$37 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 24, 2015 Check-out: Jan 27, 2015

Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

2 stars
5827 Caravan Ct, Orlando, FL 32819
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
195 reviews
perfect family getaway

it was perfect....walking distance was perfect... we had no trouble feeling comfy after a lond day... See full review

  • carolina becerra
  • Nov 24, 2014
same as the price

not bad ,good location ,but very bad wifi. the service is good See full review

  • Wangchuchu
  • Jul 29, 2014
Renovated rooms. Free transportation to Disney, Universal and Seaworld. Gourmet restaurant on-site serving American/Indian cuisine. Oversized heated pool and kiddie pool. The Days Inn Maingate to Universal is conveniently located off I-4, Exit 75B Within walking distance to the main entrance to Universal Studios, Islands of Adventure, and City Walk. Comfortable guest rooms include -Two double beds, King-bed rooms, Studio Suites which have one king size bed and a sofa bed. Refrigerators in all rooms. Microwave upon request. Cable TV with expanded line up. I-Drive Trolley service for nominal charge, 4 Miles to Orlando Orange County Convention Center, all major Central Florida attractions within short drive, Guest service desk for area attraction tickets, Free scheduled transportation to and from Disney theme parks and Universal Studios. For information regarding Banquet Hall rental please contact Tabla Bar and Grill directly at 407-248-9400. Continental Breakfast 7-9:30 am daily at Tabla Cafe 3.75 per person plus tax. Groups must schedule private breakfast with Sales Department prior to arrival.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Game room
Dining
Restaurant
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
In room movies
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Universal Studios Escape: 0.3 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 0.9 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 2.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 2.3 mi
  • Trainland: 3.1 mi
  • Wonderworks: 3.2 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 3.2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 3.5 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 3.6 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.2 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.3 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 4.5 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 0.3 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 0.9 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 2.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 2.3 mi
  • Trainland: 3.1 mi
  • Wonderworks: 3.2 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 3.2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 3.5 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 3.6 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.2 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.3 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 4.5 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 4.8 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 5 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 5.3 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 6.3 mi
  • Amway Arena: 6.5 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 6.5 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 6.5 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 6.7 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 7.9 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 8.2 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 8.5 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 8.6 mi
  • Gatorland: 8.9 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 14.2 mi
  • CFE Arena: 18.1 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 18.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (195)

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
91 out of 195
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.2

46% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Brutice
Business
Mayville WI
Feb 9, 2010

Neals vacation

not the best hotel ever

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa
Mar 20, 2010

Horrible!

Gross! Would never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BrenNH
Business
New Hampshire
Apr 24, 2010

my vacation april 17th - april 24th 2010

had to wear sandals in the room the carpets were disgusting , our feet were BLACK when we walked around our hotel room !!! solicitors woke us up in the middle of the night slipping flyers into our door all hours of the night !!! pools were not very clean , bugs like crazy in it and never saw anyone skimming them !!! i give it a two thumbs up for location but 2 thumbs down for cleanliness!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

great place to save money on parking at the parks was not a bad walk what so ever , but when you skimp someplace you make up for it someplace else and by this i mean not very clean !!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
On Vacation from PA
Business
Bushkill, PA
Jul 23, 2010

Will Never stay here again!

Orlando in July and the Air Conditioning was barely cool. No table & chair in room, empty space with a floor lamp. Dripping tub,tub was not attached to floor, shower head good for people under 5 feet. No coffee in room or lobby. No Wi-Fi, 21st Century people. TV did not work. Front Desk did not even ask how our stay was, I would have told them, but they did not seem to care.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to Universay Studios Attraction and other areas of interest.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
hobby
Business
yorkshire
Sep 3, 2010

didnt like this place

when i looked at the description it did state it had a free internet service but the internet at this place was a joke we all had to do our personal business in the front lobby unless you were prepared to uppgrade to a pool side room at extra cost my family came to buy a property and trying to keep in contact with all involved it was extremly hard to do without every one and anyone who wanted to looking over your shoulder and as the only place to get good internet was the hotel lobby it made for a extremly busy place my neice like the pool but for me it was a big let down there there was no microwave or coffe maker the toilet got blocked and wouldnt stop running until i put the flap valve in its proper position whilst the entire room flooded out they did put us in another room for the night not anything like any of the other hotels i have stopped at there was a pool side bar i only saw it open 3 times and then the only time i went to get a drink they ran out and had to get some more which took ages

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

very close to universal studios for me the only thing it has going for it

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NEW YORK
Nov 13, 2010

NOT WHAT THEY SAY IT IS .

