$37 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

2 stars
5827 Caravan Ct, Orlando, FL 32819
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
286 reviews
family and friends

We had a wonderful time in Orlando and visiting family and friends. The hotel was very conveniently... See full review

  • andrea and billy
  • Jun 5, 2013
all of the holiday was brilliant

everything was very good. hotel was basic but it suited us. could have done with a microwave See full review

  • val and ken
  • Aug 3, 2013
Renovated rooms. Free transportation to Disney, Universal and Seaworld. Gourmet restaurant on-site serving American/Indian cuisine. Oversized heated pool and kiddie pool. The Days Inn Maingate to Universal is conveniently located off I-4, Exit 75B Within walking distance to the main entrance to Universal Studios, Islands of Adventure, and City Walk. Comfortable guest rooms include -Two double beds, King-bed rooms, Studio Suites which have one king size bed and a sofa bed. Refrigerators in all rooms. Microwave upon request. Cable TV with expanded line up. I-Drive Trolley service for nominal charge, 4 Miles to Orlando Orange County Convention Center, all major Central Florida attractions within short drive, Guest service desk for area attraction tickets, Free scheduled transportation to and from Disney theme parks and Universal Studios. For information regarding Banquet Hall rental please contact Tabla Bar and Grill directly at 407-248-9400. Continental Breakfast 7-9:30 am daily at Tabla Cafe 3.75 per person plus tax. Groups must schedule private breakfast with Sales Department prior to arrival.

Hotel Map

28.4771 -81.455
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Game room
Dining
Restaurant
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
In room movies
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Universal Studios Escape: 0.3 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 0.9 mi
  • Skyventure: 1.1 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 2.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 2.3 mi
  • Trainland: 3.1 mi
  • Wonderworks: 3.2 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 3.2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Gold Club: 3.5 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 3.6 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.2 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.3 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 0.3 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 0.9 mi
  • Skyventure: 1.1 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 2.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 2.3 mi
  • Trainland: 3.1 mi
  • Wonderworks: 3.2 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 3.2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Gold Club: 3.5 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 3.6 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.2 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.3 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 4.5 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 4.8 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 5 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 5.3 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 6.3 mi
  • Amway Arena: 6.5 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 6.5 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 6.5 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 6.7 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 7.9 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 8.2 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 8.5 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 8.6 mi
  • Gatorland: 8.9 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 14.2 mi
  • CFE Arena: 18.1 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 18.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (286)

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
286 out of 286
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.2

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
johnman
Jacksonville FL
Mar 21, 2011

DONT DO IT!!!!

In my 30 years on this earth, this is the most disguisting place I have ever slept, or showered in. I know its cheap, and close to city walk, but it is not worth it. The white bathtub was covered in black mold. The sheets smelled like they hadn't been washed. DONT DO IT!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
johnman
Jacksonville FL
Mar 21, 2011

DONT DO IT!!!!

In my 30 years on this earth, this is the most disguisting place I have ever slept, or showered in. I know its cheap, and close to city walk, but it is not worth it. The white bathtub was covered in black mold. The sheets smelled like they hadn't been washed. DONT DO IT!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Feb 28, 2011

Average but comfortable

Wanted a reasonably cheap place to sleep and that is exactly what we got. Comfortable beds, clean room and not noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Feb 28, 2011

Average but comfortable

Wanted a reasonably cheap place to sleep and that is exactly what we got. Comfortable beds, clean room and not noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
ely, minnesota
Feb 27, 2011

hotel room

The only thing "newly remodeled" was the shower curtain. The clock and tv did not work, the toilet ran and leaked,the walls were dirty and had dust hanging from them, the carpet was filthy. The shuttle to the parks only ran once a day, would have been nice to know that. If I had not already paid for the room, I would have left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
ely, minnesota
Feb 27, 2011

hotel room

The only thing "newly remodeled" was the shower curtain. The clock and tv did not work, the toilet ran and leaked,the walls were dirty and had dust hanging from them, the carpet was filthy. The shuttle to the parks only ran once a day, would have been nice to know that. If I had not already paid for the room, I would have left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
Feb 15, 2011

RUDE, OVERCHARGE AND LIE!

