. They should have had at least two lines going. the sheets were made 1/2 a@s. Cold water only in shower. bad TV reception. One of the elevators didn't work. A lot of unhappy guests. I wouldn't go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
2GirlsMom
Family
Jupiter, FL
Mar 16, 2011

Ok for a Budget Hotel

Bottom line, the room was sufficient if old, the staff friendly and the breakfast not worth much. Metropolitan is a decent budget hotel, just keep in mind you get what you pay for. The room was relatively clean but definitely older. Very spacious for a cheap room, we had two full beds and a pull out couch the room faced the parking lot. The mattresses were thin and cheap, but comfortable enough with plenty of pillows. The beds wobbled horribly if you sat on the side. The bathroom was small, upgraded toilet but that's about it. Housekeeping definitely cleans with bleach as I smelled it walking past another room being cleaned. The staff were all super friendly. Check in and out was easy. Every person we passed was pleasant and went out of their way to greet us and smile including housekeeping, definitely not what I expected from a cheap hotel. My one (big) complaint is we called down to find out when the free continental breakfast was, we were told until 11am. The breakfast is located next door in the Radisson's restaurant. (The hotels are connected by walkways and share the pool as well) We arrived at 10:30 for breakfast to be told breakfast ended at 10, went back to the Metropolitan desk to be told this was incorrect. They called, gave us coupons for a Breakfast Special and sent us back. We were seated and then told that coupon applied only to the hot buffet that was over at 10. (Frustration!) Our two small children were very crabby by this point with no breakfast so we chose to order off the menu. The waitress was very nice and the cook provided a free chocolate pancake to each child. We called the Metropolitan to tell them our coupons were not accepted and they sent someone over to take care of it. Apparently their version of taking care of it was to give us $3 off per coupon. While the wait staff was excellent the food was horrific. The bacon looked old and I wouldn't let the children eat it. The breakfast potatoes were chopped up (frozen?) french fries with a ton of salt. The toast came with no butter and the syrup for the pancakes was thick and gooey and not very appetizing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to I-Drive attractions and an I-Trolley stop.

Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Florida
Mar 9, 2011

Okay for the price

Great location. Hotel is obviously old and in need of renovation. Room was clean though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Capital Grille

Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Andres Herrera
Single
San Jose, Costa Rica
Mar 2, 2011

Worst Hotel Ever!

It was the worst hotel that I had been. The shower didnt work at all, the floor was always wet because the lavatory didnt work at all. They clean the bedroom and didnt change the towels, or the papers. When I talked with the manager, she told me that she will send someone to repaired all of this, and well, it was the same. The elevator, from 1pm to 8 pm, it didnt work, they have a scheduled for this one to work!!. I wont recommend this hotel to nobody. Honestly the only thing nice it was the position of this one, because there are very good restaurants nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Bonita Springs, FL
Mar 1, 2011

Nice

Our room wasn't ready at 8:00pm but the tiki bar, pool area and rooms were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Minnesota
Feb 26, 2011

Location, value, great. Property old

Over night stay while traveling to Miami. Tired old Holiday Inn property, lacked normal amenities (in-room coffee, continental breakfast of some type). One elevator to 5ht floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
brazil
Feb 23, 2011

Terrible

Everything was broked: the bathtub, the remote control, the cover and the shower. They didnt clean my bathroom neither didnt make my bed one day. I waited more than one hour to check in. Don't trouble yourself!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Back to menu Return to top