$59 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 2, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

Quality Suites Universal South

2 stars
View map of 9350 Turkey Lake Road, Orlando, FL 32819

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Quality Suites Universal South

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
89 out of 89
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.6

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Quality Suites Universal South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JuanT
Business
Colombia
May 12, 2011

Excellent

Everything was good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Quality Suites Universal South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dad on Vacation with Family
Business
Statesville, NC
Apr 26, 2011

Some Good, Some Bad

The hotel was a little rough around the edges- it had been painted on the exterior, but still lots of rough spots here and there- they could use a better maintenance regiment. The pool area was fairly nice- large pool. We asked for a quiet room and ended up right adjacent to the pool where kids were screaming and yelling until 11:00 (pool close) one night. One of the worst things about this hotel was breakfast- we had to claw and fight just to get breakfast. It was extremely crowded- people were lined up waiting for food and especially for waffles. Even with three waffle makers, you had to wait sometimes for a half and hour just to make a waffle. Upon checking out, I was charged a $3.50/night service charge. I was not asked by the staff how my stay was. They just informed me there was a $10.50 cent charge on my card. Very irritating. [...] Location is good. Near a Wal Mart and close to the parks. Next time, I would probably attempt to find a different hotel. All in all, the facilities are fairly good- they could have had a repeat customer if they had worked a little harder.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Quality Suites Universal South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dad on Vacation with Family
Business
Statesville, NC
Apr 26, 2011

Some Good, Some Bad

The hotel was a little rough around the edges- it had been painted on the exterior, but still lots of rough spots here and there- they could use a better maintenance regiment. The pool area was fairly nice- large pool. We asked for a quiet room and ended up right adjacent to the pool where kids were screaming and yelling until 11:00 (pool close) one night. One of the worst things about this hotel was breakfast- we had to claw and fight just to get breakfast. It was extremely crowded- people were lined up waiting for food and especially for waffles. Even with three waffle makers, you had to wait sometimes for a half and hour just to make a waffle. Upon checking out, I was charged a $3.50/night service charge. I was not asked by the staff how my stay was. They just informed me there was a $10.50 cent charge on my card. Very irritating. [...] Location is good. Near a Wal Mart and close to the parks. Next time, I would probably attempt to find a different hotel. All in all, the facilities are fairly good- they could have had a repeat customer if they had worked a little harder.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Quality Suites Universal South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Twrukus
Business
Sheboygan,WI
Mar 24, 2011

Universal Studios trip

The room is rather large in our package with two queen beds and a sofa sleeper. The downfall of the area being damp it did have two silverfish bugs in the bathroom that I saw our four night stay. There is a nice Tiki bar that serves food but they do not have frozen drinks like they advertise for their machine is broken. The food is very good at the Tiki bar. Be aware Tiki Bar closed on Mondays and stops cooking at 8pm. The shuttle to and from Sea World and Universal Studios is a great money saver and at times got very overcrowded when returning at the 7:45pm return time. Also this hotel used to be the Comfort Suites so when you call for a ride or delivery you might have to mention it or they will not know where to go. Basically a good deal for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

When ordering pizza, Flippers is delicious, you must call the one located on Sandylake. Front desk just handed me a flyer and there was about 6 different locations.

Review of Quality Suites Universal South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
levittown, ny
Oct 1, 2010

close to all attractions

We went to attractions like Epcot and Magic kingdom. The hotel was close to all Disney's attractions and 2 outlet malls. Our stay went fine,though I was a little nervous at first when I checked in because the hotel doesnt have security, anyone can go straight right to your room and I have a 10 months old baby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

all attractions were mostly within 10 miles distance so we get to the theme parks right away.

Review of Quality Suites Universal South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tozhelp
Business
Chicago, il
Aug 24, 2010

Bad Internet Service and no breakfast

Made us go to the lobby to get our own towels, extremely small pool, jacuzzi was closed, breakfast was gone first 30 minutes and lobby wouldn't refill it even if there was 2 hours left of breakfast

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Quality Suites Universal South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Allie-O
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Aug 19, 2010

Resort Fee

I came to this hotel because I was going to a concert at House of Blues. The hotel was located really close to major roads. The hotel is somewhat old, but the bedding and bathroom were clean and you could tell they worked hard to keep the hotel maintained. The staff was very friendly when I called about a late checkin, but the man at the counter when I checked in seemed somewhat out of it. Of course, it was 1 am, so I don't think he is entirely representative of the staff. I did not wake up in time for the free breakfast, but they had waffle irons and that's always nice. I did not enjoy the $3.50 resort fee. I always think that those fees are a joke, especially because I stayed at the hotel for less than 12 hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Quality Suites Universal South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Geason
Business
Norman Park, GA
Aug 11, 2010

Looked better in the pictures

The hotel looked better and cleaner in the pictures. The room was spotless and comfortable, but the outside and hallways needed attention. The only staff that I encountered was when I checked in and she was not exactly friendly, but she was helpful. The breakfast bar could do with a bit more organizing. It was a madhouse there with eveyone trying to get what they wanted. The hotel had good parking, and was close to the parks and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Quality Suites Universal South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Floren
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 6, 2010

Good place to stay.

Overall it was good. Good breakfast and clean rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Universal Stidios is close by.

Review of Quality Suites Universal South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Corpus Christi
Jul 8, 2010

hotel review for Orlando 7-4-10

It was good all around. Close to the parks as expected but not with in walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top