$42 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

3 stars
8444 Austrian Ct, Orlando, FL 32819
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.2
out of 5
466 reviews
Florida visit

Overall it was a good value for the price we paid. Situated in a prime location, being right off... See full review

  • Cyclingfan
  • Jul 16, 2014
Great place to stay

It's a great place to stay it's in the right place to go to the attractions See full review

  • weazysleggs
  • Jul 13, 2014
Located on Orlando's most dynamic destination "International Drive" with hundreds of shops, entertainment and restaurants at your doorstep. We offer complimentary scheduled shuttle service to Universal Studios, Sea World and Walt Disney World. Enjoy a relaxing stay in our spacious accommodations. All guestrooms include cable TV, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, and clock radios. WiFi is available a nominal fee. The Hotel amenities include an outdoor pool, spa tub,tennis court, self-service laundry, dry cleaning. Our property has extensive recreation facilities including direct access to Orlando's YMCA Family Fitness Center located on the property.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Orlando Metropolitan Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

The Orlando Metropolitan Resort Rooms

Traditional Room w/ Full Buffet Breakfast for 2
Features 2 Double size beds, iron & ironing board, hairdryer, remote-control color television, shower, bathtub, individual climate control, working desk and alarm clock. .***** $5.00 DAILY RESORT FEE APPLIES AND WILL BE PAID DIRECTLY TO HOTEL UPON CHECKIN.*****
Traditional Room
Features 2 Double size beds, iron & ironing board, hairdryer, remote-control color television, shower, bathtub, individual climate control, working desk and alarm clock. .***** $5.00 DAILY RESORT FEE APPLIES AND WILL BE PAID DIRECTLY TO HOTEL UPON CHECKIN.*****

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 0.3 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 0.5 mi
  • Trainland: 0.6 mi
  • Wonderworks: 0.7 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 1.9 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 2.1 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 2.1 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 2.2 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 2.3 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 2.3 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 2.5 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 2.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 0.3 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 0.5 mi
  • Trainland: 0.6 mi
  • Wonderworks: 0.7 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 1.9 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 2.1 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 2.1 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 2.2 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 2.3 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 2.3 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 2.5 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 2.7 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 3.8 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.7 mi
  • Gatorland: 7.3 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 7.8 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 8.7 mi
  • Amway Arena: 9 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 9 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 9 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 9.1 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 10.4 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 10.7 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 11 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 11.1 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 14.4 mi
  • CFE Arena: 20.2 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 20.5 mi

Dining

Ripple's Pool Bar
Great Food and Drinks pool side!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (466)

Ratings and reviews for The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Overall score

2.2 / 5
5.01.0
466 out of 466
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
2.8
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
2.9

36% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Mar 9, 2011

Okay for the price

Great location. Hotel is obviously old and in need of renovation. Room was clean though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Capital Grille

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Unsatisfied Girl
Business
Miami, FL
Aug 14, 2009

OK Hotel

Hotel is not as nice as the pictures. Rooms have a small TV and furniture is not very well maintained. Staff was not that friendly. I was not expecting much because of the price but at least thought it would be a little better then what it really is.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Augustine, FL
Oct 11, 2009

For the Price it is ok

Had a swim meet at the YMCA, was disappointed because when you hear Resort you think something nice, well... very deceiving by the pictures dont believe everything you read.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Savannah, GA
Sep 29, 2007

Price is not Everything

The Orlanda Metropolitan Resort, Orlando, Fl was not what I expected. Although a good value as far as the room rate is concered the overall experience left a lot to be desired. Soiled sheets, broken bathroom fixtures, outdated amenities and a breakfast buffet that left a bad taste in my mouth wee just the notable problems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jul 16, 2007

Not as expected

The room was fair, the carpet was not very clean. I thought that using the hotels pool and gym were part of the package but when I checked out I had to pay a small fee for the use of these facilities so I was not pleased with that. over all this Hotel was no more than an upgraded motel and I would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you want to be near all the attractions and good dining, this is a good place to stay because it's near everything

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brandon
Sep 7, 2008

Make sure you get an upgrade

When we had arrived, they gave us one of the rooms on the old broken down side, there were used towels on the sink and an opened bar of soak right beside it, not to mention the beds looked like they were 100 years old. So I go down and request that they give me another room. Well, they gave me another room. I ended up having to pay 20 for an upgrade, which was bull. The new room was like going from hell to heaven, it was perfect! I personally would not stay here again because of the poor service, and I go to Orlando and stay on International Dr at least 5 or 6 times a year for the past 5 years, and this is the first time I have been disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

I love being on International Dr because everything is so close, some within walking distance, there's never a time I have gone and had nothing to do.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Navarre, FL
Jul 29, 2008

My review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

The Orlando Metropolitian Resort The room was fairly large and neat, the bed was comfortable, but the carpet smelled slightly m1ldew and was in need of either a shampooing or totally replaced. The Staff were very friendly and ccommodating. The Location was excellent within minutes of many resturants and shopping areas. Disney Attractions were a 10 minute Drive away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Bahama Breeze Resturant was excellent, five minutes away, and they offer a regular or light portion for their entree's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Macon, GA
Jul 30, 2007

Disappointing

The Orlando Metropolitan Resort although close to Universal Studios, is definitely lacking in terms of hospitality. When we checked-in and asked about the shuttle the staff only provided us with a time table. There was never any mention of needing a bus pass (which you can get at the counter next to the check-in) until it was time to board and the bus driver asked us for the pass. So, although a minor inconvenience for us, it would have been a very nice piece of information to have the morning we decided to use the transportation. The next morning we decided to spend a day at one of the Disney parks, when I asked if tickets can be obtained at the same desk, the response was, Do you see a mouse in the house? I took that to mean they were not a Disney ticket site. The room had a very stale and musty smell to it, luckily for us we didn't spend much time there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

All the major Orlando attractions are nearby, a very comfortable drive regardless of which attraction you choose.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Feb 20, 2008

Fell short of basic needs, added unnecessary amenities

Though the hotel staff was fine, there were certain things in the basic accommodations that fell far short of a regular hotel. There was only one waste basket, which was placed in the bathroom. Neither the main room or the separated wash area had a basket. The lighting was especially poor. The corridor by which we had to enter the elevator from the parking lot was continually being washed down and soaked with deep puddles. There was no link with our key to any of the YMCA resort amenities. Although we did not use any of the hotel extras (we only used the room and parking lot) we were charged for four items, including the Y, and wireless internet access!! The key should have a link to usage or no usage...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Nov 29, 2007

A roof over your head

The Orlando Metropolitian Resort was much less than I expected. While the room was a nice size, it had a bad odor, the blanket was flawed, nothing was very clean and I didn't feel particularly safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Uno's was pretty good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top