The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

3 stars
8444 Austrian Ct, Orlando, FL 32819
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
635 reviews
all good

everything was perfect, except that we were hoping to have a microwave as stated on the website but... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 4, 2013
pretty good for that price

frendly stuff, room was clean, but the bathroom not so good See full review

  • ValTush
  • Dec 22, 2013
Located on Orlando's most dynamic destination "International Drive" with hundreds of shops, entertainment and restaurants at your doorstep. We offer complimentary scheduled shuttle service to Universal Studios, Sea World and Walt Disney World. Enjoy a relaxing stay in our spacious accommodations. All guestrooms include cable TV, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, and clock radios. WiFi is available a nominal fee. The Hotel amenities include an outdoor pool, spa tub,tennis court, self-service laundry, dry cleaning. Our property has extensive recreation facilities including direct access to Orlando's YMCA Family Fitness Center located on the property.

The Orlando Metropolitan Resort Rooms

Traditional Room w/ Full Buffet Breakfast for 2
Features 2 Queen size beds, Refrigerator, coffeemaker, iron, ironing board, hairdryer, remote-control color television. Two telephones with voice messaging system, Wifi for a nominal fee and individual climate control.Additional vanity area with second sink.***** $5.00 DAILY RESORT FEE APPLIES AND WILL BE PAID DIRECTLY TO THE PROPERTY UPON CHECKIN.*****
Traditional Room
Features 2 Queen size beds, Refrigerator, coffeemaker, iron, ironing board, hairdryer, remote-control color television. Two telephones with voice messaging system, Wifi for a nominal fee and individual climate Additional vanity area with second sink.***** $5.00 DAILY RESORT FEE APPLIES AND WILL BE PAID DIRECTLY TO THE PROPERTY UPON CHECKIN.*****

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

28.4432 -81.4722
Area served
Orlando, FL
Nearby airports
13 miles (15 minutes) from the Orlando International Airport
Area description
Hotel is located on the World famous International Drive, within minutes of Universal Orlando, Sea World, and the Orange County Convention Center.

Nearby points of interest

  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 0.3 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 0.5 mi
  • Trainland: 0.6 mi
  • Wonderworks: 0.7 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Skyventure: 1.5 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 1.9 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Gold Club: 2.1 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 2.1 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 2.2 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 2.3 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 2.3 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 2.5 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 0.3 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 0.5 mi
  • Trainland: 0.6 mi
  • Wonderworks: 0.7 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Skyventure: 1.5 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 1.9 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Gold Club: 2.1 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 2.1 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 2.2 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 2.3 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 2.3 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 2.5 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 2.7 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 3.8 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.7 mi
  • Gatorland: 7.3 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 7.8 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 8.7 mi
  • Amway Arena: 9 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 9 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 9 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 9.1 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 10.4 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 10.7 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 11 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 11.1 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 14.4 mi
  • CFE Arena: 20.2 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 20.5 mi

Dining

Ripple's Pool Bar
Great Food and Drinks pool side!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (635)

Ratings and reviews for The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
635 out of 635
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
2.9
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3

38% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Spudz Man
Business
Lehi, UT
Mar 28, 2011

Much to be desired

One of the elevators didn't work and one squeeked so loud when moving we could hear it in our room. The room was clean. There was however rot on the door frame at the base in the bathroom. The sink had seen better days and the vanity was sagging on one side. It was definitely an older hotel. Being able to use the YMCA was the excellent and the pool was great. Overall it worked but it was not great by any means. It was close to great dining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Spudz Man
Business
Lehi, UT
Mar 28, 2011

Much to be desired

One of the elevators didn't work and one squeeked so loud when moving we could hear it in our room. The room was clean. There was however rot on the door frame at the base in the bathroom. The sink had seen better days and the vanity was sagging on one side. It was definitely an older hotel. Being able to use the YMCA was the excellent and the pool was great. Overall it worked but it was not great by any means. It was close to great dining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Titusville, FL
Mar 27, 2011

Nicknamed- LAST RESORT

Booked online and after it was processed, I was irritated to find out that there was an additional $5 "Resort Fee" that was mandatory upon check-in. Talk about BS! I didnt use any of the amenities on property therefore it should not be demanded by all guests to pay. No free wi-fi, the refrigerator barely kept anything cool at all, one of the beds was broken and the deafening screeching noise of the elevator moving was enough to drive anyone mad! My only good points about this place were that the room appeared clean, no odors or smells and there were plenty of towels. This room was booked in a pinch for Megacon 2011 so a thumbs up for availability on short notice, just know that their appearance is disheveled and should not advertise their facility as a "RESORT".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is roughly only 1 mile from the Orlando Convention Center so it is close to all the attractions on International Drive.

Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Drift Wood
Strafford, NH
Mar 27, 2011

At least the service was friendly

On the bright side, every interaction with the staff was friendly and helpful. However, being nice was not enough to make the stay at this hotel a good experience. One of the two elevators was broken and the one that did work made horrible screeching noises that had guests complaining well into the wee hours of the night. The mattresses on our beds were broken and sagging. I ended up taking the twin mattress from the sleep sofa and putting it on my bed to make it tolerable. The sink fixtures were broken and the toilet didn't flush well. We have a habit of not needing housekeeping unless there is a problem yet no matter how many times we hung our Do Not Disturb sign or called the front desk, housekeeping continued to enter our room and tidy up every day. I know that may sound trivial (poor babies had clean rooms everyday) but when I ask you not to enter a room I have paid for and store my personal belongings in (the safe had no key) then please don't go in my room. The overall appearance was run-down and shabby and there were no amenities besides the use of the pool, free shampoo and basic 12 channels of cable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Titusville, FL
Mar 27, 2011

Nicknamed- LAST RESORT

Booked online and after it was processed, I was irritated to find out that there was an additional $5 "Resort Fee" that was mandatory upon check-in. Talk about BS! I didnt use any of the amenities on property therefore it should not be demanded by all guests to pay. No free wi-fi, the refrigerator barely kept anything cool at all, one of the beds was broken and the deafening screeching noise of the elevator moving was enough to drive anyone mad! My only good points about this place were that the room appeared clean, no odors or smells and there were plenty of towels. This room was booked in a pinch for Megacon 2011 so a thumbs up for availability on short notice, just know that their appearance is disheveled and should not advertise their facility as a "RESORT".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is roughly only 1 mile from the Orlando Convention Center so it is close to all the attractions on International Drive.

Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ontario,California
Mar 25, 2011

Very Disappointed

The front desk was very unfriendly, the room carpet was very dirty, the bed is unstable, the power surge wasn't working, the toilet is dirty with yellow stained and the there were NO Free Wi-Fi. Ice Machine is not working, Door is broken.Very disappointed with the stay,would not recommend this to anyone until they do some changes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ontario,California
Mar 25, 2011

Very Disappointed

The front desk was very unfriendly, the room carpet was very dirty, the bed is unstable, the power surge wasn't working, the toilet is dirty with yellow stained and the there were NO Free Wi-Fi. Ice Machine is not working, Door is broken.Very disappointed with the stay,would not recommend this to anyone until they do some changes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lantana, Florida
Mar 23, 2011

"The good, the bad, and the really ugly"

To keep from losing out on money we made the best of my family trip. After having to move 3 diffent times which was very inconvient for us all, the customer service there were very unprofessional! And if I have an choice to come back I would most certainly not come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lantana, Florida
Mar 23, 2011

"The good, the bad, and the really ugly"

To keep from losing out on money we made the best of my family trip. After having to move 3 diffent times which was very inconvient for us all, the customer service there were very unprofessional! And if I have an choice to come back I would most certainly not come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Convention Traveler - with employees
Business
Washington DC
Mar 19, 2011

Cheap, but the service shows why...

The price made this worth it... barely. Service was spotty at best, cleanliness in the room was marginal, but the stairways were abysmal ("what's that smell.") During check-in a person couldn't get into their room, even with help by the maintenance staff. So they had to sleep in a different room until they could let her in the next day. Not a good sign. Go figure, one of our keys mysteriously stopped working on the third night. Luckily the other keys still worked. The front desk staff at times seemed overwhelmed, and some seemed to let it affect their mood. The upside was there was a sofa bed so three adults could stay in the same room without sharing beds.... and access to the YMCA is great, but I doubt I'd stay here again, unless I'm really desperate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top