$114 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 14, 2014 Check-out: Dec 15, 2014

The Florida Hotel and Conference Center

4 stars
1500 Sand Lake Rd., Orlando, FL 32809
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
74 reviews
work visit

very nice hotel, clean and comfy.... and the mall is right in the lobby! See full review

  • John at work
  • Apr 22, 2014
Good value

This is a hotel with pretty good value. Location is good. Connected to the mall and not too far... See full review

  • Jersey Super Mom
  • Nov 11, 2014
Located at The Florida Mall, the 511 room Florida Hotel and Conference Center offers amenities not available at most hotels including in-room spa treatments, and a Starbucks in our lobby. Located just minutes from the Orlando International Airport, the Orange County Convention Center, and Walt Disney World Resort, we are at the center of everything there is to do in Central Florida!

Hotel service charge of $18.00 per night plus tax payable directly to property.

Minimum age to check in to the hotel is 18 years.

Hotel Map

28.4503 -81.398
Area served
The Florida Hotel and Conference Center is centrally located minutes from the Orlando International Airport, Downtown Orlando, Walt Disney World, Sea World, Universal Studios and the beaches on both the east and west coasts.
Nearby airports
Orlando International Airport Sanford International Airport
Area description
Located 6 miles from Orlando International Airport and only minutes from downtown Orlando and all of the exciting theme parks Orlando has to offer.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Florida Hotel and Conference Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

The Florida Hotel and Conference Center Rooms

Deluxe Room
Step into our brightly furnished Orlando hotel accommodations and you are welcomed with warm cherry wood furnishings and duvet bed covers. The Florida Hotel and Conference Center's spacious guest rooms have all of the necessary guest amenities in the bathroom. All guest rooms have wireless internet access as well as a working desk with a task lamp, flat-screen televisions with in-room movies (TVs not equipped to handle outside electronics), Web TV, iron and board, coffee makers and hair dryers. Guest rooms are well appointed with two double beds or one king size bed to make each guest feel comfortable with just the right combination of business or pleasure.
Superior Room
With all the great amenities that the Deluxe Room offers, this room also offers: Top Floor Placement, Upgraded bath amenities, 42 inch state of the art tvs, 4 bottles of water daily, Bathrobe, and glass front refrigerators.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • The Florida Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 3.1 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 3.2 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 3.9 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 4 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 4 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.3 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 4.4 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 4.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 4.4 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 4.6 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 4.6 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 4.6 mi
  • Wonderworks: 4.6 mi
  • Trainland: 4.7 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 3.1 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 3.2 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 3.9 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 4 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 4 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.3 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 4.4 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 4.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 4.4 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 4.6 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 4.6 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 4.6 mi
  • Wonderworks: 4.6 mi
  • Trainland: 4.7 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 4.9 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 5 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 6.1 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 6.2 mi
  • Gatorland: 6.6 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 6.6 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 6.8 mi
  • Amway Arena: 6.9 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 6.9 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 8.1 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 8.5 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 8.7 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 8.8 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 10.3 mi
  • CFE Arena: 16.3 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 16.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Change to 50,000 sqft of flexible meeting space

Dining

Cricket's Bar
For a relaxing atmosphere, just off the lobby you can find Cricket's Bar. Sit down, relax and enjoy your favorite beverage while you watch our large screen television or enjoy the Florida sun and sip your drink poolside. After a long day at work, in a meeting or traveling unwind in our bar. Daily drink specials are available. Cricket's Bar is open daily from 12:00 P.M. until 1:00 A.M.
Starbucks
Starbucks in Lobby
Grab n' Go Gift Shop
For your convenience
Marcelos Bistro
Marcelo's specializes in traditional American Cuisine. Enjoy the convenience and selection dine in the hotel lobby. For your dining pleasure, traditional American cuisine is served for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (74)

Ratings and reviews for The Florida Hotel and Conference Center

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
25 out of 74
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Florida Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Average Joe Traveler
Business
Tallahassee, FL
Jun 26, 2010