[...] pretty much they are lying about having continental breakfast. They are also lying about the "free shuttle transportation." They supposedly have one shuttle and I never saw it. It goes to the park at 10:45 and leaves at 7:30. Useless. Also, I asked for a cab and they called a sketch town car that didn't have a meter and they guy charged double every other cab in the area. As far as the room goes, it's about what you'd expect for 30 bucks a night. Small, dinky towels. Loud people outside. Lots of pizza menus being squished through your door at all hours of the night. Air conditioner that is off/on. Apparently the refrigerator wasn't cold enough, which I found out when my leftovers from a fancy restaurant were ruined the next day. FINAL ISSUE: THIS IS A BIG ONE! THEY LOCKED ME OUT OF MY ROOM ON MONDAY (VALENTINE'S DAY) THE DAY THAT THEY PROMISED I WOULDN'T HAVE AN ISSUE. I went down to ask about it, he said I hadn't paid for the night yet. A: I already had discussed this whole situation with him for check in. B: I had put my credit card number on their website already. C: Most places, they preauthorize your card and you pay at check out, which they already had my card. D: Even though he said it was because I didn't pay, he didn't charge my card until Tuesday morning (so he lied, AGAIN). They guy's name was [...]. I am just got back to Atlanta a couple of hours ago. I am still waiting to see if my card gets overcharged which I am definitely expecting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
Feb 15, 2011

RUDE, OVERCHARGE AND LIE!

[...] pretty much they are lying about having continental breakfast. They are also lying about the "free shuttle transportation." They supposedly have one shuttle and I never saw it. It goes to the park at 10:45 and leaves at 7:30. Useless. Also, I asked for a cab and they called a sketch town car that didn't have a meter and they guy charged double every other cab in the area. As far as the room goes, it's about what you'd expect for 30 bucks a night. Small, dinky towels. Loud people outside. Lots of pizza menus being squished through your door at all hours of the night. Air conditioner that is off/on. Apparently the refrigerator wasn't cold enough, which I found out when my leftovers from a fancy restaurant were ruined the next day. FINAL ISSUE: THIS IS A BIG ONE! THEY LOCKED ME OUT OF MY ROOM ON MONDAY (VALENTINE'S DAY) THE DAY THAT THEY PROMISED I WOULDN'T HAVE AN ISSUE. I went down to ask about it, he said I hadn't paid for the night yet. A: I already had discussed this whole situation with him for check in. B: I had put my credit card number on their website already. C: Most places, they preauthorize your card and you pay at check out, which they already had my card. D: Even though he said it was because I didn't pay, he didn't charge my card until Tuesday morning (so he lied, AGAIN). They guy's name was [...]. I am just got back to Atlanta a couple of hours ago. I am still waiting to see if my card gets overcharged which I am definitely expecting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Douglasville, Ga
Feb 14, 2011

You get what you pay for...and less....

We were staying at this hotel because it has many tv stations (tv didn't work the entire time we were here, even after the repairman came in and could not figure it out so we had no tv the whole trip). Another reason we were staying was because the free wifi (didn't work in the rooms...only in the lobby). The heated pool was not heated it was just a regular pool with a tiki bar next to it. It is near the maingate of Universal Studios but the bus that takes you only runs to the park 2 hours after it is open and picks up 5 mins before the park closes (which we were wanting to arrive as the park opened or a little before). We walked to and from Universal with no problem but make sure to bring your walking shoes! Basically this hotel was a whole bundle of false advertising but you only find that out once you are actually there. The staff was ok, they really only talked to you if you approached them first (ex:no greeting they would just stare at you until you spoke). Overall though, if you know what to expect before you go...this is a super cheap hotel in an alright location. I would book again if we were going back to Universal any time soon because its such a great price even though it is almost just for a shower,fridge, and bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

This location is within a short walking distance of Universal Studios and has several food places and shopping places near it.

Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Douglasville, Ga
Feb 14, 2011

You get what you pay for...and less....

We were staying at this hotel because it has many tv stations (tv didn't work the entire time we were here, even after the repairman came in and could not figure it out so we had no tv the whole trip). Another reason we were staying was because the free wifi (didn't work in the rooms...only in the lobby). The heated pool was not heated it was just a regular pool with a tiki bar next to it. It is near the maingate of Universal Studios but the bus that takes you only runs to the park 2 hours after it is open and picks up 5 mins before the park closes (which we were wanting to arrive as the park opened or a little before). We walked to and from Universal with no problem but make sure to bring your walking shoes! Basically this hotel was a whole bundle of false advertising but you only find that out once you are actually there. The staff was ok, they really only talked to you if you approached them first (ex:no greeting they would just stare at you until you spoke). Overall though, if you know what to expect before you go...this is a super cheap hotel in an alright location. I would book again if we were going back to Universal any time soon because its such a great price even though it is almost just for a shower,fridge, and bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

This location is within a short walking distance of Universal Studios and has several food places and shopping places near it.

Back to menu Return to top