$40 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 5, 2014 Check-out: May 8, 2014

The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

3 stars
8444 Austrian Ct, Orlando, FL 32819
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
422 reviews
all good

everything was perfect, except that we were hoping to have a microwave as stated on the website but... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 4, 2013
pretty good for that price

frendly stuff, room was clean, but the bathroom not so good See full review

  • ValTush
  • Dec 22, 2013
Located on Orlando's most dynamic destination "International Drive" with hundreds of shops, entertainment and restaurants at your doorstep. We offer complimentary scheduled shuttle service to Universal Studios, Sea World and Walt Disney World. Enjoy a relaxing stay in our spacious accommodations. All guestrooms include cable TV, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, and clock radios. WiFi is available a nominal fee. The Hotel amenities include an outdoor pool, spa tub,tennis court, self-service laundry, dry cleaning. Our property has extensive recreation facilities including direct access to Orlando's YMCA Family Fitness Center located on the property.

The Orlando Metropolitan Resort Rooms

Traditional Room w/ Full Buffet Breakfast for 2
Features 2 Queen size beds, Refrigerator, coffeemaker, iron, ironing board, hairdryer, remote-control color television. Two telephones with voice messaging system, Wifi for a nominal fee and individual climate control.Additional vanity area with second sink.***** $5.00 DAILY RESORT FEE APPLIES AND WILL BE PAID DIRECTLY TO THE PROPERTY UPON CHECKIN.*****
Traditional Room
Features 2 Queen size beds, Refrigerator, coffeemaker, iron, ironing board, hairdryer, remote-control color television. Two telephones with voice messaging system, Wifi for a nominal fee and individual climate Additional vanity area with second sink.***** $5.00 DAILY RESORT FEE APPLIES AND WILL BE PAID DIRECTLY TO THE PROPERTY UPON CHECKIN.*****

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Orlando Metropolitan Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

28.4432 -81.4722
Area served
Orlando, FL
Nearby airports
13 miles (15 minutes) from the Orlando International Airport
Area description
Hotel is located on the World famous International Drive, within minutes of Universal Orlando, Sea World, and the Orange County Convention Center.

Nearby points of interest

  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 0.3 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 0.5 mi
  • King Henry's Feast: 0.5 mi
  • Trainland: 0.6 mi
  • Movie Rider: 0.6 mi
  • Wonderworks: 0.7 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Skyventure: 1.5 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 1.9 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 2 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 2.1 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 2.2 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 2.3 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 2.3 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 2.5 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 0.3 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 0.5 mi
  • King Henry's Feast: 0.5 mi
  • Trainland: 0.6 mi
  • Movie Rider: 0.6 mi
  • Wonderworks: 0.7 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Skyventure: 1.5 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 1.9 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 2 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 2.1 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 2.2 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 2.3 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 2.3 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 2.5 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 2.7 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.7 mi
  • Gatorland: 7.3 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 7.8 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 8.7 mi
  • Amway Arena: 9 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 9 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 9 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 9.1 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 10.4 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 10.7 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 11 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 11.1 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 14.4 mi
  • CFE Arena: 20.2 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 20.5 mi

Dining

Ripple's Pool Bar
Great Food and Drinks pool side!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (422)

Ratings and reviews for The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Overall score

2.3 / 5
422 out of 422
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
2.8
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
2.9

38% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

2
black barbie
Greenville, Alabama
Aug 16, 2010

Room okay,staff..not so much

First- picture is not accurate. This place looks a lot different in person. Front staff seemed lacluster. No one would even aknowledge your presence until you were giving them a credit card. Most didn't even speak english. Pictures and reviews I had read before going weren't accurate. This is a sleezy place on the outside. The rooms weren't bad though. If I hadn't already prepaid, once getting into the lobby, I would have left and gone to a hotel across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Palm bay fl
Aug 9, 2010

not really satisfied

the hotel was only for 2 days but when we arrived the receptionist was so rude not only to us but to other customers she also took about 35 minutes to take care of us and give us our room key after we recieved the key we tried to move on and enjoy our room. the room was not clean towels were dirty 1 of the beds were undone. A hotel i am sure i will not use again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
Modern Day Drifter
Southwest Florida
Aug 8, 2010

Avoid like the Plaque!

