$36 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 27, 2014 Check-out: Oct 30, 2014

The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

3 stars
8444 Austrian Ct, Orlando, FL 32819
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.2
out of 5
457 reviews
Florida visit

Overall it was a good value for the price we paid. Situated in a prime location, being right off... See full review

  • Cyclingfan
  • Jul 16, 2014
Great place to stay

It's a great place to stay it's in the right place to go to the attractions See full review

  • weazysleggs
  • Jul 13, 2014
Located on Orlando's most dynamic destination "International Drive" with hundreds of shops, entertainment and restaurants at your doorstep. We offer complimentary scheduled shuttle service to Universal Studios, Sea World and Walt Disney World. Enjoy a relaxing stay in our spacious accommodations. All guestrooms include cable TV, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, and clock radios. WiFi is available a nominal fee. The Hotel amenities include an outdoor pool, spa tub,tennis court, self-service laundry, dry cleaning. Our property has extensive recreation facilities including direct access to Orlando's YMCA Family Fitness Center located on the property.

Hotel Map

28.4432 -81.4722
Area served
Orlando, FL
Nearby airports
13 miles (15 minutes) from the Orlando International Airport
Area description
Hotel is located on the World famous International Drive, within minutes of Universal Orlando, Sea World, and the Orange County Convention Center.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Orlando Metropolitan Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

The Orlando Metropolitan Resort Rooms

Traditional Room w/ Full Buffet Breakfast for 2
Features 2 Double size beds, iron & ironing board, hairdryer, remote-control color television, shower, bathtub, individual climate control, working desk and alarm clock. .***** $5.00 DAILY RESORT FEE APPLIES AND WILL BE PAID DIRECTLY TO HOTEL UPON CHECKIN.*****
Traditional Room
Features 2 Double size beds, iron & ironing board, hairdryer, remote-control color television, shower, bathtub, individual climate control, working desk and alarm clock. .***** $5.00 DAILY RESORT FEE APPLIES AND WILL BE PAID DIRECTLY TO HOTEL UPON CHECKIN.*****

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 0.3 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 0.5 mi
  • Trainland: 0.6 mi
  • Wonderworks: 0.7 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 1.9 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 2.1 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 2.1 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 2.2 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 2.3 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 2.3 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 2.5 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 2.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 0.3 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 0.5 mi
  • Trainland: 0.6 mi
  • Wonderworks: 0.7 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 1.9 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 2.1 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 2.1 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 2.2 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 2.3 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 2.3 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 2.5 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 2.7 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 3.8 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.7 mi
  • Gatorland: 7.3 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 7.8 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 8.7 mi
  • Amway Arena: 9 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 9 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 9 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 9.1 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 10.4 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 10.7 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 11 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 11.1 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 14.4 mi
  • CFE Arena: 20.2 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 20.5 mi

Dining

Ripple's Pool Bar
Great Food and Drinks pool side!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (457)

Ratings and reviews for The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Overall score

2.2 / 5
5.01.0
457 out of 457
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
2.8
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
2.9

37% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
wisconsin
Apr 18, 2011

good deal for the price

nice relaxing pool area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

so many great places to eat within walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami Florida
Apr 18, 2011

Terrible Experience

It took close to one hour to check in, their front desk only had two people assisting. There was a big line of people waiting and upset. When I was given the room keys went straight to the room with my baggage, the elevators were out of order! Yes, not working! Used the stairs, when I open the room it was completely up side down. The beds were not made, it was durty and it had a terrible odor. Went straight to the lobby and told them that if this was a joke?? They told me to wait and they would give me another room. There were 4 other people with issues as well, no a/c, rooms dirty and not ready. Everyone was complaining. Finally got another room and this one had a terrible odor like mildew. Terrible experience and will not visit again, [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jo ros
Business
Elko, NV
Apr 14, 2011

