$40 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 12, 2014 Check-out: May 15, 2014

The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

3 stars
8444 Austrian Ct, Orlando, FL 32819
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
422 reviews
all good

everything was perfect, except that we were hoping to have a microwave as stated on the website but... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 4, 2013
pretty good for that price

frendly stuff, room was clean, but the bathroom not so good See full review

  • ValTush
  • Dec 22, 2013
Located on Orlando's most dynamic destination "International Drive" with hundreds of shops, entertainment and restaurants at your doorstep. We offer complimentary scheduled shuttle service to Universal Studios, Sea World and Walt Disney World. Enjoy a relaxing stay in our spacious accommodations. All guestrooms include cable TV, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, and clock radios. WiFi is available a nominal fee. The Hotel amenities include an outdoor pool, spa tub,tennis court, self-service laundry, dry cleaning. Our property has extensive recreation facilities including direct access to Orlando's YMCA Family Fitness Center located on the property.

The Orlando Metropolitan Resort Rooms

Traditional Room w/ Full Buffet Breakfast for 2
Features 2 Queen size beds, Refrigerator, coffeemaker, iron, ironing board, hairdryer, remote-control color television. Two telephones with voice messaging system, Wifi for a nominal fee and individual climate control.Additional vanity area with second sink.***** $5.00 DAILY RESORT FEE APPLIES AND WILL BE PAID DIRECTLY TO THE PROPERTY UPON CHECKIN.*****
Traditional Room
Features 2 Queen size beds, Refrigerator, coffeemaker, iron, ironing board, hairdryer, remote-control color television. Two telephones with voice messaging system, Wifi for a nominal fee and individual climate Additional vanity area with second sink.***** $5.00 DAILY RESORT FEE APPLIES AND WILL BE PAID DIRECTLY TO THE PROPERTY UPON CHECKIN.*****

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Orlando Metropolitan Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

28.4432 -81.4722
Area served
Orlando, FL
Nearby airports
13 miles (15 minutes) from the Orlando International Airport
Area description
Hotel is located on the World famous International Drive, within minutes of Universal Orlando, Sea World, and the Orange County Convention Center.

Nearby points of interest

  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 0.3 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 0.5 mi
  • King Henry's Feast: 0.5 mi
  • Trainland: 0.6 mi
  • Movie Rider: 0.6 mi
  • Wonderworks: 0.7 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Skyventure: 1.5 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 1.9 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 2 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 2.1 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 2.2 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 2.3 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 2.3 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 2.5 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 0.3 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 0.5 mi
  • King Henry's Feast: 0.5 mi
  • Trainland: 0.6 mi
  • Movie Rider: 0.6 mi
  • Wonderworks: 0.7 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Skyventure: 1.5 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 1.9 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 2 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 2.1 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 2.2 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 2.3 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 2.3 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 2.5 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 2.7 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.7 mi
  • Gatorland: 7.3 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 7.8 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 8.7 mi
  • Amway Arena: 9 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 9 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 9 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 9.1 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 10.4 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 10.7 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 11 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 11.1 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 14.4 mi
  • CFE Arena: 20.2 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 20.5 mi

Dining

Ripple's Pool Bar
Great Food and Drinks pool side!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (422)

Ratings and reviews for The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Overall score

2.3 / 5
422 out of 422
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
2.8
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
2.9

38% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

3
TJ
Ireland
Nov 1, 2010

cheap, central and clean

I was not sure about this hotel before we arrived but we were pleasantly surprised. large clean room. very central to shops, bus stops, restaurants and nightlife. fantastic value for money. leaves you with more money in your pocket for spending. would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

trolley stop very close.

Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

3
G Rider
Miami, Florida
Mar 2, 2014

Weekend getaway

Even though the elevator was broken on the 2nd day and we we're staying on the third floor, the price was right for what was expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

3
laurenthetraveler
Miami, FL, USA
Aug 23, 2011

money worth

This hotel is a standard hotel. Next door there is a radisson and double tree. The hotel rooms are big with sufficient space. The rooms were clean and the sheets had no bed bugs! AC was super cold. i would go again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Business
wisconsin
Apr 18, 2011

good deal for the price

nice relaxing pool area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

so many great places to eat within walking distance

Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

3
New Mom with in-laws
Jacksonville, Florida
Jun 1, 2010

Cheap but ok

The hotel had very nice staff at the front desk when we checked in. The rooms were not so clean though. We had people arrive next door to us around 1 or 2 in the morning...we had to call the front desk to get them to be quiet. Also, I did not have a coffee maker in the room...big PROBLEM! All in all, we had a room extremely close to everything we wanted to be close to. The beds were ok, room ok but location was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Golden Corral was terrible which is about 2 or 3 blocks away. The Ponderosa...a couple more blocks down, closer to Wet n Wild was a thousand times better and cheaper.

Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
USA
Jun 10, 2007

Location was great hotel ok not my favorite

The Metropolitan Resort was'nt what I expected. To me it was deceving the name and the look of this hotel do not go together. I think the hotel was alittle run down. When you check in, the hotel lobby looks like it could be a 4 star hotel it was very clean and decorated nicely. But the rest of the hotel at least the building and the rooms were run down and I would rate the hotel around a 2 or 2 1/2. The beds were very uncomfortable and the rugs were very dirty. But dispite all of this we had a wonderful trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The location is great there is a lot of recreational things to do. Dinning, shopping, minature golf, Wonderworks game room, plus much more all in walking distance.

Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
bradenton fl
Jul 21, 2010

great price

It was great we were there for a convention and it was close and it was cheap

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Business
Sarasota FL
Jul 18, 2010

Got what I paid for

We've been coming to this area for almost a dozen years for swim meets at the YMCA pool behind the hotel. I needed a cheap room without the frills, since this was a very brief, one night stay. At this price, I would have been content for a couple nights stay. I believe this facility was once part of the Radisson next door, and this was my first time booking here since the split. Now that the two hotels have been divided into two distinct properties, I get the feeling that this one would probably be considered the red-headed stepchild of the two. The confusion starts with the parking lot and strange lobby location. Depending on which of the many entrances you use to enter the lot, the makeshift lobby is hard to find since it was around the corner from the (reasonably located) main entrance of the Radisson. Although both hotels try to distinguish their facility by placing several respective banners in front of their own property, the lobby to the Metropolitan Resort, sorely lacks appropriate signage. Although covered by an awning, the check in area is undistinguished, and needs more dedicated parking and SIGNAGE. But now that you're reading this review, problem solved. The front desk agent seemed to have by default, an unpleasant edge. Only after I responded cordially and professionally did she warm up and reciprocate with a better attitude. Housekeeping staff was very pleasant, without fail initiating the appropriate greeting in passing. The facility grounds are a work in progress, with uprooted shrubs lining the paths during our stay. The outdoor stairwells could probably use a pressure washing, since they have the distinct aroma of odor neutralizer, which probably smells better than what they're covering up? The room was clean with plenty of space for two or three; a/c was cold and just loud enough to drown out any outside noise from I Drive; plenty of seating; beds were comfy and pillows and sheets were clean with no allergic reactions to the detergent; tub drained well; two sinks were a bonus; bathroom fan squealed loudly and without fail when turned on, but quieted down after a few seconds. All in all, this hotel is perfectly situated for events at the YMCA aquatic center, and its priced fairly given its basic amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

By car, avoid the I Drive/Sand Lake intersection! Familiarize yourself with alternate (car) routes and avoid I Drive traffic jams, which waste your time and are a real joy kill. Exiting this hotel by crossing I Drive to Universal Blvd gets you to Sand Lk/Kirkman/I4 east real fast, and Sand Lk @ OBT has great eats.

Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

3
Snickname
Business
CT
Jan 30, 2012

Orlando Metropolitan Resort: Cheap and adequate

Place doesn't look so good from the outside but the room I had was fine. All the ice machines were broken on all floors. One morning there was no hot water, but they were replacing a boiler. Why they didn't do it in the afternoon I don't know. Close enough to the convention center to walk and the local bus was easy as well. Over all, solely because of the price in comparison, I would stay here again for business only. Not a resort in any way but there are much worse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of restaurants nearby to choose from. DO NOT have breakfast at the Ponderosa across the street. It is not as inexpensive as advertised and the food was terrible. The Denny's up the street was only marginally better though.

Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

3
Sea World first Time
Jax ,FL
Apr 5, 2011

Will do for the price but not a resort

Pool Was shut down ..Ice Machine Broken ,Loud squeaky Elevator that woke me up that ran all hours of the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Giordano's Pizza If you like Chicago style stuffed pizza with 5 lbs of cheese in it!

Back to menu Return to top