$43 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

3 stars
View map of 8444 Austrian Ct, Orlando, FL 32819

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Overall score

2.2 / 5
5.01.0
449 out of 449
Amenities:
2.3
Cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
2.7
Comfort:
2.5
Location:
3.9
Value:
2.8

35% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Aclp
Business
San Antonio texas
Apr 4, 2013

Worst hotel ever!

They never clean our room , only made the beds, no clean towels and have to ask for toilet paper. The tomes we were on the lobbynwaiting for our shuttle only heard complains... And by the way some shuttles were very late. Dont go there!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
aandroyd
Business
Minnesota
Apr 1, 2013

good location, nice pool, lowest price

this was the cheapest hotel around and just a few miles from seaworld and universal studios. they have an outdoor pool and hottub. Our room was very dirty, with many blood/vomit stains on the floor and a water damaged bathroom. There was no fitted bedsheet. However, we looked into other rooms' windows and they all looked much nicer. It was a busy spring break weekend, so we probably got the last room that they normally leave empty and have yet to fix up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

ponderosa is next door, and is by far the best food value around. Amazing staff, great buffet, and low price.

Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
THRIFTYMADE
Business
FLA
Mar 18, 2013

Great Potential

Would stay again. Great value for those on a budget. Just bring your own towels and lysol.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

walmart left on Sand Lake...left on Turkey Creek...will be on your right

Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Universal fan 2013
Business
Jacksonville, fl
Mar 11, 2013

Call ahead to make sure they have reservation

The hotel was over booked and did not have most reservations. They did accommodate me with a room tho the staff was friendly but seemed overwhelmed and short staffed. The rooms were not cleaned do had to wait for staff to clean rooms and this was at 10 pm. I waited an hr to check in but they did waive the hotel fee for the inconvience. I have stayed here before and booked again since the beds were very comfortable but they were not the same for this room they were sagging abut and needed replacement. Over all it was a place to stay so we could go back to the park the next day...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to Cicis pizza

Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disgusted Traveler Dad
Business
Wauchula, Florida
Mar 6, 2013

Most disgusting hotel ever

Immediately after checking in, my 10 year old son found a used condom under the edge of the bed as he was looking for the tv remote. The room stunk and was old and disgusting. Went and complained at the front desk and the clerk acted like he didnt care. I got a refund and went to a different hotel. If you stay at this hotel and are satisfied then you are a nasty unclean person. Would not recommend to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Spice Baby
Business
Troy,Pa. 16946
Feb 26, 2013

A good quiet cheap place to rest your head for the night.

There were many Spanish speaking staff. Breakfast area to small for number of guests. Would suggest additional area an seating. A very good value an budget friendly. Needs updating but was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

This hotel was located so close to great places to eat an drink.

Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
WisemanCavanagh
Business
Illinois
Feb 25, 2013

Average

Great location! Dirty disgusting floors! And they were so booked they couldn't trade us rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ajaxxaja
Business
St Pete, FL
Feb 10, 2013

You get what you pay for

First of all, they don't have free wi-fi. $7 a day. I guess it's free in the lobby, for all the good that will do you. Had to wait in line for 30 minutes to check in. It seemed like every guest in front of me had some major issue that took a long time to clear up. Once I finally made it to the front desk, I said hello to the clerk who ignored me. I kind of stared at him incredulously and eventually he said "Sorry, I had to look at my paycheck first." Seriously? The elevator only occasionally worked. So that was nice. The room stank like an ashtray even though it was supposed to be non-smoking. There were holes in the carpet where it looked like someone had dropped an iron and it burned through. That was pretty hilarious actually. The walls are really thin....there were a bunch of high school kids partying in the room next to me, so I didn't get a lot of sleep. Overall, I can't say I would go back to this place, but at least it was cheap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bob the Business traveler
Business
USA
Feb 3, 2013

Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Based on the photos and the location, I booked this room for four nights. It might be the hotel experience I have ever experienced in the USA. PLEASE FOR THE SAKE OF ALL OF YOUR CUSTOMERS DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL!!! Upon check-in, the reception demanded an extra $5/night as a resort tax (explained to be for parking/use of the YMCA and the grounds - since it was nearly midnight and I was tired from a long flight , I did not have the energy to argue and paid the resort fee/tax). My room was on the third floor so i took the elevator - it smelled and looked like an elevator you might see in a frat house. Upon entering my room I had to plug in the lights before turning them on. The bed sheets had stains so I slept in my clothes on top of the bed spread. The toilet hadn't been cleaned thoroughly and the shampoo provided did not lather up. Is that enough to scare you away? I hope so.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Wanderer 1971
Business
Beaverton, OR
Feb 2, 2013

Barely passable for the budget traveler

The hotel has sporting amenities that they charge for, but that are not pleasant to use. The pool area was dirty and in need of maintenance, the "snack bar" was closed and the hot tub was dirty. The beds were clean and the room was bug free except for the mysterious white flaky substance on one of the bed coverlets and the two spiders I had to kill. The t.v. remote barely worked and the phone did not work at all. The carpet had mysterious stains on it and the shower/tub enclosure had black mold in the ceiling, walls and shower curtain. The handles on one bathroom sink were half missing and completely missing on the other. The hot and cold indicators on one sink and the shower were mislabeled. The first couple of days, housekeeping took the towels, but did not return any fresh ones. Additionally, as I had thrown the coverlet with the mysterious white flaky substance on it into the same pile with the used towels, one would think it would have been taken, but it got left behind. The walls behind the bed were very nicely painted, but they forgot to spackle in the large holes left from something that had previously been attached. The opposite wall by the door was also nicely painted in a random patchwork of different test shades of taupe. The desk staff and other staff I encountered were fairly friendly, however, one morning, as I waited in the lobby for a shuttle to Universal, all of us there got treated to a very unprofessional and loud dissertation between two of the desk staff, laced with profanity in front of our children, about some sort of personnel issue. Due to the state of the room, I did not choose to find out what might be on offer at the in house restaurant. Also, it was not immediately visible or labeled. The location on International Drive has some advantages as the many, many kitschy tourist traps along there can be very fun. However, until this hotel finishes whatever upgrades were hopefully in progress at the time I was there, I would not recommend it unless you are desperate. I had the option to make an equivalent reservation at a Disney hotel and through something off Disney would be a better value. I was gravely mistaken. I will stick with brand name hotels that have a reputation to protect from now on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top