$93 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2014 Check-out: Aug 24, 2014

The Florida Hotel and Conference Center

4 stars
1500 Sand Lake Rd., Orlando, FL 32809
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
116 reviews
work visit

very nice hotel, clean and comfy.... and the mall is right in the lobby! See full review

  • John at work
  • Apr 22, 2014
Honeymoon Stay

We stayed on the top floor, king room, in late June. The staff was nice, the lobby looked like a... See full review

  • Johnston2013
  • Jun 27, 2014
Located at The Florida Mall, the 511 room Florida Hotel and Conference Center offers amenities not available at most hotels including in-room spa treatments, and a Starbucks in our lobby. Located just minutes from the Orlando International Airport, the Orange County Convention Center, and Walt Disney World Resort, we are at the center of everything there is to do in Central Florida!

Hotel service charge of $18.00 per night plus tax payable directly to property.

Minimum age to check in to the hotel is 18 years.

The Florida Hotel and Conference Center Rooms

Deluxe Room
Step into our brightly furnished Orlando hotel accommodations and you are welcomed with warm cherry wood furnishings and duvet bed covers. The Florida Hotel and Conference Center's spacious guest rooms have all of the necessary guest amenities in the bathroom. All guest rooms have wireless internet access as well as a working desk with a task lamp, flat-screen televisions with in-room movies (TVs not equipped to handle outside electronics), Web TV, iron and board, coffee makers and hair dryers. Guest rooms are well appointed with two double beds or one king size bed to make each guest feel comfortable with just the right combination of business or pleasure.
Superior Room
With all the great amenities that the Deluxe Room offers, this room also offers: Top Floor Placement, Upgraded bath amenities, 42 inch state of the art tvs, 4 bottles of water daily, Bathrobe, and glass front refrigerators.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Florida Hotel and Conference Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

28.4503 -81.398
Area served
The Florida Hotel and Conference Center is centrally located minutes from the Orlando International Airport, Downtown Orlando, Walt Disney World, Sea World, Universal Studios and the beaches on both the east and west coasts.
Nearby airports
Orlando International Airport Sanford International Airport
Area description
Located 6 miles from Orlando International Airport and only minutes from downtown Orlando and all of the exciting theme parks Orlando has to offer.

Nearby points of interest

  • The Florida Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Shingle Creek Gold Club: 3.1 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 3.2 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 3.9 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 4 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 4 mi
  • Skyventure: 4.2 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.3 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 4.4 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 4.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 4.4 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 4.6 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 4.6 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 4.6 mi
  • Wonderworks: 4.6 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Shingle Creek Gold Club: 3.1 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 3.2 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 3.9 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 4 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 4 mi
  • Skyventure: 4.2 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.3 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 4.4 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 4.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 4.4 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 4.6 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 4.6 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 4.6 mi
  • Wonderworks: 4.6 mi
  • Trainland: 4.7 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 4.9 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 5 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 6.1 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 6.2 mi
  • Gatorland: 6.6 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 6.6 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 6.8 mi
  • Amway Arena: 6.9 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 6.9 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 8.1 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 8.5 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 8.7 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 8.8 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 10.3 mi
  • CFE Arena: 16.3 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 16.6 mi

Dining

Cricket's Bar
For a relaxing atmosphere, just off the lobby you can find Cricket's Bar. Sit down, relax and enjoy your favorite beverage while you watch our large screen television or enjoy the Florida sun and sip your drink poolside. After a long day at work, in a meeting or traveling unwind in our bar. Daily drink specials are available. Cricket's Bar is open daily from 12:00 P.M. until 1:00 A.M.
Starbucks
Starbucks in Lobby
Grab n' Go Gift Shop
For your convenience
Marcelos Bistro
Marcelo's specializes in traditional American Cuisine. Enjoy the convenience and selection dine in the hotel lobby. For your dining pleasure, traditional American cuisine is served for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Change to 50,000 sqft of flexible meeting space

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (116)

Ratings and reviews for The Florida Hotel and Conference Center

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
116 out of 116
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Florida Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hernan 1
Florida
Mar 24, 2012

Perfect

Best choice , great price, great location, friendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Florida Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OsPat
Miami, Florida
Mar 20, 2012

My stay at the Florida Hotel

It was an overall pleasant stay. Although, during the first day of our stay, we had to be transferred from one room to the other and we wasted the entire afternoon waiting for the staff to transfer us to a room that we had asked for, while we could have gone out and enjoyed our vacation. It wasn't until 8 pm that we finally got our room transfer. But, the rooms were clean and it was a pleasant environment. The hotel has a direct connection to the Florida Mall, and the Marcelo's Bistro in the lobby was phenomenal. We would definitely go back to this hotel if possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Florida Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nurzdom
Hernando, FL 34442, USA
Mar 19, 2012

Short stay!

Room was great and a coveniently located in the mall!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Florida Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BoozeBuster
Bluffton, IN
Mar 16, 2012

As I Expected

Beautiful hotel and great staff. I had been there before and will probably be there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Florida Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
melbourne mom on the run
melbourne fl
Mar 12, 2012

Perfect for a Girls' Getaway

Wonderful girls getaway weekend was spent at this hotel- very clean rooms; the most awesome gym ever; great staff; yummy breakfast buffet; and the mall is only steps away! Great 1/2 price deals in Cricket's Bar- food & drinks very reasonable. We had a super time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Florida Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
unkin
Gainesville, FL, USA
Mar 12, 2012

Girls Weekend Out

We were greeted by the most helpful bellman, which helped with the luggage, both removing it from the car and taking it to the room. The room was nice, smoke free, and handicap assessable. We have made this trip three times, and have never been unhappy. Definitely a great place to go, for convenience of shopping and area locations. This is our annual "girls weekend off" trip, and plan on coming back next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

I found everything on the internet. We went over to Winter Park, just 20 minutes away, to a play. Great to go to Orlando, and not be in the Disney crowd.

Review of The Florida Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mickeyfromthenorth
Rochester, NY, USA
Mar 3, 2012

Great Stop Prior going on Disney Property

Having the lobby of the hotel attached right to a fantastic mall was a plus - especially for teenagers and shopaholics. It is short, easy drive to Universal. I dropped off kids while I returned to the hotel for meetings. Great Value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: In Hotel

After a long day at Universal - grab food from the food court and eat it outside Starbucks in the hotel lobby. It is much quieter there after being among the crowds. The food court, with the variety of choices - pleases everyone.

Review of The Florida Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cedgeco
Nassau, The Bahamas
Dec 22, 2011

Great Value for the Money!

The rooms were very clean and nicely decorated. The hotel is conveniently located in the Florida Mall so shopping was a breeze. The staff were friendly and accomodating. Overall I enjoyed my stay and would go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Florida Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SHPAHOLIC
ORLANDO FL
Aug 8, 2011

LOVED IT

IT WAS GREAT WE SHOPPED TILL WE DROPPED HOTEL WAS CLEAN AND STAFF VERY NICE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Florida Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SHPAHOLIC
ORLANDO FL
Aug 8, 2011

LOVED IT

IT WAS GREAT WE SHOPPED TILL WE DROPPED HOTEL WAS CLEAN AND STAFF VERY NICE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Florida Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami, FL
Jun 27, 2011

Good Choice

The hotel was great. However, for a first time visitor there were a few things that can be frustrating. The hotel was attached to the Florida Mall, so finding a parking spot during peak mall hours was a bit of a pain. After a bit of experience getting around mall traffic and parking, it was much better than dealing with the hotels located closer to the attractions. And being attached to a really great mall came in handy for last minute shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top