$37 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 15, 2015 Check-out: Jan 16, 2015

Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

2 stars
5827 Caravan Ct, Orlando, FL 32819
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
195 reviews
perfect family getaway

it was perfect....walking distance was perfect... we had no trouble feeling comfy after a lond day... See full review

  • carolina becerra
  • Nov 24, 2014
same as the price

not bad ,good location ,but very bad wifi. the service is good See full review

  • Wangchuchu
  • Jul 29, 2014
Renovated rooms. Free transportation to Disney, Universal and Seaworld. Gourmet restaurant on-site serving American/Indian cuisine. Oversized heated pool and kiddie pool. The Days Inn Maingate to Universal is conveniently located off I-4, Exit 75B Within walking distance to the main entrance to Universal Studios, Islands of Adventure, and City Walk. Comfortable guest rooms include -Two double beds, King-bed rooms, Studio Suites which have one king size bed and a sofa bed. Refrigerators in all rooms. Microwave upon request. Cable TV with expanded line up. I-Drive Trolley service for nominal charge, 4 Miles to Orlando Orange County Convention Center, all major Central Florida attractions within short drive, Guest service desk for area attraction tickets, Free scheduled transportation to and from Disney theme parks and Universal Studios. For information regarding Banquet Hall rental please contact Tabla Bar and Grill directly at 407-248-9400. Continental Breakfast 7-9:30 am daily at Tabla Cafe 3.75 per person plus tax. Groups must schedule private breakfast with Sales Department prior to arrival.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Game room
Dining
Restaurant
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
In room movies
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Universal Studios Escape: 0.3 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 0.9 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 2.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 2.3 mi
  • Trainland: 3.1 mi
  • Wonderworks: 3.2 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 3.2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 3.5 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 3.6 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.2 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.3 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 4.5 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 0.3 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 0.9 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 2.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 2.3 mi
  • Trainland: 3.1 mi
  • Wonderworks: 3.2 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 3.2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 3.5 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 3.6 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.2 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.3 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 4.5 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 4.8 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 5 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 5.3 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 6.3 mi
  • Amway Arena: 6.5 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 6.5 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 6.5 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 6.7 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 7.9 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 8.2 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 8.5 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 8.6 mi
  • Gatorland: 8.9 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 14.2 mi
  • CFE Arena: 18.1 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 18.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (195)

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
195 out of 195
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.2

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
GandalfPR
Business
Arecibo, Puerto Rico
Jul 8, 2012

Extremely dirty!! Don't even think about it!!

We went to stay our first night on Orlando just arriving from Puerto RIco. The place looked average from the outside. The guy at the front desk made his job, and I was not expecting any luxuries as I already knew that this was supposed to be a convenience stay hotel. The problem was that I was also expecting to be in a CLEAN place and I was terribly wrong. First of all, the air conditioner filter was awfull. They were completely filled with dust and dirt, like it was not cleaned in months or maybe for more than a year. I spent all night sneezing and feeling the dirt running my thorat. Also, the towels have a grayish appeareance like they were dirty. The bathtub was old and deteriorated. Early in the morning I heard my wife screaming. The reason: there were COCKROACHES running everywhere on the bathroom. I was able to kill 2-3 of them and I also felt an itch on my legs. Apparently there were also bed bugs and they bitten me, as I found that the itch was actually blood spots on my legs. I DON'T recommend this place to no one. It was the worst experience in our lives. Thank God that I planned to stay in a Marriott for the remaining 6 days of our vacations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
horselover k
Business
Dallas, Tx
Jul 5, 2012

orlando trip

The hotel was not bad other than it would have been nice to have a microwave and a coffee pot in the room. The shuttle service was all right, except they were vague on which hotel they were dropping off at on the way back. There are three or more locations for this hotel, and they dropped us off at the wrong one on the other side of town. We had to get a bus to take us back to the right one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rembert
Business
Hanover, PA
Jun 13, 2012

You get what you pay for.

The toilet seat was from a larger comode and did not properly fit. We returned late (midnight) Monday and had to park in the only available space, very close to the dumpster in a No Parking Zone. When I woke at 5 a.m. I looked out and noticed 2 spaces. Conclusion would be that at least 2 "visitors" had left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Check out as many options, as possible for sights, dining, etc.. on the web site before going so you have a good sense of exactly where and in logical order for your itinery. This will save you travel time and allow you to see all that you want to do.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vaigod777
Business
Palm Beach, FL, USA
Apr 21, 2012

Great Value If You Are Reasonable....

I have stayed at this hotel no less than 15 times over the last 4 years. Is it the newest, nicest looking hotel in Orlando?? Nope.... Does it have tons of things to do for the person who wants to spend their vacation NOT leaving their hotel?? Nope. However, given the location and the SUPER LOW cost of this hotel, I never stay anywhere else when we travel to Orlando. The rooms are clean, the staff is pleasant, the location is GREAT, and the overall value is AWESOME!! Just don't expect the look or feel of a 4 star hotel for 39 dollars a night.... Let's be reasonable folks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Damali
Business
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Apr 15, 2012

You get what you pay for

Check in was smooth, we got to our room and found the tv was not working. I called and within minutes, maintenance was there. The free shuttle to Universal did not show up. The hotel is close enough to walk (30 minutes) or $7 cab ride. It is nothing special, just a basic room, no new amenities. I would spend a little more next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Universal is a 20/30 minute walk. The entrance is literally two blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lynn1224
Business
Sarasota, FL, USA
Mar 26, 2012

You get what you pay for.

The hotel has a great heated and deep pool. I appreciated the attached store and restaurant. The staff were pleasant. The room was clean and had tile floors...great for pets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Universal was right across the street and the hotel provides a shuttle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DR JL
Business
Miami, FL, USA
Mar 23, 2012

Great area to visit

not a very pleasant experience at this hotel! needs that special something and staff training

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Universal Orlando right across

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DR JL
Business
Miami, FL, USA
Mar 22, 2012

Great area for family fun

Rooms not too clean and staffs kind of rough service. Outside hotel not too pleasant for the Price paid! Not recommended

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Universal Orlando is Perfect for the Area

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
In Town for a Wedding
Business
Philadelphia
Mar 22, 2012

Nothing special

While it is nicely positioned near the Universal theme parks, the hotel itself leaves a lot to be desired...and with so many other hotels in the immediate area (and also within walking distance), I would only recommend staying here if saving that $25 or so dollars a night makes or breaks your vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Universal Studios and Islands of Adventure are about a 15 minute walk away, and most of that time is spent walking the Universal property.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wichy
Business
Vega Alta, 00692, Puerto Rico
Mar 19, 2012

Hotel

The location of this hotel is good. But the room no have microwave, coffeemaker.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top