$37 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 15, 2014 Check-out: Jul 16, 2014

Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

2 stars
5827 Caravan Ct, Orlando, FL 32819
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
286 reviews
family and friends

We had a wonderful time in Orlando and visiting family and friends. The hotel was very conveniently... See full review

  • andrea and billy
  • Jun 5, 2013
all of the holiday was brilliant

everything was very good. hotel was basic but it suited us. could have done with a microwave See full review

  • val and ken
  • Aug 3, 2013
Renovated rooms. Free transportation to Disney, Universal and Seaworld. Gourmet restaurant on-site serving American/Indian cuisine. Oversized heated pool and kiddie pool. The Days Inn Maingate to Universal is conveniently located off I-4, Exit 75B Within walking distance to the main entrance to Universal Studios, Islands of Adventure, and City Walk. Comfortable guest rooms include -Two double beds, King-bed rooms, Studio Suites which have one king size bed and a sofa bed. Refrigerators in all rooms. Microwave upon request. Cable TV with expanded line up. I-Drive Trolley service for nominal charge, 4 Miles to Orlando Orange County Convention Center, all major Central Florida attractions within short drive, Guest service desk for area attraction tickets, Free scheduled transportation to and from Disney theme parks and Universal Studios. For information regarding Banquet Hall rental please contact Tabla Bar and Grill directly at 407-248-9400. Continental Breakfast 7-9:30 am daily at Tabla Cafe 3.75 per person plus tax. Groups must schedule private breakfast with Sales Department prior to arrival.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Game room
Dining
Restaurant
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
In room movies
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

28.4771 -81.455
Area description
Business district

Nearby points of interest

  • Universal Studios Escape: 0.3 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 0.9 mi
  • Skyventure: 1.1 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 2.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 2.3 mi
  • Trainland: 3.1 mi
  • Wonderworks: 3.2 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 3.2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Gold Club: 3.5 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 3.6 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.2 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.3 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 0.3 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 0.9 mi
  • Skyventure: 1.1 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 2.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 2.3 mi
  • Trainland: 3.1 mi
  • Wonderworks: 3.2 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 3.2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Gold Club: 3.5 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 3.6 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.2 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.3 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 4.5 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 4.8 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 5 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 5.3 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 6.3 mi
  • Amway Arena: 6.5 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 6.5 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 6.5 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 6.7 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 7.9 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 8.2 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 8.5 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 8.6 mi
  • Gatorland: 8.9 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 14.2 mi
  • CFE Arena: 18.1 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 18.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (286)

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
286 out of 286
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.2

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MY WORST VACATION
LOS GATOS, CALIFORNIA
Jun 4, 2009

A HORRIBLE WEEK AT THE DAYS INN ORLANDO

IT WAS NOISY AND NOT VERY CLEAN; ALSO, THE STAFF ATTEMPTED TO CHARGE ME FOR MY FREE BREAKFAST, AND THE FOOD WAS HORRIBLE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

IT'S CLOSE TO UNIVERSAL STUDIOS IN ORLANDO.

Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MY WORST VACATION
LOS GATOS, CALIFORNIA
Jun 4, 2009

A HORRIBLE WEEK AT THE DAYS INN ORLANDO

IT WAS NOISY AND NOT VERY CLEAN; ALSO, THE STAFF ATTEMPTED TO CHARGE ME FOR MY FREE BREAKFAST, AND THE FOOD WAS HORRIBLE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

IT'S CLOSE TO UNIVERSAL STUDIOS IN ORLANDO.

Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed Debbie!!
Fort Pierce, FL
Oct 4, 2009

WHAT A FRUSTRATING EXPERIENCE!!!!!

