$37 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

2 stars
5827 Caravan Ct, Orlando, FL 32819
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
286 reviews
family and friends

We had a wonderful time in Orlando and visiting family and friends. The hotel was very conveniently... See full review

  • andrea and billy
  • Jun 5, 2013
all of the holiday was brilliant

everything was very good. hotel was basic but it suited us. could have done with a microwave See full review

  • val and ken
  • Aug 3, 2013
Renovated rooms. Free transportation to Disney, Universal and Seaworld. Gourmet restaurant on-site serving American/Indian cuisine. Oversized heated pool and kiddie pool. The Days Inn Maingate to Universal is conveniently located off I-4, Exit 75B Within walking distance to the main entrance to Universal Studios, Islands of Adventure, and City Walk. Comfortable guest rooms include -Two double beds, King-bed rooms, Studio Suites which have one king size bed and a sofa bed. Refrigerators in all rooms. Microwave upon request. Cable TV with expanded line up. I-Drive Trolley service for nominal charge, 4 Miles to Orlando Orange County Convention Center, all major Central Florida attractions within short drive, Guest service desk for area attraction tickets, Free scheduled transportation to and from Disney theme parks and Universal Studios. For information regarding Banquet Hall rental please contact Tabla Bar and Grill directly at 407-248-9400. Continental Breakfast 7-9:30 am daily at Tabla Cafe 3.75 per person plus tax. Groups must schedule private breakfast with Sales Department prior to arrival.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Game room
Dining
Restaurant
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
In room movies
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

28.4771 -81.455
Area description
Business district

Nearby points of interest

  • Universal Studios Escape: 0.3 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 0.9 mi
  • Skyventure: 1.1 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 2.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 2.3 mi
  • Trainland: 3.1 mi
  • Wonderworks: 3.2 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 3.2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Gold Club: 3.5 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 3.6 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.2 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.3 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 0.3 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 0.9 mi
  • Skyventure: 1.1 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 2.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 2.3 mi
  • Trainland: 3.1 mi
  • Wonderworks: 3.2 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 3.2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Gold Club: 3.5 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 3.6 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.2 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.3 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 4.5 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 4.8 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 5 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 5.3 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 6.3 mi
  • Amway Arena: 6.5 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 6.5 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 6.5 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 6.7 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 7.9 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 8.2 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 8.5 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 8.6 mi
  • Gatorland: 8.9 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 14.2 mi
  • CFE Arena: 18.1 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 18.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (286)

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
286 out of 286
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.2

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vaigod777
Palm Beach, FL, USA
Apr 21, 2012

Great Value If You Are Reasonable....

I have stayed at this hotel no less than 15 times over the last 4 years. Is it the newest, nicest looking hotel in Orlando?? Nope.... Does it have tons of things to do for the person who wants to spend their vacation NOT leaving their hotel?? Nope. However, given the location and the SUPER LOW cost of this hotel, I never stay anywhere else when we travel to Orlando. The rooms are clean, the staff is pleasant, the location is GREAT, and the overall value is AWESOME!! Just don't expect the look or feel of a 4 star hotel for 39 dollars a night.... Let's be reasonable folks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
St. Augustine, FL
Sep 6, 2010

Holiday Weekend busy but efficient

Our purpose of our trip was to be as close to Universal Studios as possible at a reasonable cost. We were able to do that. Not only was it close to Universal but we had a variety of meal options all around us within walking distance. We walked to Universal in about 15 minutes. I liked that the continental breakfast was affordable and SERVED. :o) There was a little confusion to our room placement but the staff handled it professionally and with a smile. Our overall experience was good and we will use this location again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to lots of family fun and food. We saved time and money with the convenient location and affordable hotel.

Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami,fl
Sep 27, 2010

Small hotel next to universal

Very comfortable service and nice consierge. Only that we asked for single bed and twins were given.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mephisto666
Oakland, CA
Oct 28, 2007

Motel on the Mend in a good locale

Initial impressions make this Days Inn ?project? look shabby, but there has been lots of renovation work going on. Most of the rooms and outside area are in decent condition, and the pool is in great shape. There is an attached generic diner which has OK food for an OK price, but sometimes is short staffed. You can walk into Universal with little more effort than using the parking garage without the parking costs. Add in the free wireless Internet and you are really getting your room for a steal. The I-Drive shuttle and LINX buses stop nearby, and are perfect for getting to other area attractions and restaurants. A rental car makes it even more convenient. There are dining option from Wendy to Carrabas walking distance. This is a two star place, but you are getting a little more than your money?s worth with the current prices. This is NOT the place I would recommend if you like to spend your afternoons in your room and at the pool, but has really worked out as a center point for Universal, Sea World, I-Drive, and even Disneyworld.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Use Universal's pedal bike taxis to take you down the walking path just 3 blocks from your room!

Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
P & K Mommy
Palm Bay, FL
Oct 5, 2009

Halloween Horror Nights Getaway!!

My husband and I along with some friends stayed at your hotel dispite what the reviews said for Halloween Horror Nights. Our room was nice and clean and smelt fresh. For the price we knew we werent staying in a 5 Star hotel or anything but we would definitly stay here again. It was actually fully booked the night we stayed there and it was very quite. We got sleep with no interuptions. The only thing we didnt like about the hotel and our stay was there was not enough refreshment machines.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mehul
Atlanta, GA, USA
Dec 10, 2011

Good Place @ comparitively low budget.

Good place at afordable price. Shuttel service provided by hotel to all the parks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Tabla Restaurent is good place to dine. Nice food also offers 5% discount to guest staying in Days Inn hotel.

Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mesquite, texas
Sep 2, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

I was given a non-smoking room when I paid for a smoking room. I also had to pay again when I arrived at the hotel because they did not have my reservation, which was for the following week. I contacted Orbitz and they stated the could give me my money back over the phone but informed the hotel they could not do anything for me, so I lost $64.00 for paying ahead of time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent location, especially for the price.

Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mesquite, texas
Sep 2, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

I was given a non-smoking room when I paid for a smoking room. I also had to pay again when I arrived at the hotel because they did not have my reservation, which was for the following week. I contacted Orbitz and they stated the could give me my money back over the phone but informed the hotel they could not do anything for me, so I lost $64.00 for paying ahead of time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent location, especially for the price.

Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lmetzler
Ocala Fl
Dec 22, 2010

Good experience

Room was spacious and clean. The staff were very helpful. Was especially appreciated the fact that the floors were not carpeted because we always travel with our cats and it made cleaning up after them simple. I would suggest that staff review some minor issues as relates to the bed: the underside of the boxsprings were very tattered-this does not make a good impression. Also, this hotel should not be advertised as "withing walking distancc" to the entrance to Universal Studio Park but should include that shuttle service to all parks is available. Otherwise, all was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

See above

Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
St. Augustine, FL
Sep 6, 2010

Holiday Weekend busy but efficient

Our purpose of our trip was to be as close to Universal Studios as possible at a reasonable cost. We were able to do that. Not only was it close to Universal but we had a variety of meal options all around us within walking distance. We walked to Universal in about 15 minutes. I liked that the continental breakfast was affordable and SERVED. :o) There was a little confusion to our room placement but the staff handled it professionally and with a smile. Our overall experience was good and we will use this location again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to lots of family fun and food. We saved time and money with the convenient location and affordable hotel.

Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelling businessman
Business
Eugene, Oregon
May 14, 2009

Nice place

The place was nice, friendly staff, they helped me book a taxi back to the airport for $20 cheaper then typical taxi. The only problems I really had is that there is no change machine in the building to get food out of the vending machines and such. The other BIG problem for me, which was one of the selling points for me in actually renting a room at the hotel is the "free" internet access. Of the 4 days I spent in the hotel, I was only able to log on to the internet for 10 minutes in my hotel room. The signal was incredibly weak and the only alternative is to spend $3/hr(?). Within walking distance of Universal Studios

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top