Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

2 stars
5827 Caravan Ct, Orlando, FL 32819
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
195 reviews
perfect family getaway

it was perfect....walking distance was perfect... we had no trouble feeling comfy after a lond day... See full review

  • carolina becerra
  • Nov 24, 2014
same as the price

not bad ,good location ,but very bad wifi. the service is good See full review

  • Wangchuchu
  • Jul 29, 2014
Renovated rooms. Free transportation to Disney, Universal and Seaworld. Gourmet restaurant on-site serving American/Indian cuisine. Oversized heated pool and kiddie pool. The Days Inn Maingate to Universal is conveniently located off I-4, Exit 75B Within walking distance to the main entrance to Universal Studios, Islands of Adventure, and City Walk. Comfortable guest rooms include -Two double beds, King-bed rooms, Studio Suites which have one king size bed and a sofa bed. Refrigerators in all rooms. Microwave upon request. Cable TV with expanded line up. I-Drive Trolley service for nominal charge, 4 Miles to Orlando Orange County Convention Center, all major Central Florida attractions within short drive, Guest service desk for area attraction tickets, Free scheduled transportation to and from Disney theme parks and Universal Studios. For information regarding Banquet Hall rental please contact Tabla Bar and Grill directly at 407-248-9400. Continental Breakfast 7-9:30 am daily at Tabla Cafe 3.75 per person plus tax. Groups must schedule private breakfast with Sales Department prior to arrival.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Game room
Dining
Restaurant
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
In room movies
Ironing board

Hotel Map

28.4771 -81.455
Area description
Business district

Nearby points of interest

  • Universal Studios Escape: 0.3 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 0.9 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 2.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 2.3 mi
  • Trainland: 3.1 mi
  • Wonderworks: 3.2 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 3.2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 3.5 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 3.6 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.2 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.3 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 4.5 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 0.3 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 0.9 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 2.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 2.3 mi
  • Trainland: 3.1 mi
  • Wonderworks: 3.2 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 3.2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 3.5 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 3.6 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.2 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.3 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 4.5 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 4.8 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 5 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 5.3 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 6.3 mi
  • Amway Arena: 6.5 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 6.5 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 6.5 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 6.7 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 7.9 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 8.2 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 8.5 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 8.6 mi
  • Gatorland: 8.9 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 14.2 mi
  • CFE Arena: 18.1 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 18.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (195)

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
195 out of 195
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.2

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Grossed Out Stay
Business
Spring Hill, Florida
Oct 11, 2013

Old Run Down Uncomfortable

The only good thing is this hotels location. Our bathroom had mold that was painted over, and you could see it coming through the paint. The tub was rusty and gross. The sink leaked. The beds looked and felt like a box spring on top of a box spring. The queen size beds had three pillow that where throw pillows, not even a standard size pillow. The TV made a buzzing noise, the AC/Heater smelled horrible and made the worst noises. We didn't even get under the sheets. We used our own towels from home to cover up with. I would not stay here again if it was the last hotel/shelter in the world! I'd rather sleep in a ditch(at least it would be comfortable).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Universal is 2 miles away. But this hotel should **(HINT)** never rent out another room again. SO GROSS!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JOSH W
Business
PORT ST LUCIE FL
Oct 29, 2013

ROACHES

UPON CHECK IN THE STAFF WAS REALLY NICE AFTER WE GOT BACK TO THE ROOM FROM HALLOWEEN HORROR NIGHTS WE DISCOVERED A ROACH BUT WAS ALREADY REALLY LATE. WHEN WE WOKE UP THE NEXT MORNING AFTER NOT GETTING ANY SLEEP FROM THE FEELING OF BUGS ON US WE SAW EVEN MORE. I WAS SO GROSSED OUT THAT WE DIDNT EVEN TAKE A SHOWER AND UPON CHECK OUT TELLING THE GUY AT THE DESK HE ASKED OUR ROOM NUMBER AND WHEN HE FOUND OUT HE JUST SAID OH YEA. NOW MY WIFES CAR HAS ROACHES IN IT FROM THE LUGGAGE WE HAD. IM GOING TO REQUEST A REFUND THIS WAS NOT ACCTEPABLE AT ALL.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jackiedski
Business
Jacksonville, Florida
Aug 17, 2009

Old and unkept

The room was extremely old and dirty. This room has not been updated for at least 20 years.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mercer, MO
May 19, 2009

It was horrible!!!

1. I never had filthier hotel in my life, and I travel a lot. Bugs are everywhere. I saw one before going in bed, but did not pay much attention, in the morning all left side of face was in red dots. Of cause, because hotel was booked through Orbitz, there will be no refund, but I think money should be refunded. I always trusted Orbitz, but I don't think Orbitz should help these types of hotels with their business. 2. Hotel is in very dirty location. Trash everywhere. Questionable people live in this hotel. I was afraid if my car will be OK by morning. 3. Hotel itself is very dirty. My child fell from the bed and we needed to move the bed......You can find everything there: old candy wrappers, oranges' seeds, tops from yogurts and so on. Disgusting!!! 4. If I can stop someone from going to this hotel, my job will be done.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Orlando hotels do not have continental breakfasts. Be sure, you have food for you and your family in the morning.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jan 17, 2011

Worth $40. Nothing more to say.