What an awful experience we had! The location was ok. That is the only good thing I can say about this hotel. First, we had requested a smoking room and when we arrived they gave us non smoking. We were told there were no smoking rooms left. They found us a room in another building. Once we switched rooms we were unable to get in. The keys would not work. We had to drive back over to the main office building again. Once we got the keys straightened out we were in the room which was not very clean at all. The fixtures in the bathroom were coming out of the wall, the curtain rods were falling off, the blankets were stained, the hairdryer sparked at me when I tried to use it. It was basically falling apart. And as far as free internet and extended cable with HBO...ha what a joke. You have to move all over your room for 20 minutes before you can get an internet signal and it goes out in two minutes. All of the channels were fuzzy on the TV. We only got about 5 channels. We will never recommend nor stay at this hotel EVER again!!! DO NOT RECOMMEND!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dawn and Chris
Kissimee, Florida from Little Canada MN
Aug 22, 2012

Room given was already occuppied

Room given was already occupied~Apparently no supervisor ckg rooms and relaying to front desk which rooms are actually empty or clean. We were given an occupied room that was filled with smoke when we specifically asked for NO SMOKING room. The front desk said they would not honor rooms reserved through Cheap Tickets or Pricelinespecial requests or promises. THey said that offers things they do not show available. In questionable area, felt in danger walking outside of room. Lock was broke and we knew we could not keep housekeepers or burglers out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SAD AND PITIFUL,,,,NO,,,GROSS!!
ORLANDO, FL
Jan 26, 2010

Cheapskate! DON'T DO IT!

PITIFUL. DIRTY ROOMS, OLD MOTEL. DON'T DO IT. SPEND A LITTLE MORE MONEY SOMEWHERE ELSE AND ENJOY YOUR STAY. CARPET DIRTY, BATHROOM DIRTY. SAYS THEY HAVE WIRELESS INTERNET FOR FREE BUT I THINK YOU ONLY GET IT IF YOUR IN THE MANAGERS OFFICE. CERTAINLY NOT IN THE ROOM (THAT WAS OVER THE POOL)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Daniel O'Brien
Miami, Florida
Aug 13, 2009

Cheap with bad air conditioner

hot and unpleasant

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
Feb 15, 2011

RUDE, OVERCHARGE AND LIE!

[...] pretty much they are lying about having continental breakfast. They are also lying about the "free shuttle transportation." They supposedly have one shuttle and I never saw it. It goes to the park at 10:45 and leaves at 7:30. Useless. Also, I asked for a cab and they called a sketch town car that didn't have a meter and they guy charged double every other cab in the area. As far as the room goes, it's about what you'd expect for 30 bucks a night. Small, dinky towels. Loud people outside. Lots of pizza menus being squished through your door at all hours of the night. Air conditioner that is off/on. Apparently the refrigerator wasn't cold enough, which I found out when my leftovers from a fancy restaurant were ruined the next day. FINAL ISSUE: THIS IS A BIG ONE! THEY LOCKED ME OUT OF MY ROOM ON MONDAY (VALENTINE'S DAY) THE DAY THAT THEY PROMISED I WOULDN'T HAVE AN ISSUE. I went down to ask about it, he said I hadn't paid for the night yet. A: I already had discussed this whole situation with him for check in. B: I had put my credit card number on their website already. C: Most places, they preauthorize your card and you pay at check out, which they already had my card. D: Even though he said it was because I didn't pay, he didn't charge my card until Tuesday morning (so he lied, AGAIN). They guy's name was [...]. I am just got back to Atlanta a couple of hours ago. I am still waiting to see if my card gets overcharged which I am definitely expecting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Canadian Vacationer
Toronto, ON
Mar 20, 2010

Disney experience

Great costumer service but not at all a family hotel. Very noisy and not very clean. Literally, spend only one night there. Checkin at 9 pm and checked out immediately at 9 am. Just wasn't in my comfort zone. Ants in the bathroom and toilet didn't flush very well. Whole building needs renovation. However the price was very cheap, so you pay for what you get. On the other hand, checked into the Palace by Westgate. More expensive but worth every penny. Beautiful building, very clean, ideal location. flat screen tv's in every room, master suite with hot tub and separate shower. Kids suite with separate shower. Kitchen full equipped. just perfect. So it really depends on your budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Miss. Wonderful
Jacksonville, FL
Mar 3, 2010

DISGUSTING!!!!

The room was disgusting, bugs crawling around, and did not have any type of cable as advertised....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
bigminx
panama city, fl
Apr 22, 2009

get what u pay 4

Had an end room. very noisy. not even a micro or coffee pot in room. location is okay but would not recommend unless your going for cheapest. get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top