$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 6, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

The Florida Hotel and Conference Center

4 stars
1500 Sand Lake Rd., Orlando, FL 32809
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
75 reviews
Perfect Getaway

Can't get better than a hotel in a mall. My wife loves the stores and I prefer to stay far away. So... See full review

  • Gil n Geri
  • Dec 3, 2014
work visit

very nice hotel, clean and comfy.... and the mall is right in the lobby! See full review

  • John at work
  • Apr 22, 2014
Located at The Florida Mall, the 511 room Florida Hotel and Conference Center offers amenities not available at most hotels including in-room spa treatments, and a Starbucks in our lobby. Located just minutes from the Orlando International Airport, the Orange County Convention Center, and Walt Disney World Resort, we are at the center of everything there is to do in Central Florida!

Hotel service charge of $18.00 per night plus tax payable directly to property.

Minimum age to check in to the hotel is 18 years.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Florida Hotel and Conference Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

The Florida Hotel and Conference Center Rooms

Superior Room
With all the great amenities that the Deluxe Room offers, this room also offers: Top Floor Placement, Upgraded bath amenities, 42 inch state of the art tvs, 4 bottles of water daily, Bathrobe, and glass front refrigerators.
Deluxe Room
Step into our brightly furnished Orlando hotel accommodations and you are welcomed with warm cherry wood furnishings and duvet bed covers. The Florida Hotel and Conference Center's spacious guest rooms have all of the necessary guest amenities in the bathroom. All guest rooms have wireless internet access as well as a working desk with a task lamp, flat-screen televisions with in-room movies (TVs not equipped to handle outside electronics), Web TV, iron and board, coffee makers and hair dryers. Guest rooms are well appointed with two double beds or one king size bed to make each guest feel comfortable with just the right combination of business or pleasure.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • The Florida Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 3.1 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 3.2 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 3.9 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 4 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 4 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.3 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 4.4 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 4.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 4.4 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 4.6 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 4.6 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 4.6 mi
  • Wonderworks: 4.6 mi
  • Trainland: 4.7 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 3.1 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 3.2 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 3.9 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 4 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 4 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.3 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 4.4 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 4.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 4.4 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 4.6 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 4.6 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 4.6 mi
  • Wonderworks: 4.6 mi
  • Trainland: 4.7 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 4.9 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 5 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 6.1 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 6.2 mi
  • Gatorland: 6.6 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 6.6 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 6.8 mi
  • Amway Arena: 6.9 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 6.9 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 8.1 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 8.5 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 8.7 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 8.8 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 10.3 mi
  • CFE Arena: 16.3 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 16.6 mi

Dining

Marcelos Bistro
Marcelo's specializes in traditional American Cuisine. Enjoy the convenience and selection dine in the hotel lobby. For your dining pleasure, traditional American cuisine is served for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Cricket's Bar
For a relaxing atmosphere, just off the lobby you can find Cricket's Bar. Sit down, relax and enjoy your favorite beverage while you watch our large screen television or enjoy the Florida sun and sip your drink poolside. After a long day at work, in a meeting or traveling unwind in our bar. Daily drink specials are available. Cricket's Bar is open daily from 12:00 P.M. until 1:00 A.M.
Starbucks
Starbucks in Lobby
Grab n' Go Gift Shop
For your convenience

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Change to 50,000 sqft of flexible meeting space

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (75)

Ratings and reviews for The Florida Hotel and Conference Center

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Florida Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zaffit
Business
Hattiesburg, MS
Apr 2, 2010

Orlando's Best Kept Secret

When we go to Orlando, we choose this hotel because you have The Florida Mall downstairs. If you forget something or if you just want to shop but be close to your room so you can rest, it is EXTREMELY convenient. The mall is a good one with stores like Macy's or the usual mall stores like Victoria's Secret, American Eagle, NY & Co, etc. This is probably our 5th time to go to this hotel and it seems like it gets better everytime we go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Florida Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas
Mar 26, 2010

AMAZING!

The only bad part of the trip was that we didn't expect the hotel to be IN the Florida Mall. GPS had us driving in circles for a little while until we decided to turn them off and look around in the area it had us in. We checked in late. The front desk was so helpful and nice! My 2 year old was fascinated by the escalators, and the elevators. The room was super clean! There wasn't even so much as dust on the curtains! There were more than enough towels in the room. We stayed two nights and were barely in the room, but we enjoyed what we saw of the hotel! Definitely worth the money! I would stay there again in a heartbeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Florida Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gator dad
Business
Kentucky
Mar 17, 2010

nice location, good shopping, near MCO

Check in was easy and professional. Room nice, clean with refrigerator and microwave. Nice bathroom. Fitness center was nice. Did not use pool but looked fine from view out window. Good location in Florida mall. Ate at Crickett's which is in the hotel. Great happy hour and good food. About only negative was a little hard to find, it sits behind the mall and you can see it driving in but need to drive all the way around to the back of the mall to access the hotel. Stayed there the night before a very early flight and only about 6 miles from airport and an easy well marked drive to airport. We went down Sand Lake Blvd early in morning so no traffic at that time of day. [...]Would stay here again in future .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Florida Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Germantown, MD
Mar 16, 2010

Convenient location

We wanted a reasonably priced hotel that was an easy drive to the airport at 6:15 AM. The check-in desk did not execute a request for a wake-up call at 5:15AM. Fortunately, I had set the clock radio to go off at 5:20 AM as a backup. The check-in desk was young and in-experienced when I checked in. The desk was helpful on directions however. I was surprised that the hotel charged a $11 service fee that was independent of the quoted price. Hotel is very clean and modern.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Florida Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
washington dc
Mar 16, 2010

not a good location, but very good hotel

Despite the location is not close to either Airport or downtown, the hotel has access to a big mall and the facility is better than the ones in convention center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Florida Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tallahassee, FL
Feb 26, 2010

Great for shopping

Great location for a shopping trip and not too far from the airport for easy access. All around a great time with excellent service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Don't get caught after the mall closes in a restaurant like we did. We walked thru the empty mall to the hotel and the doors were locked, so we had to walk around late at night. It was a little scary. There are a lot of options to eat in the mall except for Sunday morning when nothing is open. The hotel has a restaurant but doesn't offer anything for breakfast on Sunday except an overpriced buffet, so we had to get in the car and find a restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Florida Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vero Beach, FL
Jan 5, 2010

Great Hotel, Awesome location

Great convenience to walk out of the hotel to the mall. Loved stopping at Starbucks within hotel lobby. Room was nice; bed linens with duvet covers that were very white and very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Florida Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
manassas, va
Jan 5, 2010

short trip

shopping and go to disney world.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Florida Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Yulee, FL
Jan 4, 2010

Wonderful Weekend

Arrived at hotel early. Staff was gracious enough to store our luggage until our room was available. We were able to enjoy the mall while we were waiting. With the weather being horrible, it made it convenient for us to have something to do. And we actually enjoyed it. Staff was friendly. The rooms were spacious, clean and very comfortable. It was a wonderful weekend for my husband and I to get away and enjoy the hotel and the Holy Land Experience. I feel revived!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Plenty of restaurants to choose from in a short distance if you want to eat outside the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Florida Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ada, MI
Dec 7, 2009

A Shoppers DREAM

We were in meetings all day and then went back to our very comfortable room to clean up. From there, we didn't have to leave the hotel to have a great dinner, we dined in the restaurant and then walked across the lobby and went shopping in The Florida Mall. I don't know which I appreciated more, the Hotel or the Mall!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

ENJOY - there are 100's of stores to choose from!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top