$31 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 23, 2014 Check-out: Sep 26, 2014

Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

2 stars
5827 Caravan Ct, Orlando, FL 32819
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
190 reviews
family and friends

We had a wonderful time in Orlando and visiting family and friends. The hotel was very conveniently... See full review

  • andrea and billy
  • Jun 5, 2013
same as the price

not bad ,good location ,but very bad wifi. the service is good See full review

  • Wangchuchu
  • Jul 29, 2014
Renovated rooms. Free transportation to Disney, Universal and Seaworld. Gourmet restaurant on-site serving American/Indian cuisine. Oversized heated pool and kiddie pool. The Days Inn Maingate to Universal is conveniently located off I-4, Exit 75B Within walking distance to the main entrance to Universal Studios, Islands of Adventure, and City Walk. Comfortable guest rooms include -Two double beds, King-bed rooms, Studio Suites which have one king size bed and a sofa bed. Refrigerators in all rooms. Microwave upon request. Cable TV with expanded line up. I-Drive Trolley service for nominal charge, 4 Miles to Orlando Orange County Convention Center, all major Central Florida attractions within short drive, Guest service desk for area attraction tickets, Free scheduled transportation to and from Disney theme parks and Universal Studios. For information regarding Banquet Hall rental please contact Tabla Bar and Grill directly at 407-248-9400. Continental Breakfast 7-9:30 am daily at Tabla Cafe 3.75 per person plus tax. Groups must schedule private breakfast with Sales Department prior to arrival.

Hotel Map

28.4771 -81.455
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Game room
Dining
Restaurant
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
In room movies
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Universal Studios Escape: 0.3 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 0.9 mi
  • Skyventure: 1.1 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 2.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 2.3 mi
  • Trainland: 3.1 mi
  • Wonderworks: 3.2 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 3.2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Gold Club: 3.5 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 3.6 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.2 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.3 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 0.3 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 0.9 mi
  • Skyventure: 1.1 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 2.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 2.3 mi
  • Trainland: 3.1 mi
  • Wonderworks: 3.2 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 3.2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Gold Club: 3.5 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 3.6 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.2 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.3 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 4.5 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 4.8 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 5 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 5.3 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 6.3 mi
  • Amway Arena: 6.5 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 6.5 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 6.5 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 6.7 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 7.9 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 8.2 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 8.5 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 8.6 mi
  • Gatorland: 8.9 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 14.2 mi
  • CFE Arena: 18.1 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 18.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (190)

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
190 out of 190
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
4
Value:
3.2

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nergmgr
Business
San Diego , CA
Jan 30, 2010

In disrepair , poor service , super loud

Reguardless of price I would not stay here again. Internet did not work in my room, soda machines did not work, printer in lobby did not work,my room door was 70 feet from major freeway. I was like trying to sleep on freeway, very loud! I would have gone somewhere else to stay, but I had a very busy trip, and did not have time to move. I suggest you not send any traveler to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TinaStud
Orlando
Jul 16, 2012

Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Extremely disappointing what was advertised was not completely true. There FREE shuttle only leaves once a day. The Tiki Bar only opens if the bartender decides to come in, also the restuant is only open after 5. So if you want to drink or eat and you are not leaving at the only one shuttle a day you have to walk the mile to get to the City Walk. Not at all what was advertised on there website.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Eat why you are there.. There is NOTHING once you get back.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
Feb 15, 2011

RUDE, OVERCHARGE AND LIE!

[...] pretty much they are lying about having continental breakfast. They are also lying about the "free shuttle transportation." They supposedly have one shuttle and I never saw it. It goes to the park at 10:45 and leaves at 7:30. Useless. Also, I asked for a cab and they called a sketch town car that didn't have a meter and they guy charged double every other cab in the area. As far as the room goes, it's about what you'd expect for 30 bucks a night. Small, dinky towels. Loud people outside. Lots of pizza menus being squished through your door at all hours of the night. Air conditioner that is off/on. Apparently the refrigerator wasn't cold enough, which I found out when my leftovers from a fancy restaurant were ruined the next day. FINAL ISSUE: THIS IS A BIG ONE! THEY LOCKED ME OUT OF MY ROOM ON MONDAY (VALENTINE'S DAY) THE DAY THAT THEY PROMISED I WOULDN'T HAVE AN ISSUE. I went down to ask about it, he said I hadn't paid for the night yet. A: I already had discussed this whole situation with him for check in. B: I had put my credit card number on their website already. C: Most places, they preauthorize your card and you pay at check out, which they already had my card. D: Even though he said it was because I didn't pay, he didn't charge my card until Tuesday morning (so he lied, AGAIN). They guy's name was [...]. I am just got back to Atlanta a couple of hours ago. I am still waiting to see if my card gets overcharged which I am definitely expecting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
hobby
yorkshire
Sep 3, 2010

