The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

3 stars
View map of 8444 Austrian Ct, Orlando, FL 32819

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Overall score

2.2 / 5
5.01.0
447 out of 447
Amenities:
2.3
Cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
2.7
Comfort:
2.5
Location:
3.9
Value:
2.8

36% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Clairann
Business
New Jersey, USA
Feb 29, 2012

Filthiest and Scariest Place to stay away from

The rugs were smeared with sticky substance. Bathroom floor was unswept, mat in tub was frazzled/tattered, toilet bowl was dirty to look at. Air-condition made noise entire first night then broke down second night. Maintenance worker from adjacent hotel came to fix it only to learn it was broken and needed to be replaced. My 9yr old daughter and I were offered a room on 5th flr to sleep for the night, only to realize there were 5 empty, unlocked and dark scary rooms on same flr. Did I mention the bath towels were smelly, dingy and tattered. The lobby was filled with disgruntled families requesting cancellation without penalities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Sea World was short ride from hotel only cost $1.25 with trolley if you miss the complimentary free bus from hotel. Also you can buy tickets to any attraction in the lobby for a discount price.

Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nemo323
Business
New Jersey, USA
Feb 21, 2012

This is a motel not resort

Scratchy blankets, mildew in the bathroooms, and sent me to a room which was already occupied

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Drinks, food, games

Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Visitor X
Business
St. Louis, MO
Feb 20, 2012

NEED TLC

Room was ok. Fine for a place to sleep at night and store your gear. Bathroom shower controls didnt work. Room had unfinished, shabby look. Hotel staff was singularly unfriendly. Next time i will gladly pay more money to stay someplace else better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
python9
Business
Hephzibah, Ga.
Feb 6, 2012

Excellent Place

The room was excellent,except for the TV. There wasn't much of any channels to choose from.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Snickname
Business
CT
Jan 30, 2012

Orlando Metropolitan Resort: Cheap and adequate

Place doesn't look so good from the outside but the room I had was fine. All the ice machines were broken on all floors. One morning there was no hot water, but they were replacing a boiler. Why they didn't do it in the afternoon I don't know. Close enough to the convention center to walk and the local bus was easy as well. Over all, solely because of the price in comparison, I would stay here again for business only. Not a resort in any way but there are much worse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of restaurants nearby to choose from. DO NOT have breakfast at the Ponderosa across the street. It is not as inexpensive as advertised and the food was terrible. The Denny's up the street was only marginally better though.

Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Eri2020
Business
Lansing, MI
Jan 5, 2012

Misleading...TOTAL Disappointment

When I reserved the hotel, it said that free breakfast was included. We found out that was not true. From the moment we arrived at the hotel until we checked out, it was a disaster! One of the staff at the front desk was very arrogant and extremely rude! He refused to check us in unless we pay $35 extra for a shuttle to the parks, EVEN though we told him that we did not need a shuttle since we had rented a car. He insisted that it didn't matter because everyone must pay it. It is a shame that they call this place a "resort"...that is extremely misleading and several other guests felt the same way. This place looks like army barracks. It is so ugly and dirty outside and inside. Motel 6 looks much better. There was no coffee in the lobby, no coffee maker in the room, and no restaurant or eatery in the facility. It was a hellish experience! Nobody should go through what we went through on our vacation. Our anniversary vacation was completely ruined. At least three times we found our room not cleaned and the bed not changed. Each time we called the front desk and house keeping we were told somebody will be up there soon but we had to wait about 3 hours before somebody knocked at the door (between 10 and 11pm). We told them we were already in bed. The towels were very old and skinny. The bed was extremely uncomfortable. I would NEVER recommend this place to anybody.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SamWilCryDex
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Dec 5, 2011

In Addition to "Location isn't everything"

We checked out at 4 am since our flight was at 630 am. Now a week later they decided to charge me with an extra nights stay when we weren't even there! I have called about 5 times to speak to the manager and not one person has called me back to "discuss" this matter. Although there is nothing to discuss since I only want my refund but not even an apology for charging me for that extra night. Trust me, they couldn't pay me enough to stay at this place again and they shouldn't charge me especially since i checked out way before the checkout time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Westgate does discounted tickets for the parks if you take a 90 minute tour of the property.

Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SamWilCryDex
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Nov 28, 2011

Location isn't everything!

As soon as we pulled into the parking lot I knew something was off. Check in was easy as can be no problem there- the guy said we would only be charged if something were to break or if we ordered room service ( when we checked out my card was charged- he conveniently left out the $7 room charge per day) Long story short non of the iced machines worked, a bottle of soda was $2.25 in the machine, when we asked for another blanket it looked like someone ran to their car to get it out of the trunk, there was only 1 roll of toilet paper per day in our room, the tv had about 50 channels and only 10 of them worked, wifi was charged by the hour, and the towels were made for someone who was a 00 and 3 feet tall. Overall if I would've known it was going to be like that I would've spent the extra 150 and stayed somewhere else - and to top it off we went for Universal tickets and the guy selling them says "oh they got rid of the roach problem - im just kidding" by the looks of this "resort" it was definitely not a joke!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Make sure you take a trip to the outlets on I-Drive they are fantastic. Also, if you want a great slice of pizza and you want to go for a drive go to Lazy Moon on University by UCF.

Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Guy Lancing
Business
Florida, USA
Nov 14, 2011

DUMP! Not what was expected.

Sink in hall had missing handle & was corroded. The bathroom was dirty. Needs renovations and updating if they want to pass this DUMP off as a resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Casiopea
Business
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Oct 26, 2011

For bussiness, excelent!!!!!

I was attending the American Academy of Ophthalmology Annual meeting... This hotel was extraordinary centric!!! The price I paid was perfect for one traveling alone with a low budget, like me...I recommend this hotel to everybody....I'm planning a trip next year with my family and I'm staiyng here, for sure!!!!! Thanks...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Olive Grden and the little mall behind this hotel, great... Entertaiment...A LOT...

Back to menu Return to top