$41 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

2 stars
5827 Caravan Ct, Orlando, FL 32819
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
286 reviews
family and friends

We had a wonderful time in Orlando and visiting family and friends. The hotel was very conveniently... See full review

  • andrea and billy
  • Jun 5, 2013
all of the holiday was brilliant

everything was very good. hotel was basic but it suited us. could have done with a microwave See full review

  • val and ken
  • Aug 3, 2013
Renovated rooms. Free transportation to Disney, Universal and Seaworld. Gourmet restaurant on-site serving American/Indian cuisine. Oversized heated pool and kiddie pool. The Days Inn Maingate to Universal is conveniently located off I-4, Exit 75B Within walking distance to the main entrance to Universal Studios, Islands of Adventure, and City Walk. Comfortable guest rooms include -Two double beds, King-bed rooms, Studio Suites which have one king size bed and a sofa bed. Refrigerators in all rooms. Microwave upon request. Cable TV with expanded line up. I-Drive Trolley service for nominal charge, 4 Miles to Orlando Orange County Convention Center, all major Central Florida attractions within short drive, Guest service desk for area attraction tickets, Free scheduled transportation to and from Disney theme parks and Universal Studios. For information regarding Banquet Hall rental please contact Tabla Bar and Grill directly at 407-248-9400. Continental Breakfast 7-9:30 am daily at Tabla Cafe 3.75 per person plus tax. Groups must schedule private breakfast with Sales Department prior to arrival.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Game room
Dining
Restaurant
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
In room movies
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

28.4771 -81.455
Area description
Business district

Nearby points of interest

  • Universal Studios Escape: 0.3 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 0.9 mi
  • Skyventure: 1.1 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 2.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 2.3 mi
  • Trainland: 3.1 mi
  • Wonderworks: 3.2 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 3.2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Gold Club: 3.5 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 3.6 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.2 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.3 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 0.3 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 0.9 mi
  • Skyventure: 1.1 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 2.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 2.3 mi
  • Trainland: 3.1 mi
  • Wonderworks: 3.2 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 3.2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Gold Club: 3.5 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 3.6 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.2 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.3 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 4.5 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 4.8 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 5 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 5.3 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 6.3 mi
  • Amway Arena: 6.5 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 6.5 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 6.5 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 6.7 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 7.9 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 8.2 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 8.5 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 8.6 mi
  • Gatorland: 8.9 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 14.2 mi
  • CFE Arena: 18.1 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 18.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (286)

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
286 out of 286
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.2

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tampa
Mar 20, 2010

Horrible!

Gross! Would never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Jan 17, 2011

Worth $40. Nothing more to say.

The continental breakfast is pathetic at best. The hotel had no bugs and the sheets were clean. These were the two positive things about this hotel. This is worth the $40/night. That's about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Red Coconut Club at Citiwalk is worth it!

Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Douglasville, Ga
Feb 14, 2011

You get what you pay for...and less....

We were staying at this hotel because it has many tv stations (tv didn't work the entire time we were here, even after the repairman came in and could not figure it out so we had no tv the whole trip). Another reason we were staying was because the free wifi (didn't work in the rooms...only in the lobby). The heated pool was not heated it was just a regular pool with a tiki bar next to it. It is near the maingate of Universal Studios but the bus that takes you only runs to the park 2 hours after it is open and picks up 5 mins before the park closes (which we were wanting to arrive as the park opened or a little before). We walked to and from Universal with no problem but make sure to bring your walking shoes! Basically this hotel was a whole bundle of false advertising but you only find that out once you are actually there. The staff was ok, they really only talked to you if you approached them first (ex:no greeting they would just stare at you until you spoke). Overall though, if you know what to expect before you go...this is a super cheap hotel in an alright location. I would book again if we were going back to Universal any time soon because its such a great price even though it is almost just for a shower,fridge, and bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

This location is within a short walking distance of Universal Studios and has several food places and shopping places near it.

Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
miami,fl
Nov 25, 2010

the good,the bad and the really...

went to the parks,shopping

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JOSH W
PORT ST LUCIE FL
Oct 29, 2013

ROACHES

UPON CHECK IN THE STAFF WAS REALLY NICE AFTER WE GOT BACK TO THE ROOM FROM HALLOWEEN HORROR NIGHTS WE DISCOVERED A ROACH BUT WAS ALREADY REALLY LATE. WHEN WE WOKE UP THE NEXT MORNING AFTER NOT GETTING ANY SLEEP FROM THE FEELING OF BUGS ON US WE SAW EVEN MORE. I WAS SO GROSSED OUT THAT WE DIDNT EVEN TAKE A SHOWER AND UPON CHECK OUT TELLING THE GUY AT THE DESK HE ASKED OUR ROOM NUMBER AND WHEN HE FOUND OUT HE JUST SAID OH YEA. NOW MY WIFES CAR HAS ROACHES IN IT FROM THE LUGGAGE WE HAD. IM GOING TO REQUEST A REFUND THIS WAS NOT ACCTEPABLE AT ALL.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
head buster
Tampa, Fl
Feb 12, 2013

Thank goodness we only went to the room to sleep

first off the reservation that I made was in my opinon a waste of time because the room I requested was unavalible. Then in order to keep a family together that had booked they moved my room just one more time to add even more irratation. When I went into the room it was like back to the 90's. Instead of taking the old paint off they just repainted over everything. There were roaches in the room to greet me when I opened my eyes and looked over at the night stand. The tub was clogged and kept filling up with water when I took showers. The comforter had writing all on it but it was probably clean. I'ts just crazy when you have to guess whats clean and whats not. Over all, like I said, thank goodness we only went to the room to sleep. Oh and the staff is super ghetto. The two girls that were working on feb 7th around 6pm were absolutely horrible. No point of even hiring people that want to waste their lives and everyone elses. If you don't believe me go see for youself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

right across from Universal Studios

Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Florida
Jul 8, 2009

You get what you pay for!

If you are traveling to Universal/ Islands of Adventure and can bring your own sheets and pillows this is the perfect spot to stay on a budget. For under $40 you are less than a mile from the main gates to both these parks. Just make sure you plan accordingly if you don't want to take a taxi because the advertised free shuttles only occur once in the morning and once at night. The location is really all that you are getting from this place. If you go bring your flip flops for your room because the floor is terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nergmgr
Business
San Diego , CA
Jan 30, 2010

In disrepair , poor service , super loud

Reguardless of price I would not stay here again. Internet did not work in my room, soda machines did not work, printer in lobby did not work,my room door was 70 feet from major freeway. I was like trying to sleep on freeway, very loud! I would have gone somewhere else to stay, but I had a very busy trip, and did not have time to move. I suggest you not send any traveler to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed Debbie!!
Fort Pierce, FL
Oct 4, 2009

WHAT A FRUSTRATING EXPERIENCE!!!!!

What an awful experience we had! The location was ok. That is the only good thing I can say about this hotel. First, we had requested a smoking room and when we arrived they gave us non smoking. We were told there were no smoking rooms left. They found us a room in another building. Once we switched rooms we were unable to get in. The keys would not work. We had to drive back over to the main office building again. Once we got the keys straightened out we were in the room which was not very clean at all. The fixtures in the bathroom were coming out of the wall, the curtain rods were falling off, the blankets were stained, the hairdryer sparked at me when I tried to use it. It was basically falling apart. And as far as free internet and extended cable with HBO...ha what a joke. You have to move all over your room for 20 minutes before you can get an internet signal and it goes out in two minutes. All of the channels were fuzzy on the TV. We only got about 5 channels. We will never recommend nor stay at this hotel EVER again!!! DO NOT RECOMMEND!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ocalagirl2002
ocala fl
Aug 26, 2009

not as advertized.

Because we booked with orbitz, they said we didn't get the free breakfast as advertized, Dirty room, unfriendly staff, smoking room no ash trays,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top