THIS HOTEL IS LIKE A TRUCK STOP. THERE ARE THREE CHANNELS ON TV, THERE WERE BED BUGS AND WE HAD TO SWITCH ROOMS. THE FOOD AT THE ON SITE RESTAURANT WAS VERY OVER PRICED. THE STAFF AT THE HOTEL WAS NOT AT ALL HELPFUL , THEY WERE VERY RUDE . THERE IS NO BAR AS STATED,ITS A PRIVATELY OWNED POOL BAR, SO THEY OPEN WHEN THE WANT TO . OVERALL I WOULD NOT RECOMEND THIS HOTEL. THERE ARE NO ATTRACTIONS CLOSE BY, ITS A VERY LONG WALK TO UNIVERSAL, THE CAB TO THERE COST $10. NO SHUTTLE SERVICE. GOOD HOTEL IF YOU ARE STOPPING FOR ONE NIGHT AND NEED A PLACE WITH NO AMENITIES. WOULD NEVER RECOMEND !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
abcdef
Business
Minnesota, USA
Feb 13, 2012

Much to be expected!

The location for the hotel was good. Was close to main hwy. The building was old and shows signs of it. Our room did not have a microwave that was requested. The amenities included a small soap and 1 small shampoo. The towels were not acceptable, as they were old and dirty looking. Only offered 1 shuttle service to the parks= with 2 small children leaving at 10am and return at 7pm is not acceptable. DON"T check out the facilities as you will run away as soon as you see the major fire hazard they consider garrbage disposal. They did not have a complimentary breakfast, however, you could purchase it for $3.50 for an adult and $2.00 per child for toast, milk, juice, and cereal. One bonus was being able to feed all the stray cats at night! If your just looking for a cheap place to lay your head, this is it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit the Visitors booth on the corner by Major Blvd and Caravan. Get an I-trolly ticket and ride the trolly to the major area parks located on the strip. IT was convieniant and cheap. Paid $6 for an adult ticket to ride unlimited for 3 days. well worth it. Saved us parking at Seaworld.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
GandalfPR
Business
Arecibo, Puerto Rico
Jul 8, 2012

Extremely dirty!! Don't even think about it!!

We went to stay our first night on Orlando just arriving from Puerto RIco. The place looked average from the outside. The guy at the front desk made his job, and I was not expecting any luxuries as I already knew that this was supposed to be a convenience stay hotel. The problem was that I was also expecting to be in a CLEAN place and I was terribly wrong. First of all, the air conditioner filter was awfull. They were completely filled with dust and dirt, like it was not cleaned in months or maybe for more than a year. I spent all night sneezing and feeling the dirt running my thorat. Also, the towels have a grayish appeareance like they were dirty. The bathtub was old and deteriorated. Early in the morning I heard my wife screaming. The reason: there were COCKROACHES running everywhere on the bathroom. I was able to kill 2-3 of them and I also felt an itch on my legs. Apparently there were also bed bugs and they bitten me, as I found that the itch was actually blood spots on my legs. I DON'T recommend this place to no one. It was the worst experience in our lives. Thank God that I planned to stay in a Marriott for the remaining 6 days of our vacations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TinaStud
Business
Orlando
Jul 16, 2012

Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Extremely disappointing what was advertised was not completely true. There FREE shuttle only leaves once a day. The Tiki Bar only opens if the bartender decides to come in, also the restuant is only open after 5. So if you want to drink or eat and you are not leaving at the only one shuttle a day you have to walk the mile to get to the City Walk. Not at all what was advertised on there website.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Eat why you are there.. There is NOTHING once you get back.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
head buster
Business
Tampa, Fl
Feb 12, 2013

Thank goodness we only went to the room to sleep

first off the reservation that I made was in my opinon a waste of time because the room I requested was unavalible. Then in order to keep a family together that had booked they moved my room just one more time to add even more irratation. When I went into the room it was like back to the 90's. Instead of taking the old paint off they just repainted over everything. There were roaches in the room to greet me when I opened my eyes and looked over at the night stand. The tub was clogged and kept filling up with water when I took showers. The comforter had writing all on it but it was probably clean. I'ts just crazy when you have to guess whats clean and whats not. Over all, like I said, thank goodness we only went to the room to sleep. Oh and the staff is super ghetto. The two girls that were working on feb 7th around 6pm were absolutely horrible. No point of even hiring people that want to waste their lives and everyone elses. If you don't believe me go see for youself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

right across from Universal Studios

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top