$37 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

2 stars
5827 Caravan Ct, Orlando, FL 32819
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
286 reviews
family and friends

We had a wonderful time in Orlando and visiting family and friends. The hotel was very conveniently... See full review

  • andrea and billy
  • Jun 5, 2013
all of the holiday was brilliant

everything was very good. hotel was basic but it suited us. could have done with a microwave See full review

  • val and ken
  • Aug 3, 2013
Renovated rooms. Free transportation to Disney, Universal and Seaworld. Gourmet restaurant on-site serving American/Indian cuisine. Oversized heated pool and kiddie pool. The Days Inn Maingate to Universal is conveniently located off I-4, Exit 75B Within walking distance to the main entrance to Universal Studios, Islands of Adventure, and City Walk. Comfortable guest rooms include -Two double beds, King-bed rooms, Studio Suites which have one king size bed and a sofa bed. Refrigerators in all rooms. Microwave upon request. Cable TV with expanded line up. I-Drive Trolley service for nominal charge, 4 Miles to Orlando Orange County Convention Center, all major Central Florida attractions within short drive, Guest service desk for area attraction tickets, Free scheduled transportation to and from Disney theme parks and Universal Studios. For information regarding Banquet Hall rental please contact Tabla Bar and Grill directly at 407-248-9400. Continental Breakfast 7-9:30 am daily at Tabla Cafe 3.75 per person plus tax. Groups must schedule private breakfast with Sales Department prior to arrival.

Hotel Map

28.4771 -81.455
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Game room
Dining
Restaurant
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
In room movies
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Universal Studios Escape: 0.3 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 0.9 mi
  • Skyventure: 1.1 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 2.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 2.3 mi
  • Trainland: 3.1 mi
  • Wonderworks: 3.2 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 3.2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Gold Club: 3.5 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 3.6 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.2 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.3 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 0.3 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 0.9 mi
  • Skyventure: 1.1 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 2.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 2.3 mi
  • Trainland: 3.1 mi
  • Wonderworks: 3.2 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 3.2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Gold Club: 3.5 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 3.6 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.2 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.3 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 4.5 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 4.8 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 5 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 5.3 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 6.3 mi
  • Amway Arena: 6.5 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 6.5 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 6.5 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 6.7 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 7.9 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 8.2 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 8.5 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 8.6 mi
  • Gatorland: 8.9 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 14.2 mi
  • CFE Arena: 18.1 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 18.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (286)

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
286 out of 286
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.2

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
attractionstraveller
San Francisco, California
Nov 22, 2011

Good location, but property needs some care

I'll admit it. I was looking for something cheap. What I found was cheap, but perhaps not as cheap as I thought it would be. On top of what you pay through the site, the property requires you to pay an extra "amenities fee." I was told this was for the parking lot and pool. The hotel's profile says they have wifi, but it was only afterwards that I discovered this was only in the motel's lobby. It's probably not surprising that the property is a bit run down given the price, but I was really disappointed when I returned to my room and found that the cleaning staff had left the door wide open. I notified them and they made a note, but didn't bother to apologize or make any sort of assurance that it wouldn't happen again. Later, when looking for change for laundry (which has no change machine), the desk staff simply said they didn't have any. It took some prodding to find out other options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Poe Traveler
Clay City, IN
May 10, 2009

Graduation @ Universal Studios

It was not pleasant. They stuck us in the very back of the hotel that looked abandoned. The dresser drawers were broken and the tv didnt work. They sent a repair man out twice and acted like it was our fault it didnt work. We were only there for 2 nights. If it would have been longer we would have found a different hotel to stay in!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
stuart florida
Apr 22, 2010

