$128 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 16, 2015 Check-out: May 17, 2015

The Florida Hotel and Conference Center

4 stars
View map of 1500 Sand Lake Rd., Orlando, FL 32809

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
79 reviews
Awesome trip here

The hotel is just next to Florida mall, which is easy to recognize. The room is awesome and the... See full review

  • Wen X.
  • Apr 6, 2015
Conference

The hotel staff is always very polite and what else could you ask for but to be able to shop right... See full review

  • Melissa M.
  • Mar 26, 2015
Located at The Florida Mall, the 511 room Florida Hotel and Conference Center offers amenities not available at most hotels including in-room spa treatments, and a Starbucks in our lobby. Located just minutes from the Orlando International Airport, the Orange County Convention Center, and Walt Disney World Resort, we are at the center of everything there is to do in Central Florida!

Hotel service charge of $18.00 per night plus tax payable directly to property.

Minimum age to check in to the hotel is 18 years.

Continental/Buffet Breakfast and Valet Parking are available at an additional charge.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Florida Hotel and Conference Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

The Florida Hotel and Conference Center Rooms

Deluxe Room
Step into our brightly furnished Orlando hotel accommodations and you are welcomed with warm cherry wood furnishings and duvet bed covers. The Florida Hotel and Conference Center's spacious guest rooms have all of the necessary guest amenities in the bathroom. All guest rooms have wireless internet access as well as a working desk with a task lamp, flat-screen televisions with in-room movies (TVs not equipped to handle outside electronics), Web TV, iron and board, coffee makers and hair dryers. Guest rooms are well appointed with two double beds or one king size bed to make each guest feel comfortable with just the right combination of business or pleasure.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • The Florida Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 3.1 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 3.2 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 3.9 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 4 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 4 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.3 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 4.4 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 4.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 4.4 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 4.6 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 4.6 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 4.6 mi
  • Wonderworks: 4.6 mi
  • Trainland: 4.7 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 3.1 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 3.2 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 3.9 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 4 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 4 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.3 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 4.4 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 4.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 4.4 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 4.6 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 4.6 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 4.6 mi
  • Wonderworks: 4.6 mi
  • Trainland: 4.7 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 4.9 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 5 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 6.1 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 6.2 mi
  • Gatorland: 6.6 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 6.6 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 6.8 mi
  • Amway Arena: 6.9 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 6.9 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 8.1 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 8.5 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 8.7 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 8.8 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 10.3 mi
  • CFE Arena: 16.3 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 16.6 mi

Dining

Marcelos Bistro
Marcelo's specializes in traditional American Cuisine. Enjoy the convenience and selection dine in the hotel lobby. For your dining pleasure, traditional American cuisine is served for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Cricket's Bar
For a relaxing atmosphere, just off the lobby you can find Cricket's Bar. Sit down, relax and enjoy your favorite beverage while you watch our large screen television or enjoy the Florida sun and sip your drink poolside. After a long day at work, in a meeting or traveling unwind in our bar. Daily drink specials are available. Cricket's Bar is open daily from 12:00 P.M. until 1:00 A.M.
Starbucks
Starbucks in Lobby
Grab n' Go Gift Shop
For your convenience

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Change to 50,000 sqft of flexible meeting space

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for The Florida Hotel and Conference Center

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Florida Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
PSMELCH
Business
Houston, TX
Oct 7, 2012

Undisclosed $15.00 charge PER DAY!!

