$37 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 16, 2015 Check-out: Jan 17, 2015

Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

2 stars
5827 Caravan Ct, Orlando, FL 32819
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
195 reviews
perfect family getaway

it was perfect....walking distance was perfect... we had no trouble feeling comfy after a lond day... See full review

  • carolina becerra
  • Nov 24, 2014
same as the price

not bad ,good location ,but very bad wifi. the service is good See full review

  • Wangchuchu
  • Jul 29, 2014
Renovated rooms. Free transportation to Disney, Universal and Seaworld. Gourmet restaurant on-site serving American/Indian cuisine. Oversized heated pool and kiddie pool. The Days Inn Maingate to Universal is conveniently located off I-4, Exit 75B Within walking distance to the main entrance to Universal Studios, Islands of Adventure, and City Walk. Comfortable guest rooms include -Two double beds, King-bed rooms, Studio Suites which have one king size bed and a sofa bed. Refrigerators in all rooms. Microwave upon request. Cable TV with expanded line up. I-Drive Trolley service for nominal charge, 4 Miles to Orlando Orange County Convention Center, all major Central Florida attractions within short drive, Guest service desk for area attraction tickets, Free scheduled transportation to and from Disney theme parks and Universal Studios. For information regarding Banquet Hall rental please contact Tabla Bar and Grill directly at 407-248-9400. Continental Breakfast 7-9:30 am daily at Tabla Cafe 3.75 per person plus tax. Groups must schedule private breakfast with Sales Department prior to arrival.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Game room
Dining
Restaurant
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
In room movies
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Universal Studios Escape: 0.3 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 0.9 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 2.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 2.3 mi
  • Trainland: 3.1 mi
  • Wonderworks: 3.2 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 3.2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 3.5 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 3.6 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.2 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.3 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 4.5 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 0.3 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 0.9 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 2.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 2.3 mi
  • Trainland: 3.1 mi
  • Wonderworks: 3.2 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 3.2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 3.5 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 3.6 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.2 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.3 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 4.5 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 4.8 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 5 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 5.3 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 6.3 mi
  • Amway Arena: 6.5 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 6.5 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 6.5 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 6.7 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 7.9 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 8.2 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 8.5 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 8.6 mi
  • Gatorland: 8.9 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 14.2 mi
  • CFE Arena: 18.1 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 18.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (195)

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
195 out of 195
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.2

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JFandJF
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 21, 2009

Okay, room overall nice, but ad mislead

The rooms were very nice, cool, quiet, nice atmosphere. Our first room smelled funny, to find out under the sink was wet. It was an old water smell, so thankfully we were able to get another room. Then breakfast was not included "for orbitz/cheaptickets, etc.." which was not mentioned on this site. Garbages in outdoor halls were gross and not emptied. Otherwise all was good. Pool looked very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rafe
Business
Orlando, FL
Nov 10, 2009

great location for the price

We had a big group stay at the hotel and we were all very happy with the rooms and the great price. We were just minutes away from our trip which was to Holy Land. I would recommend this hotel to others taking a trip to Orlando.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boynton Beach
Feb 25, 2010

Felicia

More tv stations...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Not impressed!!
Business
Nyc
Oct 17, 2010

Could have been better..

I feel that for a hotel surrounded by so many hotels that's striving for excellence, this hotel gave up on that race and settled to be one that just is. I was going for inexpensive, but I would have paid a bit more for a nicer place had I known!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Most of the places in the area!! They really strive for good customer service!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
North Port, FL
Oct 11, 2010

Pretty good, but could have been better.