The continental breakfast is pathetic at best. The hotel had no bugs and the sheets were clean. These were the two positive things about this hotel. This is worth the $40/night. That's about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Red Coconut Club at Citiwalk is worth it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
fort worth tx
Aug 10, 2009

Not clean at all, Not everything worked

I would not recommend this hotel to any one. Was very noisy, sink & bathtub clogged when we used them, room smelled really bad & was always humid with a/c on, spiders were found & roaches, room looked very runned down & trashy. Please do not book this hotel. Only thing good about it was the location to Universal Studios THAT'S IT...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rockaway, New Jersey
Nov 5, 2009

Horrible + Filthy! DO NOT STAY HERE!

The Hotel was very run down, The onsite restaurant had horrible food. The Pool was unclean and had a slimy feel to it. The grounds were very unkept. The room itself was very outdated. The carpet was filthy we had to wear our shoes because if you walked on it with white socks or bare feet they would turn black from the dirty rug. The beds smelled bad and had stained sheets. The bathroom had broken tiles and toilet wobbled, the bathtub was filthy. The air conditioner smelt bad when on. The entire trip we tryed to spend as little time as possible in the room. Some other guests had problems with bed bugs, and i noticed half of the rooms were all getting new beds. luckily our room did not have that problem!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

I would definately reccomend going to discovery cove! it was a great relaxing day there. I got to swim with the dolphins and spend the rest of the day relaxing in the lazy river! The entire staff was very friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
stuart florida
Apr 22, 2010

It is in a good location but thats it

I checked in late to find the a/c wasnt working; tried to call the desk but the phone didnt work, and called the front desk with my cell phone. The person there told me there wasnt anything he could really do except send maintenance in the morning. Needless to say no sleep all night. I returned the next day around 4:30 and the a/c was still broken, phone still broken room was much hotter the outside. ousecleaning came but the room was still drty, no towels replaced, counter no wiped down, etc. Im sure they were hot in there and trying to get out asap. IM not sure why the this person wouldnt have said anything to management or maint. except that maybe they did. I went down to the front desk and waited a while for someone to help me even though i walked in and nicely informed them of all the problems. They finally gave me another room however several light bulbs were out and the outlets didnt work so I couldnt even plug my laptop in to work. If there were lower than one star, that would be my rating

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
pittsburgh
May 22, 2009

Think twice

This hotel is located very close to Universal Studios. That was the only good thing. It took 2 hours, 4 phone calls and a visit to the front desk to get a roll-away bed that was pre-ordered. It took 1 day, 2 phone calls and a visit to the front desk to get a hair dryer that worked. The shower was broken. We could take a cool or scalding shower. Those were the choices. We put some fudge that was in a box on top of the fridge. It took the ants 10 mintues to get there. (At least they were fast) They have ONE shuttle trip a day to Universal Studios. If you miss it, tough. On the evening, we came home from universal to find 3 police cars and 6 police armed to the teeth outside our hotel room. Yes, this was not the fault of the hotel, however, it did not give me a warm and cozy feeling about the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Close hotel, but think twice before you stay here.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Feb 15, 2011

RUDE, OVERCHARGE AND LIE!

[...] pretty much they are lying about having continental breakfast. They are also lying about the "free shuttle transportation." They supposedly have one shuttle and I never saw it. It goes to the park at 10:45 and leaves at 7:30. Useless. Also, I asked for a cab and they called a sketch town car that didn't have a meter and they guy charged double every other cab in the area. As far as the room goes, it's about what you'd expect for 30 bucks a night. Small, dinky towels. Loud people outside. Lots of pizza menus being squished through your door at all hours of the night. Air conditioner that is off/on. Apparently the refrigerator wasn't cold enough, which I found out when my leftovers from a fancy restaurant were ruined the next day. FINAL ISSUE: THIS IS A BIG ONE! THEY LOCKED ME OUT OF MY ROOM ON MONDAY (VALENTINE'S DAY) THE DAY THAT THEY PROMISED I WOULDN'T HAVE AN ISSUE. I went down to ask about it, he said I hadn't paid for the night yet. A: I already had discussed this whole situation with him for check in. B: I had put my credit card number on their website already. C: Most places, they preauthorize your card and you pay at check out, which they already had my card. D: Even though he said it was because I didn't pay, he didn't charge my card until Tuesday morning (so he lied, AGAIN). They guy's name was [...]. I am just got back to Atlanta a couple of hours ago. I am still waiting to see if my card gets overcharged which I am definitely expecting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top