Terrible Hotel

We were really disappointed with the hotel, we had a late check-in which we had confirmed with the hotel in advance. When we arrived around 11:30 pm they had already given our room away. I fought to get a room on the bottom floor since we were traveling with a senior that couldn't walk very far. We got our room on the first floor after midnight only to find it not very clean. The room was not very clean and the refrigerator door fell off the hinges and was not fixed after a week of staying there, we even saw a roach coming from the frig. area. The safe had no lock so we couldn't use it. The closet door fell off and smashed my wifes finger. The electric wires to the air cond. were exposed,very unsafe. The walls are paper thin and we could hear every little noise from all rooms around. There were people hanging out on the balconies until 3am loud and drunk. When we checked out the girl at front desk said the owner was not fixing the hotel was letting it go, they even had sewer problems in other rooms and had to move guests. They double charged us for the resort fee and still have not gotten my money back yet. Don't stay here there are nicer hotel around the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
vero beach, fl
Apr 7, 2011

not a good one

The hotel room was very dirty when we arrived, the towel rack was ripped out of the wall, the bed was leaning off to one side, they charged a $5.00 "resort" fee but failed to mention the pool was not in order for swiming, one good thing they had a person available for travel info and got us a ride to city walk and tickets to the local attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the trolly stop was right out front of the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sea World first Time
Business
Jax ,FL
Apr 5, 2011

Will do for the price but not a resort

Pool Was shut down ..Ice Machine Broken ,Loud squeaky Elevator that woke me up that ran all hours of the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Giordano's Pizza If you like Chicago style stuffed pizza with 5 lbs of cheese in it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Spudz Man
Business
Lehi, UT
Mar 28, 2011

Much to be desired

One of the elevators didn't work and one squeeked so loud when moving we could hear it in our room. The room was clean. There was however rot on the door frame at the base in the bathroom. The sink had seen better days and the vanity was sagging on one side. It was definitely an older hotel. Being able to use the YMCA was the excellent and the pool was great. Overall it worked but it was not great by any means. It was close to great dining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Drift Wood
Business
Strafford, NH
Mar 27, 2011

At least the service was friendly

On the bright side, every interaction with the staff was friendly and helpful. However, being nice was not enough to make the stay at this hotel a good experience. One of the two elevators was broken and the one that did work made horrible screeching noises that had guests complaining well into the wee hours of the night. The mattresses on our beds were broken and sagging. I ended up taking the twin mattress from the sleep sofa and putting it on my bed to make it tolerable. The sink fixtures were broken and the toilet didn't flush well. We have a habit of not needing housekeeping unless there is a problem yet no matter how many times we hung our Do Not Disturb sign or called the front desk, housekeeping continued to enter our room and tidy up every day. I know that may sound trivial (poor babies had clean rooms everyday) but when I ask you not to enter a room I have paid for and store my personal belongings in (the safe had no key) then please don't go in my room. The overall appearance was run-down and shabby and there were no amenities besides the use of the pool, free shampoo and basic 12 channels of cable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Titusville, FL
Mar 27, 2011

Nicknamed- LAST RESORT

Booked online and after it was processed, I was irritated to find out that there was an additional $5 "Resort Fee" that was mandatory upon check-in. Talk about BS! I didnt use any of the amenities on property therefore it should not be demanded by all guests to pay. No free wi-fi, the refrigerator barely kept anything cool at all, one of the beds was broken and the deafening screeching noise of the elevator moving was enough to drive anyone mad! My only good points about this place were that the room appeared clean, no odors or smells and there were plenty of towels. This room was booked in a pinch for Megacon 2011 so a thumbs up for availability on short notice, just know that their appearance is disheveled and should not advertise their facility as a "RESORT".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is roughly only 1 mile from the Orlando Convention Center so it is close to all the attractions on International Drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ontario,California
Mar 25, 2011

Very Disappointed

The front desk was very unfriendly, the room carpet was very dirty, the bed is unstable, the power surge wasn't working, the toilet is dirty with yellow stained and the there were NO Free Wi-Fi. Ice Machine is not working, Door is broken.Very disappointed with the stay,would not recommend this to anyone until they do some changes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lantana, Florida
Mar 23, 2011

"The good, the bad, and the really ugly"

To keep from losing out on money we made the best of my family trip. After having to move 3 diffent times which was very inconvient for us all, the customer service there were very unprofessional! And if I have an choice to come back I would most certainly not come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top