While signing in, I was asked to initial that there was a $15.00 PER DAY charge above the room rate for a bottle of water, internet and workout facility. They said that I was told this when I made my reservation. I was not. Then I was told that it should have been sent to me in an e-mail. It was not. I got on-line and found another hotel. Be careful that the published rate does not include the $15.00 per day charge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Florida Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
x Hosam x
Business
Madinah, Saudi Arabia
Sep 8, 2013

Bad Hotel, Awesome Location

In short words : Great location for a shopping trip. Worst location for living.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ruby Tuesday Restaurant at Florida Mall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Florida Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Average Joe Traveler
Business
Tallahassee, FL
Jun 26, 2010

Friendly but gross

My mother and I needed a room in Orlando. We had to pick up my niece the next day and didn't want to feel rushed so we booked a hotel room. We chose the Florida Hotel due to its reviews and location to shopping and dinning. We were horribly disappointed. The first room they gave us looked nice and was fairly large, but it was hot even though the thermostat was set to 70 degrees F. Turns out the air conditioner in the room was broken. According to the hotel Engineer there was no water flowing through the pipes to the unit. This explained the toilet not flushing... They placed us in another room that was smaller. When I tried to go to sleep I couldn't get comfortable. The bed was incredibly lumpy. I pulled back the comforter to discover that mattress pad was halfway off the bed. Some how housekeeping didn't notice this when they were changing the sheets out (?). I had to strip the bed and remake it. I slept fine after that. In the morning my mom pulled back the curtains to let the sunlight in and discovered a plastic water bottle on the window ledge full of tobacco chew spit. Gross. Just gross. We never had these problems with the Hyatt at the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Florida Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
FLORIDA
Jul 13, 2010

Could have been

THE FRONT DESK STAFF AS WELL AS HOUSEKEEPING WAS GREAT.RESPONSE TIME TO GUEST NEEDS WAS AWESOME. THE ROOMS IN THE HOTEL WERE THE PROBLEM. CHECKED IN AFTER WORK: 1ST ROOM-BUGS IN BED, REQUESTED ROOM CHANGE. 2ND ROOM, SAME NIGHT: NO BUGS,ROOM OK BUT BATHROOM HAD MOLD. 3RD ROOM-NEXT DAY DUE TO MOLD:BUGS IN BED, 4TH ROOM- SAME DAY: BUGS IN BED AND MOLD IN BATHROOM. NO KIDDING! AGAIN, FRONT DESK AND HOUSEKEEPING SUPER. UNFORTUNATELY, BUGS IN THE BED AND MOLD ARE AN ISSUE FOR ME. FORTUNATELY, BREAKFAST WAS GREAT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Florida Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
everywhere usa
Mar 9, 2011

more like motel 6...this is NO 4 star

This place is a joke. The staff was very friendly and its conveniently attached to the Florida mall but the rooms were aweful. The bed was hard..no comforter..cheap small pillows. The furniture was cheap and wore out. The bathtub was old and tile was old. The wall paper was peeling off the walls. The sink backed up and left a nasty film behind everytime u used it. The toilet was nasty and had melted wax all over the seat. Nothing close to what I would consider even a three star. I stayed at a Sheraton the night before for half the price in jville and it was amazing... I was upcharged at this hotel for no reason "hotel service charge" 11.00 ....on top of the expensive valet and rediculous room price. Needless to say I will never stay at the Florida hotel again. I will stick to brand name hotels that are held to a higher standard than independent hotels. Being a hotel broker for a living...I should have known better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Florida Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
G. Martin18
Business
new york
Dec 31, 2013

Holiday Madness

I wasn't aware this hotel was attached to the mall. It took us 30 minutes to get into the hotel. The rooms were clean .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Florida Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Super Mom 14
Business
Miami, Florida
Jan 20, 2014

Good Conference Venue

I went to the hotel for a conference and stayed for 2 nights. The room was comfortable and clean. The location of the sessions worked out great because all of the choices were on the same floor of the hotel. That made it easy to be on time for everything. There were also many choices for meals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Florida Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nurzdom
Business
Hernando, FL 34442, USA
Mar 19, 2012

Short stay!

Room was great and a coveniently located in the mall!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Florida Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
colorado
Nov 26, 2010

thanksgiving break

was good [...] location was fairly central. bathroom was a little worn, would have been nice to have had lotion provided in your rooms. we did this hotel cuz cheaper than right by theme parks, but not a long drive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Florida Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
manassas, va
Jan 5, 2010

short trip

shopping and go to disney world.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top