$93 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 8, 2014 Check-out: Aug 10, 2014

The Florida Hotel and Conference Center

4 stars
1500 Sand Lake Rd., Orlando, FL 32809
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
116 reviews
work visit

very nice hotel, clean and comfy.... and the mall is right in the lobby! See full review

  • John at work
  • Apr 22, 2014
Honeymoon Stay

We stayed on the top floor, king room, in late June. The staff was nice, the lobby looked like a... See full review

  • Johnston2013
  • Jun 27, 2014
Located at The Florida Mall, the 511 room Florida Hotel and Conference Center offers amenities not available at most hotels including in-room spa treatments, and a Starbucks in our lobby. Located just minutes from the Orlando International Airport, the Orange County Convention Center, and Walt Disney World Resort, we are at the center of everything there is to do in Central Florida!

Hotel service charge of $18.00 per night plus tax payable directly to property.

Minimum age to check in to the hotel is 18 years.

Hotel Map

28.4503 -81.398
Area served
The Florida Hotel and Conference Center is centrally located minutes from the Orlando International Airport, Downtown Orlando, Walt Disney World, Sea World, Universal Studios and the beaches on both the east and west coasts.
Nearby airports
Orlando International Airport Sanford International Airport
Area description
Located 6 miles from Orlando International Airport and only minutes from downtown Orlando and all of the exciting theme parks Orlando has to offer.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Florida Hotel and Conference Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

The Florida Hotel and Conference Center Rooms

Deluxe Room
Step into our brightly furnished Orlando hotel accommodations and you are welcomed with warm cherry wood furnishings and duvet bed covers. The Florida Hotel and Conference Center's spacious guest rooms have all of the necessary guest amenities in the bathroom. All guest rooms have wireless internet access as well as a working desk with a task lamp, flat-screen televisions with in-room movies (TVs not equipped to handle outside electronics), Web TV, iron and board, coffee makers and hair dryers. Guest rooms are well appointed with two double beds or one king size bed to make each guest feel comfortable with just the right combination of business or pleasure.
Superior Room
With all the great amenities that the Deluxe Room offers, this room also offers: Top Floor Placement, Upgraded bath amenities, 42 inch state of the art tvs, 4 bottles of water daily, Bathrobe, and glass front refrigerators.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • The Florida Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Shingle Creek Gold Club: 3.1 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 3.2 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 3.9 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 4 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 4 mi
  • Skyventure: 4.2 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.3 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 4.4 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 4.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 4.4 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 4.6 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 4.6 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 4.6 mi
  • Wonderworks: 4.6 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Shingle Creek Gold Club: 3.1 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 3.2 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 3.9 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 4 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 4 mi
  • Skyventure: 4.2 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.3 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 4.4 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 4.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 4.4 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 4.6 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 4.6 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 4.6 mi
  • Wonderworks: 4.6 mi
  • Trainland: 4.7 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 4.9 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 5 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 6.1 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 6.2 mi
  • Gatorland: 6.6 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 6.6 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 6.8 mi
  • Amway Arena: 6.9 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 6.9 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 8.1 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 8.5 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 8.7 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 8.8 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 10.3 mi
  • CFE Arena: 16.3 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 16.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Change to 50,000 sqft of flexible meeting space

Dining

Cricket's Bar
For a relaxing atmosphere, just off the lobby you can find Cricket's Bar. Sit down, relax and enjoy your favorite beverage while you watch our large screen television or enjoy the Florida sun and sip your drink poolside. After a long day at work, in a meeting or traveling unwind in our bar. Daily drink specials are available. Cricket's Bar is open daily from 12:00 P.M. until 1:00 A.M.
Starbucks
Starbucks in Lobby
Grab n' Go Gift Shop
For your convenience
Marcelos Bistro
Marcelo's specializes in traditional American Cuisine. Enjoy the convenience and selection dine in the hotel lobby. For your dining pleasure, traditional American cuisine is served for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (116)

Ratings and reviews for The Florida Hotel and Conference Center

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
116 out of 116
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Florida Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Florida
Apr 24, 2011

Comfort Hotel Set Just Minutes From Fun

My girlfriend and I were spending the weekend in Orlando to visit Disney and we saw this deal ob [...]. When we got to the hotel the bellman was courteous although a bit busy so we had to wait a few minutes to get valet parking. Even though valet parking was $8 it is worth it since the hotel is literally set on the mall so parking would normally be a nightmare. The check-in staff are extremely courteous as well. The overall appearance of the hotel speaks luxury it is very modern and that includes the rooms. Each room has free wifi and Tvs as well as a refrigerator and all the amenities. Clean rooms and quiet atmosphere. Just know that the hotel will charge an extra $17 on top of [...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Shopping tip: In Hotel

There is a huge mall right there full of restaurants and shopping so if your looking for something to do your first night I would stay right on the mall.

