$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 19, 2015 Check-out: Jul 20, 2015

Hyatt Place Orlando Universal

3 stars
View map of 5895 Caravan Court, Orlando, FL 32819

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
103 reviews
A Great Trip

The room was clean and is a great size. Receptionist is very nice and welcoming. Universal Studios... See full review

  • allen
  • Jun 12, 2015
Loved it

Great clean and updated rooms... Very spacious for price See full review

  • Crystal M.
  • May 29, 2015
Located just 15-20 minutes away from Walt Disney World and Sea World, our contemporary-style hotel is the perfect getaway for business travelers and tourists alike. Relish the comforts of home with our plush pillow top mattresses and state-of-the-art media centers. Not to mention the separate living and sleeping areas make your guestroom the perfect place for both business and pleasure. Stay connected with the office with our complimentary high-speed Internet, or stay in and unwind for the night while browsing HD programming on our 42" flat-screen TVs. You'll even love onsite activities like our 24-hour fitness center and heated outdoor pool, the perfect additions to any trip to the city. Not to mention our complimentary breakfast and 24-hour Grab 'n Go case, featuring yummy treats like our signature flatbreads and fresh salads whenever you need them most. Guest must present valid credit card upon arrival. Pet Policy: For guest staying 1-6 nights, a $75 non-refundable pet fee will be administered. Guests staying 7-30 nights, a $75 non-refundable pet fee plus an additional $100 cleaning fee will be administered. Guests stay 30 + nights, please contact the hotel. The fee(s) will be inclusive of taxes. A maximum of 2 dogs per room are permitted weighing 50 lbs and under; two dogs may be allowed in a guestroom provided the combined weight of both dogs does not exceed 75 pounds; the pet fee encompasses this and pets exceeding are at the hotels discretion. All pets must be housebroken.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hyatt Place Orlando Universal also booked these hotels.

Hyatt Place Orlando Universal Rooms

RunOfHouse
Beautifully appointed guest rooms with separate sitting area and sleeping area. All the rooms have mini refrigerators, wet/dry bar, writing desk, two-line phones with data ports, 42-in color HDTV , Free Wifi, irons/boards, hairdryers, voicemail. Cozy Cor

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Copy service
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
White board
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Universal Studios Escape: 0.1 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 0.5 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 0.5 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 0.8 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 1.7 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 2.1 mi
  • Trainland: 3 mi
  • Wonderworks: 3 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 3.1 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 3.4 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 3.4 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.1 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.3 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 4.4 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 0.1 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 0.5 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 0.5 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 0.8 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 1.7 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 2.1 mi
  • Trainland: 3 mi
  • Wonderworks: 3 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 3.1 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 3.4 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 3.4 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.1 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.3 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 4.4 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 4.7 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 4.8 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 5.5 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 6.4 mi
  • Amway Arena: 6.7 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 6.7 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 6.7 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 6.9 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 8 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 8.4 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 8.6 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 8.8 mi
  • Gatorland: 8.8 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 14.3 mi
  • CFE Arena: 18.2 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 18.5 mi

Dining

Emerils
Exceptional cuisine by the world famous Emeril Lagasse. Elegant ambiance, outstanding service located in the heart of Universal's City Walk. An unforgettable experience.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Hyatt Place Orlando Universal

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
103 out of 103
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hyatt Place Orlando Universal

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
axza
Business
yyyy
May 8, 2012

Noisy

room was noisy could hear people talking outside, bathroom was small and found a lizard in the room. Food was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt Place Orlando Universal

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
12gage
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 1, 2011

Vacation in Florida

I went to Universal Studios several days. The parks were opened at either 8 or 9am and closed at either 9 or 10pm. The shuttle schedule was at 9:15 or 10:10am to the park and at 5:15 or 7:30pm from the park. So you still had at least 2 1/2 hours before the parks closed. Several times the shuttle was late and once it never showed at the park for return to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt Place Orlando Universal

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RecentOrlandoTraveller
Business
Columbus, OH
Aug 1, 2010

Not exactly what I was hoping for

We stayed here for 5 nights. The hotel lobby smelled great. However, upon entering the room, we found that all the beds needed fresh sheets and pillow covers. Not the greatest feeling to get you started on the vacation! However, the front desk staff was extremely apologetic and rectified the situation right away. The next day's housekeeping was less than adequate. Used glasses were not replaced. Empty bottles were not removed. The bathtub was not cleaned. Again, the front desk took care of the issue within minutes. There appears to be a housekeeping issue. The worst of it all was that my floor was very noisy. I could hear every footstep from the hallway as well as conversations from rooms across the hall. The sound proofing of the rooms were terrible and we had trouble sleeping. Also, the doors just shut with a loud slam, which was terrible many times in the middle of the night and early morning when people are heading for their destinations. Overall, I expected better from a Hyatt. The rooms and doors certainly need remodeling to provide sufficient sound-proofing to make them habitable. I would not stay at this hotel again unless the problems are corrected. For the same money, there are many other options in Orlando.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is TGI Friday within a two minute walk. Also, there is an excellent Japanese, Chinese, Burger King, IHop within a minute's drive.

