$37 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 15, 2014 Check-out: Jul 16, 2014

Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

2 stars
5827 Caravan Ct, Orlando, FL 32819
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
286 reviews
family and friends

We had a wonderful time in Orlando and visiting family and friends. The hotel was very conveniently... See full review

  • andrea and billy
  • Jun 5, 2013
all of the holiday was brilliant

everything was very good. hotel was basic but it suited us. could have done with a microwave See full review

  • val and ken
  • Aug 3, 2013
Renovated rooms. Free transportation to Disney, Universal and Seaworld. Gourmet restaurant on-site serving American/Indian cuisine. Oversized heated pool and kiddie pool. The Days Inn Maingate to Universal is conveniently located off I-4, Exit 75B Within walking distance to the main entrance to Universal Studios, Islands of Adventure, and City Walk. Comfortable guest rooms include -Two double beds, King-bed rooms, Studio Suites which have one king size bed and a sofa bed. Refrigerators in all rooms. Microwave upon request. Cable TV with expanded line up. I-Drive Trolley service for nominal charge, 4 Miles to Orlando Orange County Convention Center, all major Central Florida attractions within short drive, Guest service desk for area attraction tickets, Free scheduled transportation to and from Disney theme parks and Universal Studios. For information regarding Banquet Hall rental please contact Tabla Bar and Grill directly at 407-248-9400. Continental Breakfast 7-9:30 am daily at Tabla Cafe 3.75 per person plus tax. Groups must schedule private breakfast with Sales Department prior to arrival.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Game room
Dining
Restaurant
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
In room movies
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

28.4771 -81.455
Area description
Business district

Nearby points of interest

  • Universal Studios Escape: 0.3 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 0.9 mi
  • Skyventure: 1.1 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 2.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 2.3 mi
  • Trainland: 3.1 mi
  • Wonderworks: 3.2 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 3.2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Gold Club: 3.5 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 3.6 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.2 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.3 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 0.3 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 0.9 mi
  • Skyventure: 1.1 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 2.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 2.3 mi
  • Trainland: 3.1 mi
  • Wonderworks: 3.2 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 3.2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Gold Club: 3.5 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 3.6 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.2 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.3 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 4.5 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 4.8 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 5 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 5.3 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 6.3 mi
  • Amway Arena: 6.5 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 6.5 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 6.5 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 6.7 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 7.9 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 8.2 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 8.5 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 8.6 mi
  • Gatorland: 8.9 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 14.2 mi
  • CFE Arena: 18.1 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 18.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (286)

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
286 out of 286
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.2

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Full Sail mom
Scottsville Virginia
Oct 19, 2012

Nice place to stay

Location was great. Close to I4 & very good place to stay. The room was clean. The tv wasn't that good. Had a great stay & hope to stay there again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mppnwp
Business
orlando,fl
Oct 19, 2012

Nelly

It was ok. Nothing to brag about. it served it's purpose

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Megerella
Davie Fl
Oct 8, 2012

Great customer service

When i first walked into the room it felt like i was staying in a room in India or Africa. From the bedding to the furniture it gave you a theme which i enjoyed. The beds were super comfy and the pillows i couldve melted in. Most hotels give you two pillows, this one gave you 5 per bed. It was great. I had a one and a million problem when i was there though. The bathroom ceiling in the shower started to leak and chunks of the ceiling started to fall into the tub. I called the front desk and in minutes maintenance was there to fix it. The front desk informed me id be getting a discount on the room. I figured $20 or so off the bill. When i checked out at the end of the weekend i was informed my entire stay would be refunded. I was shocked! The customer service is incredible. Not to mention the walking distance to City Walk and other resturants. Im going to stay there again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Whateverxcvbcvb
Orlando
Sep 9, 2012

Not completely Horrible

For the bucks I spent (Super low price) I have stayed at extremely better hotels. The floor carpet felt filthy, everything was broken in the room (shower fosset, air conditioning knobs, ect). The personnel were great cant complain about them although, I did not complain to them. I really do not recommend this hotel to anyone until they renovate it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dawn and Chris
Kissimee, Florida from Little Canada MN
Aug 22, 2012

Room given was already occuppied

Room given was already occupied~Apparently no supervisor ckg rooms and relaying to front desk which rooms are actually empty or clean. We were given an occupied room that was filled with smoke when we specifically asked for NO SMOKING room. The front desk said they would not honor rooms reserved through Cheap Tickets or Pricelinespecial requests or promises. THey said that offers things they do not show available. In questionable area, felt in danger walking outside of room. Lock was broke and we knew we could not keep housekeepers or burglers out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
josealf
Chicago, Illinois
Aug 7, 2012

worst hotel experience

will never stay there again...more like a slum hotel...i was embarrassed to mention i had ever stayed there.....just across was the Holiday Inn, Double Tree and Hyatt Place....would have been a better selection

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vazquez
San Juan, PR
Jul 23, 2012

Good for the price

I was concerned about the stay after reading the reviews. But for the price the Hotel was ok. Rooms had fridge, double beds, iron and got cleaned every afternoon with fresh towels. Our room near the pool area had internet access in the room which was good considering that we have stayed in more expensive hotels in Orlando that did not have.The staff were helpful. Location is excellent near Universal. Pool was good sized and clean. The only concernd was that the carpet was very stained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TinaStud
Orlando
Jul 16, 2012

Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Extremely disappointing what was advertised was not completely true. There FREE shuttle only leaves once a day. The Tiki Bar only opens if the bartender decides to come in, also the restuant is only open after 5. So if you want to drink or eat and you are not leaving at the only one shuttle a day you have to walk the mile to get to the City Walk. Not at all what was advertised on there website.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Eat why you are there.. There is NOTHING once you get back.

Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
tchrnemo
Jax., FL
Jul 10, 2012

Needs refurbishing

The room we booked for our honeymoon stay did NOT have air conditioning (July in Florida!) and the phone in the room did not work to call the desk! Really worn and OLD room in need of a lot. We stay in Days Inns in all different places and this one did not measure up! I know they are economy, but this one was the worst I have ever stayed in. They did put us in another room, but still had problems. No coffee maker, no hot water in the tub. Glad we only were staying for 2 nights. Would NOT book there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
GandalfPR
Arecibo, Puerto Rico
Jul 8, 2012

Extremely dirty!! Don't even think about it!!

We went to stay our first night on Orlando just arriving from Puerto RIco. The place looked average from the outside. The guy at the front desk made his job, and I was not expecting any luxuries as I already knew that this was supposed to be a convenience stay hotel. The problem was that I was also expecting to be in a CLEAN place and I was terribly wrong. First of all, the air conditioner filter was awfull. They were completely filled with dust and dirt, like it was not cleaned in months or maybe for more than a year. I spent all night sneezing and feeling the dirt running my thorat. Also, the towels have a grayish appeareance like they were dirty. The bathtub was old and deteriorated. Early in the morning I heard my wife screaming. The reason: there were COCKROACHES running everywhere on the bathroom. I was able to kill 2-3 of them and I also felt an itch on my legs. Apparently there were also bed bugs and they bitten me, as I found that the itch was actually blood spots on my legs. I DON'T recommend this place to no one. It was the worst experience in our lives. Thank God that I planned to stay in a Marriott for the remaining 6 days of our vacations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top