$37 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 15, 2014 Check-out: Jul 16, 2014

Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

2 stars
5827 Caravan Ct, Orlando, FL 32819
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
286 reviews
family and friends

We had a wonderful time in Orlando and visiting family and friends. The hotel was very conveniently... See full review

  • andrea and billy
  • Jun 5, 2013
all of the holiday was brilliant

everything was very good. hotel was basic but it suited us. could have done with a microwave See full review

  • val and ken
  • Aug 3, 2013
Renovated rooms. Free transportation to Disney, Universal and Seaworld. Gourmet restaurant on-site serving American/Indian cuisine. Oversized heated pool and kiddie pool. The Days Inn Maingate to Universal is conveniently located off I-4, Exit 75B Within walking distance to the main entrance to Universal Studios, Islands of Adventure, and City Walk. Comfortable guest rooms include -Two double beds, King-bed rooms, Studio Suites which have one king size bed and a sofa bed. Refrigerators in all rooms. Microwave upon request. Cable TV with expanded line up. I-Drive Trolley service for nominal charge, 4 Miles to Orlando Orange County Convention Center, all major Central Florida attractions within short drive, Guest service desk for area attraction tickets, Free scheduled transportation to and from Disney theme parks and Universal Studios. For information regarding Banquet Hall rental please contact Tabla Bar and Grill directly at 407-248-9400. Continental Breakfast 7-9:30 am daily at Tabla Cafe 3.75 per person plus tax. Groups must schedule private breakfast with Sales Department prior to arrival.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Game room
Dining
Restaurant
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
In room movies
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

28.4771 -81.455
Area description
Business district

Nearby points of interest

  • Universal Studios Escape: 0.3 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 0.9 mi
  • Skyventure: 1.1 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 2.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 2.3 mi
  • Trainland: 3.1 mi
  • Wonderworks: 3.2 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 3.2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Gold Club: 3.5 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 3.6 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.2 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.3 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 0.3 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 0.9 mi
  • Skyventure: 1.1 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 2.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 2.3 mi
  • Trainland: 3.1 mi
  • Wonderworks: 3.2 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 3.2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Gold Club: 3.5 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 3.6 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.2 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.3 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 4.5 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 4.8 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 5 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 5.3 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 6.3 mi
  • Amway Arena: 6.5 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 6.5 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 6.5 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 6.7 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 7.9 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 8.2 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 8.5 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 8.6 mi
  • Gatorland: 8.9 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 14.2 mi
  • CFE Arena: 18.1 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 18.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (286)

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
25 out of 286
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.8
Value:
2.7

28% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ali Vegan
Haslet, TX
Nov 13, 2009

Great deal for the money!

This hotel was super cheap. It's no resort, but it's a great deal for the money. On site is an Indian restaurant, small grocery/souvenir store, and a small arcade with air hockey. It's within a short walking distance to Universal Studios, Islands of Adventure, and City Walk.. almost as close as the Universal parking lots. I would definitely stay here again when visiting Universal. I have no complaints regarding cleanliness or any thing else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ali Vegan
Haslet, TX
Nov 13, 2009

Great deal for the money!

This hotel was super cheap. It's no resort, but it's a great deal for the money. On site is an Indian restaurant, small grocery/souvenir store, and a small arcade with air hockey. It's within a short walking distance to Universal Studios, Islands of Adventure, and City Walk.. almost as close as the Universal parking lots. I would definitely stay here again when visiting Universal. I have no complaints regarding cleanliness or any thing else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Doberman Mom
Florida
May 8, 2009

Nice place to stay.

The staff was very friendly. They gave me a room with tiled floors as I had dogs. Much nicer than any carpet. Clean. Walls had some peeling wall paper in areas. Bed was comfortable enough. Over all quiet enough. Would not hesitate to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Doberman Mom
Florida
May 8, 2009

Nice place to stay.

The staff was very friendly. They gave me a room with tiled floors as I had dogs. Much nicer than any carpet. Clean. Walls had some peeling wall paper in areas. Bed was comfortable enough. Over all quiet enough. Would not hesitate to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
HK
Sep 5, 2009

worthy to stay

gd, shuttle service is gd and clear but u cant access to internet at room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Know enough not to be taken
Florida
May 30, 2011

Watch for extra charges

My first impression wasnt all that good. The front desk personnel were bored and rude. Too busy talking to friends on the phone to greet guests or be more than the most minimaly helpful. I have to say the tile floors were a surprise but probably helped maintain the overall clean impression. The king size bed had a pronounced sag in the middle & a palmeto bug the size of my hand was my room mate till I trapped him in the ice bucket. Im sure housekeeping wasnt expecting that one. The best surprise came at checkout when the desk clerk tried to tell me I had a $6 balance. I informed her I didnt, had not incurred any additional expenses and owed nothing more than what I had prepaid months ago. She insisted that the fee was a "resort fee" & that all the hotels were charging it. When I looked at what she was trying to convince me was a legitimate charge, I found an extra $2 a day as well as a 6% room tax on top of the tax I had already paid in the room rate! I informed her I didnt owe it & wouldnt pay it. When they decided they couldnt convice me that it was a customary fee, they changed the story to say it was not their fee but "[...]" fee! That was all everyone else in the lobby needed to hear. They quickly gave me a reciept showing the charges removed and I left them to deal with the rest of the irrate hotel guests. Unbelievable that they would even try it. Multiply that fee by however many hundred guests stay in their hotel & its quite a chunk of free change every day. Needless to say I wont be staying there anymore and will do my bust to warn anyone to be wary of "extra fees".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Istanbul
Mar 8, 2010

Location with a budget price

[...] made late check-in due to delays in my flight. Even though It was after 12 after midnight, I coul not sleep due to car and truck noises from the road. Next morning however, I ve changed to a better room with no noise. The room was also better. Avoid the rooms facing the highway, towards the outlet centre in this property. The rest is OK. So close to a TGI Friday's which I had all my breakfasts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Universal is in short walk and both parks can be completed if u r without childeren and start the tour at 9 a.m.

Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Istanbul
Mar 8, 2010

Location with a budget price

[...] made late check-in due to delays in my flight. Even though It was after 12 after midnight, I coul not sleep due to car and truck noises from the road. Next morning however, I ve changed to a better room with no noise. The room was also better. Avoid the rooms facing the highway, towards the outlet centre in this property. The rest is OK. So close to a TGI Friday's which I had all my breakfasts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Universal is in short walk and both parks can be completed if u r without childeren and start the tour at 9 a.m.

Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
orwell ohio
Jun 28, 2010

days inn stay

booked two months in advance and got placed right next to the freeway. 15 tv channels 2 premotional for universal and disney and 2 spanish channels. so nothing good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

right next to a beautiful mall and outlet stores.

Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
orwell ohio
Jun 28, 2010

days inn stay

booked two months in advance and got placed right next to the freeway. 15 tv channels 2 premotional for universal and disney and 2 spanish channels. so nothing good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

right next to a beautiful mall and outlet stores.

Back to menu Return to top