Friendly but gross

My mother and I needed a room in Orlando. We had to pick up my niece the next day and didn't want to feel rushed so we booked a hotel room. We chose the Florida Hotel due to its reviews and location to shopping and dinning. We were horribly disappointed. The first room they gave us looked nice and was fairly large, but it was hot even though the thermostat was set to 70 degrees F. Turns out the air conditioner in the room was broken. According to the hotel Engineer there was no water flowing through the pipes to the unit. This explained the toilet not flushing... They placed us in another room that was smaller. When I tried to go to sleep I couldn't get comfortable. The bed was incredibly lumpy. I pulled back the comforter to discover that mattress pad was halfway off the bed. Some how housekeeping didn't notice this when they were changing the sheets out (?). I had to strip the bed and remake it. I slept fine after that. In the morning my mom pulled back the curtains to let the sunlight in and discovered a plastic water bottle on the window ledge full of tobacco chew spit. Gross. Just gross. We never had these problems with the Hyatt at the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Florida Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
FLORIDA
Jul 13, 2010

Could have been

THE FRONT DESK STAFF AS WELL AS HOUSEKEEPING WAS GREAT.RESPONSE TIME TO GUEST NEEDS WAS AWESOME. THE ROOMS IN THE HOTEL WERE THE PROBLEM. CHECKED IN AFTER WORK: 1ST ROOM-BUGS IN BED, REQUESTED ROOM CHANGE. 2ND ROOM, SAME NIGHT: NO BUGS,ROOM OK BUT BATHROOM HAD MOLD. 3RD ROOM-NEXT DAY DUE TO MOLD:BUGS IN BED, 4TH ROOM- SAME DAY: BUGS IN BED AND MOLD IN BATHROOM. NO KIDDING! AGAIN, FRONT DESK AND HOUSEKEEPING SUPER. UNFORTUNATELY, BUGS IN THE BED AND MOLD ARE AN ISSUE FOR ME. FORTUNATELY, BREAKFAST WAS GREAT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Florida Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nurzdom
Business
Hernando, FL 34442, USA
Mar 19, 2012

Short stay!

Room was great and a coveniently located in the mall!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Florida Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
colorado
Nov 26, 2010

thanksgiving break

was good [...] location was fairly central. bathroom was a little worn, would have been nice to have had lotion provided in your rooms. we did this hotel cuz cheaper than right by theme parks, but not a long drive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Florida Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
manassas, va
Jan 5, 2010

short trip

shopping and go to disney world.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Florida Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RickiR
Business
Orlando FL
Mar 10, 2014

Fun Night

The hotel was beautiful and clean. Staff was super friendly and helpful. Security measures made us feel safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Florida Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cedgeco
Business
Nassau, The Bahamas
Dec 22, 2011

Great Value for the Money!

The rooms were very clean and nicely decorated. The hotel is conveniently located in the Florida Mall so shopping was a breeze. The staff were friendly and accomodating. Overall I enjoyed my stay and would go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Florida Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mickeyfromthenorth
Business
Rochester, NY, USA
Mar 3, 2012

Great Stop Prior going on Disney Property

Having the lobby of the hotel attached right to a fantastic mall was a plus - especially for teenagers and shopaholics. It is short, easy drive to Universal. I dropped off kids while I returned to the hotel for meetings. Great Value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

After a long day at Universal - grab food from the food court and eat it outside Starbucks in the hotel lobby. It is much quieter there after being among the crowds. The food court, with the variety of choices - pleases everyone.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Florida Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OsPat
Business
Miami, Florida
Mar 20, 2012

My stay at the Florida Hotel

It was an overall pleasant stay. Although, during the first day of our stay, we had to be transferred from one room to the other and we wasted the entire afternoon waiting for the staff to transfer us to a room that we had asked for, while we could have gone out and enjoyed our vacation. It wasn't until 8 pm that we finally got our room transfer. But, the rooms were clean and it was a pleasant environment. The hotel has a direct connection to the Florida Mall, and the Marcelo's Bistro in the lobby was phenomenal. We would definitely go back to this hotel if possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Florida Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Laura Mimi
Business
Rochester NY
May 8, 2012

Great place

Close to airport, good deals in Lounge, great dinner. Rooms clean and cozy, very nice for the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top