$34 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 30, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

3 stars
8444 Austrian Ct, Orlando, FL 32819
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
643 reviews
Florida visit

Overall it was a good value for the price we paid. Situated in a prime location, being right off... See full review

  • Cyclingfan
  • Jul 16, 2014
Great place to stay

It's a great place to stay it's in the right place to go to the attractions See full review

  • weazysleggs
  • Jul 13, 2014
Located on Orlando's most dynamic destination "International Drive" with hundreds of shops, entertainment and restaurants at your doorstep. We offer complimentary scheduled shuttle service to Universal Studios, Sea World and Walt Disney World. Enjoy a relaxing stay in our spacious accommodations. All guestrooms include cable TV, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, and clock radios. WiFi is available a nominal fee. The Hotel amenities include an outdoor pool, spa tub,tennis court, self-service laundry, dry cleaning. Our property has extensive recreation facilities including direct access to Orlando's YMCA Family Fitness Center located on the property.

Hotel Map

28.4432 -81.4722
Area served
Orlando, FL
Nearby airports
13 miles (15 minutes) from the Orlando International Airport
Area description
Hotel is located on the World famous International Drive, within minutes of Universal Orlando, Sea World, and the Orange County Convention Center.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Orlando Metropolitan Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

The Orlando Metropolitan Resort Rooms

Traditional Room w/ Full Buffet Breakfast for 2
Features 2 Queen size beds, Refrigerator, coffeemaker, iron, ironing board, hairdryer, remote-control color television. Two telephones with voice messaging system, Wifi for a nominal fee and individual climate control.Additional vanity area with second sink.***** $5.00 DAILY RESORT FEE APPLIES AND WILL BE PAID DIRECTLY TO THE PROPERTY UPON CHECKIN.*****
Traditional Room
Features 2 Queen size beds, Refrigerator, coffeemaker, iron, ironing board, hairdryer, remote-control color television. Two telephones with voice messaging system, Wifi for a nominal fee and individual climate Additional vanity area with second sink.***** $5.00 DAILY RESORT FEE APPLIES AND WILL BE PAID DIRECTLY TO THE PROPERTY UPON CHECKIN.*****

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 0.3 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 0.5 mi
  • Trainland: 0.6 mi
  • Wonderworks: 0.7 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Skyventure: 1.5 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 1.9 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Gold Club: 2.1 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 2.1 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 2.2 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 2.3 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 2.3 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 2.5 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 0.3 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 0.5 mi
  • Trainland: 0.6 mi
  • Wonderworks: 0.7 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Skyventure: 1.5 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 1.9 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Gold Club: 2.1 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 2.1 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 2.2 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 2.3 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 2.3 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 2.5 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 2.7 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 3.8 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.7 mi
  • Gatorland: 7.3 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 7.8 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 8.7 mi
  • Amway Arena: 9 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 9 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 9 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 9.1 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 10.4 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 10.7 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 11 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 11.1 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 14.4 mi
  • CFE Arena: 20.2 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 20.5 mi

Dining

Ripple's Pool Bar
Great Food and Drinks pool side!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (643)

Ratings and reviews for The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
643 out of 643
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
2.9
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3

38% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disgusted Traveler Dad
Wauchula, Florida
Mar 6, 2013

Most disgusting hotel ever

Immediately after checking in, my 10 year old son found a used condom under the edge of the bed as he was looking for the tv remote. The room stunk and was old and disgusting. Went and complained at the front desk and the clerk acted like he didnt care. I got a refund and went to a different hotel. If you stay at this hotel and are satisfied then you are a nasty unclean person. Would not recommend to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Spice Baby
Troy,Pa. 16946
Feb 26, 2013

A good quiet cheap place to rest your head for the night.

There were many Spanish speaking staff. Breakfast area to small for number of guests. Would suggest additional area an seating. A very good value an budget friendly. Needs updating but was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

This hotel was located so close to great places to eat an drink.

Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Crissy11
Jamaica, NY
Feb 25, 2013

Supposed to be a fun vacation

My experience at this hotel was very bad. The night we got in there was no room for us and the attendant wanted me to go hitch a ride with a total stranger because the guy was supposed to be going to the same hotel overnight. Then in the morning when I called to be transported back to the hotel I had my reservation with, the manager was rude to me on the phone telling me that he does not provide taxi service and that I should provide my own transportation back to the hotel if I wanted to stay there. Also the carpet in the room was very dingy and behind the beds have all kind of garbage and dust as if the room was not cleaned in ages. I couldn't wait to get out of that nasty hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
WisemanCavanagh
Illinois
Feb 25, 2013

Average

Great location! Dirty disgusting floors! And they were so booked they couldn't trade us rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ajaxxaja
Business
St Pete, FL
Feb 10, 2013

You get what you pay for

First of all, they don't have free wi-fi. $7 a day. I guess it's free in the lobby, for all the good that will do you. Had to wait in line for 30 minutes to check in. It seemed like every guest in front of me had some major issue that took a long time to clear up. Once I finally made it to the front desk, I said hello to the clerk who ignored me. I kind of stared at him incredulously and eventually he said "Sorry, I had to look at my paycheck first." Seriously? The elevator only occasionally worked. So that was nice. The room stank like an ashtray even though it was supposed to be non-smoking. There were holes in the carpet where it looked like someone had dropped an iron and it burned through. That was pretty hilarious actually. The walls are really thin....there were a bunch of high school kids partying in the room next to me, so I didn't get a lot of sleep. Overall, I can't say I would go back to this place, but at least it was cheap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bob the Business traveler
Business
USA
Feb 3, 2013

Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Based on the photos and the location, I booked this room for four nights. It might be the hotel experience I have ever experienced in the USA. PLEASE FOR THE SAKE OF ALL OF YOUR CUSTOMERS DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL!!! Upon check-in, the reception demanded an extra $5/night as a resort tax (explained to be for parking/use of the YMCA and the grounds - since it was nearly midnight and I was tired from a long flight , I did not have the energy to argue and paid the resort fee/tax). My room was on the third floor so i took the elevator - it smelled and looked like an elevator you might see in a frat house. Upon entering my room I had to plug in the lights before turning them on. The bed sheets had stains so I slept in my clothes on top of the bed spread. The toilet hadn't been cleaned thoroughly and the shampoo provided did not lather up. Is that enough to scare you away? I hope so.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Wanderer 1971
Beaverton, OR
Feb 2, 2013

Barely passable for the budget traveler

The hotel has sporting amenities that they charge for, but that are not pleasant to use. The pool area was dirty and in need of maintenance, the "snack bar" was closed and the hot tub was dirty. The beds were clean and the room was bug free except for the mysterious white flaky substance on one of the bed coverlets and the two spiders I had to kill. The t.v. remote barely worked and the phone did not work at all. The carpet had mysterious stains on it and the shower/tub enclosure had black mold in the ceiling, walls and shower curtain. The handles on one bathroom sink were half missing and completely missing on the other. The hot and cold indicators on one sink and the shower were mislabeled. The first couple of days, housekeeping took the towels, but did not return any fresh ones. Additionally, as I had thrown the coverlet with the mysterious white flaky substance on it into the same pile with the used towels, one would think it would have been taken, but it got left behind. The walls behind the bed were very nicely painted, but they forgot to spackle in the large holes left from something that had previously been attached. The opposite wall by the door was also nicely painted in a random patchwork of different test shades of taupe. The desk staff and other staff I encountered were fairly friendly, however, one morning, as I waited in the lobby for a shuttle to Universal, all of us there got treated to a very unprofessional and loud dissertation between two of the desk staff, laced with profanity in front of our children, about some sort of personnel issue. Due to the state of the room, I did not choose to find out what might be on offer at the in house restaurant. Also, it was not immediately visible or labeled. The location on International Drive has some advantages as the many, many kitschy tourist traps along there can be very fun. However, until this hotel finishes whatever upgrades were hopefully in progress at the time I was there, I would not recommend it unless you are desperate. I had the option to make an equivalent reservation at a Disney hotel and through something off Disney would be a better value. I was gravely mistaken. I will stick with brand name hotels that have a reputation to protect from now on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
WisemanCavanagh
Illinois
Jan 31, 2013

My Personal Opinion

The hotel location was great! Right outside with a short walk you can reach many nice restaurants and gift shops. What I would warn everyone thinking about staying here: DO NOT purchase the breakfast options! It is so basic that after buying this option, my fiancee and I still walked every morning to purchase breakfast. Also I would warn people that the rooms are not very nice... The carpet had major stains, and bathroom was gross, not to mention tv was not a flatscreen and got terrible reception. The bed was at least comfortable, but still not new by any means. What I did like was every morning a shuttle came and picked us up to take us and many other people to universal studios or Disney world. That saved us money because taxi's are ridiculously expensive. If I had a choice to stay here again I would decline... Coming from Illinois and going to vacation... I expected better. Though the price was good... I thought hotels had to stick to a certain cleaning standard... I guess not. Oh and the pool area was ok, work out room was a joke!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
A Golf Pro
Business
NJ
Jan 27, 2013

You get what you pay for

The hotel is of location, but missed a lot of the easy things that would have improved this rating. I unpacked in my first room, set the AC, came back two hours later, and found it wasn't working. Had to pack and move to a different room. They fixed the problem by getting me a new room, but that shouldn't happen in the first place. There were several other minor failures that were fixed but pains that I shouldn't have to deal with after driving 19 hours to get here: 1. Elevator broken (Real pain when you have to move to 4th floor) 2. Disconnected TV Remote 3. No fitted sheets (who uses a regular sheet for the bottom???) 4. Jammed bathroom door 5. Room key had to be renewed even though I had 2 days left in my stay. To their credit, they addressed 2, 5, and refunded my hotel resort fee of $5 per day ($20), but still, these things shouldn't happen. You get what you pay for these days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

For PGA Show attendees, the bus departs from next door at the Sonesta Inn and Suites. Super convenient.

Review of The Orlando Metropolitan Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bad Putter
Business
Palm Desert, California
Jan 27, 2013

Never stay here

Awful hotel. A joke in the community I found out. The towels are used to exfoliate your skin, so rough. Towels are the size of hand towels, it takes 3 to dry off. Nothing good to say, I'm embarassed I didn't move out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top