didnt like this place

when i looked at the description it did state it had a free internet service but the internet at this place was a joke we all had to do our personal business in the front lobby unless you were prepared to uppgrade to a pool side room at extra cost my family came to buy a property and trying to keep in contact with all involved it was extremly hard to do without every one and anyone who wanted to looking over your shoulder and as the only place to get good internet was the hotel lobby it made for a extremly busy place my neice like the pool but for me it was a big let down there there was no microwave or coffe maker the toilet got blocked and wouldnt stop running until i put the flap valve in its proper position whilst the entire room flooded out they did put us in another room for the night not anything like any of the other hotels i have stopped at there was a pool side bar i only saw it open 3 times and then the only time i went to get a drink they ran out and had to get some more which took ages

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

very close to universal studios for me the only thing it has going for it

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
abcdef
Minnesota, USA
Feb 13, 2012

Much to be expected!

The location for the hotel was good. Was close to main hwy. The building was old and shows signs of it. Our room did not have a microwave that was requested. The amenities included a small soap and 1 small shampoo. The towels were not acceptable, as they were old and dirty looking. Only offered 1 shuttle service to the parks= with 2 small children leaving at 10am and return at 7pm is not acceptable. DON"T check out the facilities as you will run away as soon as you see the major fire hazard they consider garrbage disposal. They did not have a complimentary breakfast, however, you could purchase it for $3.50 for an adult and $2.00 per child for toast, milk, juice, and cereal. One bonus was being able to feed all the stray cats at night! If your just looking for a cheap place to lay your head, this is it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit the Visitors booth on the corner by Major Blvd and Caravan. Get an I-trolly ticket and ride the trolly to the major area parks located on the strip. IT was convieniant and cheap. Paid $6 for an adult ticket to ride unlimited for 3 days. well worth it. Saved us parking at Seaworld.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kennewick, WA
Jun 18, 2011

Trashy hotel

The beds are all on wireframe rollers and are very cheap. The ac can barely keep the (and often fails to) keep the room cool. Staff was unfriendly and not helpful at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Grossed Out Stay
Spring Hill, Florida
Oct 11, 2013

Old Run Down Uncomfortable

The only good thing is this hotels location. Our bathroom had mold that was painted over, and you could see it coming through the paint. The tub was rusty and gross. The sink leaked. The beds looked and felt like a box spring on top of a box spring. The queen size beds had three pillow that where throw pillows, not even a standard size pillow. The TV made a buzzing noise, the AC/Heater smelled horrible and made the worst noises. We didn't even get under the sheets. We used our own towels from home to cover up with. I would not stay here again if it was the last hotel/shelter in the world! I'd rather sleep in a ditch(at least it would be comfortable).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Universal is 2 miles away. But this hotel should **(HINT)** never rent out another room again. SO GROSS!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Grumpy3434
Knoxville
Jul 10, 2013

Horrible Rooms

Do not stay here!! The staff is not helpful or friendly. They do not guarantee wi-fi in the rooms. They are right off the interstate so you will hear traffic all night in the room. The room had an awful odor, the paint was peeling off the walls in the bathroom. The tub did not look clean and had stains. Awful experience!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Aubrey tried to save
New York
Jul 25, 2014

Awfull

This hotel was disgusting. They close the doors at night and you can only talk to front desk by a whole on the outside My room was so far and they had no snack machine. You had to go to the building next door for a dirty eating area, in which I never purchased any food...just had to pay for my coffee. The pool looked like dirty water. When I first got their at 12 noon I wanted to purchase park tickets, but I was told the person was closing and couldn't.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Greer SC
Mar 29, 2010

the worst yet

hidden fees not stated in terms and conditions with [...]. also rooms smelled of dirty pinesol not enough towels in room for length of time there. no key to the safes and no HBO as mentioned in ad. the only nice thing about the room was the new tile. The restaurant was a joke (CLOSED) buy your breakfast out of a conveinant store(their gift shop)!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

they charge a per person fee per night

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search