$46 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 3, 2014 Check-out: Nov 4, 2014

Monumental Movieland Hotel

3 stars
6233 International Drive, Orlando, FL 32819
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
72 reviews
Good value for your money

Great location. Comfortable room. Friendly and helpful staff. Overall a good night stay. See full review

  • MiamiRN
  • Aug 27, 2014
GREAT PLACE, CLEAN, CLOSE TO UNIVERSAL & WET N WILD

This is my third time staying at this hotel. It's simple, the rooms are clean, bathroom clean,... See full review

  • Miss Ashley
  • Mar 11, 2014
Come immerse yourself in Orlando at the Monumental Movieland Hotel. Located on the famous International Drive, our newly renovated hotel is conveniently located to provide easy access to the major theme parks,shopping, and resturants. Positioned directly accross from Wet N Wild water park and just 1 mile from Universal Studios. We are just minutes away from the Millenia Mall, 100 plus shops and resturants. Whether you on vacation, honeymoon, or business trip, the Monumental hotel provides you the ultimate guest experience. 261 spacious room, heated pool,gift shop,meeting facilites,arcade and much more.

There is a $2.50 per day resort fee payable directly to the property.

Now offering a free Shuttle to Disney, Universal and Seaworld!

Hotel Map

28.4622 -81.4671
Area served
Orlando, FL.
Nearby airports
MCO - Orlando International Airport and SFB - Sanford International Airport.
Area description
Area attractions include Disney World, Sea World, Universal Orlando, Wet'n Wild, Water Mania, Gatorland, Cirque Du Solell, Kennedy Space Center, Pirates Dinner Show, Arabian Nights Dinner Show, Medieval Times Dinner Show and more than 5 famous Outlet Malls for shopping.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Monumental Movieland Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Monumental Movieland Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Family sized rooms with 2 double beds feature modern, contempoary furniture,phone with data port & voice mail, in room safe,coffee maker, hair dryer,alarm clock, iron/ironing board, and remote controlled color TV with cable.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Malibu Grand Prix: 0.6 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 1 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 1.1 mi
  • Trainland: 1.9 mi
  • Wonderworks: 2 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 2.1 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 2.5 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 2.7 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 2.8 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 3.3 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 3.5 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 3.8 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 0.6 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 1 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 1.1 mi
  • Trainland: 1.9 mi
  • Wonderworks: 2 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 2.1 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 2.5 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 2.7 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 2.8 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 3.3 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 3.5 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 3.8 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 3.9 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.5 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 6.6 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 7.5 mi
  • Amway Arena: 7.7 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 7.8 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 7.8 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 7.9 mi
  • Gatorland: 8.3 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 9.1 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 9.5 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 9.7 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 9.8 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 14.5 mi
  • CFE Arena: 19.2 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 19.5 mi

Dining

Black Angus Steakhouse
Black Angus Steakhouse offers family dining in a casual and relaxed atmosphere. Open daily for Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner. Four times a week Karaoke and a daily happy hour are available in the full service lounge.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
4,500 square feet of flexible meeting space.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (72)

Ratings and reviews for Monumental Movieland Hotel

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monumental Movieland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AndreinaM
Miami fl
Jan 28, 2013

Great stay!!!

Great hotel for the price I payed, they allowed me to check in 4 hours earlier since they had enough rooms, the staff was extremely nice and helpful all the time!, as fas as location is only a 20 minute walk to universal :) which allowed us to save the $15 in parking. The beds do need an update but after walking the parks all day long I couldn't care if I slept on the floor. I an definitely coming back here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monumental Movieland Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
VTislander
Business
Vermont
Oct 24, 2014

Low Budget, Low Expectations

This is a low budget hotel used to serving the "riff raff." They take a $100 security deposit in case of damage, and treat you politely, but not as a "guest." The room itself was fine. Carpets were dirty, but everything else was okay. We didn't have any outright problems, but probably wouldn't stay there again. There are better hotels for just a few dollars more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Drive just a little further south on International Drive and the setting gets MUCH nicer, with many restaurants. Bahama Breeze was fabulous!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monumental Movieland Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RadRPA1
Business
Wichita. Ks
Oct 20, 2014