It is in a good location but thats it

I checked in late to find the a/c wasnt working; tried to call the desk but the phone didnt work, and called the front desk with my cell phone. The person there told me there wasnt anything he could really do except send maintenance in the morning. Needless to say no sleep all night. I returned the next day around 4:30 and the a/c was still broken, phone still broken room was much hotter the outside. ousecleaning came but the room was still drty, no towels replaced, counter no wiped down, etc. Im sure they were hot in there and trying to get out asap. IM not sure why the this person wouldnt have said anything to management or maint. except that maybe they did. I went down to the front desk and waited a while for someone to help me even though i walked in and nicely informed them of all the problems. They finally gave me another room however several light bulbs were out and the outlets didnt work so I couldnt even plug my laptop in to work. If there were lower than one star, that would be my rating

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
pittsburgh
May 22, 2009

Think twice

This hotel is located very close to Universal Studios. That was the only good thing. It took 2 hours, 4 phone calls and a visit to the front desk to get a roll-away bed that was pre-ordered. It took 1 day, 2 phone calls and a visit to the front desk to get a hair dryer that worked. The shower was broken. We could take a cool or scalding shower. Those were the choices. We put some fudge that was in a box on top of the fridge. It took the ants 10 mintues to get there. (At least they were fast) They have ONE shuttle trip a day to Universal Studios. If you miss it, tough. On the evening, we came home from universal to find 3 police cars and 6 police armed to the teeth outside our hotel room. Yes, this was not the fault of the hotel, however, it did not give me a warm and cozy feeling about the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Close hotel, but think twice before you stay here.

Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jreyn
Clearwater FL
Jul 6, 2009

DIsappointed

FIrst night was ok. But the next night we returned they did not clean our hotel room. Our room was rite next door to the restraunt that nobody told us turned into a club at night so all you heard was bass music until 3am. Then all the club goers decided to hang in the hotel parking lot and be loud until 5am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ocalagirl2002
ocala fl
Aug 26, 2009

not as advertized.

Because we booked with orbitz, they said we didn't get the free breakfast as advertized, Dirty room, unfriendly staff, smoking room no ash trays,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Florida
Jul 14, 2009

horrible

My experience was terrible. First theyn put us in a smoking room (not what I requested)and there were questionable characters walking around the hotel. Then they put us in a room that had no working lamps, all the drains were clogged, so when we showered the tub would fill up. The bed linens had cigarette holes in them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Douglasville, Ga
Feb 14, 2011

You get what you pay for...and less....

We were staying at this hotel because it has many tv stations (tv didn't work the entire time we were here, even after the repairman came in and could not figure it out so we had no tv the whole trip). Another reason we were staying was because the free wifi (didn't work in the rooms...only in the lobby). The heated pool was not heated it was just a regular pool with a tiki bar next to it. It is near the maingate of Universal Studios but the bus that takes you only runs to the park 2 hours after it is open and picks up 5 mins before the park closes (which we were wanting to arrive as the park opened or a little before). We walked to and from Universal with no problem but make sure to bring your walking shoes! Basically this hotel was a whole bundle of false advertising but you only find that out once you are actually there. The staff was ok, they really only talked to you if you approached them first (ex:no greeting they would just stare at you until you spoke). Overall though, if you know what to expect before you go...this is a super cheap hotel in an alright location. I would book again if we were going back to Universal any time soon because its such a great price even though it is almost just for a shower,fridge, and bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

This location is within a short walking distance of Universal Studios and has several food places and shopping places near it.

Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Poe Traveler
Clay City, IN
May 10, 2009

Graduation @ Universal Studios

It was not pleasant. They stuck us in the very back of the hotel that looked abandoned. The dresser drawers were broken and the tv didnt work. They sent a repair man out twice and acted like it was our fault it didnt work. We were only there for 2 nights. If it would have been longer we would have found a different hotel to stay in!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
tchrnemo
Jax., FL
Jul 10, 2012

Needs refurbishing

The room we booked for our honeymoon stay did NOT have air conditioning (July in Florida!) and the phone in the room did not work to call the desk! Really worn and OLD room in need of a lot. We stay in Days Inns in all different places and this one did not measure up! I know they are economy, but this one was the worst I have ever stayed in. They did put us in another room, but still had problems. No coffee maker, no hot water in the tub. Glad we only were staying for 2 nights. Would NOT book there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top