Review of Hyatt Place Orlando Universal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lexigirl523
Business
Miami, FL, USA
Feb 13, 2012

Good hot breakfast, uncomfortable beds!!

Good location directly across from the entrance of Universal. The shuttle to Universal was very minimal - 8:00 AM and 9:15 AM in the morning, returns at 5 PM and 7:30 PM. In the morning the lobby doubles as the restaurant where complimentary breakfast is served - as a result, it is very hard to hear the announcement for the shuttle because it is very loud. Be vigilant or you will miss it like we did! The hotel did offer to pay for a cab for us, though, as a courtesy. Because the shuttle was so minimal we wound up having to use a cab fairly often to get to CityWalk. The room was clean and modern with very nice amenities and shower products. However, the bed was VERY hard and lumpy. The pillows desperately needed to be replaced. The staff was very courteous and seemed to be genuine when engaging people in conversation. My boyfriend forgot his toothbrush and I called to the desk late in the evening around 11:30, 12 AM. They brought one up promptly. Not sure I would stay here again because the bed was terrible and the shuttle wasn't very good. I had to spend taxi fare to get to CityWalk which kinda defeated the purpose of staying at a hotel with a shuttle. Had I done more research I probably would not have stayed there based upon the shuttle, and the lumpy bed sealed the deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The hotel has a really great free hot breakfast. It consisted of various breakfast sandwiches (one type served each day), oatmeal, cold cereals, milk (skim and 2%), pancakes, waffles, fresh whole and cut fruit, minimal pastries, breads, bagels, yogurt, cream cheese, butter, jams, syrup, honey, fresh brewed Starbucks Coffee, Tazo Teas, water, orange juice, and tomato juice. If you fill up on this, it can hold you over for some time so you don't have to get a heavy lunch in the park. It is offered from 7 AM - 10 AM.

Review of Hyatt Place Orlando Universal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Nov 29, 2010

Average Hotel

Very close to universal, walked over three days, no complaints. Shuttle was also availiable to go to Universal. Disappointed by the lack of transportation options to get to Disney, they need to have a better shuttle service for this, charges were too high and the shuttle took entirely to long to get to disney, also the pick up times did not agree to the ones given by the hotel. Room was nice except for the entirerly too small bathroom. Only 2 inches of clearence between the door and the toilet when you try to get in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Japaneese steak house right down the road.

Review of Hyatt Place Orlando Universal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Nov 16, 2010

Fair accommodations for the price

Hotel was conveniently located. Staff were friendly and helpful, though could have pointed out the location of brochures to help me plan my stay. I didn't find them until several days into my staff and consequently missed out on doing several things I would have liked. Accommodations were relatively clean, but furnishings were tired and in need of updating (bed sagged, couch was stained, closet was tiny).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

ASK WHERE THE BROCHURES ARE WHEN YOU CHECK IN!!!

Review of Hyatt Place Orlando Universal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lisa T
Business
Cottekill, NY
Feb 10, 2011

A good time was had by all

Went to the Wizarding World of Harry Potter (which I can now cross off my bucket list!). We loved it. Went to the movies on a rainy day. Took a trip to Cocoa Beach. It was PERFECT - it was in the upper 80's and sunny. (It was stormy in Orlando and we missed all that!) The hotel felt safe and secure. We took the shuttle to & from Universal so we didn't have to pay for parking. The continental breakfast was wonderful. Couldn't ask for more. The staff was INCREDIBLE... WE'D GO THERE AGAIN JUST BECUASE OF THEM. The hotel itself was not plush, but it was comfortable and clean. The beds were sooo comfy. Once again, the staff was GREAT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Take the hotel shuttle to Universal. It's free and drops you right off at the entrance.

Review of Hyatt Place Orlando Universal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklny, New York
Apr 22, 2009

ORlando

The flat screen tv was great, especially for my boyfriend who watched basketball nonstop. But I didnt like the claustrophobic bathroom (the sink was outside of the bathroom and the tub was very small). Nice staff, good location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Right across the street from Universal entrance. However, a 15 minute walk to the actual attractions.

Review of Hyatt Place Orlando Universal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Stockholm, SWEDEN
Sep 28, 2009

Good option to consider

The staff at the front desk and the management were amazingly friendly and helpful, especially when their assistance was needed. I must say though that the cleaning staff needs to be improved

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt Place Orlando Universal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
dallas ,tx
Jul 8, 2009

hyatt place universa review-orlando trip

hotel was very old; it did not have good food at the break fast. it had limited options to eat. either bagels or fruits. i expected much more than that at hyatt. rooms are very old. no mirrors in the rest room. plan of the room is odd. free wifi is good 42" tv is good.maintenanace is decent. but I would not go there again. It is not the hyatt i expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

universal, indian restaurants nearby are good.

Back to menu Return to top