Spend the extra few dollars and go for another place to stay. The "Resort" in its name should be dropped for "Motel." Broken locks, elevators, vending machines, and lamps are just a few of the problem areas you may run into. Dirty carpet and absolutely NO water pressure add to the undesireable experience. Overall the hotel is just outdated and old. The location is the only thing going for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
florida
Aug 6, 2010

good i enjoyed it

Went there to seaworld w/my husband and child enjoyed the stay at the hotel. It was peaceful and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Ft lauderdale FL
Aug 4, 2010

We got what we paid for

Our room was supposed to be non-smoking but it reeked of cigarettes. When we checked in the people ahead of us were complaining about the same thing with their room. The elevators were on the outside of the building and had no air conditioning and barely any ventilation. It was a long sticky ride to the 5th floor in the middle of August. The elevator made a scarry screaching noise every time it got to the 5th floor. The room felt dirty, but probably mostly because of the smell. Once we turned on the ventilation fan in the bathroom and then the whole room filled with the strong smell of cigarettes. We didn't change rooms because the rest of our party was in the room next door and we didn't want to be split up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Point Orlando is a short drive or moderately long walk away. It has lots of restaraunts, shops, and a movie theatre

Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Orange Park, Florida
Aug 2, 2010

Weekend of July 30th and 31st, 2010

The outside of the hotel needs some serious upkeep such as cleaning the walkways,the elevator and the landscaping but the room was decent for the price. We enjoyed the pool and spent one evening at the lounge on Friday which is in the Radisson Hotel. The Metropolitan is part of their property.I was told by a guest they paid full price for a room and got and a very nice room which included a 42 inch flat screen t.v. We paid like $62 approx for each night and had a room on the 4th floor with a 25 in t.v. which was fine. We mainly stayed there for the location on International Dr because everything was in walking distance.So if your just there to sleep and shower then it was worth the money...Oh yeah and no coffee pot in the room which I read a previous review and brought mine with..The staff was pleasant also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Many good restaurants, shopping and food right across the street too.

Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
San Juan, PR
Aug 1, 2010

Not too good

The rooms are spacious but very outdated. No microware or coffemaker although there was a small fridge. The air conditioning system is very noisy. They did not refill the shampoo, conditioner, and body lotion during stay. Cable TV is very basic channels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Olive Garden, TGI Fridays

Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Business
Vero Beach,Fl
Jul 31, 2010

Mr. J

We had a long day, just ready to relax. It was 10pm.We stood in a line for an hour just to get booked in!!!The lobby was filled with people from the time we stepped in the door till the time we went to our room. It was weird, I felt like I was in the twilight zone. The Place was a Dump, none of the ice machines worked on any of the floors, the shower head was broken. I would not recommend this place to anyone.On and the Soda Machine with is just one located on the bottom floor were selling can soda for $1.25 go figure!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
bradenton fl
Jul 21, 2010

great price

It was great we were there for a convention and it was close and it was cheap

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Business
Sarasota FL
Jul 18, 2010

Got what I paid for

We've been coming to this area for almost a dozen years for swim meets at the YMCA pool behind the hotel. I needed a cheap room without the frills, since this was a very brief, one night stay. At this price, I would have been content for a couple nights stay. I believe this facility was once part of the Radisson next door, and this was my first time booking here since the split. Now that the two hotels have been divided into two distinct properties, I get the feeling that this one would probably be considered the red-headed stepchild of the two. The confusion starts with the parking lot and strange lobby location. Depending on which of the many entrances you use to enter the lot, the makeshift lobby is hard to find since it was around the corner from the (reasonably located) main entrance of the Radisson. Although both hotels try to distinguish their facility by placing several respective banners in front of their own property, the lobby to the Metropolitan Resort, sorely lacks appropriate signage. Although covered by an awning, the check in area is undistinguished, and needs more dedicated parking and SIGNAGE. But now that you're reading this review, problem solved. The front desk agent seemed to have by default, an unpleasant edge. Only after I responded cordially and professionally did she warm up and reciprocate with a better attitude. Housekeeping staff was very pleasant, without fail initiating the appropriate greeting in passing. The facility grounds are a work in progress, with uprooted shrubs lining the paths during our stay. The outdoor stairwells could probably use a pressure washing, since they have the distinct aroma of odor neutralizer, which probably smells better than what they're covering up? The room was clean with plenty of space for two or three; a/c was cold and just loud enough to drown out any outside noise from I Drive; plenty of seating; beds were comfy and pillows and sheets were clean with no allergic reactions to the detergent; tub drained well; two sinks were a bonus; bathroom fan squealed loudly and without fail when turned on, but quieted down after a few seconds. All in all, this hotel is perfectly situated for events at the YMCA aquatic center, and its priced fairly given its basic amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

By car, avoid the I Drive/Sand Lake intersection! Familiarize yourself with alternate (car) routes and avoid I Drive traffic jams, which waste your time and are a real joy kill. Exiting this hotel by crossing I Drive to Universal Blvd gets you to Sand Lk/Kirkman/I4 east real fast, and Sand Lk @ OBT has great eats.

Back to menu Return to top