Overall it was a plesant stay, except the smell from the dumpster located extremely close to the rooms, overwhelming the place.The staff was friendly to the guests, but not to eachother, I heard a maintenance staff member cursing a front desk staff member about the TV. The store and restaurant on site came in very handy as well and was reasonably priced.Again it was a nice place that could have been a bit cleaner here and there with a friendly helpful staff in an awesome location for exploring orlando with ease!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Super daughter-in-law
Business
Aurora, CO
Nov 17, 2010

Cheap but professional

I wanted to stay in a motel because I don't like the long, quiet hallways of hotels. Since I was traveling alone I wanted a place I could walk without worry. My daughter checked out the location and in one of the rooms. She said the furniture is old but the room was pretty clean. I was only sleeping there so that was fine. The deal was so cheap that I had asked her to be sure the motel was not boarded up.I was doing a routine check to be sure there were no problems before I started the trip. My reservation for myself and my father-in-law was somehow cancelled. You were able to get that taken care of quickly. When I arrived, about 1a.m., at the motel my daughter was with me. I could of never stayed in the location nor in the room they had given me. The vanity was broken, the phone didn't work, the bath had paint pealing off into it and it was in a back section with rocks and picnic tables. I used my phone to call the front desk. The man there said to come back to the office. He gave me a room nearby with no suggestion of up charges. When my father-in-law arrived they had a room near mine for him, again with no request for upgrade charges. Later I saw a screen near the front desk saying rooms in the area near the pool were more expensive. After a few days a leak visited my bathroom. I was told that I had to move rooms, which I did. Again, the person made sure that I felt okay with the new room location. The rooms are extremely cheap but the people that work at Days Inn Maingate are truly professional and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Tabla restaurant located within the block is very well managed. My father-in-law wanted a late night drink. We didn't try the food but several others did and it did smell wonderful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Super daughter-in-law
Business
Aurora, CO
Nov 18, 2010

Free trip

I brought my father-in-law to Orlando to celebrate his great grandson's first birthday. He started to complain that the motel wasn't nice enough for him but then realized he was getting a free trip so that stopped the complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The bartender that we had served strong drinks. That seemed to make my father-in-law happy. I wanted a fuzzy navel but the bartender apologized and said he couldn't make one. The martini he served me was not to my taste but was okay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Know enough not to be taken
Business
Florida
May 30, 2011

Watch for extra charges

My first impression wasnt all that good. The front desk personnel were bored and rude. Too busy talking to friends on the phone to greet guests or be more than the most minimaly helpful. I have to say the tile floors were a surprise but probably helped maintain the overall clean impression. The king size bed had a pronounced sag in the middle & a palmeto bug the size of my hand was my room mate till I trapped him in the ice bucket. Im sure housekeeping wasnt expecting that one. The best surprise came at checkout when the desk clerk tried to tell me I had a $6 balance. I informed her I didnt, had not incurred any additional expenses and owed nothing more than what I had prepaid months ago. She insisted that the fee was a "resort fee" & that all the hotels were charging it. When I looked at what she was trying to convince me was a legitimate charge, I found an extra $2 a day as well as a 6% room tax on top of the tax I had already paid in the room rate! I informed her I didnt owe it & wouldnt pay it. When they decided they couldnt convice me that it was a customary fee, they changed the story to say it was not their fee but "[...]" fee! That was all everyone else in the lobby needed to hear. They quickly gave me a reciept showing the charges removed and I left them to deal with the rest of the irrate hotel guests. Unbelievable that they would even try it. Multiply that fee by however many hundred guests stay in their hotel & its quite a chunk of free change every day. Needless to say I wont be staying there anymore and will do my bust to warn anyone to be wary of "extra fees".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ELee
Business
Kalamazoo, MI, USA
Mar 4, 2012

Close enough to necessities to not rent a car.

I was traveling on the cheap so I can't complain about the accomodations. The room was very quiet as I was on the side away from International Drive. It's only a 45 MPH road so it's not that loud anyway. I was attending a convention at the DoubleTree Hilton and it's only a 2 block walk to that hotel. There was a small fridge but no coffee maker. Also within a quick walk to Walgreens, BK and alot of other stuff. My rental car from Budget was $187 total bill for 3 days with the damage waiver insurance at $25 per day included. Bring your Garmin!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wichy
Business
Vega Alta, 00692, Puerto Rico
Mar 19, 2012

Hotel

The location of this hotel is good. But the room no have microwave, coffeemaker.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top