$31 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 23, 2014 Check-out: Sep 26, 2014

Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

2 stars
5827 Caravan Ct, Orlando, FL 32819
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
190 reviews
family and friends

We had a wonderful time in Orlando and visiting family and friends. The hotel was very conveniently... See full review

  • andrea and billy
  • Jun 5, 2013
same as the price

not bad ,good location ,but very bad wifi. the service is good See full review

  • Wangchuchu
  • Jul 29, 2014
Renovated rooms. Free transportation to Disney, Universal and Seaworld. Gourmet restaurant on-site serving American/Indian cuisine. Oversized heated pool and kiddie pool. The Days Inn Maingate to Universal is conveniently located off I-4, Exit 75B Within walking distance to the main entrance to Universal Studios, Islands of Adventure, and City Walk. Comfortable guest rooms include -Two double beds, King-bed rooms, Studio Suites which have one king size bed and a sofa bed. Refrigerators in all rooms. Microwave upon request. Cable TV with expanded line up. I-Drive Trolley service for nominal charge, 4 Miles to Orlando Orange County Convention Center, all major Central Florida attractions within short drive, Guest service desk for area attraction tickets, Free scheduled transportation to and from Disney theme parks and Universal Studios. For information regarding Banquet Hall rental please contact Tabla Bar and Grill directly at 407-248-9400. Continental Breakfast 7-9:30 am daily at Tabla Cafe 3.75 per person plus tax. Groups must schedule private breakfast with Sales Department prior to arrival.

Hotel Map

28.4771 -81.455
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Game room
Dining
Restaurant
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
In room movies
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Universal Studios Escape: 0.3 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 0.9 mi
  • Skyventure: 1.1 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 2.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 2.3 mi
  • Trainland: 3.1 mi
  • Wonderworks: 3.2 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 3.2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Gold Club: 3.5 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 3.6 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.2 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.3 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 0.3 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 0.9 mi
  • Skyventure: 1.1 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 2.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 2.3 mi
  • Trainland: 3.1 mi
  • Wonderworks: 3.2 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 3.2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Gold Club: 3.5 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 3.6 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.2 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.3 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 4.5 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 4.8 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 5 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 5.3 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 6.3 mi
  • Amway Arena: 6.5 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 6.5 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 6.5 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 6.7 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 7.9 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 8.2 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 8.5 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 8.6 mi
  • Gatorland: 8.9 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 14.2 mi
  • CFE Arena: 18.1 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 18.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (190)

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
190 out of 190
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
4
Value:
3.2

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mehul
Atlanta, GA, USA
Dec 10, 2011

Good Place @ comparitively low budget.

Good place at afordable price. Shuttel service provided by hotel to all the parks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Tabla Restaurent is good place to dine. Nice food also offers 5% discount to guest staying in Days Inn hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
attractionstraveller
San Francisco, California
Nov 22, 2011

Good location, but property needs some care

I'll admit it. I was looking for something cheap. What I found was cheap, but perhaps not as cheap as I thought it would be. On top of what you pay through the site, the property requires you to pay an extra "amenities fee." I was told this was for the parking lot and pool. The hotel's profile says they have wifi, but it was only afterwards that I discovered this was only in the motel's lobby. It's probably not surprising that the property is a bit run down given the price, but I was really disappointed when I returned to my room and found that the cleaning staff had left the door wide open. I notified them and they made a note, but didn't bother to apologize or make any sort of assurance that it wouldn't happen again. Later, when looking for change for laundry (which has no change machine), the desk staff simply said they didn't have any. It took some prodding to find out other options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cuda watch
Dunnellon, FL, USA
Nov 21, 2011

good experience

bathrooms are a little too small and no microwave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bless205
Miami, FL, USA
Nov 7, 2011

my family trip

It was ok it need more events in the area and a new lobby

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kennewick, WA
Jun 18, 2011

Trashy hotel

The beds are all on wireframe rollers and are very cheap. The ac can barely keep the (and often fails to) keep the room cool. Staff was unfriendly and not helpful at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orlando, FL
Jun 17, 2011

Trashy hotel with hidden fees

We were here for theme parks. The staff was incompetent (they didn't know what a pack-n-play was, even though after insisting they did have one). They tack on an extra fee per day extra when you check out and expect you to pay it even though you prepaid online. The fans are very loud and they don't have very many channels (5-10). There was a cockroach in our room, a missing weather strip that let's lights in the room at night, and the bathroom door was installed wrong so it stuck to the ground when you tried to open it. Pay the extra to go somewhere nicer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lake park, FL
Jun 7, 2011

Bad and good

when we checked in the attendant was cold and unfriendly. the hotel room was shabby, the air condintion unit was hanging partly on the floor the shower head fall off the bed was squeeky there was no microwave in the room, no coffee maker the towels so so hard the child would cry just by wiping him down..................but when we checked out the attendant was pleasant and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Know enough not to be taken
Florida
May 30, 2011

Watch for extra charges

My first impression wasnt all that good. The front desk personnel were bored and rude. Too busy talking to friends on the phone to greet guests or be more than the most minimaly helpful. I have to say the tile floors were a surprise but probably helped maintain the overall clean impression. The king size bed had a pronounced sag in the middle & a palmeto bug the size of my hand was my room mate till I trapped him in the ice bucket. Im sure housekeeping wasnt expecting that one. The best surprise came at checkout when the desk clerk tried to tell me I had a $6 balance. I informed her I didnt, had not incurred any additional expenses and owed nothing more than what I had prepaid months ago. She insisted that the fee was a "resort fee" & that all the hotels were charging it. When I looked at what she was trying to convince me was a legitimate charge, I found an extra $2 a day as well as a 6% room tax on top of the tax I had already paid in the room rate! I informed her I didnt owe it & wouldnt pay it. When they decided they couldnt convice me that it was a customary fee, they changed the story to say it was not their fee but "[...]" fee! That was all everyone else in the lobby needed to hear. They quickly gave me a reciept showing the charges removed and I left them to deal with the rest of the irrate hotel guests. Unbelievable that they would even try it. Multiply that fee by however many hundred guests stay in their hotel & its quite a chunk of free change every day. Needless to say I wont be staying there anymore and will do my bust to warn anyone to be wary of "extra fees".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
naples Fl
May 8, 2011

The maintenance problems

There were a lot of problems with our room. The flapper on the toilet needed replaced, 4 lightbulbs were out, the remote had to be replaced and you couldn't read the bedside clock. [...] there was supposed to be wi fi in the room, but there was not. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Amigote
Greenwich, CT
Apr 25, 2011

Days Inn

Good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search