Review of The Florida Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Florida
Apr 24, 2011

Comfort Hotel Set Just Minutes From Fun

My girlfriend and I were spending the weekend in Orlando to visit Disney and we saw this deal ob [...]. When we got to the hotel the bellman was courteous although a bit busy so we had to wait a few minutes to get valet parking. Even though valet parking was $8 it is worth it since the hotel is literally set on the mall so parking would normally be a nightmare. The check-in staff are extremely courteous as well. The overall appearance of the hotel speaks luxury it is very modern and that includes the rooms. Each room has free wifi and Tvs as well as a refrigerator and all the amenities. Clean rooms and quiet atmosphere. Just know that the hotel will charge an extra $17 on top of [...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Shopping tip: In Hotel

There is a huge mall right there full of restaurants and shopping so if your looking for something to do your first night I would stay right on the mall.

Review of The Florida Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
travelindude
Business
New York
Mar 26, 2011

The Florida Hotel, Orlando

Very clean, well appointed hotel for the business traveler. Handy to highways, dining and great shopping at the Florida Mall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Florida Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
travelindude
Business
New York
Mar 26, 2011

The Florida Hotel, Orlando

Very clean, well appointed hotel for the business traveler. Handy to highways, dining and great shopping at the Florida Mall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Florida Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Monica K.
jacksonville, Fl
Mar 25, 2011

Wonderful Hotel, perfect location!

Shopping till we drop!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Breakfast at Crikets is wonderful! ask for [...], he makes the best omelettes!

Review of The Florida Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Monica K.
jacksonville, Fl
Mar 25, 2011

Wonderful Hotel, perfect location!

Shopping till we drop!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Breakfast at Crikets is wonderful! ask for [...], he makes the best omelettes!

Review of The Florida Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
South Florida
Mar 20, 2011

Very Nice and Convenient Hotel

The hotel is always very good to us. We enjoy staying there anytime we go up for a game or just to shop. With it being connected to the Mall, it is easy to carry back to the room and then go for a quick bite to eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel has a great food court. Also, a California Pizza Kitchen and Buca di Beppo. Great places to go and enjoy a meal.

Review of The Florida Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
South Florida
Mar 20, 2011

Very Nice and Convenient Hotel

The hotel is always very good to us. We enjoy staying there anytime we go up for a game or just to shop. With it being connected to the Mall, it is easy to carry back to the room and then go for a quick bite to eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel has a great food court. Also, a California Pizza Kitchen and Buca di Beppo. Great places to go and enjoy a meal.

Review of The Florida Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
everywhere usa
Mar 9, 2011

more like motel 6...this is NO 4 star

This place is a joke. The staff was very friendly and its conveniently attached to the Florida mall but the rooms were aweful. The bed was hard..no comforter..cheap small pillows. The furniture was cheap and wore out. The bathtub was old and tile was old. The wall paper was peeling off the walls. The sink backed up and left a nasty film behind everytime u used it. The toilet was nasty and had melted wax all over the seat. Nothing close to what I would consider even a three star. I stayed at a Sheraton the night before for half the price in jville and it was amazing... I was upcharged at this hotel for no reason "hotel service charge" 11.00 ....on top of the expensive valet and rediculous room price. Needless to say I will never stay at the Florida hotel again. I will stick to brand name hotels that are held to a higher standard than independent hotels. Being a hotel broker for a living...I should have known better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Florida Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
everywhere usa
Mar 9, 2011

more like motel 6...this is NO 4 star

This place is a joke. The staff was very friendly and its conveniently attached to the Florida mall but the rooms were aweful. The bed was hard..no comforter..cheap small pillows. The furniture was cheap and wore out. The bathtub was old and tile was old. The wall paper was peeling off the walls. The sink backed up and left a nasty film behind everytime u used it. The toilet was nasty and had melted wax all over the seat. Nothing close to what I would consider even a three star. I stayed at a Sheraton the night before for half the price in jville and it was amazing... I was upcharged at this hotel for no reason "hotel service charge" 11.00 ....on top of the expensive valet and rediculous room price. Needless to say I will never stay at the Florida hotel again. I will stick to brand name hotels that are held to a higher standard than independent hotels. Being a hotel broker for a living...I should have known better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top