Needs Help

Wi-Fi would work for about 10 min a day in the hotel room. Management said they were upgrading but it would be weeks before its working. Lobby did have Wi-Fi but no where to work with a desk. Pool was okay but no hot tub. Very noisy AC unit .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monumental Movieland Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
lperezl
Business
Puerto Rico
Oct 17, 2014

When nothing else

As soon as you locate the building and walk in the lobby you see is an old structure without remodeling and you percieve the old humidity smell. As you check in they request $100 deposit supposedly refundable, but it was not automatically refunded when check out was processed. Front desk personnel said it will take 7-10 days for refund. The room was comfortable in size, but the humidity smell was extremely strong and the closet was plain disgusting. The room did not see vacuum the entire time we were there. No hot water in the morning. Granted the washers are from an independant vendor, but they don`t work properly. The game room seemed like a sauna. Location was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monumental Movieland Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PurpleDolphin
Business
Plant City, Florida
Oct 11, 2014

Halloween Horror Nite

The hotel was in a good location. The hotel smreled old, and was dated. Thought it would be cool, but very basic. Unfortunatly, upon arrival I was informed that there was $100 deposit in addition to my already prepaid reservation. I was not happy, then they billed my card and had to wait days and contact my bank to remove it. Will not stay here again, very misleading! Very disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Within a mile to Universal Studios.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monumental Movieland Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
iuseorbitz
Business
oklahoma city
Oct 9, 2014

Decent hotel in a great location

Located close to Universal Resort, I had high expectations. The hotel is clean but smell like bleach and we can't get rid of it using glade and what not. Oh and bring your own pillows. The ones they have in the hotel.. yeah.. just bring your own. The staff was on training so they were super slow in handling customers. But again the hotel is pretty close to Universal area that you can walk to it. There's a Walgreen and lots of food options in walking distance too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monumental Movieland Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Denis t
Business
Sao Paulo
Oct 6, 2014

Terrible

I stayed for 4 days whitout hot water in the bathroom. When i made the chec in the problem is already happen , but the staff didn]t advertise me and when I check, there wasn´t hot water. I talked with the staff but them no apoligeses. Every day they promised that the boiler will be fixed, but wasn´t.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Hallowen in Universal studios

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monumental Movieland Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
G man23
Business
Fl
Sep 29, 2014

Wrost get away

The beds are extremely hard, no hot water, the TV signal comes in bad, the staff sucks and the housekepper kept forgetting to give us towels. Don't stay here this is the first review I have ever written on line.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monumental Movieland Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jeeper 2014
Business
Miami
Sep 25, 2014

Could have been better

The hotel is situated fairly close to everything. The staff was helpful. My only concern was when room was cleaned we were left without any towels and had to wait a few hours before clean ones were giving to us

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monumental Movieland Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jonny V
Business
Tamarac, Florida
Sep 21, 2014

Not too great...

The location is ideal for wet and wild and universal studios. As for the hotel itself, well from the exterior it looked almost like it was in distress and almost abandoned. The interior was being re-carpeted. The first room they gave us was on a floor with no carpet and a throws length from the elevator. Once inside the room it only took 15 minutes to get a headache from the overwhelming smell of bleach and mold! When I got into the second room it was no better. The third room they offered me was better but still very uncomfortable. The beds were old and hard as rocks. The pillows were so old that the couldn't hold shape. The cable was horrible considering the name of the hotel. The internet and TV service went in and out so many times I used my iphone as a personal hotspot to do work on my laptop. After only two nights of really only using the room for showers and crashing, My entire party left sick with a minor colds... Unless there are no other options for hotels and location is the only important aspect for your room selection, this is a horrible choice for a three star hotel! I must say the staff really tried hard to find a suitable room for us even though it still had many faults. Based on the reviews and ratings I expected so much more from this hotel and was sadly disappointed with my experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monumental Movieland Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MNWATSON
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Sep 5, 2014

Horrible Smell

The room smelled like an old musty basement. When my husband and I complained, we were told that all of the carpets got wet and were being replaced. The smell was in our clothes when we got home. The bathroom sink was disgusting. There was hair, toothpaste and soap scum in it. Good thing we had two beds, but needed only one. We had to mix and match clean sheets with dirty ones, to make an acceptable sleeping area. It was close to entertainment and parks, so that was a plus. The pool was gross. Good for one night and one night, only.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top