$37 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 15, 2014 Check-out: Jul 16, 2014

Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

2 stars
5827 Caravan Ct, Orlando, FL 32819
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
286 reviews
family and friends

We had a wonderful time in Orlando and visiting family and friends. The hotel was very conveniently... See full review

  • andrea and billy
  • Jun 5, 2013
all of the holiday was brilliant

everything was very good. hotel was basic but it suited us. could have done with a microwave See full review

  • val and ken
  • Aug 3, 2013
Renovated rooms. Free transportation to Disney, Universal and Seaworld. Gourmet restaurant on-site serving American/Indian cuisine. Oversized heated pool and kiddie pool. The Days Inn Maingate to Universal is conveniently located off I-4, Exit 75B Within walking distance to the main entrance to Universal Studios, Islands of Adventure, and City Walk. Comfortable guest rooms include -Two double beds, King-bed rooms, Studio Suites which have one king size bed and a sofa bed. Refrigerators in all rooms. Microwave upon request. Cable TV with expanded line up. I-Drive Trolley service for nominal charge, 4 Miles to Orlando Orange County Convention Center, all major Central Florida attractions within short drive, Guest service desk for area attraction tickets, Free scheduled transportation to and from Disney theme parks and Universal Studios. For information regarding Banquet Hall rental please contact Tabla Bar and Grill directly at 407-248-9400. Continental Breakfast 7-9:30 am daily at Tabla Cafe 3.75 per person plus tax. Groups must schedule private breakfast with Sales Department prior to arrival.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Game room
Dining
Restaurant
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
In room movies
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

28.4771 -81.455
Area description
Business district

Nearby points of interest

  • Universal Studios Escape: 0.3 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 0.9 mi
  • Skyventure: 1.1 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 2.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 2.3 mi
  • Trainland: 3.1 mi
  • Wonderworks: 3.2 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 3.2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Gold Club: 3.5 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 3.6 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.2 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.3 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 0.3 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 0.9 mi
  • Skyventure: 1.1 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 2.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 2.3 mi
  • Trainland: 3.1 mi
  • Wonderworks: 3.2 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 3.2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Gold Club: 3.5 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 3.6 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.2 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.3 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 4.5 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 4.8 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 5 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 5.3 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 6.3 mi
  • Amway Arena: 6.5 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 6.5 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 6.5 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 6.7 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 7.9 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 8.2 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 8.5 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 8.6 mi
  • Gatorland: 8.9 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 14.2 mi
  • CFE Arena: 18.1 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 18.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (286)

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
286 out of 286
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.2

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
The Moore's
Northeast FL
Mar 30, 2009

Will NEVER stay at another Days Inn

Universal Orlando was wonderful but.....Horrible experiance will NEVER stay at another Days Inn worst hotel we have ever seen. Beds wear hard as rocks rolled everytime you move. Staff was rude,Tub was peeling on bottom no microwave as requested. When we got back at 4pm room was still not clean. tears in spread. Then Charged me $6.75 for maid service. Was very disappointed in Hotel and Orbitz $55 is way over priced for the room also Ordered Papa Johns we had to go all the way up front to pick it up because they would not deliver to the room. We use to enjoy Days Inn but our family and friends will NEVER stay at another Days Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Grossed Out Stay
Spring Hill, Florida
Oct 11, 2013

Old Run Down Uncomfortable

The only good thing is this hotels location. Our bathroom had mold that was painted over, and you could see it coming through the paint. The tub was rusty and gross. The sink leaked. The beds looked and felt like a box spring on top of a box spring. The queen size beds had three pillow that where throw pillows, not even a standard size pillow. The TV made a buzzing noise, the AC/Heater smelled horrible and made the worst noises. We didn't even get under the sheets. We used our own towels from home to cover up with. I would not stay here again if it was the last hotel/shelter in the world! I'd rather sleep in a ditch(at least it would be comfortable).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Universal is 2 miles away. But this hotel should **(HINT)** never rent out another room again. SO GROSS!!!!!

Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Grumpy3434
Knoxville
Jul 10, 2013

Horrible Rooms

Do not stay here!! The staff is not helpful or friendly. They do not guarantee wi-fi in the rooms. They are right off the interstate so you will hear traffic all night in the room. The room had an awful odor, the paint was peeling off the walls in the bathroom. The tub did not look clean and had stains. Awful experience!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Uhhhh NOOO
Miami, FL
Jun 16, 2009

Uhh No

It was not something that I would do again because it was our one year anniversary and it was suppose to be special. Internet claim that there will be mircowave and when I went there, there was none so I called the front desk, they told me that they will bring it, waited 30 mins, called again; this time they got to nerve to tell me that I can come to the lobby a heat up my food or whatever it is I want heat it. That was it for me! I like to be treated with respect and if I paid for something then I get what I paid for. This will be the last time I go to Days Inn. I recommend Sheraton Hotel Suite for a great vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Greer SC
Mar 29, 2010

the worst yet

hidden fees not stated in terms and conditions with [...]. also rooms smelled of dirty pinesol not enough towels in room for length of time there. no key to the safes and no HBO as mentioned in ad. the only nice thing about the room was the new tile. The restaurant was a joke (CLOSED) buy your breakfast out of a conveinant store(their gift shop)!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

they charge a per person fee per night

Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
South Florida Mom
Pompano Beach, FL
Dec 26, 2009

Great location poor Hotel

No guest coffee in rooms, No heated pool like advertised,Never got to swim water was too cold and maintance would never give us an answer why the heat was not on. A/C so noisy kept us awake. Fridge was not clean, requested questions about pool and A/C several times and maintance never responded. Tried to get tickets to parks at guest services but they only wanted us to go to check out their resort, very pushy. For the price and location it was fine, but it could use some help. We did not care for restuarant, it was mostly geared toward Indian food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
johnman
Jacksonville FL
Mar 21, 2011

DONT DO IT!!!!

In my 30 years on this earth, this is the most disguisting place I have ever slept, or showered in. I know its cheap, and close to city walk, but it is not worth it. The white bathtub was covered in black mold. The sheets smelled like they hadn't been washed. DONT DO IT!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Coral Springs, FL
Aug 29, 2010

Nightmare

I checked out the same night to find another hotel. The place was dirty and it was nothing like what was placed on the internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DR JL
Miami, FL, USA
Mar 23, 2012

Great area to visit

not a very pleasant experience at this hotel! needs that special something and staff training

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Universal Orlando right across

Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Florida
Jul 8, 2009

You get what you pay for!

If you are traveling to Universal/ Islands of Adventure and can bring your own sheets and pillows this is the perfect spot to stay on a budget. For under $40 you are less than a mile from the main gates to both these parks. Just make sure you plan accordingly if you don't want to take a taxi because the advertised free shuttles only occur once in the morning and once at night. The location is really all that you are getting from this place. If you go bring your flip flops for your room because the floor is terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top